Lions in SA

Zane ecstatic about selection

2009-07-02 22:12
Email | Print
Ready for Bok debut (Gallo)

JJ Harmse

Pretoria – On Monday Zane Kirchner was training with the Blue Bulls for a friendly match against Border when his phone rang.

It was the Bok scrumhalf, Fourie du Preez, who asked the 25-year-old fullback to immediately call the national coach, Peter de Villiers.

"I called him. The coach then asked me what I was busy doing and how quickly I could get to Montecasino (the Bok team hotel). I asked him how soon I needed to be there and he said as soon as possible,"  Kirchner said on Thursday with a big smile.

"I jumped in the car. I didn't even shower but then sat in traffic." Kirchner later in the day had a gym session with the Boks and trained with them the next morning.

"It was relatively easy to fit in; I know many of the guys. They helped me to relax and explained things to me like the running lines. I heard then that I would play on Saturday (in the third Test against the British and the Irish Lions).

Kirchner immediately called his mom. "My mom (Jane) was in tears. A while later my sister also called to ask if I was telling the truth."

Kirchner's initial exclusion from the squad had left several rugby experts and fans disappointed.

"I then said to myself to just continue working hard, that my time would come. It didn’t matter if it took weeks or six months. I just wanted to be in the Bok squad. I am now very happy because I’m here."

A round of golf with team-mates Bryan Habana and Adi Jacobs on Wednesday helped to calm his nerves before the big game at Coca-Cola Park on Saturday.

Also helping his confidence will be the fact that he played last Tuesday for the Emerging Boks against the Lions in Cape Town.

"Although it isn't exactly the same guys, I still respect them. But I'm not going to focus on them; I have to concentrate on my own game. It is the same in rugby and in life. You make mistakes, but you have to choose which you are going to do: to let the mistake rule you or do you let it go. You have to get up as quickly as possible after falling down."

