Lions in SA

Smit: I hope we're all good

2009-07-03 21:04
Email | Print
Bok captain John Smit (Gallo)

Johannesburg - The two-week ban on Springbok lock Bakkies Botha could change the nature of rugby, South African captain John Smit said on Friday.

"We are deeply saddened and angered more than anything else by the outcome of the Bakkies Botha appeal," Smit told a news conference.

"I hope and pray it's just a case of Bakkies being victimised. If it's not, then it could change this wonderful game we play."

Botha was suspended for a dangerous charge on British and Irish Lions prop Adam Jones in the second Test that left the Welshman with a dislocated shoulder. Botha lost his appeal against the ban and will miss the final Test on Saturday.

Springboks flanker Schalk Burger received an eight-week ban after the game for unsportsmanlike behaviour

South Africa took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series after winning a brutal encounter in Pretoria 28-25.

Smit said the incident that led to Botha's suspension was part and parcel of every rugby game and the decision could set an unwanted precedent.

"Sanity did not prevail at the appeal and I've had referees phoning me, and support from the Lions management and players that it is very concerning for the future of the game.

"Unfortunately Adam Jones got injured purely because his arm was stuck in the ruck. If Bryan Habana is running down the wing as fast as a cheetah, it would be really poor for the game to make him slow down in case he hurts the tackler."

Smit, who captained South Africa to World Cup glory in 2007, said he expected Saturday's Test to be an excellent contest and hoped it would be played in a good spirit.

"I sincerely hope there's no bad blood between the two teams. Rugby's all about running into each other at a million miles an hour and tackling each other at a million miles an hour, stitching oneself up afterwards and sharing a beer," Smit said.

"There is still a massive amount for us to play for because we don't get the opportunity to play against the Lions for another 12 years.

"It's been a phenomenal series, although it's probably easier for me to say that as the captain that's won."

Lions assistant coach Warren Gatland said the tourists did not believe Botha should have been cited.

"We didn't have an issue with Bakkies Botha, it was a very tough decision on him," Gatland told a news conference on Friday. "Adam Jones did not have an issue with the clean-out and neither did the Lions management.

"If Bakkies could be banned for that then you would have 50 incidents in a game. Bakkies has a history of occasionally not using his arms but we had no problem with that incident, we felt it was legitimate," Gatland said.

Your Comments

mick7/5/2009 9:23 AM
Riaan(girl's name?)/AL /Angelo - How are you feeling this morning after your team got well and truely hammered?Why filthy poms?(Riaan -girl's name?)Are you feeling a bit inferior?Best of luck in the tri-nations,you're going to need a lot of it.
pothale7/4/2009 6:10 PM
Well - the Lions showed that the tours are worthwhile continuing today with their comprehensive thumping of the Boks. Congrats to the Boks for winning the series 2-1. Congrats to the Lions for completing the tour 8.5 - 2.5 on overall matches. Talk of it being whitewash for the Boks and the Lions being slaughtered on tour has been put firmly on the rubbish heap. Overall, Lions scored 7 tries to 5 against the Boks and had an overall winning margin of 11 points across the three Tests. They can hold their heads high, despite losing the series. Both teams were short of some of their first team players today but full credit to both of them for playing an exciting 'dead rubber' match - both teams still wanted to win it. It's the end of a long, long season for the British and Irish players - it's been a very good one. Roll on Australia 2013.
riaan7/4/2009 12:51 PM
Mick, If we set our sights higher, it would meen that we won't even play against you filthy poms. Last time I checked , the only thing that the poms excel at was whining.
LA7/4/2009 12:38 PM
To Mick The UK is not very good at anything then, rugby, cricket, football and tennis, you seem to fail everywhere, at least we can take cricket and rugby.
Pieter7/4/2009 12:23 PM
Can you please publish the names and photos of the Judicial Officers so that the public can see who these clows are?
tom7/4/2009 12:05 PM
GO BOKKE DO NOT BE DISTRACTED SEND THE WHINERS HOME WITH 3-0 GO BOKKE
Michael7/4/2009 11:34 AM
Smit is starting to irritate me more all the time. This crap about Habana running down line with ball and hurting the tackeler - hey smit pull up those shorts. Dont you understand the difference, Jones did not have the ball, and Bakkies did not use his arms. If Jones had hit Habana in same way and Habana had the ball you would have been waving your arms around like a speed cop. How would you have reacted if Habana wqas hit same way without the ball. It would have been a free for all.
Bokkefan7/4/2009 11:05 AM
Why can referees not be sighted? Surely a committee should be established to control the standard of referees (aside from initial training and qualification) in IRB. But it's mos okay if the ref had a shocker... Put that in you pipe and smoke it. Enjoy the ruggas!
pierre7/4/2009 10:30 AM
Come on Boks demolish the Lions today and trap hulle balle blou
Mick7/4/2009 10:19 AM
Angelo - SA hardly excells at soccer & tennis and as for hidings 5 & 3 point margin hardly counts as a hiding.You don't set your sights very high do you.
Paul Coetzee7/4/2009 9:29 AM
Schalk was found guilty of wreckless play. He was found not guilty of eye gouging. How can News 24 employ such ignorant journalists?
ROB7/4/2009 9:28 AM
Warren Gatland and John Smit have said that is needed to say. The powers that be had better sort this out otherwise we might as well just play netball. They should of course be allowed to take handbags onto the field just in case things turn nasty.
Paul Coetzee7/4/2009 9:27 AM
Schalk was found guilty of wreckless play. He was found not guilty of eye gouging. How can News 24 employ such ignorant journalists?
WAYNE7/4/2009 9:12 AM
Cant wait till we break them one more time today. Go BOKKE! As PDV in his own special way says: "lets put on tutu's and do ballet.......": THIS IS RUGBY BOYS! Now dry your eyes and get on with it.
Benny7/4/2009 9:10 AM
Vukani - "I think we should recommend they play with helmets and shoulder pads" indeed! What do you suppose helmets and shoulder pads would look like on a bunch of red clad rugger buggers wearing "Tutu's"? And, what decent self respecting BOK would then want to play them?
jerry7/4/2009 9:09 AM
angelo - there were only three england players on the pitch. how do you guys turn we didn't have an issue with bakkies into the lions are a bunch of whiners - grow up
Mr Drew7/4/2009 9:09 AM
@Vukani and Angelo - c'mon guys, the BIL management are giving messages of support and you lot are complaining about it. Just say, "Great!" and move on. @Mike, if we complain about shirt tugging we really will look like a bunch of girls' blouses.
Gatland7/4/2009 8:36 AM
What about citing Andrew Sheridan for punching Andries becker in the nuts? The springboks are a better side than the Lions, that's why they won.
Vic7/4/2009 8:28 AM
Unfortunatly Bakkies has a history of playing on the edge and he will be watched as well as schalk. Remember Butch a few years ago with his tackling.
hoo boy...7/4/2009 8:28 AM
Who cites the officials? If a player can be cited, why can't an official be cited? John Smit is to be commended for his restraint. I am reminded of the sign on the receptionist's desk: "If you think I'm dumb, you should see the person that hired me."
Raymond7/4/2009 8:28 AM
To the miserable bugger that suspended Bakkies,you obviously have the needle to him.If the BIL management their profesional coaches and Adam Jones see the incident as legitmate,how is it that you see it in a different light.I suggest that you watch the WHOLE game and not isolated incidents which suits you.Pat yourself on your shoulder and feel proud for the kak job you've done.
Needlez7/4/2009 8:14 AM
Man these reporters get up my nose! Schalk was cleared of eye-gouging, it was un-sportsman like behaviour by making contact with the face that he got pinned with. So why continue to say it was for eye-gouging? Even the B&I Lions came to Bakkie defense, these citing commissions need to get sorted.
james7/4/2009 8:08 AM
They are foxes, British and Irish Foxes
Mick7/4/2009 8:01 AM
Angelo-Since when was SA any good at soccer,tennis, what a great Olympics you had,what was 1 silver.5pt & 3pt defeat is in your book a hiding? Get real.
Mike7/4/2009 7:58 AM
The sad reality regarding last weeks game was that the referee did not take control of the game early on. Whilst the physicality would still have been in the game, the dirty play and "handbag" stuff would not. For a match of this intensity, get a decent ref!!
Kaapenaar7/4/2009 7:53 AM
Yes, Graham. I am not sure why that ugly Lion was aloud to hit Andries Bekker in the b@lls. Was I the only one that saw that?
Tony7/4/2009 7:43 AM
Graham......I guess you mean citings not sightings.. Anyway, good luck to the Boks for this afternoon!!
Jason7/4/2009 7:26 AM
Next they will start citing us for not tucking in our shirts.
Richard7/4/2009 5:44 AM
So what happens now? do the players just stand there and watch the opposing team do as they please at the ruck? these so called experts in rugby are such idiots with this call every forward will have to be sighted every week are these guys just trying to look for work. By the way the definition of an expert is pert is a drip under pressure and ex is the unknown quantity. Find people who know the game please!!!!!!
Ruan7/4/2009 5:17 AM
...rugby in the southern hemisphere can't be compared to what they play in the northern hemisphere....6-nations, heineken cup ....give me tri-nations...super 14 anytime...and do not forget about our very own Currie Cup !!!
Nick7/4/2009 1:51 AM
Did the people commenting on this article actually read it? Gatland is quoted as saying: "We didn't have an issue with Bakkies Botha, it was a very tough decision on him," "Adam Jones did not have an issue with the clean-out and neither did the Lions management." How is that whinning? It's Burger's behaviour that's the problem, not Bakkies Botha! There was nothing wrong with that cleanout. As a Lions fan, BoD was very lucky not to get cited as was RoG for what has to be one of the idiotic challenges in the history of the Lions! Same can be said for Sheridan as well.
Stretch7/4/2009 1:47 AM
Why exactly is Smit talking about victimisation? If he feels Botha is being victimised, he should say why he feels like that. I do not see any reason mentioned, and therefore it is groundless. If you shout 'victimisation', you arer suggesting that the powers that be have an ulterior motive in their banning. So what do you think the ulterior motive is then Mr Smit. Put up or shut-up.
Morris7/4/2009 12:45 AM
There were indiscretions on both sides but it seams the South Africans took the biggest knock - could somebody please explain why the Bok management could not insist that his holiness BOD and that thug Sheridan be cited for blatant and dangerous foul play after viewing post match footage?
Mike@CapeT 7/3/2009 11:36 PM
I beg to differ with the above article. SB was not suspended for eye gouging - he was suspended for reckless play! Big difference!
Ben7/3/2009 11:14 PM
Why are the referees, administrators, and asst referees all quiet on this matter? Do they want to end Bakkies's career or kill the game of rugby?. Review the rules if you are not happy, but dont allow an action now and 5 minutes later you ban someone else fot the same action. Dont act like idiots,. Clear this matter with the rugby supporters because it stinks!!!
Vukani7/3/2009 10:59 PM
"Bakkies has a history of occasionally not using his arms but we had no problem with that incident, we felt it was legitimate," Gatland said.-WHAT?? Gatland, maybe you should watch that match again...BOD miles offside runs straight into Danie Rossouw NOT using his arms to defend. But thats ok cause his BOD and his wearing a red shirt. The Lions are nothing but a bunch of whiners. I think we should recommend they play with helmets and shoulder pads because they are just to fragile....
Angelo 7/3/2009 10:23 PM
Weeds weeds are good at complaining . that is because their never win when it matters be it in rugby, soccer, tennis any game that the english play always complain and make issues of everything , just accept the hidings that you get when you play SOUTH AFRICA.,.
Graham7/3/2009 9:53 PM
The powers of rugby flexing their muscles.. LAME.. sightings should be for indiscretions which are not dealt with by the ref. There was a lot more foul play which went unpunished in the game. When Andries was punched in the balls for instance.. that i can guarantee you is more sore than a dislocated shoulder!
Mike7/3/2009 9:36 PM
Well said one and all. I believe that the officials should focus on and punish deliberate fouls such as "lazy running", shirt & short tugging aand other obstructive behaviour. This may in fact reduce a lot of frustration that I believe is starting to raise its head in the form of aggressive retaliation by the victims.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide