Lions in SA

Who will replace Bakkies?

2009-06-30 08:45
Email | Print
No immediate replacement (Gallo Images)

JJ Harmse

Pretoria – Bulls centre Wynand Olivier will get his chance to take on the British and Irish Lions on Saturday at Coca-Cola Park as the Springboks attempt to win the series 3-0, but Victor Matfield’s fellow lock is still uncertain.

His regular partner Bakkies Botha has been suspended for two weeks, but the Springbok team management has already indicated that an appeal against his suspension would be lodged.

The process could however take a day or two. Andries Bekker and Danie Rossouw, who would have been possible replacements, are both battling injuries.

Rossouw was left disorientated after an unpunished high tackle by Lions centre Brian O’Driscoll and is being examined for concussion, while Bekker sustained a grade one tear of cartilage in his knee and underwent a scan on Monday night.

Johann Muller has meanwhile already joined the squad and could run out with Matfield if Botha’s appeal fails and Rossouw is given time to rest.

The Springbok team management also appealed against Schalk Burger’s eight-week suspension, but the chance of having that overturned appear slim, which means that Heinrich Brüssow will start in the No 6 jersey.

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers said the depth in SA rugby made choosing a team a tricky, yet pleasant conundrum.

“Let’s be honest, it's not easy to replace guys like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha and Schalk Burger. If you're forced to, it will cause an adjustment in the way you want to play because they give the team a specific mixture of experience and know-how.”

Olivier could play alongside Bulls team-mate Morné Steyn, while Jaque Fourie should finally get a spot in the starting XV. Jean de Villiers is still battling a sore shoulder, but an examination showed he should be fit to play.

It has been learnt that at least four players who have not yet played against the Lions, would get a chance to do so. Olivier is one, while No 8 Ryan Kankowski and wings Jongi Nokwe and Odwa Ndungane will also be given a chance. Olivier last played in the World Cup under Jake White, while Nokwe and Ndungane’s last Test was in last year’s Tri-Nations while Kankowski last played in November against England.

There was concern over scrumhalf Fourie du Preez’s shoulder, but according to the team’s fitness expert, Neels Liebel, the No 9 would be fit.

“This is an injury that he has been carrying around since the Super 14 but we are full of confidence that he will be ready for the third Test.”

Steyn was brilliant when he came on at Loftus Versfeld and could replace Pienaar with the latter being moved to the substitute's bench.

De Villiers said the Springboks' pride and their will to win would ensure no easy ride for the Lions. “We don’t need any further motivation to make it 3-0. The guys will be ready, don’t you worry about that.”

Your Comments

anton6/30/2009 6:44 PM
ok my team....olivier, m steyn, f.du preez, matfield, brussouw, jacque fourie, habana, ndungane, steenkamp, beast, smit, d potgieter,spies,petersen (if he can hold on to a ball)not sure about no. 15... possibly kirshner, w ludick, ? bench... h. adams, jano vermaak, kankowski, and a few bulls players hahaha. :-)
Anonymous User6/30/2009 3:15 PM
Best team= 15) Tiger 14) odwa 13) Adi 12) Aikona 11) Bryan 10) Earl 9) Jantjies 8) Pierre 7) Kabamba 6) Solly 5) Wayne 4) Victor 3) Mujatji 2) Chilliboy (C) 1) Beast So I have left two whitties in the team so you cannot say i am racist . Coach Chester Williams Ass Coach Paul Treu
zambuck6/30/2009 1:59 PM
I think there is a problem in our rugby and it is a coaching problem. We are sitting with the best players in the world but we don't get the most out of them. Peter de Villiers is doing a great job, but I think Dick Muir and Gary Gold are not worth their salaries. Rather replace them with world class coaches who have proven they can do it, like Eric Sauls and Jerome Paarwater
zambuck6/30/2009 1:50 PM
You guys are jealous that players like Ricky January, Beast, Gurthro, Chilliboy, Mujati, Wayne van Heerden, Earl Rose, Adi Jacobs, Ndungane, Pietersen, Habana, Nokwe are world class players.
John6/30/2009 12:04 PM
Zambuck ..... what are you smoking.....where can I get some ..... stick to tiddlywinks boet ..... thats something you know about!
Met uysh!6/30/2009 11:59 AM
@Zambuck: Too many white players in that team!! Rather put in Shaun Plaatjies for Kankowski and use January at tighthead so that Heini Adams (who I honestly believe has a bright future) can play scrumhalf and use Beast at Nr1 with Guthro in place of Matfield. And then you can be the coach!
nigel6/30/2009 11:55 AM
@player23, no we didn't loose the last 2 games but came damn close, we could have easily lost both games, in fact the Lions were very unlucky to loose the 1st test. Re. Bakkies Botha, he might be a very good lock & we don't really have a good replacement..granted, but his dicipline is a problem, you can say what you like, it's still a problem, not only is it a distraction to the team, its giving SA rugby a bad name, face facts!
Michael6/30/2009 11:48 AM
We have to win no matter who is the Bok side, that is what we as spectators demand. OK so Burger is hated by many, Oliver cannot pass, Fourie is going bald, Jean cannot make the break, Smit is a Telly Tubby and so the insults fly. We have such great talent in SA with huge depth, yet same weary souls are pushed beyond limits. Then these mere mortals give only 99% they are discarded and branded by public. That is the nature of this beast - us the public. Yet we should be targeting the uselss coach and administrators and leave the players alone.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:24 AM
Our South African rugby team must be really great.They are virtually coaching themsleves as the Mr No Nothing,PDV, mouths s...t on TV. We are so lucky that Jake White did such a good job with our team!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:24 AM
Our South African rugby team must be really great.They are virtually coaching themsleves as the Mr No Nothing,PDV, mouths s...t on TV. We are so lucky that Jake White did such a good job with our team!
Player 236/30/2009 11:19 AM
Do some of you guys ever watch rugby? as some of the comments coming out of your pens are an embarassment to be a South African. Frank, Corne, I feel sorry for you. The main reason our rugby is so strong right now is our tight 5. It all starts up front. Bakkies is most probably one of our top 5 players in the world right right now look at his stats. Stop making the bok jersey cheap. Everyone has a bad game every now and then. Just a while ago Wooma Bana and Jet Pieterson were struggling with form. Sorry to say it but hell we as supporters need to grow up. We are worse the the English, never mind out opponents, we love to crucify our own. Schalk did something ludicris, I do as well sometimes when a taxi drives in a yellow line etc. We cannot use Januarie's name and Earl's in the same sentence. January was a hero last season when Fourie was injured. Yes twakkie did make a mistake or two, but did we loose? The British and Irish players are an ebarassment to their countries and supporters. Bad sportsmanship and history will show that. My blood is green not black and white an red Cannot wait for the Currie cup as this year a whole new generation of players will come through . Ebersohn's, Potgieters, Deysel etc.
Zambuck6/30/2009 11:13 AM
My team for Saturday. We will run circles around the Lions: 15. JP Pietersen 14. Ndungane 13. Adrian Jacobs 12. Bryan Habana 11. Jongi Nokwe 10. Earl Rose 9. Enrico January 8. Kankowski 7. Smith 6. Wayne van Heerden 5. Matfield 4. Muller 3. Brian Mujati 2. Chilliboy Rallepele 1. Guthro Steenkamp
Met Uysh!6/30/2009 11:07 AM
