Lions in SA

In hindsight, Boks had no hope

2009-07-05 22:47
Email | Print
Heinrich Brussow (File)

Louis de Villiers

Johannesburg – If one is honest, very few players would’ve been able to remain mentally sharp the week after they'd achieved a crucial 2-0 series-winning lead in a Test series against the British and Irish Lions.

Nothing illustrates this better than the humiliating 28-9 defeat the Springboks suffered on Saturday – and which one could have predicted early in the week already.

It was a week in which the players had to concentrate on Saturday's match and play the game on merit. But instead the days preceding the match were a circus.

If you talk to Peter de Villiers one-on-one, he is interesting and coherent, but it is beginning to appear as if there is some kind of short circuit when the Bok coach is confronted by a horde of journalists.

Last week, he had the media spotlight thrust upon him with a series of his own proverbs about congratulations and fingers in the eyes of game park lions, which understandably got the British media excited.

In addition to that, the team selection was nonsensical: if you want to test a different centre pair, what is the point of choosing a totally different back three, No 8 and hooker!

One of De Villiers’s better traits is his almost overly conservative way of picking a team, but on this occasion his 10 changes only served to remind us of the bad old days when the Bok team was chopped and changed every other week.

This is one of the best generations of SA players. It would be crazy to think there will be in the foreseeable future this much talent available again.

Not the duds we saw on Saturday. In the end, it was the kind of poor team effort that one rarely sees, but because it was a completely strange team, it is almost impossible to find things that worked. Everything was half-cooked, raw.

The end result was that, despite the team’s brave fightback in Pretoria's second Test, the series had lost momentum for South Africa the moment De Villiers made a number of unnecessary substitutions in the second half of the first Test in Durban.

Since then, the Lions only improved and on Saturday one couldn’t really fault them on their performance. Apart from Heinrich Brüssow and Ryan Kankowski, the Bok forwards didn’t get going.

The white armbands of protest over Bakkies Botha’s suspension reminded on the one hand that they missed their team-mate, but on the other hand also gave the team an unwanted distraction.

In addition to the above, forwards playing on the back foot... a confused defensive pattern of a new combination at the back... a Lions backline that went unpunished while playing offside and finally, an injury to Fourie du Preez all contributed to the Boks' defeat.

The Springboks have little time to find their feet. In a little under three weeks they play the All Blacks in the Tri-Nations.

Your Comments

Basil7/8/2009 5:26 PM
Unless P de V can shut down his "bifurcated" brain, which is always torn between his political masters and the game of rugby. SA will continue to struggle to keep a standard equal to the talent available to be selected because of other "political" considerations. TESTS ARE THERE TO BE WONE, thats all that counts when the history books are studdied.
Lekker7/6/2009 8:10 PM
We have beaten the Lions 2-1.Finish and Klaar. Give credit where it was due. The world champions have won the series against the British Lions. We lost in 1997. Thanks Peter de Villiers! Thanks John Smith! Thanks bokke.
Dave7/6/2009 7:36 PM
As a Bok supporter living in the UK I am amazed that the management fielded a second or possibly a third rate team. It could have been a whitewash and made history but it was not to be. Some idiot ruined it for the Bokke but maybe thats why i dont live in beautiful SA anymore as there are a lot of idiots ruining it for everyone. Well done Bokke you got the series anyway so hold your heads up high you are still the greatest team in the world.
Brian Thomas7/6/2009 7:28 PM
I was going to congratulate the Boks on their victory but the sour remarks on here are pathetic-poor losers boys-the belief over here in the UK is that if our squad had played together more (bringing 4 countries players together is a disadvantage than one who play regularly together) prior to the tour,we would have won - as it is ,3 excellent matches,you had the run of the ball and officials decisions in the first two-we had it in the last.Good luck in the tri nations.
nico7/6/2009 7:03 PM
The difference was the intercept try (from an off-side position). The Boks were very likely to score, it made a 14 point difference! The Bokke were abysmal, but it was much closer than what the score suggest.
Something Fishy7/6/2009 5:23 PM
Saturday's game played out like a Hansie Cronje cricket match... follow the penalty kicks not taken by John Smith and here and there take away Lions points that wouldn't have happened if those penalty kicks were taken, such as the last intercept try, then this game was never a game to be won by the Boks on Saturday... to loose was part of the game plan!!!!! The Boks could have won on penalties alone!!!
Coach7/6/2009 2:21 PM
An abysmal display by the Bokke! Hate to say I told you so...but `I told you so'! Peter De Villiers had a glorious opportunity to do what no Bok coach had ever achieved in the hitherto illustrious rugby history of the Springboks that of a clinical `whitewash' against the British & Irish Lions! Despite the loss of Burger (lets not go there...enough has been said) and Bakkies who should NEVER have been suspended (lets go there!)...you just cannot field the second stringers against a touring party of this ilk1 What was De Villiers thinking..(on second thoughts lets not even go there lest we find no one at home!). Eishhhhh...jislaaik...did he not learn a serious lesson in the first test, where his irresponsible wholesale changes almost cost us the winning result! His contention that each member of the squad was entitled to to `feel' part of history is sheer twak and balderdash....in short K**! Play your BEST team and if you are well up with 5 minutes to go...then give some of the reserves a chance! I know that this was a dead rubber (dooie FL) but instead of dispensing the final nail in the `souties' coffin .....the SA fans were left pondering for 80 abysmal...boring minutes what would or could have been the result... had De Villiers done what any competitive coach from any worthy sport code would have done....Yes no prizes required! I know he'll want to play his `mechanic analogy race card' but quite frankly most members of our patriotic Rainbow Nation with the odd exception have moved on.....This fella is out of his depth and is a menace and embarrasment in front of the internationl microphone/spotlight! He has certain qualities but overall like the team he fielded for the last test he's sorely left wanting! Was he the best candidate for the job?.....Hell NO! So lets not beat about the bush...lets always choose the best players based on merit irrespective of race, colour or creed and remember `There is always only One Race....that is The Human Race!'
chris7/6/2009 1:45 PM
This is typical of our South Africa surporters. Everyone called for changes and when that was done and the Boks lost, all the critics starting to blame the players. Suddenly all the experts died a silent death. People please just acknowledege the series win and stop being like old people in a old age home, that just sit and complain. NOBODY FORCES YOU TO WATCH OR BUY TICKETS TO WATCH RUGBY. Concentrate on your own work and leava sports alone, because you are not knowing what you are talking about....
tito7/6/2009 1:13 PM
@chuck I agree these guys need to focus on the game more than all this off the ball rubbish, watch the Aussies try and exploit it aswell because our guys just seems like they want to bully and then forget about the game. I have to agree with the notion that Olivier was nowhere to be seen in defence (apart from the intercepted pass), Morne needs more time, thus PdV's assertion that guys need to make decisions on the filed as the situation calls for. gradually brining Morne into the team and Keeping Ruan at flyhalf in the INTERIM is important.
Ant7/6/2009 11:53 AM
Wynand Olivier was directly responsible for 2 of the Lion's tries. One where he didn't hold on to the tackled no.8 allowing him to get up run straight down the touchline, and the other he threw a loose pass to their wing. Our pack was outwighed by 50 kg's! That is a massive difference in size 8kg's per man. That was the real problem. Bakkies was sorely missed!
the law7/6/2009 11:07 AM
Now everybody thinks blames the changes to the team. Except the holy steyn and olivier. Well saturday proved morne can't cope underpressure and wynand can only play if his team is going forward. I always thought the bulls team as a unit made morne and wynand look beter than they are. But in test you won't always be going forward. I don't know where we are going to get a flyhalf but a dan or matt, morne certainly ain't. The team that started the second test is my best 15 they just need to get pienaar to kick. practice practice practice.
Stuart7/6/2009 10:54 AM
@Bliiksem, As hulle Wynand in die 2de toets gespeel het, het ons die reeks definitief verloor. Hy het saterdag sy swakste game die jaar gehad....sorry, maar hy was nie op standaard nie, AD Jacobs het selfs beter gespeel in die 1ste 2 toetse.....Wynand het sy kans gekry en dit nie gebruik nie....
Tim7/6/2009 10:37 AM
Burgiesburnin I see you embarrassing yourself again with your usual pathetic drivel. Pity its taken since 2001 and three series defeats in a row for the cream to rise a little, sure it must be sour now, hey bright spark?
Shaun7/6/2009 10:24 AM
