Lions in SA

Monty's first day on the job

2009-05-25 22:23
Email | Print
Percy Montgomery changes roles (Gallo)

Pieter Jordaan

Pretoria – The Boks have not found themselves with a fullback predicament, as might have been anticipated - one of the reasons being the presence of Percy Montgomery. 

The legendary former Springbok fullback, with 102 Test caps to his name, started his new role as the Boks’ kicking coach at the University of Pretoria.

Montgomery described his first day as quite a challenge: "When we were warming up, I just wanted to get out there on the field with them," he said.

Two Sharks players, JP Pietersen and Adi Jacobs, were not on the field for training. Pietersen is still recovering from a shoulder injury sustained in the Super 14 match against the Bulls while Jacobs is battling the flu.

Odwa Ndungane, who's eyes were fixed on the high balls being launched by Bok kickers under Montgomery’s watchful eye, could be the man to shoulder the responsibilities at fullback against the Namibians. But the fact that two wings now suddenly have to play fullback in a Bok fifteen as preparation for a series against the British Lions, is not something Montgomery is too worried about.

”Due to injuries, we do have a small deficit. They (Pietersen and Ndungane) just need to adjust. The starting team has not been chosen yet, but JP is good under a high ball. And Odwa too,” said Montgomery after the practice session.

Pietersen’s injuries shouldn’t keep him off the playing field. Other candidates for the Bok fullback position are Zane Kirchner, who’s still involved in the Bulls’ Super 14 final against the Chiefs, the injured Frans Steyn, and Jaque Fourie, who is getting married this weekend.

Later this week Montgomery will be focusing on place kicking, which should serve Peter Grant and Earl Rose well when they play the Namibian team.

Other injured players in the Bok training squad such as Schalk Burger (calf), Jean de Villiers (groin) and Andries Bekker (rib) practiced separately from the others, but didn’t show any discomfort. Their progress will be monitored throughout the week.

In the meantime, the match promotor for Friday’s match, Willem Strauss, has confirmed that South African referee, Mark Lawrence, will be taking control of the whistle.

Your Comments

South African5/28/2009 11:45 AM
Earl Rose is a wanna be gangster who had to get out of Cape Town bacause REAL gangsters were gatvol of him!!!
AJ5/26/2009 10:48 AM
If Earl Rose is the answer then what was the freakin' question!?!!?!
Anonymous User5/26/2009 10:38 AM
I still believe that Stefan is to old if you are buildling a team for the next WC put ludik in
Anonymous User5/26/2009 10:07 AM
Earl is one of the best flyhalves in this country.. pitty he is played out of position at full back, where he is not good at all but he posses all the skills for a really awsome flyhalf
Anonymous User5/26/2009 10:06 AM
Earl is one of the best flyhalves in this country.. pitty he is played out of position at full back, where he is not good at all but he posses all the skills for a really awsome flyhalf
Anonymous User5/26/2009 9:12 AM
When Earl Rose plays you always know 7 points are coming - you just dont know for which team!!
Hannes Steenkamp5/26/2009 8:19 AM
Why is Stefan Terblancheenot part of the plan? He is not that old and even if we are building to the next RWC we must first beat the B & I Lions. Terblanche is the best at the moment and the safest under the high ball. He has been outstanding the whole season. I am sorry but Earl Rose does not deserve a place in the squad. I repeat, Earl Rose does not deserve a place in the squad.
Charles Brink5/26/2009 8:11 AM
Earl Rose has to get the trophy of the "CLOWN OF THE YEAR" and not a Springbok jersey. U go Zane !!
AJ5/26/2009 7:54 AM
Earl Rose is hardly currie cup material... he did absolutely nothing for the Lions... as soon as he came on the field as an "impact player" the whoile team lost momentum. if he is even on the sprinkbok bench for the lions tour... i'll be shocked!
Anonymous User5/26/2009 7:52 AM
Earl Rose???? EARL ROSE????? NO!!! PLEASE NO!!!!
AJ5/26/2009 7:48 AM
Other candidates for the Bok fullback position are Zane Kirchner, who’s still involved in the Bulls’ Super 14 final against the Chiefs, the injured Frans Steyn, and Jaque Fourie, who is getting married this weekend. Come on! Stefan Terblanche has outshined these guys by far this season! and deserves the fullback position! Jaque is way better suited at outside centre and Frans at inside centre!
Anonymous User5/26/2009 7:44 AM
For gods sake Karen!!! Don't show your bluddy pathetic ignorance! Lawrence is as good as any ref.
Steph5/26/2009 7:18 AM
Can anybody pse tell me what Earl Rose is doing in this squad? Where were you (who ever is responsable for his inclusion) for the last 2-3mnts while the super 14 was played? All the best to the SA team for what lies ahead.
Herb5/26/2009 7:18 AM
just put Monty in at Fullback for now - no sense forcing players out of position for this one game
Namibian5/26/2009 6:43 AM
Ons maak Biltong van die Bokke
Karen Moresby-White5/26/2009 1:49 AM
I am not sure I like Mark Lawrence. I will ask my friends if I am to cheer or to pray! (joke!)
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide