List for top SA player revealed

2011-10-22 11:45
Victor Matfield (File)
Johannesburg - Five members of the Springboks’ Rugby World Cup squad have been nominated for the prestigious SA Rugby Player of the Year Award, with the winner due to be announced at a glittering function at Gold Reef City on November 3.

Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie and Victor Matfield got the most votes following a nomination process by the country’s rugby media.

Burger and Du Plessis are also nominated in the category for Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year, while Hougaard and Lambie also feature in the list of nominees for Young Player of the Year.

The only other players to get nominations in more than one category, are the Golden Lions duo of Elton Jantjies (flyhalf) and Jaco Taute (fullback), as well as Free State Cheetahs flyhalf Johan Goosen, who were all three nominated in the categories for Young Player and Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year.

The Stormers’ performance in Vodacom Super Rugby, where they hosted a home semi-final, is also reflected in the nominations. They are nominated as Absa Team of the Year, Allister Coetzee is one of the five coaches on the shortlist for Absa Coach of the Year and Burger is joined by Gio Aplon and Duane Vermeulen on the list of nominees for Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year.

Also nominated in the categories for Coach and Team of the Year are Paul Treu and the Springbok Sevens side, who won three tournaments during the 2010/11 HSBC Sevens World Series.

The winners in six other categories have already been determined - Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament, Marriott Referee Award, Women’s Achiever of the Year, SARU National Club Championship Player of the Tournament, SA Under-20 Player of the Year and Springbok Sevens Player of the Year.

The glittering awards ceremony will have a new feel to it this year as it moves to the Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City. Tickets will be available to the public from Computicket from Wednesday, October 26, while the ceremony will be broadcast live on SuperSport from 19:30 on November 3.

The nominees are (in alphabetical order):

SARU Rugby Player of the Year:
1. Schalk Burger
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. Francis Hougaard
4. Pat Lambie
5. Victor Matfield

Young Player of the Year:
1. Johan Goosen
2. Francois Hougaard
3. Elton Jantjies
4. Pat Lambie
5. Jaco Taute

Absa Team of the Year:

1. Regent Boland Cavaliers
2. MTN Golden Lions
3. Springbok Sevens
4. DHL Stormers
5. University of Cape Town

Absa Coach of the Year:

1. Allister Coetzee (Stormers and Western Province)
2. Eugene Eloff (Boland Cavaliers)
3. John Mitchell (Lions and Golden Lions)
4. John Plumtree (The Sharks)
5. Paul Treu (Springbok Sevens)

Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year:
1. Gio Aplon (Stormers)
2. Schalk Burger (Stormers)
3. Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)
4. Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs)
5. Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)

Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
1. Johan Goosen (Cheetahs)
2. Elton Jantjies (Golden Lions)
3. Frederic Michalak (Sharks)
4. Josh Strauss (Golden Lions)
5. Jaco Taute (Golden Lions)

Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
1. Bolla Conradie (Boland Cavaliers)
2. Danwel Demas (Boland Cavaliers)
3. Willie le Roux (Boland Cavaliers)
4. Luke Watson (EP Kings)
5. Elgar Watts (Boland Cavaliers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
1. Marnitz Boshoff (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
2. Marcell Coetzee (Sharks XV)
3. Lionel Cronje (WP)
4. JJ Engelbrecht (WP)
5. Juan Imhoff (Pampas XV)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

SA Rugby's coaching indaba is set to take place this week. Do you think the two-day think-tank will make any difference?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.