I think there were 11 changes? Some are injury/suspension enforced, but that is too many. When playing this sort of test rugby, you have to field your best team possible. Even if it is a dead rubber game. PDV should have fielded his big guns like Habanna, Pieterson and Frans Steyn to mention a few. With the Lions good players (O'Driscoll, Roberts) out, we could have had a white wash!
Bliiksem7/6/2009 10:02 AM
@Anton ... en ons kan duidelik sien jy is n shark supporter .. hulle moes Wynand al die tweede game op Loftus ingesit het
Captain7/6/2009 8:43 AM
The only thing that caused us to loose on Saturday is the inexperienced coach who chose an inexperienced back three. Kirschner was so out of his league he looked like a rabbit caught in headlights. Our forwards did not show up for the game and that caused us to be on the back foot all the time. I feel sorry for Fourie and Olivier, this was there chance to show PDV that they are the best centre combo. Maybe PDV manipulated the team selection on purpose to prove he knows better that all of us...........
Marius7/6/2009 8:05 AM
@Anton. I live in PE. We don't have any team to support and therefore I can watch the game objectively and not through black and white or blue tinted glasses. Also, Ryan comes from the Eastern Cape too, so I am critisizing one of our own sons. As for Wynand Olivier. He made one mistake, which unfortunately led to rthe Lions try. Instead of the one-skip pass, he should have made a two-skip pass and it would have been a Bok try instead. Nothing wrong with his overall game. His defence was outstanding.
william7/6/2009 8:03 AM
Maarten I agree to an extent. You are probably right in saying that the Lions were the best on this tour and that they were unlucky. But I also know that our Springboks are the best rugby side in the world. Unfortunately, 10 changes didn't help. Our coach is really bad at his job, he should be fired. This is a world cup winning team we are sporting and we should be better than the Lions by at least 20 points a game. I think that on Saturday, Jake Whites legacy finally ended and P Div's started. I am not usually a negative oke, but I think that we are going to see our gatte in the TriNations. The kind of inconsistency we saw on Saturday from the team comes from poor coaching. When Jacque Fourie is your best fetcher for the day because your forwards can't see the ball, you know there is something seriously wrong. We were over aggressive, playing the man and not the ball. Time will tell, but I think(hope) the (in)famous reign of Peter De Villiers will be over by the end of this season.
Rule Britannia7/6/2009 7:53 AM
What a feeble and lame article. When the Boks win it is because of their sheer talent - when they get a resounding thumping - it is because they are not in the mood !! Who is this Joker ??
Piet7/6/2009 7:51 AM
We Beat The Lions 2-1 , In a series.This is a team made up of 4 countries which include a world cup winner and Six Nations Champions.ITS A BIG DEAL no matter what.Lucky or Not, the Brits got their beat.Go cry back in the UK...........Besides , what better way to experiment for the Tri Nations.
Hannetjie7/6/2009 7:41 AM
Definitely not a good game by the Springboks - I think the series win went to their heads and coach Peter de Villiers is too blase !!! Time to get back to basics and play proper rugby if we want any say in the Tri Nations. Come on Boks, you can do it !!!!!!!!
Royal Oaks7/6/2009 7:39 AM
Burgiesburnin, so does scum - look carefully at the illegal tactics of the Lions and the stupidity of Piet Snor
Chuck7/6/2009 7:37 AM
For the first time in my life I was ashamed to be a Bok supporter, not because they lost, but because of the continual off the ball rubbish - Sure the Lions were also to blame on some occassions and rugby is a tough sport, but much of it was nonsensical, childish and dirty - if I had a child interested in rugby and aspiring to become a Springbok I would have switched it off, because that's just not what beink a Bok is about.
Maarten7/6/2009 7:29 AM
We can blame who ever we like. With the win on Saturday the Lions showed that they were the best. The 2 lucky wins we had the previous 2 weeks we nothing more than that. And I believe that even the Lions would say that they lost those matches because of the ref's. I am sorry but the Boks looked out of place. It looked as if the Lions were playing with 20 men because there were always 3 or more of them at the break points while we were standing back and looking. And even with them having 3 at the break points they still managed to score backline tries. Lets be honest. The Boks had no plan. The thought that if they defended well(which the didn't do) the Lions would tire in the last 20. And this did not happen. So if the Lions back line charges up, pop the ball over their heads and make them turn around. But no one could think of this plan. A good captain and coach we have. I believe we will only see what we have in Div once these guys he inherited move on and he has to really start coaching.
Anton7/6/2009 7:24 AM
Marius, I can clearly see that you are a bulls fan, what about wynand olivier? hy het sy naam G** gemaak!
Burgiesburnin7/6/2009 7:13 AM
Cream will always come to the top.
Hein Pretoria7/6/2009 7:07 AM
I am trying desperately not to get involved in criticizing the “untouchable” match official. Just now we will hear again that we know nothing about the game and we don’t “understand” the rules. Stu’arse Dickinson obviously also do not understand some of the rules – especially the offside rule at breakdowns and the breakdown play in general. But then again, maybe – just maybe, he’s not the only one because his predecessors in the B&IL’s tour were equally pathetic, a fact that LORD Andre Watson most probably won’t agree to.
Marius7/6/2009 7:05 AM
Which game did you watch Louis. Ryan Kankowski was probably the biggest culprit in our defeat, because he wanted to play centre the whole game which meant that the Boks basically had only 7 forwards on the field and the reason why we never got any decent ball. In his defence , he probably has become so used to having to cover for Adi Jacobs at the Sharks, that centre is now almost his natural position. Ryan is one of the best impact players in the world but unfortunately will never be more than that.
erewhon7/6/2009 7:05 AM
I thought that I was the only one who noticed that the entire Lions back line lay in an offside position for most of the time they were on attack.
barney7/6/2009 4:54 AM
I dont knwo where the Boks come from withthis "tap" down to the scrum half at the line out. My basic Rugby knowledge tells me that you need to get the oppositions forwards to bind into the line out ruck after you have secured posession, we let them roam freely around and walked towrads the line outs - very shoddy for professionals gents
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Anton van Zyl's message to WP fans

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Greatest Goal Celebrations... 9/3/2010 12:31:41 PM

1963 Wallabies against South Africa 9/3/2010 12:13:53 PM

MOVING FORWARD - PART 2 9/3/2010 12:02:42 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.