Your Comments

Dee7/3/2009 5:41 PM
ZANE!!! U`r the man, Congrats and Good luck. I know you will make us proud!!!!
fielies7/3/2009 1:55 PM
Zane well done your selection was easy and now prove everyone wrong go and play your game mate, it is your time.
NeilA7/3/2009 1:51 PM
the best thing about this selection is that its a merit selection, zane proved himself like any other player should black or white to be in the bok team, heres wishing you a great game come staurday
Molefe7/3/2009 11:39 AM
Well Done! You absolutely deserve it! To the anti-bulls... Go take a flying jump ok! Accept that the Bulls supporters are the most passionate of all the local franchises. Yes, sometimes that makes them a bit abrasive. Tough! It is all for the love of the game!
Daniel7/3/2009 11:19 AM
Peter divkop, I think 99.9999999999% of true Bok supporters don't give a sh@t about your comments. Please change sports, I heard your local pensioner's club is looking to recruit for their bowling team.
Len Olley7/3/2009 11:04 AM
Zane you deserve to play. Great Stuff! To Biggest Sharks Fan- What is it exactly that your trying to say. I need a decoder to decipher your drivel. If you are an example of a typical Sharks fan, Heaven help them. It also seem thet the great Goose has joined the Sharks ranks (choking)
AJ7/3/2009 10:36 AM
scipio: "Sour grapes from the sharks that stefan terreblance aint in, let's move away from this pathetic sharks rugby!!! that's the reason why we lost the trinations. " I didnt know the Sharks played in the Tri-Nations... What rugby you watching?
Wouter7/3/2009 9:26 AM
I still think Stefan Terblanche is the best fullback in the country, but he was sidelined because of his age. Zane is a close 2nd so he will do well. I would have liked to see Francois Steyn get another chance with us having secured the series and not as much pressure on him
Zane fan7/3/2009 9:22 AM
Peter divkop gaan k**.
Biggest Sharks Fan7/3/2009 8:57 AM
well done to zane, you really do deserve to be there as for our coach, great decision with respects to adding zane, brussouw, kankowski, nonkwe these guys should be automatic selections for me. morne is a good flyhalf, hopefully he can be the answer to our biggest problem. and thank you atlast for putting spies on the bench, he has done nothing in this series, chiliboy dont think he is really not that good, but have not watched him play much, he does do good interviews though. and lastly to all bulls supporters, we sharks supporters are proud a s.a team won the s14, but do not think because bulls won the s14 all there players deserve to be in the springbok team, dewald why is training with the springboks the best loss forward in that emerging bok team is jean deysel. but let me guess he plays for the sharks so he is not good enough, you bulls supporters are pathetic.
Sharkie in AUS7/3/2009 8:46 AM
Scipio your a tool! Why lambast the Sharks? Best of luck to Zane we think hes a great player. Hope the Boks slaughter the Whinging Poms,then come to Aus and do the same here.
Grace7/3/2009 8:01 AM
Good luck to the team playing Saturday, each and every new selection deserves to be playing, all you guys have had an awesome season and have played some of the best rugby I have seen in a long time. Ten new changes just shows the depth in SA rugby. You all deserve to be Boks, win the game for us on Saturday!!!!
Nad7/3/2009 8:01 AM
Agh come on...Try and support the guys out there. you probly were prophets of doom before the 1st two tests as well and we won them. Have faith dudes.
Grace7/3/2009 8:00 AM
Good luck to the team playing Saturday, each and every new selection deserves to be playing, all you guys have had an awesome season and have played some of the best rugby I have seen in a long time. Ten new changes just shows the depth in SA rugby. You all deserve to be Boks, win the game for us on Saturday!!!!
JR7/3/2009 7:57 AM
Come on people. Leave the negativity. This team is as good as last Saturday and can beat the British & Irish Lions tomorrow. @Peter divkop - Go shopping or watch a movie. You can read on News24 afterwards how far the Boks won.
adrian7/3/2009 7:55 AM
Great selection , good luck Zane , fully deserved. Should have been playing your 3th test tomorrow
blou bul7/3/2009 7:55 AM
the bulls could not win the super 14 with 3rd class players in their team. Your game this season spoke for itself and if you make a mistake Frans will help you out...but you certainly, along with Morne, Wynand even Dewald did your talking in the super 14...so you desrve your chance.Don't worry about some of the sour grape WP supporters
AJ7/3/2009 7:53 AM
Peter divkop i am pretty sure you going to be sorry that you going to miss the game! its going to be a tough test like the ones before this one. (i still believe for this tour Terblanche is the better choice at fullback) But i'll support the green and gold no matter what. I am sick of people refusing to watch their world class champion team. We have so much talent that even if he is the second string fullback, he is still comfortable under the high ball and attacks well! And will leave a big impression on the Lions! With Jaque Fourie there not opposite O'Driscoll, man we in for a high scoring game Saturday! I Can't Wait!!!
Robert7/3/2009 7:50 AM
Well done Zane! Always nice to see someone so humble! Good luck and make us proud!
Anti-Racist7/3/2009 7:46 AM
Hey Peter,first learn to spell before you make racist comments like 'these people' you illiterate f#$%
Brandon7/3/2009 7:41 AM
C'mon guys, give the oke's a chance, not just Zane, Chilliboy, Steven, Dewald was at training with the Bok's, Morne', Heinrich, these guys will make the bulk of our team in the years to come as most of out senior players will either move abroad or retire, It's a dead rubber and a LIONS test, it's a wonderful opportunity for them to play. Make us proud guys, Seems a good and logical decision by P Div. Go Bokke!!!!!!!!
Beefcake7/3/2009 7:41 AM
Well done Zane, you deserve it. All you idiots that want to complain about him being included need to look at his super 14 winners medal!!!!
Lukas7/3/2009 7:40 AM
Absolutely brilliant! Go Bokke! Zane is another welcome addition to this phenomenal side! Let's see the poor Lions trying to take this one from them - it's not going to be pretty. We've got so many excellent players - Div is spoiled for choice. Mooi Divvie!Our Blood is Green!
navarac7/3/2009 7:40 AM
I try to be positive rather than derogatory, but how the hell can one be positive when people like Peter divkop write so negatively? Peter Dikkop, you'll also be more credible if you learned to spell.
pearl7/3/2009 7:39 AM
Finally the best fullback in the country based on current form gets his call up.
maybe7/3/2009 7:39 AM
Zane, goodluck!!! Maybe 10 changes not all that bad. the backline is much stronger on defence. We have the series.. To have the oppertunity to play against the Lions is a great honor and something these players will never forget. I foresee us maybe being rusty because of 10 changes but it could also work out.
Greg De Villiers7/3/2009 7:38 AM
Peter divkop: Are you on helium? Or just another sharkie who is being forced to admit his own team's continuing failure? Zane is fantastic - on top of his game. He is the future of SA rugby and if you don't like it, then by all means, don't watch. You will only be disappointing yourself. Jerimia: What are you on? Disappointed? Jeez - some of you okes really need to watch the game, see the magic and then make the judgement. In fact, give Zane 2 or 3 games to loosen up and you will see just how good he is.
Reon7/3/2009 7:34 AM
Peter divkop ! Listen boet. If you can't type in English, rather do it in a language you can understand. Then, do not speak on behalf of the whole country. I am sure most of the country is happy about Zane's inclusion and he does deserve a chance. You, on the other hand, do not deserve a chance....ever. Go play with your dolls !
Ced7/3/2009 7:33 AM
Remember the All Blacks, about 2 years ago, their B-linup could beat any team at any given day. The needn't had to worry about injuries. they were a fierceful team. Thats what we need, 30 top players not 15, also remember some of the players are geting to their end of life cycle..... so its a good decision by p.div (Helium)
Good7/3/2009 7:26 AM
good decision to play 10 new players. You see, the Springboks are nothing without a proper b-lineup.Remember the All Blacks 2 years ago, their b-team could beat any team at any given day, they needn't had to worry about injuries. You need to have 2 strong teams.
Wayne Olivier7/3/2009 7:22 AM
It was commented in the Griqua area that Zane would be the next bok fullback when moving to the Bulls. Well done Zane on a good season and selection
Bull7/3/2009 7:22 AM
Congrats Zane, go make us proud.
Swanie7/3/2009 7:21 AM
Jerimia and Peter Divkop, wake up. You are not the selectors. The players that is playing on Saterday should have played from the start. Don't watch the rugby!!!! With the players playing now we will take the third test on Saturday. Well done Zane, Morne, Wynand and the rest of the guys.
Brian7/3/2009 7:20 AM
Good Luck Zane! Awesome that you got your chance, you were the best full back for South Africa in the Super 14 and deserve this opportunity.
david7/3/2009 7:18 AM
Hey Pieter, crawl back under your bridge you pathetic little troll.
Jim7/3/2009 7:14 AM
All the best for the 3rd test Zane.
@Peter divkop7/3/2009 7:14 AM
Dude... a true supporter watches his team come rain or shine! There is no way you can consider Zane a bad selection... he had a cracker of a Super 14 starting in all 15 games including the final which they won. Give the guy a chance... otherwise go support Australia. You would fit in with their supporters!
Ben Randburg7/3/2009 7:09 AM
Stop being so negative. These guys proved themselves against brilliant international players in the super 14, cant wait for Saturday. Well done PdV
scipio7/3/2009 7:03 AM
Zane deserves his chance, He is the best fullback In South Africa. Goodluck Zane, we know the sharks won't get behind u, but all us Bulls supporters who know what a brilliant player u are, will stand behind u all the way! Sour grapes from the sharks that stefan terreblance aint in, let's move away from this pathetic sharks rugby!!! that's the reason why we lost the trinations.
Roelf Vorster7/3/2009 6:54 AM
Well done Zane!!! Always as solid as a rock! Must feel awesome to be there on merit. Keep up the good work and make us proud! Tame those kitty cats with your mighty boot.
Louis7/3/2009 6:53 AM
Jeremia and Peter hope you 2 will be brave enough to come apologize after the match. The boks are going to have their biggest win yet against these Lions. Well done Zane you deserve it.
Hein Pretoria7/3/2009 6:53 AM
Jerimia your parents must have had insight by baptizing you as such, complain, complain and complain as much as you want – it won’t change the world. Peter divkop. Nobody, but nobody will force you to watch the game. My above comment regarding Jirimia applies to you as well. Some people can NEVER be satisfied in life. The majority of South Africa is also ecstatic about Zane’s selection for the Boks. You GO!!!! Zane we are all the way behind you and the rest of the guys. GO BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
mark7/3/2009 6:52 AM
He worked hard all season and proved himself worthy of his spot. Color had nothing to do with his selection its his consistancy that go him his spot. He might not have all the flair but he is consistant and very good under a high ball. We wont have to worry about him standing in the pocket waiting to try a drop kick while the back goes uncovered. We have all the talent in the world and if they can relax and play there own game we will beat the lions the way we should have in the first 2 games.
Superslurp7/3/2009 6:11 AM
I think with Bismarck and Bakkies this side is at least as strong as the team in the first two matches. There is nothing wrong with any selection from 1 to 15, and I can see his logic in all of them.
jacques7/3/2009 5:49 AM
well done Zane, you deserve to be there - and for "peter divkop" keep your comments for yourself until you know something about rugby...
jerimia7/2/2009 10:43 PM
all i can say is goodluck i think J,P has lost it.a-----l? This is not experimenting with a club side to make 10 changes??? South africa should make history here. What is he on?????? i am most disapointend
Gerhard 7/2/2009 10:43 PM
Well done Zane! You deserve your spot!
Peter divkop7/2/2009 10:26 PM
The whole country is in tears because of this bad selection, I am still crying my eyes out, of this, I am not going to watch this saterday, as this will broke my heart even more to see this poepol loose the game for SA.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide