Lions in SA

Steyn gets flyhalf nod

2009-07-02 13:08
Email | Print
Starting at No 10 (File)

Johannesburg - Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has made 10 changes to the starting XV for the third Test of the Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series against the British and Irish Lions at Coca-Cola Park in Johannesburg.

De Villiers included only one uncapped player in the starting team when he named Blue Bulls player Zane Kirchner at fullback.

Morné Steyn and Chiliboy Ralepelle will both make their first starts for the Springboks at flyhalf and hooker respectively, while the other newcomers to the starting line-up are Johann Muller, Heinrich Brüssow, Ryan Kankowski, Wynand Olivier, Jaque Fourie, Jongi Nokwe and Odwa Ndungane.

“It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity to play against the Lions and we respect them so much, that we wanted to give all our players a chance to take them on,” said De Villiers.

“We believe they are as good as the other guys and that they can go out and do an outstanding job for the Springboks. They will also bring fresh energy to the team after two tough Tests and hopefully give us the quick ball to our backs, because we have shown we are capable of scoring tries from first phase.”

Uncapped Sharks lock Steven Sykes has been included on the bench for the Test. This follows the unsuccessful appeal on Thursday morning by Springbok lock Bakkies Botha for a two-week suspension for dangerous charging.

Sharks captain Johann Muller has been included in the starting team in Botha’s place for his first Test start since the end of the 2007 season.

Bismarck du Plessis, Pierre Spies, Ruan Pienaar and Frans Steyn all drop down to the bench, which also includes Gurthrö Steenkamp, who comes back onto the bench after missing the second Test. Deon Carstens retains his place amongst the reserves.

“This is a very strong side. At the end of the Super 14 I wanted to have 28 players who could play for the Springboks at any time and I think we’ve achieved that goal. I’m very happy with this selection,” said De Villiers.

The Springbok team for the third Test against the British & Irish Lions is (Test caps in brackets):

15. Zane Kirchner (uncapped)
14. Odwa Ndungane (3)
13. Jaque Fourie (44)
12. Wynand Olivier (21)
11. Jongi Nokwe (3)
10. Morné Steyn (2)
9. Fourie du Preez (45)
8. Ryan Kankowski (7)
7. Juan Smith (56)
6. Heinrich Brüssow (3)
5. Victor Matfield (82)
4. Johann Muller (22)
3. John Smit (83) – captain
2. Chiliboy Ralepelle (3)
1. Tendai Mtawarira (12)

Replacements:

16. Bismarck du Plessis (23)
17. Gurthrö Steenkamp (21)
18. Deon Carstens (8)
19. Steven Sykes (uncapped)
20. Pierre Spies (21)
21. Ruan Pienaar (29)
22. Frans Steyn (29)

Your Comments

James7/3/2009 9:48 AM
Everything good and well guys, but can "Chilli Boy" who is rated by myself as useless find his lineout jumpers.?????????
LOL7/2/2009 8:11 PM
LOL chilly boy who??? more like lemon and herb if you ask me? he couldn't make the bulls starting line up and you guys think he is our future? never mind captain after 2011? dnt even get me started on the rose sage?? come on? what have you been smoking? cose i want some of that .....
denis7/2/2009 7:25 PM
Never thought I would see the day I said this, but here goes: Well done PdV. Exactly the right balance between experience, youth and meaningful merit-based transformation. All the new guys deserve their chances either due to proven Super14 performance or at least massive potential. Even the wing rotation is not a bad idea - Nokwe is a great attacking option and the balance is ok with solid tacklers now inside him. Several strong safety factors on the bench if any of the new run-ons don't cope or get injured. Hopefully most of us can now agree that criticism of some earlier selections was not racist, but simply a rugby opinion. Can we please now put the Rose and January issues to rest until both of them are established 1st choices for teams that can finish in the top half of the Super 14?
Dean7/2/2009 6:38 PM
WAAAAHAHAHAHAHA. Ben, is that because you're all going down to the ballet shop??? I'd rather be arrogant than a complete whinger, which your team has not stopped doing since they arrived.......poofta's
Benjamin Reynolds7/2/2009 6:37 PM
Kenneth - could you leave out the racist 'whinging poms' please and apologise? I know everyone excuses it away as a 'term of endearment' but it isn't. It's racist. End of. I am pale and skinny though - you been watching me in the park again? Naughty boy.
No to Rose.7/2/2009 6:06 PM
Didn't Earl Rose prove how crap he is in the Emerging Boks side? Why would we want to see that again? It is obviously our B side, rest the players for the Tri-Nations, the Series is ours already. Give the replacements some game time. Looking forward to see if Morne will take up the kicking game that Ruan seems to have picked up. It's gonna be a good one!!
scipio7/2/2009 5:56 PM
Very good team!!! AKona Ndungane is a strong defender like any!! and Zane is pretty tough aswell. Jongi is the weak link but jaque fourie and olivier will back him up, he must concentrate on his attacking abilities!! which is very dangerous indeed. I'm glad Pdv finally gave Chillyboy a chance, he is our future beyond the 2011 world cup as a springbok captain. If the team jells well we will beat them by plenty, but if not, it will be tight. Any way, hats off PDV, u brought in the right ''quotas'' (note: theres no quotas in this team!!! they all there by merit according to me) and the side looks very strong - Especially with all the bulls players, we dnt wna play sharks rugby again!!! ever!!!! Crash and bash boys stay in durban
Arno7/2/2009 5:14 PM
Am I missing something. The "racists" are full of praise for Zane, Chilliboy, Ndungane and Nokwe. Some want JP back and others reckon Habana should have been retained. Others want Akona in instead of his brother. They dont want Rose there and now they are still racists. Come on guys they are "our" team, lets support them. They gonna kick butt.
BLOUBUL7/2/2009 5:05 PM
Pankop, kyk ons die selfde rugby. Ek dink nie jy weet iets van rugby af nie. Wynand Olivier IS 'n wereldklas speler. Ek dink jy moet liewers sokker kyk, ons het jou nie nodig as 'n rugby ondersteuner nie!
DAVEY7/2/2009 4:58 PM
This proves that we have the greatest talent in the world,but sadly,with the current coaches we will not win the trinations
Vickey7/2/2009 4:48 PM
This is not our best 15 - but as PdV said "I don't care. Kirchner did not look like an international player in Cape Town and Nokwe got speed nothing else
Kenneth7/2/2009 4:46 PM
Ben Im in England and I will be watching the only reason you winging poms wont be watching is because you are are a nation of loosers and we hate arrogant little pale skinny pommies too Go Bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Norbert7/2/2009 4:46 PM
Ben7/2/2009 4:01 PM .. BEN7 .. I HAVE TWO WORDS FOR YOU and NO! they aren't "Happy Birthday" ...
Elton7/2/2009 4:39 PM
This would have been the perfect opportunity for Earl Rose to demonstrate his superior skills as SA's No 1 flyhalf and silence all his critics.
Elton7/2/2009 4:38 PM
This would have been the perfect opportunity for Earl Rose to demonstrate his superior skills as SA's No 1 flyhalf and silence all his critics.
JdV Fan7/2/2009 4:29 PM
Pitty JdV could not pair up with Fourie in midfield. If the forwards and game plan can allow for quick clean ball to the backline, this combination is deadly. Wynand had an exceptional S14, but JdV has world class talent.
Fran7/2/2009 4:25 PM
If I had to attend Saturday's game at Ellis Park, at R 1100 a ticket, I would expect the best XV to run on the field.
Che7/2/2009 4:19 PM
At last sanity has prevailed at Pdv camp! Looks like the media tension has done him some good at last! Looking forward to a great clash on Saturday. Got a feeling a whitewash is imminent! BOKKE all the way!
Cliff Bradley7/2/2009 4:15 PM
John0: I Have A Good Idea_ Go Play With Yourself
Soweto Boy7/2/2009 4:02 PM
mhhhhh, I don't know, looks like a weakened team to me, but prove me wrong! The back 3 is inexperienced (expect the high ball) and the center pairing (even though it's 2 quality players), I wonder if it will work? I'm nevours but this also shows the depth we have. What is Deon Casterns doing the, where is Heinkie Van Der Merwe???? Anyway, go bokke!
Ben7/2/2009 4:01 PM
Just so you all know, no-one in Britain's watching this anymore. The best players are on the plane, and everyone hates arrogant South Africans.
Sluggy7/2/2009 3:51 PM
What is Steven Sykes doing in the team????
Postman7/2/2009 3:48 PM
It all makes sense, spare some star’s spark and light up some spare stars for this opportunity, PDV you are polishing your players; in SA we can make two teams, play them all and use them all for us all!!!!
John7/2/2009 3:46 PM
It must be the first time in Springbok history that there will be no Western Province player in the team. It appears as if only thugs and sissis play in the Cape now.
MB7/2/2009 3:43 PM
Boks are now at almost full strenght. Save a wing or two. But how else do you develope a test player. Very few players are born test players. Look what a clown JP Pietersien was when he 1st started. Nokwe can also raise his game to be a good test player. On the other hand the B&I Lions are going backwards in terms of strength on paper. Can someone also tell me if Schalk gorged that okes eyes why are they not gorged.
Up and under7/2/2009 3:42 PM
Here comes the kicking game again.... sigh... I like the team, but hope they run a little and Steyn's kicking is better Pienaap's
Andries7/2/2009 3:40 PM
All the hype around the replacements is surely unwarranted - lets not forget that we have already had a season win over the Lions team and that it was our starting line-up which achieved this in two consecutive tests. As to Pienaar's performance at 10, if any of the critics have ever played Flyhalf for a strong side, you would know that there is enormous pressure to retain and consolidate your position. Pienaar looked to be a world-class replacement for the fading James, but a short while ago...now Steyn is the new kid on the block - he is under no pressure because he is still the replacement flyhalf. He is out to prove his position, not consolidate it and so has nothing to lose yet. SA is blessed to have enough potential to form two independently strong teams...goodluck boys
GREEN7/2/2009 3:38 PM
Good team.While both centres looked good all season , I prefer to see a gap/space maker at 12. Olivier more the player to run into space.When u have nokwe & odwa on the outside , with kirchner coming into backline at pace , you need a BOD style player getting hands through tackle.
chris7/2/2009 3:09 PM
very good on paper, must just beat the balerinas.
alice7/2/2009 3:07 PM
pankop - what u talking about? Wynand Olivier - OMG - you are an idiot... he is brilliant... the rest of the world rugby knows that.. he was chosen by NZ & Os for being the best in his position and you want to put on Frans Steyn who tried to act as a no. 9 (albeit really badly) on saturday... yikes!!!!
Biltong7/2/2009 3:07 PM
Nou praat ons...Div vat n bietjie lank om die lig te sien ,maar hierdie span keuse ,gee n ou bietjie rede om nie heeltemal af te hak ,oor sy praaitjies nie...Miskien nodig hy maar net bietjie tyd ,maar sal tod daar uitkom..Al wat ek kan se is ,die poppe gaan dans..Ek sien uit vir resultate soos die teen Australia verlede jaar...Bokke met 30 of meer
Anon7/2/2009 3:05 PM
We are in fact playing the B&I Lions B Team, 5 sent back after Saturday's match.
Nikki7/2/2009 3:05 PM
VERY interesting side. Excellent backline combination! Du Preez, Steyn, Olivier, Fourie & Kirchner!! All that's needed to that backline is Habana & JP Petersen then you have your best possible backline (with the exception of maybe Jean & Ruan on the bench) This 3rd & last match has gotten me far more excited then the previous 2 did! Gonna be a cracker! Go Morne & goooooooo BOKS!!
Dave7/2/2009 3:00 PM
Almost there, will be worth watching.Close to te perfect team,Iwill just have a couplle of changes in my team (BRUSSOW} ?
Dr Fil7/2/2009 2:57 PM
At long flipping last PdV has picked a form team! 30+ points to the Boks!
@pankop7/2/2009 2:56 PM
Pankop, ...you are actually a platkop... :)
Mike B7/2/2009 2:56 PM
I hate to agree with Helium, but I think this team is a better team than the "ou manne" Chiliboy is going to be the next Springbuck captain, thank you so much for letting Petersen, Habana and Addie dissapear.
Viljoen7/2/2009 2:55 PM
What a brilliant Bok team this is
Kruger7/2/2009 2:53 PM
It's great that PdV finally got it right on flyhalf and well done to Morne Steyn for earning the position. Zane Kirchner however seems like a very impulsive move especially after a poor performance in the amateur game a fortnight ago. He will be tested under the high balls and I will be very surprised if he has the temperament for a first class test. PdV also has to remember that he inherited a winning team from Jake White. His commentary over the last couple of weeks is shocking. In my opinion he is there to play the politic-game and till now he is not doing it. Hats of to our forwards. Hopefully our backs will join the party this Saturday.
Jaz7/2/2009 2:53 PM
Morne and Ruan are both good, classic fly-halves. However, what we need is a quick, strong running, fleetfooted 10 (yes yes - who can kick...). At the moment the other top teams don't rate our fly-half channel as anything worth watching. Maybe that is why we scored 3 tries in 2 matches with short feeds in exactly that channel. The British either underestimated the threat or they are too used to having no Gitaeu's and Carters in their own backyards. We desperately need to develop a player in that mold. Rember H Gibbs when he was 17?
PHILIP GOOSEN7/2/2009 2:43 PM
I don't usually bother posting comments on these type of things, but just to set "pankop" straight: Wynand Olivier was the centre in the in the super 14 with the most line breaks, most meters gained, 2nd most tries scored by a centre in the competition. Throughout the competition he was regarded by both new zealand and aussie commentators as the best centre in the competition. If that is not world class I don't know what is. High time he got a proper chance
Bruce7/2/2009 2:40 PM
Bunch of ballet dancers really.
Daniel7/2/2009 2:38 PM
Brett, return your ticket or sell it to a true Bok supporter and go play with yourself. Kirchner, Fourie, Ndungane, Matfield, Brussow, Beast, Smit - B Team??? WHO THE HELL NEEDS A FAN LIKE YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!??????
Pieter7/2/2009 2:35 PM
@Pankop: If you have an above average season measured against the worlds best in the Super 14 then Wynand Olivier certainly rate with and above the worlds best players, think before you open your mouth your name surely reflects your argument which is flat. The Lions midfield are going to be tackled out of their boots by Wynand and nobody is going to stop him from scoring when he is within 10 m of the tryline, mark my words we will talk again on Monday!!
John7/2/2009 2:35 PM
Clowns @ work!!!!!
pierre7/2/2009 2:31 PM
Best Bok team ever. Well done.Comments from Brett sucks. Boet you pay that money to see the best Bok team ever. We will win with a bigger margin than the first 2 test together. Cheer up boet. Go Bokke Go vang daai Leeus aan hulle balle.
Raymond7/2/2009 2:31 PM
TROLL-Here we go again,bringing 'boere' into a rugby topic.I can just imagine how you look and your pathetic mentality that goes with it.It appears that you do not know anything the game of rugby or you seriously lack vision.I am an English South Afican and wish to let you know that Earl Rose is not up to standard even in a Provincial side.
Bliiksem7/2/2009 2:30 PM
@Pankop: Yes , your name and the comment you made goes hand in hand
Abs7/2/2009 2:30 PM
Well done, seems to be quite a decenet team. Heinrich Brüssow's the best flanker in SA (if not world) at the moment... Just watch him nick the ball.
Joe B7/2/2009 2:29 PM
To all you Shark' whiners complaining about Kockett and Terblanche - hell you already have 10 Sharks in the squad plus the 2 left out and 2 asst coaches plus the president of SARB ( and you did'nt even make the play-offs for the S14 !! You are justlike the BIL - No wonder Tommy Bedford referred to Natal as the last British Outpost! Whiners!!
BlouLou7/2/2009 2:28 PM
Now this is the biggest rubish ever. To show the Lions the disrespect by picking your B team shows precisely how much Mr De Villiers "respects" the Lions. I think it is shocking and another act by a lunatic coaching our national side. What a fraud!!!!!
player 237/2/2009 2:27 PM
well it just goes to show how much depth we have in the Bokks squad and this is a very good sign that we have what it takes to take on those two other stupid sides in the Try Nations and we are going to do it 3 - 0 series win against the Lions and then Try Nations wow this is tuning out to be a better year than 2007 "World Cup"
Jeff Aucamp7/2/2009 2:27 PM
Werner,a bit of a chip on the shoulder ouboet?Rather than hate the BULLS(S14 CHAMPIONS)rather salute them.But you come across as a bit of a loser so I wont hold my breath.
Garyh7/2/2009 2:26 PM
Nice, well done Div. Chilli is my only concern, but a good test for him. I do not think we have an A & B team, lets rather work on developing these chaps into 2 x A Teams, I like the depth we are showing, NICE!
Bok7/2/2009 2:25 PM
Good luck to PDV. If i were the coach i would have tried to bag it 3-0. It's not to say that the players running on is not good enough, but rather stick to the first choice. The Lions will try to save face and beat us in the last encounter otherwise the pomps will have a field day when they back in the UK. Now PDV made it easier for them instead of putting the last nail in their coffin and left them for dead. Dare I say that this will be the last of the Lions should we beat them convincingly.
Zee7/2/2009 2:24 PM
GREAT team! Loving the Olivier/Fourie combo - far better than the average Adi and pathetic JdV. Glad Morne is starting and that Zane is at fullback. I might have left Habana in the side but it's a dead rubber so overall excellent selection! Loving Kanko for Spies too, Spies was pretty useless in the last 2 games and seems to struggle at test level.
MATA BLOUBALLAS7/2/2009 2:24 PM
Great team, I would've rest Fourie du Preez as well, he is very important for us in the Tri-nations. Imagine if he picks up an injury on Saturday... Would play January, but if one have to think about the combination of Fourie and Steyn, then Fourie has to play (who else will give direction in the team). I am looking forward to see Morne, Wynand and Jaque as a combination. Its a gamble with 3 inexperienced guys at the back, would've played JP in place of Odwa. Would expect a lot of kicking on the back 3 from the Lions. Go Bokke!!!
Den7/2/2009 2:21 PM
Would have liked to have seen Jean Deysel given a chance at 7 and rested Juan Smith
Neil7/2/2009 2:21 PM
Great team. It's pleasing to see the youngsters getting a chance to play the Lions. All too often the coaches (at all levels) are afraid to select youngsters. Good luck to them and here's hoping for a 3-0 series win.
Jacques7/2/2009 2:20 PM
I would only keep Habana and Spies on.......
alice7/2/2009 2:18 PM
Btw. i dont think this is the "b" team!! except for our wings! and maybe chilli boy..... but this is certainly a lot better than the so-called "a" team. and Dewald Potgieter should be on the bench along with Akona ndungane or Habana.... def. not Frans Steyn... and jano vermaak. Spies should be in the starting line up and kankowski on the bench. oh well...
luigi7/2/2009 2:18 PM
great to see zane kirchener in the line-up - sure he will rise to the occasion and make the fullback berth a permanent one. all round i think this is a well balanced side. boks to win by fifteen points or more.
pankop7/2/2009 2:18 PM
Not a bad team. But let's be honest here guys, Wynand Olivier will never be world class. At best he is an average player that had an above average season. He shouldn't be there. Rather play Francois Steyn at inside centre. I'm really worried that Olivier will be exposed on Saturday and during the Tri-Nations.
confused province7/2/2009 2:17 PM
Pity that province cannot produce any springboks. I firmley believe it is a case of the stormers vs. WP. We are the only union with 2 names and even 2 coaches. We should go back to one name and have currie cup merge into super 14. Good team and Morne Steyn is defnitely the our future number 10. and i think Ruan even knows this.
shark7/2/2009 2:17 PM
Go Morne... Show the country what you are worth. we know you are the best. Ruan is a talented player but he is not even close to Morne's ability. Jacques and Wynand will definitly make the mid-field a competing place where Adriaan Jacobs where totaly incapable to do so (on defence especially)... And Fourie du Preez you are the best in the world by FAR... Why Stefan Terblanche is not included, only the goverment will know... STOP this discrimination against white people...
GeePMB7/2/2009 2:16 PM
Again, I question the changing of a winning team in a "dead-rubber" match. Whilst I agree with most of the comments here that the team is probably still good enough to make it a 3 - 0 whitewash, I am against "giving a run" to players for sentimental reasons. I don't care how much respect SARU has for the Lions, it's about finishing off the job well and sending them home win-less from the test series. Having said this, I too believe that the team is still very strong and those fringe players who got the nod, will give it their all for the green and gold, they will have a point to prove. I hope Kirchner makes the step up this week, he is potentially the next permanent full back. Come on Bokke, do the business on Saturday and send those whinging cubs back to their dank and dreary country with their tales between their legs. OUR BLOOD IS STILL GREEN!!!
Trevor7/2/2009 2:16 PM
Well done PDV you have the b&&& to select a team of players that could help win the tri nations.You have vision to keep all the guys match fit so that we will have the hungriest players fighting for positions. Player rotation is not that bad when you winning beware PDV they will crit you if the team does badly.
Lyndon7/2/2009 2:15 PM
Good team. Just worried about the lack of international experience in the back three (Kirchner, Ndungane and Nokwe). The Lions are going to bombard them with high balls.
Balsak7/2/2009 2:15 PM
Ladies and Gentleman...it is time for rumble in the jungle...Bokke Boxing 15 vs the B&I Injured Lions. Well done selectors and...P.Diddy you biscuit! I know where you guys are going with this....choose guys, that you believe you wouldn’t miss that much, once the FIRST punches are thrown on Saturday. The Bokke, can't afford to loose more player before the Tri Nations, especially the bigger names....so hey, I agree, you have chosen a brilliant Boxing Team....PS: For this round the selectors should have got hold of James.D & S...call them out of retirement...just 5 min on the field!
@ Werner7/2/2009 2:14 PM
Go crawl buck under your rock... Only problem I see is the "wrong" Ndungane playing !!!!
Stef Du Preez7/2/2009 2:12 PM
Overall a good team selection. Lot of pace in the backline. I think that Bismarck would have been a better selection as Chilliboy. Glad that they did not decide on Rose.
easye7/2/2009 2:10 PM
Great team, just dont agree with both wings. Shane Williams will run circles around them. They cant tackle or kick well. We have a very strong centre pairing and they should cause havock in the back line of the lines!
anton7/2/2009 2:10 PM
Does this mean that PDiv will get to coach another day? hmm. clever plot! he must still go, as i feel he is useless in all respects. he has no clue about combination players - he has no idea how to utilize the talent we have. Why not Akona Ndungane who is way better than his twin brother? Why leave Spies off the field when he is brilliant with his fellow bulls players? Aish!Juan Smith should not be playing! But I am very happy to see W Olivier on the field. now, he is a combination player...What goes on in the mind (or lack of) PDiv? I agree with Alice - Chilli Boy - Hmmm? Derek Kuun much better. Steenkamp brilliant. But am ecstatic to see Bismarck (filthy) du Plessis is not in the start-up! Congrats to Morne Steyn and Brussouw. they deserve it. In my mind Dewald Potgieter should be in the place of Juan smith!!!
Well done7/2/2009 2:09 PM
Fourie du Preeez, Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier, Jaque Fourie, and ..ZANE KIRCHNER, ...!! Wow...!! ..Excellent..!! Well done PdV..!!
Walt7/2/2009 2:08 PM
Looks better. I think this team can do a thorough job of teaching rugby to the mighty Lions. Morne, Wynand and Jaque -excellent; better defence, better attack. Nokwe on the hoof - superb athlete. Kankowski - a wrecking ball on the run. AND someone to steal the ball - Brussow. THIS is going to be a game to remember!
Kgomotso Motlogeloa7/2/2009 2:07 PM
for the first time on this chatroom...we have all or rather most agreed that this is a good team after the series win.WELL DONE TO PEOPLE ON THE WEBSITE FOR AGREEING AND BEING RATIONAL AND THOUGHTFUL...the youngsters need to learn and its good backing from the coaching staff, win or lose...the backing from the coaches,the experience gained will put the future/emerging youngsters in good stead.now THE PLAYERS NEED TO IMPRESS.GOOD LUCK BOKS
robert7/2/2009 2:07 PM
Pity there is not 11 changes which included Helium Head
brett7/2/2009 2:07 PM
I have just paid R1140 to go and watch the Bok B-team.
Pieter7/2/2009 2:06 PM
Good team! Well done!
Ben7/2/2009 2:06 PM
I think this is an excellent team. There are one or two players they will miss in the starting lineup, but overall a great selection. The one small concern for me is the wings, but I think they will manage. Great to see a specialist fly-half and real full-back in the starting lineup. I truly hope this team performs to their potential - if only to show PdV the importance of selecting players based on current form.
Met Uysh!7/2/2009 2:05 PM
Well done Morne and PdV good picking a strong flyhalf. I am only worried about the lack of experience in the back 3, I would have liked to see Habana taking the leadership role with the other two. I have not seen Chilliboy play in recent times so its difficult to comment on his selectiom but Bismarck is there for cover, so its probably okayish. Rest of the squad, I see a white wash coming!
robert7/2/2009 2:04 PM
Pity there is not 11 changes which included Helium Head
Norbert7/2/2009 2:04 PM
I think its a great team and I think they will win and give us that 3 - 0 whitewash of the whingeing B&IL. Don't forget, most of these players that have been brought in had an awesome game against the B&IL while playing for the Emerging Springboks and managed to draw the game 13 - 13. I cant get over the fact how much of an issue is being made by the British Press over this Schalk incident (though I don't condone what he did), yet no one is mentioning the tactics and foul play of the B&IL. Bloody cry babies is all I can say ...
alice7/2/2009 2:02 PM
i agree with most of the team at last...haha.but juan smith aught to be replaced and habana and akona ndungane better than odwa...odwa really didnt have a good super 14.i think spies should be in the starting line with his bulls companions!!! that is called combinations!!! kankowski, although really good should rather be on the bench. chilli boy...... hmmmm! rather steenkamp or derick kuun - well lets see... and where is Jano Vermaak? oh, by the way Johnny, well spotted no "pretty boys wearing tutu's from western province" in the team , fortunately.
MACK7/2/2009 2:01 PM
hip hip hooray ! looi die rooi ! maak dit 3 -0,wel gekies Mnr P.de Villiers. GO Bokke ! GO !
Johan7/2/2009 2:01 PM
Werner, stefan CAN play fullback in case you haven't been watching rugby and the reason he CAN'T play for the boks is because he wasn't chosen. The Bulls won the Super 14 but you and Div wanna keep putting Sharks in. Ape.
Ian7/2/2009 1:59 PM
This is closer to the team that should have been our first team than the one which has played the last two games. except for bakkies, the wings. I reckon they will give the lions their biggest defeat of the tour.
klaas7/2/2009 1:58 PM
because jacobs is out and a white guy(fourie) is in, he has no other choice to bring in zane as a quota. Ridiculous.
Mr Blackdong7/2/2009 1:52 PM
It's a disgrace that they don't give Rose a chance as had a great game against Lions...he's a match winner and has bulked up and now a world class defender...we need more trnasformation...its mos ridiculous!!! Where's Eddie Andrews and Quinton Fortuin!!! Stofile must intervene and change structures NOW!!
Kamakazi Pilot7/2/2009 1:52 PM
Good team PDV and by the way you're the Jose Mourinho of rugby.
Johnny7/2/2009 1:52 PM
To Werner (1:38)...Jy is 'n ou regte suur gat !!!! GO Bokke !!!
Kamakazi Pilot7/2/2009 1:52 PM
Good team PDV and by the way you're the Jose Mourinho of rugby.
kw7/2/2009 1:51 PM
just shows the depth of sa rugby at the moment. bit worried about kirscher at fullback, but good luck to him and all the others! Also not a Chilliboy fan - hopefully he can prove me wrong. GO BOKKE!!
Johnny7/2/2009 1:51 PM
To Werner (1:38)...Jy is 'n ou regte suur gat !!!! GO Bokke !!!
Luke7/2/2009 1:51 PM
What? No Rose, no January? The selectors are racist.
bok supporter7/2/2009 1:48 PM
backline midfield looks much better for the next game but its still not our best side, will still have the 2 try scoring wings JP and habanna on the field for the backline, and bismarck on hooker and pierre spies. That would be an even stronger team.
Reon7/2/2009 1:46 PM
Werner you idiot !! You do not win the Super 14 by being overrated. Go away and comment on things you know something about. Kocket is a shmuck ! I am happy with the team but would also have chosen Habana or Petersen in the place of Odwa. Good luck Bokke !
Jacques7/2/2009 1:46 PM
@ E : if we want to eye gouge, we go to the bushveld like we normally do.
Bliiksem7/2/2009 1:45 PM
@Werner 1:38PM: "Screw the Bulls" hey .. you cant screw them boet .. they'll screw you !
Pieter7/2/2009 1:44 PM
Thank you selectors, our finest 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15!!! Pitty we are rotating Habana and Pietersen, but Nokwe and Odwa are good replacements!! Sorry Bakkies we are going to miss u but i'm sure Mulder and Sykes can stand their man!! Looking at the team I think we can expect a running game with many tries. Thanks Hoskins for talking to Div, maybe the man will now have more sence in the future and forget about this racial card. We just want the best team!!
Johnny7/2/2009 1:40 PM
Is this the state of WP rugby ? I don't see one WP player in the team and rightly so. I'm disgusted at WPRFU. When is this rot going to stop ?Another long and fruitless Currie Cup lying ahead for WP.
Cool boy7/2/2009 1:40 PM
PDV well done, I will support you and my RSA president even if I do not rate any of you yet. As for Morne well done it was good you were introduced in phases as I feel that not all people can cope with the deep end. You are worthy of the position. To the ever B**** and Iritating Lions because of your and your iritating media you deserve a whitewash nothing less. 8 games no win at international level and now you want a Argentina tour, maybe the Lions might get a series win there. Up Bokke. My money on 13 point win for Boks.
suporter237/2/2009 1:39 PM
Well lets just be thankfull there is no Rose in that list! Good team
Werner7/2/2009 1:38 PM
Ag, please. All those bulls players are overrated. Why can't Stefan play fullback, And what about Kockett who had awesome seasons 2 years in a row? Screw the Bulls
drol 7/2/2009 1:37 PM
i dont know how to feel about this team...someone please give me something to some encouragement....is nokwe a good enough defender?the lions arent gonna give kankowski enough space to move and thus show his speed.... our pack is going to be lighter than ever before, are we not going to get man handled in the scrums....? please somebody help me feel better about this lot
AndreS7/2/2009 1:36 PM
A very good selection. I think this team will do very well. Exciting group of players. Good luck to you.
Dustin7/2/2009 1:34 PM
And no players that could play at wing on the bench, what a crock of sh1t. Zane Kirchner at fullback is a laugh and will crack early on in the game, if the lions target him we are going to lose this game!
tristan7/2/2009 1:34 PM
i really think morne does deserve his chance to play and see what he is worth,but to be fair ruan is our future at flyhalf
Frank7/2/2009 1:34 PM
Looks to be a good side. The Lions are going to test Zane but I'm sure he'll be fine one the nerves settle. I think the first quater of the match will be vital with so many changes to the side but we should have more than enough firepower to overcome the Lions easily.
JS7/2/2009 1:32 PM
When was the last time the match 22 did not include one Province player? As clear an indication as any of how truly pathetic and stormy the once great union really is.
adam7/2/2009 1:32 PM
Now thats a great team!
EMIL VISAGE7/2/2009 1:31 PM
I like the team structure. No replacement scrummy? Akona Ndungane should have been given the nod with him brother. And now for Kaptein Steyn....span die seile. Die game is myne!!
Bluebull7/2/2009 1:31 PM
Steyn is not a play maker - he is a steady but boring player. He will kick 70% and crash ball another 20%!
Terry7/2/2009 1:30 PM
This team should do very well, looking forwad to the game
Adrian7/2/2009 1:30 PM
not a bad team, the midfield looks better and well done for picking Morne and Zane. the scrum shoeld do ok but Bismarck,Spies and Bakkies shoeld be back for the Tri Nations. The only problem that i have with the team is on the wings. Jongi had a good Super 14 and is a good backup for Habanna and JP but Odwa could be a weak link. he did not perform in the super 14 and i feel his brother is a much better player. PDV sould have maybe kept Habanna or JP in the team. But everything aside i think we will still win, i only hope that Zane and Morne both have a great game and show PDV that they belong in the team for the Tri Nations. GO BOKKE!!!!!
G Man7/2/2009 1:30 PM
In the light of the fact that the series has been won and other players could get the opportunity to play, this is a very good team. For the first time during this series, I cannot fault the team selection. Let us just hope that PdV does not make stupid changes at stupid times and make the correct changes when needed. I am very sure that we are then going to win this series 3 - 0.
Met Uysh!7/2/2009 1:29 PM
Well done Morne and PdV good picking a strong flyhalf. I am only worried about the lack of experience in the back 3, I would have liked to see Habana taking the leadership role with the other two. I have not seen Chilliboy play in recent times so its difficult to comment on his selectiom but Bismarck is there for cover, so its probably okayish. Rest of the squad, I see a white wash coming!
terry7/2/2009 1:27 PM
Spot on.. P Divvy ! Great day for Kirshner , lets hope he gets a full game and we see Frans Steyn coming on in a centre role rather than full back . With the series won already its nice to see a good mix of experience and newcomers . Kankowski & Olivier also deserve a run especially with tri nations looming we need game time at test level to keep the bench confident and hungry , its also a reminder that they will get a chance if they perform . Its definately not going to be a ballad show !!!
BB7/2/2009 1:27 PM
At last Helium saw the light, or bent under pressure. Good team selected. Now keep it up Helium!
MAC7/2/2009 1:26 PM
It'll be interesting to see how the back three hold up against the likes of Fitzgerald, Bowe and Kearney. Excited to see Steyn and Fourie get a good run on Saturday. PdV may have mixed it up, but this is definitely no second string team. GO BOKKE!!
HHH7/2/2009 1:26 PM
I'm just happy they don't play that useless Earl Rose. Go Zane!
troll7/2/2009 1:25 PM
once again discrimination...What about giving Earl Rose a chance to play against the Lions? He would have shut up all the "boere" that constantly complain about him!
Stuart7/2/2009 1:25 PM
Not a bad team, only a bit worried on the wings....defence not as good as Habanna or Petersen....glad Wynand gets his opportunity next to Morne and Jaque....all and all a good team..
keith7/2/2009 1:25 PM
Bring it on!
Captain7/2/2009 1:25 PM
I won’t be surprised if this team plays better than the DIV first choice side. Let’s see what happens.
jason7/2/2009 1:23 PM
go boks
Frost7/2/2009 1:23 PM
I Like!
Stonecold7/2/2009 1:22 PM
'n goeie span, stem net nie saam met chiilyboy en odwa nie, maar hierdie span het baie spoed. Verwag 'n wen met 20 punte.
E7/2/2009 1:22 PM
The depth in SA Rugby is unbelievable. GO BOKKE
Thomas7/2/2009 1:21 PM
Even with the 10 changes made, I still think that it is a very good team. Good luck to the BOKS, and remember, NO EYE GOUCHING PLS :-)
Seun7/2/2009 1:21 PM
Yes!!! At last Hillium De Villiers woke up!!! Now the Boks have a real flyhalf. It is also great to see that players like Kirchner, Fourie, Olivier, Ndungane and Kankowski who performed well in the Super 14 get their change to play againts the Lions. They all deserve it!!! Whatch out for the combination between Olivier and Jaque Fourie!!! Brussow will be awesome like avery game he plays.
Glen7/2/2009 1:20 PM
Chilliboy is starting!! Great selection Peter, a well balanced running team. Can't wait to see Jongi Nokwe in full flight, Lions are getting 50+!!
Justin7/2/2009 1:20 PM
I must admit that I reckon this team has got enough to do the job. Some class players, makes me realize how much talent we have available ...
Blyksym7/2/2009 1:18 PM
wow, wild team changes. Semi A semi B side, but interresting. These oaks can really put pressure on the number one choices if they perform. Haha, come Saturday. (where's Rose???)
Lions7/2/2009 1:18 PM
Wow...10 changes to a team that beat the Lions, pretty risky, but looking at the team it looks as good as any, capable of beating any team. SA's got talent!!!
Gavin7/2/2009 1:17 PM
mmmmmm let's see. All your Blue Bulls supporters, we get to see Kirchner in action. I wonder if he will kick the ball straight into the Lions hands again? Just like Cape Town...... The rest of the team,,Ho,hum......
Springbok Fan 100%7/2/2009 1:16 PM
I've a feeling the B&I lions are going to come out on saturday to hurt our guys it is the end of there season of course. Lets hope its not malicious. Good idea to give some younger guys a run. We still have a tri nations to get through and hopefully win it this year
Jeff Aucamp7/2/2009 1:14 PM
Steyn is a typical example of a player who bides his time and waits for his oppurtunity,and when it comes he grabs it with both hands.Congratulations to a class act and a true gentleman of the game.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide