Lions in SA

Tough decisions for Div

2009-06-28 22:56
Email | Print
Peter de Villiers (Gallo Images)

JJ Harmse

Pretoria – Will the excellent performance by Morné Steyn at Loftus Versfeld be enough to convince the Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers, that he belongs in the Bok starting line-up?

Has Heinrich Brüssow shown that he should be picked over Schalk Burger, even in the unlikely event of the Bok player walking away unpunished from his disciplinary hearing?

What to do with Jaque Fourie, who on Saturday again showed his world-class status?

These are the issues that De Villiers and his assistant coaches, Dick Muir and Gary Gold, will think about on Monday when they choose the team for the third and final Test against the British and Irish Lions on Saturday in Johannesburg.

De Villiers has repeatedly said that Ruan Pienaar is his first choice for flyhalf, but Steyn on Saturday won the series single-handedly with his accurate kicking, when Pienaar couldn’t. But it can’t be taken for granted that Steyn will be rewarded.

De Villiers praised the Bulls flyhalf after the match, but gave no indication if he would get a place in the starting line-up.

“It is a professional sport and you don’t play anymore with only 15 players to win matches.

“You expect your substitutions to come onto the field and make a difference and that is what Morné did on Saturday,” said De Villiers.

“Well done to him and well done to the team.”

But he did admit that Steyn’s brilliant performance would make picking his team more difficult.

“It is tricky and we will have to manage the players according to the best of their and our own abilities. Wait until the team is chosen, then you will know what I have in mind.”

Brüssow is another player who features in every rugby enthusiast’s starting line-up, but not in that of De Villiers. But if Burger is suspended, it could leave the coach with no other choice than to include the tough litte fetcher from Bloemfontein.

At the same time, Fourie’s try was an example of what he could do with the ball in his hands. To use him only late in the second half is a waste, as he is of much more use early on in the match.

Jean de Villiers’s shoulder injury could force the coach to make a change in the midfield, with the WP centre possibly being replaced by Wynand Olivier if he doesn’t recover in time.

With the series in the bag, there are rumours that big changes could be an attractive option for the Johannesburg battle. Some key players could perhaps get a break, while those who haven’t played, could be used. It could mean that the wings, Jongi Nokwe and Odwa Ndungane, be included instead of Bryan Habana and JP Pieteren with Fourie and Olivier in the midfield.

Steyn could start at flyhalf with Ryan Kankowski and Andries Bekker also getting a chance. A less exciting prospect is that this may mean a return for scrumhalf Ricky Januarie.

Springbok captain John Smit said after the Test that the “necessary momentum” had to be built ahead of the Tri-Nations series at the end of next month, but also indicated that enough playing opportunity for other candidates was equally important.

Your Comments

Allan6/30/2009 9:41 AM
Rory, Rory, such anger, calm down. If you read my message properly, it said," Up there with Mallet, Christie and White", not better than, or the best, but "up there" I never inferred that it was better - which was written in very plain English Come on man, read the statement correctly and don't get all emotional. By the way, Div is 2nd to Christie (post Apartheid era), so when you say, "Get your facts right before commenting out of blind stupidity please", I would suggest that you sir, do just as you recommend. Lastly Rory, drop the personal attacks, really it is not necessary, comment on the issue and not make childish statements. If you really want to be personal, at least say something witty, that was purile. That said, Div really does need a PR makeover and come back down to earth. He's not doing himself any favours.
Andrew Orugboh6/29/2009 3:44 PM
I didnt get to see the 2nd test as my nerves couldnt stand it especially after watching the 1st - I spent the day in Cambridge England on the river and got regular updates on our progress (By our i of course mean British & Irish Lions) It was a great occassion to see the passion of the two sides and supporters alike- Well done South Africa you were the better side but the lions will raw again (all be it in 12yrs time -) You have an awesome side who are too proud to understand the word defeat - and have a hardened winning mentality. However theres no excuse for the antics of one or two individuals - Shalke should have walked no question but he didnt. and we lost - case closed. Enjoy the tri nations i will be looking on with interest you have momentum on your side.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:01 PM
Stop moaning you bunch of pansies. We won, Ruan had a bad day with the boot, but is still a class player. Get over it, we will win the last game, and I bet you guys will find something else to complain about. Just grow up and stop this racist talk. From a white SAcan.
Simon6/29/2009 2:58 PM
"...He knew exactly what he was doing.” -referring to Jaque's try. I agree, unlike Pietsnor and the Two other Stooges!
Simon6/29/2009 2:48 PM
"...He knew exactly what he was doing.” -referring to Jaque's try. I agree, unlike Pietsnor and the Two other Stooges!
Simon6/29/2009 2:44 PM
I am sick and tired of my own opinion about Pietsnor and the rest of the Stooge management. I mean, for Pete's sake(pardon the pun!) when will I accept that Snorre and his Stooges are lucky to be alive... If you carefully study the attached photo, "I can see clearly now, the pain has gone..." Viva Bokbreier- bokeier
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:08 PM
If u play 4 the sharks ore stormers u could be a sprinbuck 4 the hole game
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:59 PM
Now is the time to annihilate the Lions once and for all and give NZL and AUS something to worry about for the upcomming Tri Nations. My team selection for Saturday are as follows: 1. Tendai Mtawarira 2. Bismarck du Plessis 3. John Smit 4. Victor Matfield 5. Andries Bekker 6. Heinrich Brussow 7. Juan Smith 8. Pierre Spies 9. Fourie du Preez 10. Morne Steyn 11. Bryan Habana 12. Wynand Olivier 13. Jacques Fourie 14. J P Petersen 15. Werner Kruger 16. Chilliboy Ralepelle 17. Danie Russouw/Steven Sykes 18. Ryan Kankowski 19. Jean de Villiers/Zane Kirchner 20. Ruan Pienaar 21. Jongi Nokwe
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:55 PM
@ Rory: Kitch Cristie has a 100% record, but only for 6 games, you cannot compare him with PdV, you morone!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:55 PM
Jacques your team sucks, habana hasbeen (was and will always be) Victor as captain what a joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:52 PM
@ Coli. I fully agree with you. PdV won the Lions series, what are these guys moaning about? They are just full of $*%t, give the guy credit, you morones.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:46 PM
@ Niel from Nieu-Zealand: Earl was better than Andre Pretorius for the WHOLE duration of the S14. Which competition did you watch? No wonder you are staying in NZ...
Schalk 6/29/2009 1:33 PM
Peter De Villiers sucks and should'nt even coach the up and coming Boks!!!
@Peter P6/29/2009 12:54 PM
HAd Jake White done exactly the same as PdV rest assured he would have been fired! Had Jake White make the comments about the black and white mechanic, he would not have seen the second test. Had Jake White pick exactly the same squad as PdV had he would even have had harsher criticism for dropping a match winner from the 2007 WC like Jacque Fourie, not playing the best flyhalf in the country and not playing Brussouw. You think its all about race? Keep track of how white coaches were sacked and criticised in the past and you will see it is not a color thing. Does PdV skin color make him immune against criticism? Lets get off this color issue as it is bloody rediculous!
D J Farrell 6/29/2009 12:47 PM
To Anonymous 8:13am on 6/29/2009... Who are you to call people with their opinions on rugby (the game) racist??? The fact that people express that PDV isn't up to it, does not justify you to call them racist. The same people you call racist buy tickets to see Habana score tries and Beast destroy scrums. Next time when you feel like commenting or writing something, don't bother coz you simply don't know what you're talking about!
Duard6/29/2009 12:36 PM
PdV kla ons is rasiste, maar hy self kies nie vir Rose of Januarie nie? Nou dan is HY mos die blerrie rasis? Kan mense nie asb met hierdie absolute gemors oor ras op hou? As iemand goed speel like ek hom gee nie om of hy swart of wit is nie. Daar is baie spelers wat wit is wat ek absoluut niks van hou nie en anders om ook. Ek dink Wayne Parnell het blerrie goed geboul, so is ek nou 'n boetie?
Anonymous User6/29/2009 12:25 PM
No let up now, the Boks must complete a 3 - zip series. Div must select the strongest side available, they must destroy these guys. I fear that, if they win, the Lions will consider it an ‘I told you so’ and will harp on about the final Test for the next 12 years, conveniently forgetting what came before. But if they lose at Coca-Cola Park — which I see happening — it will come down to their glut of injuries, refereeing decisions and the ‘rub of the green going against them’. Go Bokke!!?? Give these canned Lions another carrot this weekend.
Russell6/29/2009 12:22 PM
Turns out our coach is not stupid, he’s a blithering idiot. He was saved by the fact that Danie Russouw was injured shortly after coming on and then had to be replaced by Brussouw, who then won the ball on the ground (again) that eventually resulted in Fourie’s try. What was he thinking leaving Brussouw on the bench, in his 18 minutes on the field he did enough to almost win the man of the match award. In a flash of brilliance he also left Adi Jacobs on and substituted Jean de Villiers, the man is brain dead. Surely once your out of form fly half has missed 3 penalties and an incredibly easy conversion you bring on the best fly-half from the Super 14 straight away on his home ground and not wait until the 64th minute. Sadly, I think the man is not bright enough to learn from his mistakes as he appeared shell-shocked at the end of the game and made stupid comments about how he felt that Schalk Burger shouldn’t have been sent off as it was only in the first minute of the game. I must have missed the bit in the rules about it being legal to gouge somebody in the eye within the first 5 minutes of the game, but not thereafter. What a pity that a country that has players that have all peaked is being dragged down by the ineptitude of the coach.
David6/29/2009 12:03 PM
Yes the coach has a good record and in the stat book appears brilliant.. But the South African fan is not stupid... the fact is this team/squad is the best we have ever had. This team man for man would take up more than half a world best 15. This team would win just based on the leadership of Smit. The fact that we were lucky to win the last 2 games is due to poor decision making by management. PdV shows such stubborness that no matter what he will play his way, almost to prove us all wrong. And when he wins (just) he can claim it is right.
Big R6/29/2009 11:56 AM
Hou op om so fokken negatief te wees!!!!! PdV is 'n doos en klaar!
Rory6/29/2009 11:46 AM
@ Allan, Nobody has a record like Christie!!! He is the only coach ever to have 100% record. Get your facts right before commenting out of blind stupidity please. You prob the sort of guy who only watches rugby if your wife watches anyways. Thanks
Rory 6/29/2009 11:40 AM
The fact of the matter is poor coaching decisions nearly cost us the test series. Period! The players are there but cannot pick themselves. Even my 90 year old blind gran knows that Brussouw, morne and jacques should have started that game. The thing is surely, when you can see that your team is ineffective in every facet in the first half, make the changes at half time then. But no. That would imply that there is thinking and intelligence behind the decisions. Well done to the players for winning this series. As for the coaching staff - which the buck stops with PDV - shame on you for thinking you are bigger than the game. Shame on you. Along with the shame schalk had brought upon himself. Disgusting if ever...
Peter P6/29/2009 11:36 AM
Can anyone honestly say that if Jake White had to choose this team and get the same outcome of the match he would have been criticised. Even Carel du Plessis with his pathetic win lose ratio - can you honestly say you would have slated him. Cmon guys grow up and well done to PdV for winning the series. Trinations here we come. When the boks win the Trinations you bunch of losers are still going to complain - shame shows how pathetic you are.
Rory 6/29/2009 11:32 AM
The fact of the matter is poor coaching decisions nearly cost us the test series. Period! The players are there but cannot pick themselves. Even my 90 year old blind gran knows that Brussouw, morne and jacques should have started that game. The thing is surely, when you can see that your team is ineffective in every facet in the first half, make the changes at half time then. But no. That would imply that there is thinking and intelligence behind the decisions. Well done to the players for winning this series. As for the coaching staff - which the buck stops with PDV - shame on you for thinking you are bigger than the game. Shame on you. Along with the shame schalk had brought upon himself. Disgusting if ever...
colin6/29/2009 11:27 AM
What excuse will people like Tank and JJ come up with if PDV and the Bokke takes the Tri Nations this year not to give him the credit he deserves - guys I think that the propaganda you are promoting should stop if the Bokke take the Tri Nations this year - yes I agree do criticize the coach when it is warranted but I have never seen a Bok coach who had to face this much negativity after a victory against the best players in Europe and also to turn out victorious against a world class coach in Ian Mcheegan.
Gtr6/29/2009 11:25 AM
To Colin, and every other pro PdV schmuck. So, now PdV is praised for his 'excellent subs and timing'. If you listened on Sat, you could hear the fans calling for Morne. Also, if Danie Rossouw didn't get injured when he did, we would have lost the test. Why did the coach send Danie onto the field, to replace JS, when Burger did so little? Morne kicked the winning penalty, but it was with Brussow's appearence that the game turned. Everyone, but the coach, could see that we needed him. Why did he have to wait so long to replace him? I, and most other SA fans, knows that we have the players to have beaten the Lions with plenty more than the 8 points that we won by in the past two tests. You say a win is a win. I say, sorry, good is the biggest enemy to best. PdV is a handicap to the Boks. JW at least did win the Tri-Nations in his FIRST season as coach. Robbie Deans is one of the smartest coaches around, and he will find ways to outsmart PdV. So will Henry. And right now, the AB is not good at all, and the Aussies are a bit better. If this wannabe coach is going to be kept in his position, we'll end in last place with the Tri-Nations. That will be an embarresment of note.
Niel from New Zealand6/29/2009 11:24 AM
Jacques....your team is spot on....i could not have done better
Niel from New Zealand6/29/2009 11:19 AM
Just to make a comment on the guy who said"What about Earl Rose and January for the last test? Then we will won by at least 20 point..." January is very lucky to even be in the squad and as far as Earl Rose goes, well lets just say he was the worst number 10 in the super 14 out of all the teams...he still has his training wheels on...
Niel from New Zealand6/29/2009 11:10 AM
I'm not sure who is in the selection committe for the Bok's...from watching the Super 14 Wynand Olivier were one if not the best midfield player and for the bok's to pick J de Villiers and jacobs is a joke when you could have Fourie and Olivier...They would have kept O'driscoll busy...then there is the Brussow issue...why he is not playing in the run on team is beyond me...And OMG...you pike Pienaar above Morne What are they thining......All i have to say is that if the have Brussow, Morne, Fourie and Olivier in the midfield the bok's WILL Win here in New Zealand and should win in Oz...who are comming together under Deans as boss!
Thys6/29/2009 11:10 AM
I don't care much for the negative comments below. I see the bottom line. It was a brilliant game between two great teams, with two brilliant 22-man squads starting. And the better of the two won. This game will be remembered for many many years. If you think your own ideas would have made for a better team, then apply for the job and prove it. Until then, enjoy watching the best team in the world win the world. Viva Bokke
Anonymous User6/29/2009 11:09 AM
@ SPRINGBOK FAN. Jou moer man!
Thys6/29/2009 11:06 AM
I don't care much for the negative comments below. I see the bottom line. It was a brilliant game between two great teams, with two brilliant 22-man squads starting. And the better of the two won. This game will be remembered for many many years. If you think your own ideas would have made for a better team, then apply for the job and prove it. Until then, enjoy watching the best team in the world win the world. Viva Bokke
Anonymous User6/29/2009 11:01 AM
What about Earl Rose and January for the last test? Then we will won by at least 20 point...
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:59 AM
PdV is the first coach in 20 years to win a series against the B&I Lions. Well done Peter!! You are the best coach by far...
Jacques6/29/2009 10:19 AM
More Bulls in the Bok team and you wont need to come from behind and win with 30+ points...... Morne jou DORING!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:17 AM
Why is it that when u go watch a test match u still get South Africans supporting the opposite team?? And I don't want to be racist but is is always colourds.. mostly the all blacks games. I thought this was because they were the number one team and they are probably typical Man United supporters. But went to the match on Tuesday and once again South Africans wearing the Red HSBC rugby jersey and screaming for the opposite side!! Probably the supporters saying that we are racist not having Earl Rose in the springbok team.. well they laughed every time he made a mistake in the game.. hope everyone grows up and Support the number 1 team in the WORLD the springboks!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:15 AM
JJ any reason why I dont see the comment by Trevor? Does it make too much sense? Do the honorable thing JJ..
Jacques6/29/2009 10:14 AM
Ok lets make a team and I will put it up here... This would be my team..... 15. F. Steyn, 14. Akona/Odwa, 13. Jacques, 12. Wynand, 11. Habana, 10. Morne, 9. Fourie, 8. Spies, 7. Jaun, 6. Heinrich, 5. Victor (C), 4. Danie, 3. Jannie, 2. Kuun, 1. Beast, Bench: Steenkamp, Kruger, Ryan, Bekker, Pinnaar, Zane, Akona/Odwa This will be my team for Sat against the Lions and they will beat the Lions 30+. Any takers???
SPRINGBOK FAN6/29/2009 10:04 AM
@colin. You are a totally ignorant little rugby wannabe supporter. The fact is that PdV had lady luck on his side big time in winning those two games. PROVE: 1. PdV persists in playing out of form players (Pienaar, Burger, Januarie, de Villiers), 2. PdV does not have a clue how to use substitutes effectively (first test), 3. PdV is blind to using the best players for the job (Brussow, Fourie, Olivier, M Steyn, Kirchner), 4. PdV is a racist (his white vs black mechanic story), 5. PdV is out of his depth talking to journalists (exposed again this Saturday with the Burger issue when John Smit had to save his butt), 6. PdV openly talks politics (his "I'm voting ANC" statement to appease his appointers), 7. The sex scandal last year has never been sorted out, 8. He's bringing in of religious analogies to the game is a disgrace, 9. His total disregard for the public who pays his salaries ("I don't listen to supporters"), 10. The pure political aspect of his appointment (AA - Heyneke Meyer is a far better qualified for the job). All in all he is a disgrace to South Africa and the Springboks, HE did not win the Lions series, the players did. That is the difference, he is useless while the players are the ones calling the shots and saving his butt time and time again.
SPRINGBOK FAN6/29/2009 10:03 AM
@colin. You are a totally ignorant little rugby wannabe supporter. The fact is that PdV had lady luck on his side big time in winning those two games. PROVE: 1. PdV persists in playing out of form players (Pienaar, Burger, Januarie, de Villiers), 2. PdV does not have a clue how to use substitutes effectively (first test), 3. PdV is blind to using the best players for the job (Brussow, Fourie, Olivier, M Steyn, Kirchner), 4. PdV is a racist (his white vs black mechanic story), 5. PdV is out of his depth talking to journalists (exposed again this Saturday with the Burger issue when John Smit had to save his butt), 6. PdV openly talks politics (his "I'm voting ANC" statement to appease his appointers), 7. The sex scandal last year has never been sorted out, 8. He's bringing in of religious analogies to the game is a disgrace, 9. His total disregard for the public who pays his salaries ("I don't listen to supporters"), 10. The pure political aspect of his appointment (AA - Heyneke Meyer is a far better qualified for the job). All in all he is a disgrace to South Africa and the Springboks, HE did not win the Lions series, the players did. That is the difference, he is useless while the players are the ones calling the shots and saving his butt time and time again.
mc6/29/2009 10:00 AM
How can SA Rugby allow one of their employees to tarnish the image of South African rugby the way PdV is allowed? He's an absolute disgrace to South Africa. Mark my words - after the Tri-Nations there is going to be a mass exodus of the Springboks' core. Then PdV' true abilities as a coach will be revealed. It ain't a pretty picture...
Mol6/29/2009 9:56 AM
Vir Ek Wonder.. WTF... Earl Rose showed again last Tuesday why it is a disgrace that he is a springbok. He was by far the worst player on the field... luckily there was a player like Willem De Waal on the bench. As far as PDV, he contradicts himself.. he is a lousy decision maker + makes a fool of himself and SA rugby every time he opens his mouth.. Am a white person and feel Schalk defiantly deserved his yellow card and if that incident happened later in the came he should have gotten a red card!! Nobody is racist about Earl rose or PDV but Earl Rose should not play any higher level than club Rugby and PDV must get someone to speak for him... a player who is on form must be picked... and us as public can see who is the form players and would always want the best team on the field.. we all support Habana, Jp, Ad, Beast etc because they are there on merit... Lets put racial issues aside and get the TEAM to represent our country!!!
Carey6/29/2009 9:48 AM
@Allan - we moan because the Boks played a terrible game, and were saved at the end by a set of substitutions, who should have been in the starting lineup. Yes, Div's stats are good, but keep in mind that his task isn't exactly difficult. A team who are the world champoins, fed by world-class clubs like the Bulls and the Sharks... I don't expect anything less. On Saturday they won in spite of the coach, not because of him. They should have played the entire 80 minutes the way the played the last 20. Imagine what the score would have been then... PS: When the fans complained about Ricky January, he played the race card. I wonder what his excuse would be for keeping Ruan Pienaar in the starting lineup...
Captain6/29/2009 9:44 AM
Tough se gat, there should be no choise. Fourie, Steyn and Brussow in. replace the has beens and wanne bees with some real players. DIV wake up!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:43 AM
Anonymous User 6/29/2009 8:13 AM your an idiot!!!!!! and your poetry sings sweet nothings to ones ear, cause clearly you the racist, thats the problem in SA, people like you are to quick to blame it on racism..thats the only way you get somewhere AND GET YOUR OWN WAY, ... see with these people writing in on these articles to express there feelings, is not because they racist, its because of our passion for sa sport, specially Rugby, so i think, rather than coment with your pathetic RACISM coments on THE RUGBY, maybe try fishing, cause at least the fish cant talk back to you and you can carry on thinking you right----- IDIOT
wiledog6/29/2009 9:41 AM
we didn't win this series by a hair-breadth because of PDV, only because of our world-class players on the field... PDV hasn't a clue...
Trevor6/29/2009 9:37 AM
Hi Tito I cannot agree with you more....Let me just refresh JJ and his fellow South Africans memory....This (stupid,idiot ,dumb,racist) coach according to many white comments......Once he was selected as Head Coach 1) He decided to go with two very experienced Coaches ( Funny they happen to be White) Any good President ,CEO ,Manager ,Coach is only as good as the people who surrounds him......Wise decision... 2) He kept the bulk of the team who won the World Cup...He didnt have to do it...Good continuation....Wise decision.. 3) He retained John Smith as his captain..Wise Decision. 4) He managed to give players of colour an opportunity to play at the highest level without weakening the team...Wise Decision. 5)He won about 10 out of 13 test matches (stand to be corrected) Oustanding for a Coach with no internatiol experience.. 6) As much as he introduces players of colour so much does he also bring in new talented white players...Wise decision Everytime he losses ,which does not happen often,he get labelled all sorts of names...Everytime he win a match ,everybody else gets recognition except him.... In your absolutely honest and non-racial oppinion..Does this not raise a few question about the responds of our white South Africans...Huh JJ? They keep on complaining about speeches...He is not a Marketing Manager.... Will Pieter De Villiers ever get the neccesary respect and recognition he deserves? I dont think so....He can event go and succesfully defend the WC title ...Its simple ....He is not white.....Hope to see this article JJ.
Met uysh!6/29/2009 9:32 AM
Why there is even talk of racism is beyond me. There are no black or white players in this team, they are all Springboks, ie they are Green players! Burger disgraced his 50th appearance with the attempted eye gauging and Ruan had a torrid day, not only with the boot but with aimless kicking and poor ball distribution. AD improved a lot on defense from last week. JdV still quiet but I don't know if it is because of lack of ball from the flyhalf or anything else.Brussouw made a huge impact when he came on the field and swung the game in our favour at the rucks. Morne Steyn sealed the deal wit infallable kicking.
Ricky P6/29/2009 9:13 AM
Good on the boys for winning! Pity it has been tainted by the brutish behaviour of some of the players-let us just hope that we dont slip back into the Rudolf Strauli frame of mind where dirty play becomes our main game plan. The more I watch PdV flounder completely out of his depth the more I would also like to see a long term investment by SARFU in grooming someone like Chester Williams to take over as coach, as not only was he a fantastic player and a hero of the Rainbow Nation but he is a very gifted coach held in high regard by the international rugby world. I have no problems with transformation particularly when you have a potential coach with the vision, expertise and talent, and most inportantly the respect, that someone like Chester has. Rugby in South Africa is always going to be contentious issues unless some long term planning for the greater good of the game gets implemented.
Riaan6/29/2009 9:10 AM
@Colin. Maybe you should give up trying to understand rugby and join the ANC as candidate for Moerlandspan or similar. Sommer take Div along. Mark my words, Div will in the not so distant future be sacked as the worst coach in history. He is playing with a well established team, which is supposed to be the strongest in years, yet with a couple of brain-dead descisions nearly succeeded to grasp defeat from the hands of victory.
Mcleo6/29/2009 9:06 AM
Guys, let's be honest. If the boks lose it's PDV's fault with bad decisions, if they win, it's the players. This is has been RSA's moto to any sport. Jake White has made some controversial decisions in his career and the Boks are the world champs because of that. Come on guys for once support the coach and players and maybe the boks will be more stronger. Enjoy your beers and biltong in front of the tv and let PDV coach. If you are not happy with the boks or coach support another team then.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:01 AM
Stone cold - you the fool does it matter if i put my name or an alias like 'Stone Cold'. If thats your real name then I apologise - you must have a mighty complex for such an idiotic name like that. Fool
Allan6/29/2009 9:01 AM
Unbelievable. What is this South African malaise that we moan even if we win. We won everyone, and against a pretty good lions team as well. Savour the moment. All the whining about Pienaar and Jacobs - These guys have won games for us before, but had a bad/avaregae day at the office. Div called the correct substitutions this time and they won the game. I wonder if it was a white (yes the colour) coach if you all would be calling it brilliant substitutions, and at the right time. Div's records are up there with Mallett, Christie and White, and none of you give him the credit for keeping the Core of Jake White's winning side instead of chopping it like a lot of previous coaches did. Grow up and enjoy the game.
keith6/29/2009 8:58 AM
We need another wing like JP - his cover defense and general "looking for work" play is fantastic. The same can't be said for Habana. The try on his left wing was a result of his inability to tackle the man and rather go for the ball which created an overlap...J Fourie could fill in the left wing with ease…Morne should be the #1 fly half, he is a true fly half that needs little work. Brussow has out classed Burger this season and deserves to start.
Ek Wonder6/29/2009 8:53 AM
Its funny how nobody makes a big fuss from the fact that Peter De Villiers ( Coloured Coach) absolutely loves and believes in the ability of Ruan Pienaar (White Player)..He equally believes that Earl Rose (Coloured Player) can improve,but everybody is crying about that. One wonders whether SA especially in rugby will ever get rid of racism.........Keep up the good work PvD ....You are doing a great job as long as you win matches.....Let the racist journalists and media go to hell....We dont need them in SA.......
Tito6/29/2009 8:47 AM
If only some of the experts on this forum could read what PdV said and what assumptions is made by JJ Harmse. If only you weren't blinded by your prejudice you would be able to distinguish the difference. @JJ - Habana, Du Preez and JP were by far the best players on the field for SA on Saturday why should they be replaced? Brussow picks himself and with Burger out he is an automatic choice @ 6. The only question you should have asked is, will Morne replace Pienaar and will SA have a new midfield combnation with the series wrapped up and Jean and Adi needing to be protected before the Trinations, period. Your assumptions serves to stir negative emotions(and succeeding) of a stereotyped rugby public, and that takes away your credibility as a journalist.
katman6/29/2009 8:44 AM
Very little to choose between the top 3 outside centres in the world - O'Driscol, Fourie and Mortlock. But Div just doesn't get it.
Stone Cold6/29/2009 8:44 AM
@Anonymous User 8:13am... You calling people racist but YOU don't have the BALLS to display your name when doing so!! People like you are IDIOTS!!!
sylverstar6/29/2009 8:43 AM
anonymous user 8.13 It is obvious that you have no understanding at all of the genre of rugby. In the comradship of the game the PLAYERS themselves know who deserve to be in the squad. On the field YOU would be astounded to find that the hooker would be delighted to pack with 2 martians IF THEY CAN DO THE JOB. You, sir, are an ill informed idiot.
Hannes6/29/2009 8:43 AM
I have two problems with PDV coaching: The Boks are again showing signs of ill dissipline (similar to the Strauli era) that will be costly in big games. As the coach decides who play and stay on the field, he needs to take responsibility for ill dissipline. A fetcher is more important with the changes in the break-down rules, but PDV still undervalue the value of a fetcher. This is out of step with what other good coaches in world is doing. For example Robbie Deans used at one stage 3 fetcher at once(Smith, Waugh and Pocock). Why would the Boks not need a single fetcher? The best defense is to keep possession of the ball, bacause no-one can score tries without the ball.
Skeletor6/29/2009 8:39 AM
Anonymous User 6/29/2009 8:13 AM. So according to your statement we should stick with DIV until he looses?????? What rubish. The Lions is not in the same class as New Zealand and Aussies. DIV is playing with the EX White(the couch not the colour PLEASE) team that is why they are still winning. Yes Schalk was a good player but it is time to move forward, same with JDV.
alice6/29/2009 8:36 AM
no great loss re burger..... but sad about botha
colin6/29/2009 8:33 AM
All I can say - Bokke 2 - Lions 0 - PDV is the man a series win against the Lions is a real good achievement and if you single-minded people cant see that we do have a coach who has the caliber of taking on a coach like In Mcgeechan and beat him then you should stop supporting our Bok team - VIVA BOKE VIVA PDV
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:29 AM
Peter!!!!!! I trust that you will read this. James 4:6 says that the Lord resists the proud but gives grace to the humble. Humble yourself and do the right thing(s) ...
sharky6/29/2009 8:27 AM
Here is the perfect opportunity for the Boks to establish a fantastic 9/10 combination. We have been searching for this for a few years and PDV should grab the chance of selecting DuPreez & Steyn as a permanent fixture. They are the best combo in the Super 14 and will prove to be the best in test rugby as well, just like Gregan & Larcombe were for Australia.
Big R6/29/2009 8:19 AM
it is time that PDV realises that the second to Fourie du Preez is that of one Jano Vermaak! It is time that Morne Steyn gets his well deserved nr 10 in the Bok squad!! It is time that Heyneke Meyer be coach! It is time for a new government!!! One in the likes of the DA...you see! So much still to do! LOL!!!
alice6/29/2009 8:18 AM
PLEASE GET RID OF OUR COACH!!!!!! how can you think of putting odwa ndungane,and nokwe with Oliver and Fourie? ok it will work, but surely the combination of Olivier, Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du preez, and Jacque Fourie , and akona ndugane.....works!!!!!!! it is all about choosing the right combination to allow your players to work together. oh dear when will he get it right???? forget about the has beens! forget about burger, he deserves to be off the field...stop deliberating, it stares us in the face.... brussouw is way better, morne styen is light years ahead of pienaar... so what is the discussion all about? he is a complete idiot.... and the whole world is laughing at us! Steyn definitely, brussouw definitely, olivier definitely!!!!!instead of januarie, bring on Jano Vermaak!!! have rory kocket (not sure how to spell his name) on the bench!! do something ingenious instead of being a complete idiot.... please please please... look at combinations! and btw, remove bismark du plessis........he is a thorn in the side and so is Juan Smith! he does zero... another sell by date... passed his prime.
Uncle H6/29/2009 8:17 AM
I would not put money on PdV not playing Earl Rose. The series have been won and this strange coach may argue that the 3rd test can now be used to blood new players and hand out a few more free test jerseys, especially against the Lions.
willie6/29/2009 8:14 AM
great job morne. why is colour stil a deciding factor in choosing a great springbok line up for the tests. to be honoust we do have brilliant players of colour in the team that really deserves to be in the starting line up. players like habana and pieterson on wings and the likes of the beast on prop but take ad jacobs of the field . we have players that is better then him and deserves to play. taking of de villiers from centre and sendung up fourie or olivier you yust beaking the best combination that we have.. wake up guys we playing rugby and not politics
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:13 AM
PdV is winning matches and that is all that matters. To you racists out there - winning is winning whether its 1 pt or 50 pts. In a years time you wont remember if they won handsomely but you will remember they won. So get a life and support the coach - if the team can do that then thats all that matters. Maybe you guys should go back 10 years in time and slate the coach who lost against the Lions back then. You bunch of sorry losers. Stop with your smoke screens - if Jake had to win by 1 pt and come back from behind you would be raving about his tactical prowess now not slating him. Shame - it must be hard for you alll to be living in South Africa now - well a word of advice - its not going away. The sooner you get used to it the better the country will be.
Willie6/29/2009 8:10 AM
Peter de Viliers is so full of him self...!!! I have to agree completeley with these comments the last little bit of respect I had for him went out the window when he called Januarey critics racists... Can you imagine what a real coach could do with the players in SA. Peter you are an IDIOT!!!
jean 6/29/2009 8:07 AM
Give Ruan a break people - last week he was the hero of teh victory - his home ground - this week it was Morne's turn - his home ground. The entire springbok team went into shell shock after the disgusting display of bad sportsmaship by Scalk - at his level of play he shold surely know better. He got no more than what he deserved - give him the blame. m
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:31 AM
I do not understand why P Div is still placing Pienaar ahead of Steyn in the 10 jersey. It was as clear as day that Steyn is the better 10. Pienaar's tacktical kicking was poor, his defense was poor and I honestly feel that it is a NO contest as to who should have the 10 on.
Cliff Bradley6/29/2009 7:21 AM
Unfortuanately PDV is like most ANC supporters , They Know They Are Wrong But Will Never Admit It.
johndoe6/29/2009 7:17 AM
I was at the game on Saturday and im sorry but Ruan Pienaar was useless and made no contribution at all! and then PDV took forever to bring Morne on, I would have subbed Ruan immediately he missed that sitter in front of the poles, unforgivable at test level. Brussow was excellent and should start this weekend with Schalk now out for 8 weeks. I cant believe Adi Jacobs is chosen ahead of Fourie, everyone knows that is for race reasons and not on skill! Fourie is much more powerful and involved then Jacobs, and Jacobs doesnt pass, Habana was wide open in the last minutes to score the winning try but ja at least we won in the end.
Skeletor6/29/2009 7:16 AM
If Morne is not selected it would show what Div is all about! Luck for him Schalk is banned so Brussow is a sure choice. Come on Div use the following backline: Fourie, Steyn, Habana, Jaque, Wynand, JP, Frans. If he starts resting players he might surprise us by playing Januarie and Earl, just to show all the mechanics in RSA that he is in control.
Sluggy6/29/2009 7:13 AM
Morne Steyn for life!
Jack6/29/2009 7:08 AM
The guys admitted after the Durban test that they were in need of match practice and now they want to rest players? This just before the Tri-Nations. Besides that, they must go and finnish the job and nail these guys 3 - zip; No taking the foot off the eccelerator now. Why going into all this analitical rubbish now, it should be simple, start with the guys who finnished on Saturday and bring Olivier onto the bench as cover for the centers.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:05 AM
PdV hasn't got a clue what he is doing! Please stop the window-dressing and give the job to a professional!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:40 AM
Div will stick to his old choices to prove that he was right and everyone else wrong. Hardekop en alwetend.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:20 AM
at least he wont have to pick those two thugs bakkies and burger.these two are an ambarrassment to springbok rugby.
Ted6/29/2009 5:21 AM
The most important change in the springbok team should be Jake White for peter de Villiers !!!!!
Duncan McGregor6/29/2009 5:04 AM
Schalk Burger suspended for eight matches for eye-gouging. What a miserable specimen of a sportsman he is. Mr de Villiers should have shown leadership on this issue, but did not. Does the end justify the means in South African Rugby?
Tony Ferrino6/29/2009 12:02 AM
The absence of Burger probably plays into SA hands as Brussow is likely to give a disciplined performance. I'm a lions fan but I will be putting money on a 15+ point SA victory, the lions have lost key players and momentum, if J. Roberts doesnt play then there is literally no beef in midfield, we could be looking at a Fitzgerald/Flutey centre partnership which, although not complete s#!+e isnt good enough to beat, or even worry the Boks. Very disappointed with the reaction of B&I fans, tour seems to have attracted to many momentary fans who weigh in with uninformed opinions. SA have been the better team. The Lions have been well drilled but the Boks have the feel of a great team who just cant imagine losing. The match could have gone either way, if SA had slotted their penalties it wouldnt even have been close although if Burger had been carded it might have gone differently. What is certain is that O'Gara and O'Connell were shown up. Both are quality club players, but nothing more.
What will DIV to to us now6/28/2009 11:55 PM
I'm almost to scared to think about possible team changes with Helium in charge. Let's wait for the next shock! Maybe a January at flank. Helium could then say he used his extra bulk to stabalize the scrum. Goodness, what are we in for this week! I also see Helium is still continuing with his absolute comical statements and ideas about the game. For heavens, this man has no boundaries. Why on earth did SARU make him part of International Rugby. He is turning SA Rugby into the laughing stock of the world. What an absolute clown
Gerhard 6/28/2009 11:37 PM
Please media, revolt and have this loose cannon of a coach sacked!
Viljoen6/28/2009 11:30 PM
This Boks team is making PDV look alot better than what he really is. Both Schalk and PDV are a disgrace to South Africa. For Schalk to pass a rugby ball with some black kids and then oooh and aaah at how nice it is and then to go and poke his fingers into another players eye. How 2 faced do you have to be???
Anonymous User6/28/2009 11:23 PM
To be honest i think that Peter De Villiers is not the right man for the job. He is arrogant and a poor decision maker. I've completely lost respect for him after he said that anyone who thought Januarie should be dropped is racist. I take extreme offense to this. Ricky Januarie has performed extremely badly, as has Schalk. It is disgusting to make these sorts of comments
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Anton van Zyl's message to WP fans

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Greatest Goal Celebrations... 9/3/2010 12:31:41 PM

1963 Wallabies against South Africa 9/3/2010 12:13:53 PM

MOVING FORWARD - PART 2 9/3/2010 12:02:42 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.