Lions in SA

Timing worsens Schalk's woe

2009-06-30 11:38
Email | Print
Schalk Burger (File)

Comment: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Johannesburg – There is some strong reason to buy into Springbok coach Peter de Villiers’s theatrically passionate defence on Monday of Schalk Burger as an “honourable person”, among other virtues.

Off the rugby field the big flank is, by all accounts, your typically gregarious, chilled and outdoors-loving South African bloke, and part of an especially strongly-glued family into the bargain.

De Villiers may be on the button, too, in reminding that on a rugby field Burger is among the most physical and confrontational specimens you will find: a bastion of quite awesome commitment and passion.

And abrasive rugby players - those who simply get unavoidable, varying strains of “white-line fever” from the moment they take to the pitch - are always going to run the risk of testing the parameters of law-book legality.

Burger often has, his battery of yellow cards, in particular, the stuff of dubious near-legend. If you measured them in commemorative beer mugs, he’d have a brimming bar cabinet.

The latest flashpoint is slightly different from most of the others, however, because his eye-gouging - or eye “interference” if you prefer to employ an unnecessarily softer tag - on the Lions’ Luke Fitzgerald shifts him into a deeper compartment of disgrace.

It is considered a particularly wretched, filthy thing to do and puts him among a global gallery of rogues that includes New Zealanders like Richard Loe and Troy Flavell, any number of French players down the years, quite honestly, as well as other more recent offenders like Sergio Parisse, the Italian captain, and Munster flank Alan Quinlan.

In the last-named player’s case, his Heineken Cup crime led to the scuppering of his Lions tour here.

Television evidence

Burger will not be feeling good about it, one imagines, not least because television evidence from Loftus hardly absolves him from responsibility; it made his eight-week suspension inevitable.

Indeed, he may have been fortunate not to be ordered to sit out the entire Tri-Nations, instead of just a chunk of it.

He will also be as acutely aware as anyone that his idiocy came within a whisker – had he been red-carded in the opening minute in Pretoria – of costing South Africa the Test and quite possibly subsequently the series too.

But he will serve his time, hopefully be humbled and contrite, and resume his rightful employ as a formidable international rugby star.

Yet I use the word “international” with a minor degree of caution, given that this affair comes at a peculiarly bad time for 50-cap Burger, not enjoying his best season by any means, and increasingly the subject of debate on whether, indeed, he truly still qualifies as an authentic fetcher/open-sider.

Now the British media have sometimes been as guilty of sanctimony and jaundice recently as ours can be, jumping onto a general Springbok foul-play bandwagon while conveniently side-stepping instances in which Lions players - several - flirted with undue violence during the bloody Loftus battle.

They have also not been slow to pooh-pooh South Africa’s quest to be branded a great side – just one this week was Nick Cain of The Times.

But if his overall piece might well have gone down like a lead balloon in these parts, sections of it would have found widespread approval, most notably this: “The player who was a constant thorn for the Lions (over the first two Tests) was Heinrich Brussow, and the advantages of having a Neil Back-type open-side scavenger were writ large in this series.

“His omission for Burger in the second Test very nearly backfired spectacularly.”

Cain added that Burger appeared to have “fallen from the radar” as a world-class presence for the moment.

He might have added that South Africa’s general loose forward stocks remain as astonishingly abundant as ever, a further threat to the stability of Burger’s Springbok status.

There are stealthy-footed and ambitious burrowers galore, with Brussow atop a list that also includes Deon Stegmann, Luke Watson, Cobus Grobbelaar and the Sharks’ dual whippets Keegan Daniel and Jacques Botes.

Steely incumbent

If Burger is perhaps to carve out a more “blind-side” career in later life, then he faces competition from people like steely incumbent Juan Smith, Jean Deysel and the outstanding, articulate Emerging Springbok captain Dewald Potgieter of the Bulls, who is versatile enough for either a No 7 or 6 role.

Similarly adaptable – between No 7 and 8 – is the Stormers’ sturdy and muscular Duane Vermeulen.

Meanwhile at No 8 Ryan Kankowski is patiently awaiting his turn to topple Pierre Spies for the Bok shirt, and there are rumours, in fact, he may be named there for the dead-rubber Test at Coca-Cola Park.

At only 26, yet considering the rare battering his body takes through his unrelenting, iron competitiveness, might we already have witnessed the heyday of Schalk Willem Petrus Burger?

The next eight weeks, at least, will provide no platform for this iconic fellow to allay our fears.

And fresh-faced pretenders to his throne, both international and Currie Cup, will be desirous of seizing on any opportunity to beef reputations in his void, I’ll bet you that much …

Your Comments

Jeff Aucamp7/2/2009 8:00 AM
Cliff Bradley,you are out of your depth with your assumtions.Schalk is one of the few WP players that is respected in S14 country.
martin7/1/2009 9:41 PM
Thank goodness these whingers only come once every 12 years! Emagine the moaning every year! Bring on the all Blacks - at least they can still shake hands after a tough match.Mayby the Boks should let them win on Saturday to stop the crying. By the way, Brussouw should have played in the first place...would ave spared SB the embarrassment of the worst match in his life.
CLIFF BRADLEY7/1/2009 3:36 PM
ITS A PITY THESE SCHALK HATERS ARE ALL TO YELLOW (ANONYMOUS) TO RELEASE THERE NAMES -ME THINKS THEY COME FROM "ANDERKANT" THE JUKSKEI- CHICKENS
Cliff Bradley7/1/2009 3:04 PM
Dankie Heinrich - Dat Jy Nie Soos Die Res Van Die Land Is En Schalk Weggooi. Hy Het Ons Nou Teleurgestel Maar As Jy In Ag Neem Die Traumatiese Tyd Wat Hy Onlangs Deur Is , Sal Hy Weer Opstaan.
Heinrich6/30/2009 8:18 PM
Schalk is nie op standaard op die oomblik nie, maar hy was en sal weer die wereld se beste no 6 wees. Die sogenaambe kenners onder julle wat nou so baie eiers te le het oor Schalk ly aan geheue verlies. Vra maar vir die new Zeelanders wat hulle van Schalk din. soos Murrey Mexted gese het "this man is not from flesh and blood".
Johan W6/30/2009 5:36 PM
This was a serious hard test match and given all the injuries, it was a no love lost game. So what! I think that every one tried his best and with the right selection, the Boks will win the Tri-nations. Brussow is better than Burger at the moment. Jaques Fourie is a world class centre. Lets pray they get selected and support them. I supported Burger, even in the bad times, because he is a Bok!!
Gerald6/30/2009 5:10 PM
I am of the opinion that SB, since his neck injury has not played with the same verve and commitment. One can see he becomes frustrated by really dumb referee decisions, a good deal of which was so frustratingly evident on Saturday. Being the owner of so many yellow cards already, SB is a marked man whenever and wherever he plays (sort has a bulls eye on his back), specially for idiotic referees. I say SB relax, focus and work on your game. To calim we have so much depth in the blind side without the likes of SB is naive. To the BIL, I say "there will be more leaving the field in JHB this Saturday" to return perhaps later than anticipated. VIVA BOKKE!!!!! the rest of the world can go to hell... oops sorry in Oz they are there already!.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 5:07 PM
Please pick Luke Watson in place of Schalk...
phillip6/30/2009 4:59 PM
Schalk mite have been a bit pumped up going into that first maul, but as someone who knows him personally I can assure you the man is no ear nibbling bully. Shame on all South Africans up in arms over something so trivial. Have you forgotten what this man has achieved in so short a career? And to the lions supporters , well I guess we have come to expect nothing less from you lot. This Saturday will be the final nail… Phillip
phillip harding6/30/2009 4:40 PM
apache: schalk kan start with you.
Anti Brit6/30/2009 4:22 PM
Kyk, ek hou nie so baie van Schalk nie maar ek ondersteun hom na saterdag. Ongelukkig is hy gevang want daar moes meer van die Britte rondgeloop het met seer oë. Hulle wou mos ons vrouens en kinders laat glas eet het in die konsentrasie kampe!!!
Ptr6/30/2009 3:53 PM
The same way South Africans hate having Richie McCaw on the field against us, the same way other teams hate having Schalk Burger on the field against them.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 3:51 PM
Schalk must be the most overrated player in world rugby! He gives more than 100%, but if you put his brain in a bird it will fly upside down! With so much talent waiting for the no.6 jersey, Schalk will never play for the Boks again!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 3:27 PM
Schalk must be the most overrated player in world rugby today. He is a hard worker, but as thick as pig-sh$t. If you put his brain in a bird it will fly upside down! He will never play for the springboks again.
Apache6/30/2009 3:23 PM
"phillip harding" - what a retarded thing to say, never mind put in print...
DG NORTIER6/30/2009 2:52 PM
I think those writing here were the ones wearing the red jerseys in the pavilion during the game... really...
phillip harding6/30/2009 2:36 PM
schalk burgers a legend. he should have ripped that souties head off never mind poke him in the eye. i would pay good money to see that. phillip harding
Mike@CapeT6/30/2009 2:32 PM
I am another who does not believe SB was being dirty or malicious. I do not believe he attempted to 'eye gouge' (I do not even think it was an eye gouge - just too close for comfort). I do believe he was clumsy as he has been in most of his yellow card infringements. He did not deserve a red card - as most of the Lions contingent are saying (of course, it would have been easier to win the game against 14 Boks!). I do believe he should not have been playing in the first place because unfortunately, as a player, he is overated at the moment - way past his best and has been for the past couple of seasons. And yes..... he does play his rugby hard.
Rob 6/30/2009 2:31 PM
Some of these comments rival the emotional bullshit in the British press (all based on sour grapes). Schalk was guilty and has been punished - the end. Whether you like it or not - he will be back (as a star too...)
Veiluil6/30/2009 2:23 PM
Anon 1.26pm You are are a internet coward to boot!...Hiding behind an anonymous pseudonym...sies man how uninventive! Schalk Burger has more rugby ability in his non-gouging pinkie than you appear to have in your bitter and twisted cranium. Lay off .............no one condones such actions...however these tame Lions pussygalores are no sweet and innocent little ballet tutu clad exponents! Not justifying any mis-demeanors BUT havr you kept tally of how many illegal high tackles and non binding tackles and crunch barging incidents at the breakdown point have been expedited by the British & Irish players or kept count of how many injured opposing players have been carried from the field of play from the build up games. Ja Well No Fine.....I rest my case...and that ain't Charles Glass either. Wake up and smell the English roses.....all is not as it seems! Schalk The Hulk will no doubt take his punishment and hopefully the time off will help him to truly get match fit in time for the last Tri-nations games! All you Schalkie Doomsayers dont dare count out this brave and highly talented Bok Gladiator! He'll definitely be back to prove you fickle lot wrong!
Degan6/30/2009 2:20 PM
It is amazing how they can go on about Schalk and yet nothing was said or done about Andrew Sherridan's below the belt punch on Andries Bekker, neither was anything said about the dirty Brian O Driscol who clearly went for Danie with his shoulder - all they keep saying in the Irish press is how dirty the SA players are and that 5 lion "cubs" were left in hospital ... wish they would stop making excuses and get on with it!
Degan6/30/2009 2:18 PM
It is amazing how they can go on about Schalk and yet nothing was said or done about Andrew Sherridan's below the belt punch on Andries Bekker, neither was anything said about the dirty Brian O Driscol who clearly went for Danie with his shoulder - all they keep saying in the Irish press is how dirty the SA players are and that 5 lion "cubs" were left in hospital ... wish they would stop making excuses and get on with it!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 2:14 PM
As a Bok supporter I agree that Schalk was lucky - but I dont hear any mention of the cheap shots from the BIL like Bekker being punched in the bathing suit area by Sheridan
Simon6/30/2009 2:10 PM
Ahhhh please all you people who think you know your Rugby!!!! This is not the first time SB has been involved in an incident like this. Count the number of yellow cards he has banked already.... Or are you going to tell me all the Refs were "Lions" too. There is no place in Rugby for an animal like this. He should have been banned ages ago and for good to...
njr13306/30/2009 2:10 PM
What I cannot understandabout the Burger incident is...Why? What possible advantage was going to arise from foul play in the first minute? Especially as it was directed towards a guy who was pinned on the floor and wasn't going anywhere !
Mike6/30/2009 2:08 PM
Schalk has been off the boil for most of the Super 14 this year and has not looked thec player that we have all come to admire. Perhaps it has been the neck injury that he suffered that has hammered his confidence but to see his actions this past weekend has left most people that I have spoken to more that a little disapointed. The other side in this every 12 year Boer War re-run have also been far from blameless and Andrew Sheridan was probably given the job of chief disrupter, something he seemed to to particularly well. We should not measure pourselves by the standards of others but rather by our own standards and it is when you do this that Schalk Burger quite simply does not measure up to our expectations or his pay packet for that matter. This does not mean that he should be discarded but rather it must be seen by Schalk as an opportunity to come back even better than he was before.
Danie6/30/2009 1:59 PM
Schalk Burger is 'n legende en ek glo hy is nog ver van klaar af. Ja, hy het nou kak aangevang, maar gee die ou break man. Ek's seker daarvan ons almal het al 'n fout begaan, so hou nou op om die man te stenig. As ek die kans kon kry om teen een van daai Britse moffies te speel, sal ek hulle self wou donner. Hulle is arrogant en bitch en moan oor alles, maar die waarheid is hulle kan nie die punch vat nie. Hulle hoort nie eers op dieselfde rugby veld as die Bokke nie. Bloody moffies. Ek hoor nie dat ons hulle spelers sight nie, hulle kan maar loop kak. Ek stem saam met Jaco. Schalk is great en ons weet daar's nog baie rugby in hom. Go Schalla.
Stuart6/30/2009 1:56 PM
@Moto, if you read Luke's comment you will see that he means points scored against the bokke while Schalk was off.....not that Schalk scored. Maybe they can have a look at how many points he saved as well?
bullinwp6/30/2009 1:50 PM
Wish we could hear Schalk's own version of what happened in that ruck. The guy's a legend.
Marc6/30/2009 1:48 PM
Schalk is a hard player, but generally no dirtier than most. This was an idiotic lapse of judgement from him, and one for which he has been suitably, if not somewhat leniently, punished. His apology to the ref when he came back onto the field goes to demonstrate his decency. Anybody who has heard him speak should be in no doubt as to his intelligence and love for the game and his team. He might not be on top form, but his commitment and physicality make him a great player who shouldn't be discarded just yet. Use him as an option for his unique strengths, either off the bench or as a starting player with other alternatives on the bench to replace him. As for Div, what an embarrassment. He shouldn't be allowed anywhere near a microphone or a camera. I'm beginning to have my doubts as to whether he should be allowed anywhere near a rugby team either. Thank goodness for a great coaching team and some savvy senior players.
Moto6/30/2009 1:38 PM
@ Luke ... culpability aside, Schalk Burger's job as a flanker is not to score points. If you followed rugby at all, you'd know this.
Burgiesburnin6/30/2009 1:32 PM
No one except for Div has said that there was no foul by SB. One "fan" [Prick Jeff Aucamp 11;58]said that because the player wasnt blinded or rolling in pain then it was ok. Tw#t. Wake up you lot, this guy should have been sent off!!! He only got away with a yellow due to the early stage of the game. The game would have bee ruined for millions and the score a hell of a lot different.Get rid of him, you compromise too much on the indiscretions of your sportsman. Is this how you want your 11 year old to play. if he gets another chance, they should search him for a knife.
Gtr6/30/2009 1:28 PM
Poor old Schalk. Jeff Aucamp, I aggree. Evryone saying he's such a bad player, you guys suck. Yes, he was not in form, and Brussow is playing better rugby. If Brussow remains fit, I have to aggree that we won't see Schalk in a starting line-up for the Boks again that soon, maybe as an impact player he can be more effective. But Schalk has a WC medal. He was also important when we won the Tri Nations in 2004. He is physical, and an inform Schalk is a threat to any team. I think his punishment is enough. The fans don't need to crucify him as well. The couch, I mean coach... deserves all the criticism he gets.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 1:26 PM
So much tallent so little brain! It is such a pity that we can't enjoy the victory because this idiot pointed the media's focus on the dirty play! If burge had not played we would not have been 10-0 down after 10 mins and also would not have given that stupid penalty at the end of the game when he was miles off side. With out him we would have thrashed the lions and everyone would be saying how good the boks are. Now instead we have a stupid coach and a dirty number 6. I wish we had banned him for 3 months before he even went before the judicial committee. And for those idiots on this site who accept such behavour and say it is part of the game, well then you are just as dumb as our coach!
Conrad6/30/2009 1:18 PM
Amazing!!! A little more than a year ago, in the build up to the world cup, Schalk was portrayed as the incredible Hulk and the public loved him. He was going to a world cup as a hero. After the world cup, he was a hero!!!! After injury he is off form and he is SA rugby's hate child!! IF HE EYE GOUGED WHILST ON FORM BEFORE THE WORLD CUP, YOU WOULD ALL HAVE FORGIVEN HIM!!! The biggest problem here is that he is battling to find his feet after injury, he needs to return to the WP and find his feet again...... Then attempt a come back from injury. The priorities are all screwed up in our rugby system!!!
Mike6/30/2009 1:13 PM
The questions that should be asked when measuring the severity of Schalks offence is: What damage was done to Fitzgeralds eye, did he continue playing, did he experience any acute damage that is present post game, etc? It is amazing that the media has been silent on this, and has focussed entirely on Schalk. Are the Lions milking this to the fullest extent ? I believe that had he really gone for the eye with full intent the evidence would be plain to see!
Sonny6/30/2009 1:02 PM
@Andre', pathetic posting. Bakkies took the guy out at a ruck which the Lions also do. Tough shit if he got hurt. What about Lions high tackles. At one stage O' Driscoll was shouting "bring it on" at the boks. Dis mos kak soek man!
ODIE6/30/2009 12:54 PM
If Schalk is so honourable, why the hell did he do that stupid stupid thing. He is a professional and earn a big salary for his services. I think he needs to loose some of his money as well. It was an unprofessional, idiotic thing to do and hope that he learnt a lesson.
Mark H6/30/2009 12:54 PM
PdV's eulogy to Schalk saying that "if you know him off the field, you would know that he would never do these things" (or words to that effect) rings very hollow in the light that Schalk is so regularly penalised for dirty and illegal play. I would wager he has more yellow cards than any other Bok player in history - Bullet included. And how many points has that cost us? The fact that he is now so out of practice and hence form means it is probably a good thing that our genius coach is now unable to select him. Some people comment that his value is that other teams fear him ... like the aussies did with Butch James, but in reality, other teams fear losing - and Brussouw looks far more fearful to that end than the Schalkernator does at the moment.
Luke6/30/2009 12:51 PM
can anyone give the stats of how many yellows/reds he recieved in his carreer and how many pionts scored in that time?
Tom 6/30/2009 12:51 PM
Bokke ...Please Please make it a 3-0 whitewash !!!!! Please Show that our Bokke are NOT to be underrated Tom
GetrouBlou6/30/2009 12:51 PM
I still want to know why our distinguished guests haven't been cited? Sheridan's blow to Bekker's nuts - what was that about? O' Gara on Danie Rossouw ? Or does the fact that Danie's physique should be able to withstand the iniquitous intentions of a desperate Irishman, negate that argument? We should stop being the typical Gentlemen of the sporting world and stop apologyzing for our every move. We must learn to bemoan and to bitch about every little injustice that might come our way.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:44 PM
Wildfire - if you know Schalk personally - believes me - nothing is about the money. And his dad have nothing on Pieter Div. Schalk is in the team as a thank you for years service to Bok rugby! Dawie - you probably played netball or something - because clearly you have never been in a ruck - and you are probably a match commissioner! It happens on each and every rugby field. So you would probably say good riddance to Chabal, Bakkies, Tana Umaga, Kevin Melamu, Bismark, McCaw ect. because all of them have done something similar. Please - give Schalk the credit he earned through the years - and stop acting like a Good Weather Supporter!
Brendan6/30/2009 12:42 PM
Yet nobody has mentioned in the press that Andrew Sheridan smacked Andries Bekker in the crown jewels!!!! Are the bloody Pommies a protective species or what. Why he was not cited for foul play,s#@* knows!!
Dan6/30/2009 12:41 PM
I did not see the poor victim writhing in pain as SB was busy gouging his eyes out.However we can not condone SB's actions or now discard of his services. He has been a loyal servant of the Boks and now must serve his time. Live and let live.
Bliiksem6/30/2009 12:39 PM
Ja , its funny how people suddenly hate and despise and calling him names after everything a legend like Schalk did for Springbok rugby in the past . It was bad what he did with the oke's eye , and a suspension is the right punishment , but to hate him like that now ...... aiyayai. On the other hand , coming back to Bekker's ghoons incident .. like the saying goes: If you had a MALE organ on your forehead , your nuts will hang in your eyes , but if you had a FEMALE organ on your forehead (like Sheridan), ANOTHER mans ghoons will hang in your eyes . So thats maybe why Sheridan try to klap them away from his eyes
David C6/30/2009 12:38 PM
After 1995 rugby became a professional sport with salaries to players that run into millions per year. The conduct on and off the field must be professional as well. Dirty play has no place in Rugby or any other sport for that matter. The players must realise that millions are watching them and we do have the technology to pause, re-wind and slow down what happens on the field. They will be caugth out and brought to book. Maybe the players contracts should include fines for yellow and red cards as well as no play no pay.
Player 236/30/2009 12:37 PM
All you nasty fellas baying for the legendary Schalkie's head.....Sies on you lot of unpatriotic, fickle and pathetic so called Bok fans...you're not even worthy of being classified as Player 24 material....Yes that's reserved for moaning rugga bugga sloths who sit in their tethered Lazy-Bone reclining chairs with some alchoholic beverage to hone the so called grey matter. Schalk's actions are a mere pimple on the butt of an otherwise superb illustrious career where in the past he has often contributed in no small measure to the tremendous success enjoyed by the World Champion Bokke. His never say die attitude, commitment and unstinting bravery has been a hallmark of his brilliant rugby career to date! I certainly don't condone his actions on Saturday....but in true Schalkie fashion he will take it square on the chin.....and no doubt when his 8week suspension is over believe you me he'll earn his rightful way back in to the Bok Span! Players 24 Get A Life! P.S. And another thing how clean are some of the Lions Team players....? Watch a little closer from your comfortable couch potato pose! If you don't believe me ask Elton or Jan!
Karen Morrice6/30/2009 12:33 PM
Ok, off the Schalk bandwagon everyone. I personally didn't think it looked as bad as it's being portrayed in the press - but it was wrong, and he's been punished. It doesn't detract from the fact that the man is an awesome part of the Springbok team. I am actually a little surprised that our players have been treated as they have, and yet none of the Lions players were slapped on the wrists for their shockers. The high tackle to Habana - can't remembetr which Lions player was guilty of this, but not only did he have Habana round the neck, but he also spun him round - I felt quite sick watching it back, or the high air tackle of Du Preez by O Gara or the flattening of Russouw by O'Driscoll - all dirty play as far as I'm concerned, and yet no mention was made. At the end of the day, incidents on both sides, but our boys played a great game and I'm a Bok fan to the end - where's your loyalty anons??????
Jaco6/30/2009 12:32 PM
Schalkie is die beste no.6 in die Wêreld. Brussow is a toddler compare to Schalk. He will always be a hero in eyes. Schalk Burger is gemaak vir Rugby, nie sokker of enige ander moefie game nie. Net 'n jammerte daars altyd denkbeeldige mense wat niks weet van rugby af nie.
SG6/30/2009 12:32 PM
Andrew Sheridan punched Andries Bekker to the balls (but luckily it seems he missed the target) and afterwards threw his unguilty hands in the air. No Citing. Gouching is part of the game I can remember from childhood days and do not know of one player losing and eye. Although couching is not commendable Schalk is one of our world cup heroes so let us not be hypocritical. We do not know how many times his eyes were gouched and went unseen.
Viwe6/30/2009 12:26 PM
I believe in you Schalk Burger and I believe that you will come back stronger from this. Do not be bothered by these so called Bok supporters who shouted out your name in support not too long ago. I believe in you even though what you did on Saturday was stupid, you will bounce back and these nay sayers will eat humble pie. They will once more shout your name from the roof tops as if nothing had happened. Unfortunately that is the fickle nature of the South African supporters.
Skipper6/30/2009 12:25 PM
I agree that Schalk may be an honorable person but ........................ He needs to regain our respect after his dishonorable deed which was probably provoked and he acted without thinking. Schalk we still love you - please don't ever do it again.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:25 PM
Does anyone remember the incident a year or 2 back where Schalk attacked a guy in Stellenbosch who accidentally scraped his car??? The guy pressed charges but daddy Schalk's connections squashed the case and never a word was heard of it again. So spare me the "He is actually a good guy" routine. The guy is a thug who has been getting away with it because his daddy has clout.
Viwe6/30/2009 12:24 PM
I believe in you Schalk Burger and I believe that you will come back stronger from this. Do not be bothered by these so called Bok supporters who shouted out your name in support not too long ago. I believe in you even though what you did on Saturday was stupid, you will bounce back and these nay sayers will eat humble pie. They will once more shout your name from the roof tops as if nothing had happened. Unfortunately that is the fickle nature of the South African supporters.
Kev6/30/2009 12:18 PM
Jeff - Agree with you 100%. To read some of the crap written by so called Springbok supporters about how useless Schalk suddendly is, saddens me.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:18 PM
Schalk got exactly what he deserved! Only a moron like Div will try to justify and defend Schalk's actions, it was clear as day what happend and every camera angle confirmed it. He is past his prime and needs to make place for better players who deserve to be there, like Brussow. Unfortunately the best Springbok side never takes the field because of blatant racism and favourtism by the idiot coach who is clearly insane or brain-dead or both! Once again i say, they must appoint a spokes person for Div. He's an embarrasment to the Springbok name and the country as a whole.
Andre6/30/2009 12:14 PM
Strange, no mention of Bakkies Botha's foul play. His victim ended up in hospital. Must be Blue Bulls commenting. Typical
Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:13 PM
Nice balanced article but the damaging, bumbling and incompetent comments by Peter de Villiers resulted in Springbok bashing in the UK press. See one of the articles: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/article-1196289/LIONS-LATEST-Schalk-Burger-did-wrong-insists-South-Africa-coach-De-Villiers.html
Steev6/30/2009 12:12 PM
Schalk will be around for another 2 seasons, but no one can deny that the guard is changing.
Bok Supporter6/30/2009 12:11 PM
I can not understand why our country should try bad sportmans's tackticks. We are the best without bringing in bad things. Go Bokke, play the hard game you guys can play and concentrate on that, then we will show the world who is the best and will stay the best for quite some time.
kwk6/30/2009 12:10 PM
Suspension aside, Schalk is not in form at the moment. Nothing against the man, I agree with PdV he's a good guy, but he is not in form. Players don't choose themselves and we know he would have been chosen regardless of current form.So sad to say, but the suspension seems to be a blessing in disguise.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:10 PM
Schalk must be one of the most stupid of rugby players you can get. He plays hard (I give him that) but not intellegent at all. He cost the team 6 points plus in every game he play. I can not see how De Villiers can defend him. One stupid defending another.
Dawie6/30/2009 12:09 PM
Schalk will never wear a Springbok jersey again. He might as well go and play in France. Good riddance as he is an embarrasment to the Bok Jersey. Dirty play must not be a part of SA Rugby!
Frank6/30/2009 12:02 PM
I for one always questioned the numerous penlties and yellow cards Schalk gets and yet not learning from it. Schalk just returned from injury and is out of form, why then pick him? I'm not saying Brussow will never be penalised out yellow carded. You expect that to happen with a tenatious little Jack Russel like him, but some players just can't seem to learn the proper way of bending the rules. Remember Waal Bartman? I don't think Schalk will fall by the way side but perhaps he will become more of an impact player than a starter.
Jeff Aucamp6/30/2009 11:58 AM
The mans history will testify to a hard uncompromising player.He was found guilty,be that as it may I'm not convinced of the intent.He for sure had intent but I honestly don't think he was targeting the eyes.But let it be.What upsets me is the way so called Bok supporters discard a legend so quickly.Burger has been a loyal servant,keep that in mind when rebuking him!(Especially all the anonymous cowards)He may have been a tad naughty but never threatened to puke on the hallowed jersey!
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:58 AM
This happens on every rugby field and every player knows it. SB's mistake was getting caught.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:57 AM
He has been yellow carded so often, it is time ht some realises that he has passed his sell by date
Dawie6/30/2009 11:57 AM
Schalk will never wear a Springbok jersey again. He might as well go and play in France. Good riddance as he is an embarrasment to the Bok Jersey. Dirty play must not be a part of SA Rugby!
WILDFIRE6/30/2009 11:55 AM
Brussow a much better no 6. He is only there to serve out his current Bok contract and it is all about money - and his father's influence with old Div.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:54 AM
I'm highly disappointed with the eye gouging of Schalk. If you are going to gouge someone's eyes I would expect to see the victum writhing in agony with bloodied hands clutching his face as the realisation that he may be blind kicks in. I would also expect said victim's team mates come to his rescue as a huge rumble breaks out on the park. Hell not even a few eye drops for this victum of the most haneous of haneous crimes. NADA! Had Bryce not mentioned it I dont think the victim would have known he just had his eyes gouged. Look Schalkie if you are going to gouge peoples eyes out (& it's not a cool thing to do) make sure you get your 8 weeks worth.
Christo6/30/2009 11:50 AM
Aah! The fickle nature of Professional Sport (and thereby also the fickle nature of the "professional fan)! Here today - forgotten tomorrow ;-)
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Anton van Zyl's message to WP fans

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Greatest Goal Celebrations... 9/3/2010 12:31:41 PM

1963 Wallabies against South Africa 9/3/2010 12:13:53 PM

MOVING FORWARD - PART 2 9/3/2010 12:02:42 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.