Lions in SA

Lions thump Boks to end series

2009-07-04 17:03
Email | Print
Things get messy (Gallo)

Johannesburg - A sparkling Shane Williams twice helped the British and Irish Lions claim a comprehensive 28-9 victory in the third and final Test against South Africa at Coca-Cola Park on Saturday.

The Springboks had already won the first two Tests, 26-21 and 28-25 in Durban and Pretoria respectively, for the overall series win to avenge their 1997 defeat to the Lions.

But a much-changed home side lacked the cohesion and structure of the past two weekends and were dominated in set-piece and open play, where Martyn Williams shone for the visitors.

Winger Ugo Monye scored a third try for the Lions with Stephen Jones claiming three penalties and two conversions.

Morne Steyn kicked three penalties for the Springboks, who will no doubt still go into their Tri-Nations campaign with some confidence.

"We were very conscious of putting up a good performance," said Lions skipper  Paul O'Connell.

"A very proud moment!  very important win for the Lions. It has been a very tough week mentally for everyone. We dug deep.

"We are under no illusions that we didn't win the series but it (lap of honour) was a way of saying thank you to all those fans who spent a fortune on coming out here to watch us."

Lions head coach Ian McGeechan said: "I am highly delighted. This is massive. They (the Lions) picked themselves up.

"The dressing room last weekend was not one I wanted to be in. There was so much sadness. They are an outstanding group of players. I think we have been the best team in four of the six halves of rugby we have played in the Tests.

"The disappointment is that we could have been 2-0 up coming here or at least one up. So it is a slightly secondary satisfaction this victory brings. This is definitely my last Lions tour."

A scintillating start by the Lions, with the ball moving through numerous phases, saw a penalty chance fall to Jones in the third minute but the Welshman dragged it wide of the posts.

The Lions continued to make all the running, full back Rob Kearney scything through the midfield defence on a mazy 40-metre run before being hauled down.

The first scrum in ninth minute saw a psychological hurdle passed for Phil Vickery who was unceremoniously dumped after failing to cope with Tendai 'Beast' Mtawarira in the first Test.

Up popped Bok hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle and Jones hit the penalty only for Steyn to get the homes side's first points on the board just a minute later after a Jamie Heaslip infringement.

Tackles in quick succession by Mike Phillips, Joe Worsley and Matthew Rees on Jacque Fourie, John Smit and Jongi Nokwe all saved a certain try as the Boks attacked in front of the 58 000-plus crowd.

The Lions scored the first five-pointer a minute later, Heaslip riding the challenge of Wynand Olivier and offloading to the fleet-footed  Williams who went in under the posts. Jones scuffed the conversion, however, when the wind blew the ball over in his run-up.

Heaslip was on hand to produce a try-saving intercept as Odwa Ndungane skipped through Worsley's tackle down the touchline and tried to find Fourie du Preez on the inside.

Williams then showed a clean pair of heels down his left wing but his clever cross-field kick was cleared by Steyn.

Williams scored his second, however, when Riki Flutey delicately palmed off his own chip into the winger's hands for a try and Jones converted.

With three minutes of the half remaining, Simon Shaw was yellow carded for needlessly landing on Du Preez' back with both knees.

Kearney sliced a clearance kick and a Lions foul at an ensuing ruck saw Steyn hit his second penalty to make it 15-6 at half-time.

The second-half kicked off with Ruan Pienaar on for Du Preez, and he brought an added spark to the home attack, new cap Zane Kirchner just foiled in the corner by an excellent covering Tommy Bowe tackle.

The Lions held firm and in the 55th minute Monye seized on a speculative pass from Olivier for an 85-metre intercept try converted by Jones.

Kearney saw an ambitious 52-metre penalty attempt drift wide with 20 minutes to play and Frans Steyn saw an equally audacious drop-goal from well within his own half just miss.

Morne Steyn kicked his third penalty to bring the score to 22-9 with 12 minutes remaining.

But Jones hit two quick penalties after ill-discipline from Heinrich Brussow and Bismarck du Plessis.

Ndungane was denied a late consolation try after another great scrambling cover tackle by Bowe.