Perhaps the fact that the citing comissioner was a New Zealander with an eye on the tri-nations has something to do with it. Mind you, NZ has nothing to gain by citing ODriscoll and Sherridan, but to ban Schalk and Bakkies, now there is a plan, especially wit "60% of the Boks plans being focussed around Schalk"
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:07 AM
Is Sheridan gay?...Why did he play with Bekkers balls?
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:05 AM
I think Earl Rose is useless!!!!!!
DELAN6/30/2009 10:57 AM
5 YESS FIVE LIONS PLAYERS WERE SENT TO THE HOSPITAL AFTER LAST WEEK MATCH..............hahahahahhahahahaha WELCOME TO THE SOUTHSIDE BOYS......they should go and buy TUTU for BALLET..... SANZAR 4 LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO BOKKKEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dean6/30/2009 10:50 AM
Glen. No. Incorrect. Du Plessis is probably the world's best hooker and you are leaving him out. I agree with most of the team except Fourie at 9 and De Villers, if fit, at 12. I despise Wynand Olivier. He plays centre like Frans Steyn does. Refuses to pass and always goes crash ball. How many tries did Habana score in the Super 14 outside of Olivier? You waste Fourie, Habana and Pieterson if Olivier plays 12.
AlCapone6/30/2009 10:49 AM
so will the team be? smit bismark beast matfield muller smith brussow konkovski du preez steyn nokwe olivier fourie ndingane steyn du plessis ralapele sykes spies pienaar habana de villiers
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:49 AM
Hey Frank - how many penalties did Bakkies give away on saturday? Let me guess, you probably don't know because you don't know the first thing about rugby. Spies as lock - you really don't have a clue. Stick to badmington.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:46 AM
I think that anybody in the world could stand in as coach of the current class players we have in the bok team!!! PDV challenge will come when our backs are against the wall!!! He talks absolute C**P at press conferences and after match interviews!! If we can't understand what he is saying how the hell are the players meant to understand!!!
Mr.Z6/30/2009 10:46 AM
Look forward to the boks wrapping up the series 3-0 on saturday. The lions coach has been very ungracious with no praise for his opponents and consistent whining. It's just that he is more articulate and vague with his implications so he doesn't get called out for it like PdV does who is more honest and not as comfortable in english. I understand about giving some guys a break and blooding some of the guys who rested but it's important to not disrupt the team too much. Agree with putting ruan on the bench as cover for scrumhalf and flyhalf and starting morne steyn. Brussouw will automatically start now that schalk is not there but i don't favour changing both wings. Maybe just habana to give him a break but we can't drop JP as frans steyn is not settled in at fullback yet. To those criticising PdV as coach, remember coaching is a matter of style. PdV seems to give his players more say on the field and if that approach is successful more power to him. That doesn't mean he can't coach!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:40 AM
Corne maybe you should go back to bed, maybe a bit early for you
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:36 AM
Why wasn't there any appeal to the ruling against Bakkies?? He clearly didn't do anything wrong! Div should stop supporting eye gauging and start supporting the rules!
ROB6/30/2009 10:34 AM
Perhaps the biggest crying shame is PdV and his inane chuckle, (embarrassment?) and the display of inability of communicate. If not for John Smit, our team would be a bigger joke. Jake White did a marvellous job, Smit trying to live up to the legacy, but PDV seems to be hellbent on destroying us. Time to go give us a coach!
Lampie6/30/2009 10:30 AM
@Anonymous User6/30/2009 9:11 AM, what the hell was up with that? It was a clear shot in the eiers, are you telling me they didn't see it? k@k man!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:28 AM
Finding a replacement for PdV should also be high on the "to do list" of S.A. Rugby. If not, please leave the interviews and public comments up to the assistant coaches or the captain or else employ a professional speaker to save us the fans, any more of his tribe.
SomeBloke6/30/2009 10:26 AM
@ Mark H Why must PDV go after winning a series against the BIL?
Frank6/30/2009 10:26 AM
anybody will be better than Bakkies, some might argue that he is strong & physical, but the amount of penalties that he gives away with his handbag scuffles far outweighs his supposed benefit. Not to mention the disruption to our team & the game that he causes + his citings, 3 this year. If you really evaluate the effect that he has on our performance, you will find that he does much more harm than good. Maybe Spies should replace him.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:26 AM
Hope that January and Earl will be in the team for Saturday...
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:19 AM
I agree with glen. except the beast must play instead of steenkamp, juan smith must be dropped, spies must play flank and kanko must play no 8. you cant leave spies out of the team even though he has not shon lately and kanko is a machine.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:03 AM
The same people who brought forward a "vote of no confidence" in Jake White are now saying that PDV is riding on the crest of jake's good work. You people are pathetic. PDV is doing an excellent job! rugby, and sport in general, has got a lot to do with "luck", "the bounce of the ball" and "the gamble paying off" it's not an exact science!!! PDV's subs in the first test could have come on and blasted the Lions away and then it would have been hailed a great coaching move. PDV would still not have received the credit though. the simple point that one must take out of this comment of mine is that the people who keep south africa from moving forward are the people who will not be happy until there is a blue bull coach, captain and team. so go ahead, maak die bulle almal bokke.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 10:02 AM
I'm just amazed P.Divvy hasn't put Earl Rose in at prop.
Peter6/30/2009 9:58 AM
I can see how one could put Jongi on the bench, but why mess with Petersen and Habana? Odwa (or his brother) have never been in Habanas class. Would someone just pass him the ball, please?!!
Glen6/30/2009 9:40 AM
Depends if PdV wants to go for the kill and play a very open game. F Steyn, JP Pieterson, J Fourie, W Olivier, J Nokwe, M Steyn, R Pienaar, P Spies, J Smith, H Broussow, V Matfiel, J Muller, J Smit, C Ralepelle, G Steenkamp.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 9:38 AM
Why haven't the Lions been cited for their transgressions? South African Rugby has to stand up and make noises as well. We have this reputation for being dirty, yet the same is done against us. Time to make a stand SARFU!
Mark H6/30/2009 9:36 AM
Yes, a replacement for Bakkies is an important question, but more importantly ... Finding a replacement for PdV? Come back Jake White or Nick Mallett.
Gerald6/30/2009 9:29 AM
Well JJ, I hope PdV sees thgings the way yopu do, especially with the two centres, Morne Steyn, Kankowski and Brussouw. I'm not too convinced about the two wings though. Maybe Habana and Pietersen should be retained unless, of course, they are carrying injuries. Btw, I think Bakkies' suspension was harsh, especially in the light of O'Driscoll's high tackle on Roussouw which didn't even receive a citing.
GeePMB6/30/2009 9:26 AM
Frankly I do not subscribe to the notion of playing "those who haven't played yet" in a dead rubber match. Sport and winning is about consistency. Make the necessary enforced changes for injury and suspension but still play your strongest possible cominations. A 3 - 0 whitewash should be the mentality in the bok camp. There is still a long way to go in the international season. There will be more injuries and losses of form and the Tri-Nations and year end tours will need all these players. Plus, the Currie Cup is ahead so there will be game time for all our players. Let's drub the whinging and whining Poms and send them home with their tales between their collective ungrateful legs. They will see a win on Saturday as a series win in their own minds. Go Bokke!!!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 9:26 AM
You go Div...Love your work...Good luck .
Jeff Aucamp6/30/2009 9:16 AM
Lets stop fighting amongst each other and concentrate on the task at hand.We must give these whining w**** from the UK enough food for thought for 12 years.They were lucky in '97 but now their luck has run out.Their blatant thuggery has been seen off by a far superior force and that hurts.Their war talk exploded in their faces.Now with Bakkies having to sit out they are probably sleeping a bit better at night.But it will be to no avail,Johan Muller,Kanko etc will see off their last gasp attempts at recovering lost honour.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 9:11 AM
WHAT ABOUT ANDRIES BEKKER GETTING HIT IN THE NUTS BY SHERIDAN?
Corne6/30/2009 9:10 AM
How on earth they could choose a has-been like Schalk transcends all logic. Ruan cost the Sharks the super 14 yet they continue with him??? As a Sharks supporter I had to admit that a player like Mornè could easily be the best 10 in SA rugby, yet they leave him until nearly too late??
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Anton van Zyl's message to WP fans

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Greatest Goal Celebrations... 9/3/2010 12:31:41 PM

1963 Wallabies against South Africa 9/3/2010 12:13:53 PM

MOVING FORWARD - PART 2 9/3/2010 12:02:42 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.