Scorers:

South Africa - Penalties: Morne Steyn (3);

British and Irish Lions - Tries: Shane Williams (2), Ugo Monye; Conversions: Stephen Jones (2); Penalties: Jones (3)

Yellow card: Simon Shaw (British and Irish Lions) 37

Test record of British and Irish Lions in South Africa since first official tour in 1910 (year, played, won, drawn, lost):

TOTAL: P 36 W 11 D 4 L 21

1910       3 1 0 2

1924       4 0 1 3

1938       3 1 0 2

1955       4 2 0 2

1962       4 0 1 3

1968      4 0 1 3

1974      4 3 1 0

1980     4 1 0 3

1997     3 2 0 1

2009     3 1 0 2

Your Comments

Koedoe7/6/2009 9:27 AM
Ja nee we knew this was going to happen with ten changes. Bakkies was dearly missed, but so too was Schalk Burger. The boks could not match the physicality at the brea k down. brussow tried very hard but he was alone. The boks missed Schalk - yes he gives away many penalties but so does Georh=ge Smith of Aussie land. Their jobs is to slow the ball att rucks etc which did not happen on Sat. Stop pulling Schalk apart for a stupid thing he have done, he is paying for that. We need him against the kiwi's!!!! Zane failed as 15 just as he failed when playing for the emeging Boks. Olivier is not the answer at 12!!!!!! We missed habana and JP. Chilliboy????? Rather say nothing...........
SPRINGBOK FAN7/6/2009 8:24 AM
All this shows is that the Boks need to be lucky to win under Helium. (4 BIL tries disallowed in first test, Steyn late penalty in second test). Again we are exposed by the inept coach. Fire the doos!!!!
Bok supporter no matter what!!!!7/5/2009 8:26 PM
BAZ!!!! what was the end result again???? Oh...thats right, SA WON, no matter what excuses you come up with or how you look at it dude, we WON. I AM proud no matter how they played or what dumb politics reared its ugly head. To all the supporters who acknowledge a great series from both sides, 1 up for you guys, to the rest making blah blah blah excuses, well, not much can be said about a bunch of whingers. Well done to both sides. Bring on the Tri-Nations...
Jason7/5/2009 8:05 PM
Rob the Englishman ... this is exactly what I was trying to clear up ... if you're going to claim this series by total tries and points then we officially claim back the 97 series!!! In'97 it was 66-59 to the boks! Try count was 10-3 to the BOKS!!!! You can't have both boetie ... either accept the loss this time round and claim '97, or claim this one and give up '97.
Frred7/5/2009 4:14 PM
And I thought that Brussow the "golden boy" was gonna win this game for SA. Can't wait to see Schalk back in action. I still say Brussow is good but Schalk is better even in his offday. PDV you slipped on this one. Hope you learned your lesson. Well done bokke for winning the series and Well done lions for coming back like you did. May I ask, When are you winers gonna grow up and take a defeat like a man should. You can't win them all. If you all like it or not the Lions was the better team but then again they did'nt have to play Bakkies and Schalk. Now go win the 3 nations Bokke. We all now you can if you want to.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anti-bok7/5/2009 3:26 PM
You rock Baz.I couldn't have said it better,cheers mate.
Plato7/5/2009 2:09 PM
What is the role of Peter DeV...COACH, SELECTOR or WINDOW DRESSER? I mean, Dick coaches the backs and Gold the forwards...
IAN7/5/2009 1:19 PM
poacher you only have the cards your dealt with i have been saying for along time to get rid of P dv I like S A rugby but MY HEART is still overseas
Baz7/5/2009 10:07 AM
You Bok supporters must be so proud. For three matches you were outplayed at home by an exhausted scratch team, and when the Lions (decimated by injuries) finally got the breaks you got the pasting that was coming to you. Your coach has proven himself to be the biggest plonker in world rugby, and your players made themselves look complete fools with their juvenile little armband "protest". And the vicious cynicism displayed by both your players and by you, the fans, has besmirched SA rugby in the eyes of the whole world. Roll on the 3N, NZ and Oz are licking their lips in anticipation...
Cliff Bradley7/5/2009 9:48 AM
OK , I Will Bend Over That Someone Can Kick My Ass , I Defended This Fool All The Time And Said Give Him A Chance And Look What He Does
Norbert7/5/2009 8:48 AM
To all the LIONS supporters who have added value to these posts, well done on a great series and well done on a convincing win yesterday against our B Side ... Fact of the matter remains, you may have won yesterdays battle, but the Springboks still won the war. Doesn't matter what the stats say ... History will say 2009 SA 2 B&IL 1.
Mick7/5/2009 7:36 AM
Anybody know what Poacher is talking about.Thanks to the lions & boks for an exciting series.Congrats to to the boks.
n7/5/2009 5:09 AM
I really feel for PdV. He wins he gets criticised and told to get lost. The back line plays well they say Dick Muir. The back line flops they say PdV. The Gauteng supporters say he must put in Kirchener, Olivier, Morne Steyn and Jaque Fourie then you'll see fireworks for the Boks. He puts them in, they fizzle out and he gets blamed. He says something he gets misquoted and some people grumble "blerry disgraceful AA choice". He wins a series, they say it's because the Lions are useless anyway. He shows support for his players, he gets maligned as thug supporting. dirty play condoning disgrace of a coach. LOL
MyTwoFrontTeeth7/5/2009 3:20 AM
Two bad desitions. Wingers did not tackle at all. All 3 lions tries was due to bad wing defense. Positional play was even worse by wingers. Secondly no one cleared the Lions being off-side at the rucks. During a driving mall lions 3 played for the opponents and was totally off-side, not even Smith had a chat about the ref on that. In the middle of boks rug Big 3 for reds. Dickonson got it wrong, badly this game. Will not happen when Bakkies is on the field, his arm would be off!! Pitty Kirxhner had to deal with preasure with NO wing support, forcing Morne to play fullback and not fly half. Also tacktical kicks was appauling, should've gone for line-outs.
aussie7/5/2009 3:01 AM
I hope all those supporters with red jerseys have return tickets. If you live in the country, support the team. What a shame about the prices for locals. never thought i would see Ellis park dominated by opposition supporters. Well played by both teams.
Rob the Englishman in Joburg7/5/2009 1:34 AM
Bertus my friend, I just got back home from one hell of a night out. What a party we Lions fans have had here in Joburg (Sandton actually). SA fans please take note that all Lions fans I spoke with are full of admiration and respet for your Springboks and for this lovely ountry in which they have enjoyed themselves immensely over the last few weeks. That gave me a kick os I am a Brit who hose to live here and that makes me feel good and proud. I just read the blog and liked almost all comments (including yours). But I just wanted to clarify a few things. 1. On Thursday/Friday (i.e. before the result) many of you guys wrote on this blog how happy you were with the team changes by Div (so the complaints now about the selection AFTER the result are silly). 2. Many of you wrote how happy you were with the Southern hemisphere referee (ditto - please dont complain about him AFTER the result cos it just makes you look silly). 3. I am tired (as are all Lions fans) of hearing you guys write how you gonna give us (or have given us) a "hiding" - learn a little humility and in future be more modest (cos you NEVER gave us a hiding and the very REAL HIDING that we gave you today again makes you look VERY silly). 4. It doesnt sound like you (and quite a number of the other "hardened" Bokke fabs on this blog) are feeling too good about the final result of this series - however I need to make it very lear to you that I AM FEELING ABSOLUTELY GREAT! (even if I am a bit pissed as it is after 1am and I have had 12 Guinesses) AS ARE ALL MY FELLOW LIONS SUPPORTERS. It was a close and hard and great series. Well played Lions and congratulations to the Boks - good luck to you in the Tri-Nations! Lots of love, Rob (see you in Bloem vs NZ)
FitMike7/4/2009 9:32 PM
If all this final test did was show that ZANE is and never will be good enought to play for the boks I think it was a success!
Ferdie7/4/2009 9:26 PM
Yea right, and the Blackies could just scrape a win against the french. Ag please man, be realistic.
Poacher7/4/2009 9:17 PM
My dear Pom......eranian friends. You could be glad that the Boks had a half witted coach to guide them and make team changes. Guess what a person of the stature of Jake White could have done ;)
Voëlvry7/4/2009 8:42 PM
Wonder what Shane Williams gave PdV? He resurrected SH's career...which lots of us knew long before the kick-off. Bless you PdV, at least you saved ONE person...Superfool! Do not leave a single ember burning, especially a former, very recent, INTERNATIONAL, player of the year. What were you thinking? Sorry, you obviously were not...
Roy W7/4/2009 8:39 PM
If the Lions hammered the bokkies, just think what the All Blacks and The Australian team will do to them.
Bertus7/4/2009 8:34 PM
2-1 Rob...don't come with tries and points...that's all that counts. yes yes we know...you should have won.
Poacher7/4/2009 8:21 PM
Boerseun boeta, you know what, I honestly wish they would make the whole Bok team black and brown, The white okes can go and look for their best fortunes overseas. If it weren't for the white players the "Bok" team would be NOTHING and Div could look for his "God given talents" in Nigaracua :)
Springbok fan all the way7/4/2009 8:07 PM
All i can say it's pretty difficult playing 19x or maybe 20x against 15x (not sure how many idiots sit and watch the replay's on the TV monitors)- Was wondering if theres any sports editor out there that would do an interview with the various ref's. would love to hear their comments after they've seen replay's of the various games, maybe Deboa Patta would do the honours. is there match fixing in rugby as well?, sure looks like the refs etc. have been paid off. To all the poms, the Lions might've won today but they LOST THE SERIES!!!!
Boerseun7/4/2009 7:57 PM
Die "beast" is useless. Shame,soek n Ref.
Poacher7/4/2009 7:53 PM
Jjjaaaaaa De Villiers! Where are your "God Given Talents" today? You had one chance of making history and you made a MESS of it. Well done my Capetonian Flats coach. (BTW, please go for English speaking lessons ASAP). English.....you showed that you act as scum of the earth most of the time. God protect RSA from the English soccer fans next year!
GD7/4/2009 7:48 PM
PDV doesn't have the respect of the players. PDV must go....Chester Williams would have done better.
Rob H7/4/2009 7:41 PM
Okay, so we are dissapointed with a loss, plenty of infringements were invisible to the ref and his assistants, a valid try was dis-allowed, etc. Every man on that field today played 100 percent better than I could have played, so how could I then criticise individual players? Well done all players for getting to wear the springbok on your chest, but please concentrate on the rugby, the WWE Raw wrestling stuff may be entertaining, but not during a rugby match. As for selectors and coaches, when will the powers that be realise that the sport should be played based on the merits of the players, not their skin colour? The same criteria should apply to the appointment of selectors, management and coaching staff. Let's hope someone will see the light at some stage!
Baz7/4/2009 7:37 PM
Any side that takes the field wearing pathetic, childish little bits of tape that they scribbled on with a biro deserves a thumping.
Bertus7/4/2009 7:31 PM
I really love to see that no-one is complaining about the whole "knee in Fourie's back" thing!!probably will be sited...but we're not whining about it like the Lions!!!!!!!!!also...there will be at least on more sighting for cleaning out in the ruck...like Bakkies you know
Brendan7/4/2009 7:30 PM
Terrible performance by the Boks, but our goal was to win the series, and we did that - Well done to the Lions for today, and well done to the Bokke for the series! I'm not a fan of Div's comments or the way he occasionally behaves, but he's head coach of a team that won a Lions series, so well done to him too. To call for the head of a winning coach is idiotic. If he commit's a crime, fine then that overrides a game win and fire him. I'm not in any position to judge his effect on the Boks, or if the boks ignore him etc, and I reckon not ONE person on this forum can make an educated comment on the internal workings of the boks. His job is to get us to win. We won.
A Lion7/4/2009 7:29 PM
It would be nice if all the bloggers who regularly tell readers here how rubbish the lions are would now admit they are a good rugby side. SA are world champs and have a huge array of talent in their team, but the lions came and i think matched the boks blow for blow. Putting together a team to play good rugby in one month is not easy but i think this year they did a good job and the lions were always competitive (apart from the scrum in half one of the first test). So well done to both teams for putting on a great show. There was some talk of whether the B&I lions were relevant anymore, but i think this series has shown that they are. You might hate them or you might love them, but they are fun to watch no matter. So its all good, SA win the series but the lions salvage a bit of pride and live to fight another day.
Rob the Englishman in Joburg7/4/2009 7:27 PM
Jason please. You Bok fans rubbed our Lions fans noses in it for the last 2 weeks with your talk about "hidings" and the like. Please take your lREAL hiding (loss by 19 points) on the chin mate! And by the way the analysis of the series as a whole reads Springboks 63-74 Lions. Try count Springboks 4-6 Lions. Todays 3 tries to 0 was a treat for us Lions fans. We know how hard it is to take (we suffered close losses the last 2 weeks) but mate please take it like a man! The atmosphere in the ground was great. Well done and my huge respect to all Lions fans who came to support, especially those not living here who spent a fortune to come. Hope you guys all enjo0yed this great country and that you will come back for the cricket when England is here at Christmas. PS to all Lions fans, just to tease you guys, I want to point out that Geech got his selction roght today - the starting lineup included 6 (six yes SIX) Englishmen. Well done Geech! (SA Fans you must realise we have tribes in UK just like you do here - and we normalyy hate each other...) Cheers to all now off for a few Guinesses, Rob
Pik7/4/2009 7:11 PM
As mentioned before, Bismark (one of the dirty trio) also need to adress his behavior. In total the Lions scored 74 points and the Boks 63 (and more tries?) and I think that gives you a better reflection of the quality of the teams. Certainly if you can give scores to the coaches you can score the South African boy not much more than 3 out of 10
bok7/4/2009 7:07 PM
Well as i said before Kirchner is a quota player and olivier needs to stay at the bulls. Matfield thought he was a centre again and couldn't eben catch the ball. watch out PDV we have the trinations shortly
Andrea7/4/2009 7:06 PM
I'm a true green blooded supporter but well done Lions!! What is Bismarck doing in a green jersey. Everyone talks about Bakkies as a dirty player but just do some replays on Bismarck (Currie Cup/Super 14/Tri Nations etc) and he is forever involved with off the ball stuff. Bismarck, take up mud wretling or boxing, we don't need you in rugby. Nota big PDV fan but well done on giving all the guys a chance to experience a Lions tour
John7/4/2009 7:04 PM
Oh heck, lets get real and be honest to ourselves. Why did they get a thumping???? because of an AA, kwota team. Yes I know you will all be up in arms and shout racist, racist, but hey, a fact is a fact, you have just seen it.
tony7/4/2009 7:00 PM
Seems we can only win if we play Jake White's team - no sound coaching at present. Anyway, let's show the SA Rugby bosses what we think of their entrance prices - lets boycott the Tri Nations, irrespective of how much they reduce prices. They felt nothing for SA supporters, irrespective of the fact that they knew Lions supporters would outnumber Bok supporters. Don't forget, Mallet was all but fired for saying R300 was too much for a test - now R1 100 plus; is this a case for the Competitions Commission?
Sean7/4/2009 6:57 PM
lions deserved to win, but please, lets use this as a tool to rid ourselves of pdv, who is clearly the weakest link...
Chris7/4/2009 6:57 PM
I am glad the Springboks managed to clinch the series, but looking back, it was not convincing. Today's thrashing was however convincing. The Springboks and especially their coach are deluded if they think they have enough depth to make 10 changes to a winning team. Anther tri-nations lies ahead and we have the same old issues: an affirmative action coach with god given talents and a de facto quota system. In my humble opinion one should always play your best team to win the match. You don't experiment in test matches. It leaves everybody with a bad taste in the mouth - even the winning team of the day.
Sean7/4/2009 6:51 PM
lions deserved to win, but please, lets use this as a tool to rid ourselves of pdv, who is clearly the weakest link...
bok7/4/2009 6:50 PM
Well as i said before Kirchner is a quota player and olivier needs to stay at the bulls. Matfield thought he was a centre again and couldn't eben catch the ball. watch out PDV we have the trinations shortly
Rob the Englishman in Joburg7/4/2009 6:49 PM
I have just got home to drop off my son before I go off out to celebrate with many other Lions fans a fantastic Lions win. Springbok fans please forgive my elation but to those smug (over) confident Springbok fans who kept going on and on and on about giving the Lions a "hiding" after they won the first and second tests by 5 and 3 points, well my friends I can honestly tell you that YOU HAVE NOW WITNESSED YOUR MIGHTY WORLD CHAMPION SPRINGBOKS SUFFER A REAL HIDING!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has been a great series and well done to both teams and all supporters. Cheers, Rob
Ian7/4/2009 6:43 PM
come on guys who are we goig to crucify now you lost you lost you were hammered up front in the middle at the back beast who you cried for changes no excuses well done the loins
boggom7/4/2009 6:37 PM
Maak die bulle almal bokke....?
Luigi7/4/2009 6:36 PM
Bok backline was terrible. we didn't once try to put the Lions on their backfoot. Nonkwe was really bad. Boks was also very undicciplined in the last quarter. Lions was best team, they played smarter game. In hindsight the 10 changes was a bad decision...unless off course winning wasn't your primary goal.
Dirk7/4/2009 6:35 PM
A very sad day for the bokke..PDV stop dragging us down man and quit.Dont know how much the Mandela clubs are paying you but you have been riding the J White wave for to long.Now new effort no new moves.Mate go and teach soccer.Rugby is about winners and pride!!!!No rasicm please...
Johan 7/4/2009 6:33 PM
Wait untill the Wallabies get hold of the bokkies :)
Joe B7/4/2009 6:28 PM
Well done Lions! Well deserved PdV - "Don't mess with my tutu" It was clear as daylight that the Boks and their coach were not interested in a win but rather an experiment that failed dismally. We missed Bakkies and Spies for their physical presence - Kanko is in Bekker's class - lazy and can show-off in a loose game but in a tight physical battle as today, they simply disappear. Chilliboy is not up to standard - give him another 2 or 3 seasons. Nokwe looked shellshocked before and during and still after the game - Kirchner was not too bad but with 2 palookas around him he never had a chance. Muller is a good honest player, but eish, we missed Bakkies! Brussouw had to battle on his own because there were no cleaners.Bismarck and F Steyn must go for anger-management. Olivier will probably get a lot of crit. - but it looked like the game-plan by the one-dimensional Shark coaches. He however did send Fourie and others through gaps a couple of times with straight and hard running. Pienaar ran 10 steps everytime he got the ball and put the backline under tremendous pressure. Bring back Habana and Peterson - bring in Jano as back-up no 9 for triN. and Pienaar as utility back. Lastly, I think Dickenson was very inconsistent and confusing with his whistle which led to much frustration amongst the Boks. (and Bryce got what he wanted last Saturday - to disallow a legitimate Springboktry - good on you! )
Priester7/4/2009 6:26 PM
Admittedly I have also joined the crowd demanding the head of PDV. Well, I was wrong. The team selected for today was pretty much what I wanted to see except for Bakkies and Brian. Some of the players were clearly not up to the task. Screaming to have PDV axed at this stage is not the way to go. (As long as he keeps his racist remarks and political agenda to himself) PDV should get a chance and prove his abilities with the Tri Nations. Time will tell. Proudly South African and also proud to be a Dutchman.
Honniball7/4/2009 6:24 PM
Well done SNORRE, you have shown disrespect and arrogance to the Lions, and you got what you deserved! Even the Bok players looked like they wanted it differently. You have almost lost this series and has shown that that you lack experience. Hopefully you will learn from your mistakes, the All Blacks have....
G7/4/2009 6:15 PM
Lions played better but was helped by the referee asin the first two tests. They can't throw in straight, constantly plying foul in the mauls and rucks, tackling without arms,cleaning outwithout arms from the side and all this not penalised. Are all the refs blind or how did the pommies pay them?? Morne for permanent starting flyhalf, Zane played like frans can only dream of. The problem of todays match is we have to much (forward)backline players and they don't clean at the mauls and rucks.
gerhard7/4/2009 6:14 PM
Well done Lions! You've earned it. And you deserved it. The referees, espescially the french comedian, should be banned from rugby for more than a few weeks. What a pathetic display!
Matt7/4/2009 6:12 PM
Boks were embarassing. Behaved like a bunch of footballers and what was up with the pathetic armbands?
Rus7/4/2009 6:11 PM
Good show by the Lions, the Bokke were pathetic and looking for an excuse to start a fight. PdV's setup broke the cohesion of the Boks to such an extent they didnt know what to do. If it wasnt for Morne Steyn it would have been a through beating.
Dok17/4/2009 6:08 PM
Well done to the Boks for trying to find rhythm in their game today, even with 10 changes. You can't win them all but you can sure try to learn from them all! So what did we learn today (hopefully)? 1. DO NOT KICK AWAY YOUR BALL POSSESSION UNLESS IT CAN LEAD TO A TRY. YOU CANNOT PLAY RUGBY WITHOUT THE BALL! 2. NO EXCUSES FOR 10 CHANGES. 3. PLAY AS A TEAM AND NOT AS INDIVIDUALS TRYING TO MAKE A MARK. A TEAM CAN WIN A GAME, AN INDIVIDUAL CAN LOOSE THE GAME! 4. LIKE Well done de villiers SAID, GIVE EXPERIENCED WINGS TO A ROOKIE FULLBACK FOR SUPPORT AND GUIDANCE! 5. MAKE SUBSTITUTES EARLY WHEN YOU SEE YOU ARE BEGINNING TO LOOSE IT! (As South Africans we must get away from giving the player 60 minutes to hopefully find himself before we find out that he is not even playing the same game on the veld) 6. MAKE TICKETS CHEAPER SO THAT PLAYER 23 CAN BE THERE TO SUPPORT THE TEAM! THAT REALLY MAKES ALOT OF DIFFERENCE OUT THERE! And lastly... STRAIGHTEN THE LINES! PLEASE! Ignore the basics and all the TRI NATIONS games will be like the last test against the LIONS. SPARE US THAT PLEASE DIV!!!
Fanie du Preez7/4/2009 6:06 PM
The lions deserved to win. Well done. Two to many Bulls in the team- Kirchner to slow and not strong enough & Ralepele to weak to support his props.These two will never deserve to be in a Bok team. Nokwe needs more development & experience. Perhaps this loss came just in time before the Tri nations
stop complaining7/4/2009 6:00 PM
SA one the series...after doing some amazing catch up work in the second test. Stop whining, so tiring. Congrats to the players. I have my issues with the coach, but he did say that he was blooding new players, whats wrong with giving them a big challenge in their first game? If it is part of a long term plan it will do them well. Well done bokke! Making us proud!!!!! Oh...and there is nothing kak about Kankowski, the guy is devastating in open play...whole team did not preform well today. Sure he should been in the rucks more, but maybe the coach is responsible for the game plan...not the player.
Mike7/4/2009 5:59 PM
PDV needs to go! He made a complete arse out of South African Rugby in the last couple of weeks. The Springbok players won the Brithish & Irish Lions Series, defenitely had nothing to do with PDV the so called coach.
bARRY7/4/2009 5:56 PM
Well done to the Lions for excellent play. De Villiers however should be fired making 10 changes to a winning team. The Tri-nations will be a mess if he pulls these kind of stunts. Get rid of him, at least there wont be improper comments and statement. The Springboks did not shape at all.
Jason7/4/2009 5:51 PM
Well done to Spitfire(5:14pm) for displaying a true British lack of sportsmanship. Don't even try and make it sound like one game makes the series. You lost the series in the exact same fashion as the boks lost the '97 series, with 2 close games to the Lions and one hiding from the boks, but we didn't whinge about it. Please accept the series loss just like we did in '97 ... and well done on a good final game.
Gerrit NY USA7/4/2009 5:51 PM
When are our selectors and coaching staff going to learn that a test mach is a test match. You should always pick your best possible side and combinations regardless of where the series stands. This result will be recorded in the history books as a win for the Lions and nowhere will it say that it was a 2nd string Springbok side or that key players were rested. We missed out on a wonderful opportunity to bury the lions and come out of this on a high, something that could be carried over to the Tri-Nations. Now these players have to regain their confidence. The Springboks were simply outplayed in all departments of the game and some serious questions should be asked about the coaching staff preparing the players for this game. They simply neglected to do their job. Something tells me Jake White would not have made this mistake, he’s too much of a perfectionist.
BokInAus7/4/2009 5:50 PM
Thumping it was, not even a single try. Zane was same as in the young boks and Lions game, no magic.Divs gonna be grilled for those 10 replacements.WHY DIV WHY?? Surely all those bok supporters at Ellis park wasted their money watching a B-team get bulldozed. Also the 2 wings today was useless..Habana & Pietersen by far the best.Better game by the Lions.Well Done.
A Lion7/4/2009 5:48 PM
As a lions fan i enjoyed all the 3 games a lot. Congrats to the best team who won the trophy (SA), as the best team is the team who is awarded the trophy at the end of the day, but i also have a lot of respect for the lions and their attitude and attacking rugby. I think the lions dominated nearly all aspects of the game today, scrum, maul, breakdown and deserved their win. All it really shows is that the lions second team is probably better than the boks seconds. Boks badly missed bakkies, pietersen and habana and with them on would surely have scored a try or two. I love watching the lions play and apart from the vocal group you see here and other SA boards (you know who you are) hating the lions (and the british and irish press??) i hope that SA enjoyed the series too. Im sure most did. Please remember that tabloid newspapers in britain are just that, trash and thats what they do, talk trash all day long. They are ruthless and brutal about all subjects, its not personal if they offend, its how they opperate to sell papers in a cutthroat market. Just look what they do to celebs, footballers etc
Bluegumm7/4/2009 5:48 PM
Well done to the Lions, you far outclased the Boks We now need a Jake White again to restore order!!!!!!! pdv showed he is is a CLOWN of note. pdv FCKOff beck to the fletts
Dries7/4/2009 5:43 PM
And another important thing Piet Helium should learn very quickly. An international test can NEVER be an experiment involving all the players in your squad. Its win at all costs bru, if you want to rest certain players then do so in a gradual fashion pleeez. You have disrupted the rhythm and probably caused more harm than good.
Charlie7/4/2009 5:36 PM
Well done to the Lions on a well deserved victory. They came back strong and salvaged some pride. Pity the Bokke never found cohesion, and very little momentum. Was not impressed with certain players, and the Lions outplayed us fair and square. Heinrich Brussouw is a champion Bokke win the Series, and that's what really counts!!!!!
Viljoen7/4/2009 5:33 PM
the Kiwi's and Aussies are gonna kill us in the Tri-nations
Cheetah7/4/2009 5:30 PM
Well done to the Lions!! I have never seen 8 unforced team changes to any test side before, especially the 2 best wings and fullback left out "just to give other players a chance to play" Series well won. Congratulations to the Boks!!!
Skeptic7/4/2009 5:29 PM
The Lions wanted to win! The Bokke were not cohesive. Individual brilliance cannot win a test game at this level. There must be time to play together. Let this be a good lesson. Congrats to the Bokke with the series win and to the Lions to their match win.
Benny7/4/2009 5:28 PM
Pathetic! And not only because we lost - but, because of the way we lost! Bismark du Plessis, just one of several thugs today, should be sent to anger management classes. Frans Steyn should grow up - why drop kick at that stage of the match when we needed possession and Tries? Of course PdV's choice of (light weight) wings was doomed to failure from the onset. It is sad but true - the LIONS played with more structure and control and I grudgingly have to admit they were by far the best team on the day. Congrats to the Boks on winning the series. My prediction for the Tr-Nations? We lose due to bad team selections!
HC7/4/2009 5:27 PM
And now Mr I-love-myself? Tri-nations is waiting! Just one tip - apart from keeping the big hole in your head shut - make sure you find a captain before selecting the rest of the squad. Furthermore, I can't wait to read your stupid excuses in the Sunday papers.
At Last7/4/2009 5:25 PM
Well done PdV for getting the Boks to lose at last. You tried your best in the first and second test and now at last with 10 changes you did it. Well done.
skeeza7/4/2009 5:24 PM
well well to all those who wanted a olivier&fourie centre partnership i hope you happy the backline was ran ragged today with the lions second chioce centre punching holes through the midfield at will!! but well done to lions for this victory in my opinion it was long overdue dark times ahead of SA rugby the tri nations will be horrible
Hein7/4/2009 5:24 PM
Bull dog sprirt showed that we can't mix icescream with sh*t. PDV must go......Tri Nation is not the Lions.
peter7/4/2009 5:23 PM
Well done Lions. Please SA fans no moaning because we lost. Glad to see some springboks shaking hands in a friendly manner after the game.
David Appleby7/4/2009 5:22 PM
WELL DONE LIONS YOU SHOULD OF WON LAST WEEK AS WELL
Dissapointed Sprinbok Supporter7/4/2009 5:22 PM
What an embarressment! Hope you have learn't your lesson De Villiers! Don't pull any stupid stunts like this in the tri-nations. Would have been lovely to to make it a whitewash, now I have to sit here in London and listen to the media harp on about how they should have won!
oue7/4/2009 5:22 PM
bokke, what justice was that? ROFL
Dries7/4/2009 5:21 PM
Yeah Piet Helium just proved that he is as inconsistent as his "famous" speeches. Ridiculous. I agree totally with the previous comments, need we say more? If the same "tactics" are going to be followed in the 3-nations we are in for a big surpise, WE DO NOT HAVE THE DEPTH that Piet thinks we have!
David Appleby7/4/2009 5:20 PM
Why worry about Bakies SA were thump big time on your own turf by a side that only gets together now and again
Dave7/4/2009 5:19 PM
OK now that the honeymoon is over can we please please please get rid of that buffoon de Villiers
Russ7/4/2009 5:19 PM
Well done to the lion who showed more resolve. Springboks are a good team even with new younger players..they will still gell well soon. However. Please PDV leave Bismarck out in the future.Find a new hooker because there is no point in playing a person who has intent to injure or fight fo no reason. Bismark leave your vindictive traits at home. I have seen you so many times doing stuff with intent to hurt and with an evil eye. Sorry the truth
AB7/4/2009 5:18 PM
Well done Lions.The best team lost the series.
Molefe7/4/2009 5:16 PM
Well done to the Lions! You where the best team on the field. Fluty and Williams especially! If they had played in the 1st two tests, who knows! As to Shaw.. the less said the better. To the Boks, pathetic!! You played like a bunch of school girls! Odwa, you are a disgrace, Nokwi.. bud I am one of your biggest fans, but you disappointed today! WO and JF, you are obviously a weak link. I doubt you will get another chance. The only light point for me was MS and RP combining well. Brusouw, you are a monster! Even marked as he was he did really well!
wins7/4/2009 5:16 PM
Na hierdie series is ek n skaam Springbok ondersteuner. Lyk my ons kan nie meer rugby speel en probeer die stamp en stoot "gameplan". Vir wat? Die Leeus het ons naam gat gemaak, nes ons afrigter. Ek sal die reeks vir die res van my lewe as n gelykop uitslag onthou. Die 2e toets het ons in alle eerlikheid nie gewen, en ons moet ophou om ons self daaroor te bullshit? Baie teleurstellende spel, en vir die afrigter, kry vir jou n job wat jy kan doen! Los die rugby ding vir die ouens wat ken.
Russ7/4/2009 5:14 PM
Well done to the lion who showed more resolve. Springboks are a good team even with new younger players..they will still gell well soon. However. Please PDV leave Bismarck out in the future.Find a new hooker because there is no point in playing a person who has intent to injure or fight fo no reason. Bismark leave your vindictive traits at home. I have seen you so many times doing stuff with intent to hurt and with an evil eye. Sorry the truth
Spitfire7/4/2009 5:14 PM
Well done Lions for todays effort, pity the first 2 tests was 50/50 that went the SA way. Please no excuses about the 10 changes to the Bok side, the Lions had alot of changes as well. So much for the 3-0 series win, the only 3-0 that will be on the record books, is today's try count.
Well done de villiers7/4/2009 5:06 PM
Well done de villiers. Making 10 replacement with main clowns nokwe, kak-ofski, muller and olivier. Surely kak-ofski needs to do the primary work of an 8th man (which include tackling and cleaning rucks) and not hang around outside the centres. Very sad to put in a fullback in his first test and give him two wings both playing their 4th tests. One would expect a rookie to be supported by experienced wings (Like Habana and Pietersen). Surely Zane was setup to fail. We missed BAKKIES very much.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide