Lions in SA

Heyneke Meyer Test analysis

2009-06-29 07:12
Email | Print
Heyneke Meyer (Gallo Images)

Former Bulls and Leicester Tigers coach, Heyneke Meyer, writes for Sport24, giving his thoughts on the second Test between the Springboks and the British & Irish Lions:

• To begin with, the first quarter of the match was a mirror of the Test in Durban, but this time it was the Lions who used their opportunities. They scored a try and converted the penalty kick. The Springboks failed at two kicks and lost the scrum on their tryline. That placed them under pressure and on top of this, they had to play without an openside flank.

• Secondly, the scrums were again determined by the interpretation of the referee. This time the Boks get penalised in this department. The uncontested scrums were to the advantage of both teams. The Lions could move Simon Shaw forward to make way for a better-rested player, which made the altitude less important. It also helped the Springboks as they could get better ball possession from the scrum.

• Thirdly, the Lions did some homework on the lineouts and managed them better. They avoided Matfield and won some good ball with quick throws. They were also effective in stopping the Bok ruck and maul with Shaw being very useful in that department.

• The fourth point of interest, is that because the Springboks played quite wide initially, it made them vulnerable, having to give away ball possession a few times and being beaten at the breakdown in the first 60 minutes. But this changed when Brüssow came on as with two openside flanks on the field, the Springboks were able to put a stop to the Lions’ quick ball possession, which brought the turnaround in the match.

• The fifth point of interest was when the score was 16-5 right before half-time, and the Lions were penalised for obstruction. The Springboks converted a penalty and were only eight points behind at half-time. This was crucial, as the difference between 11 and eight points was eventually the difference of three points in the score.

• Point number six is that the Springboks were again rewarded for their tactical kicking. The Boks won the Test in Durban with the winning try coming from a lineout. When the Lions were offered something similar on Saturday, with three minutes left in the game, they took the kick at posts to go for a draw. That is the difference between the two teams.

• Point number seven is Habana’s try, which followed a poor Lions line-out. The Springboks won the resultant scrum and Habana got his chance. It was an elementary mistake by the Lions but it was brilliantly used by the Springboks.

• Point number eight deals with altitude – you had the feeling they had to be ahead by at least ten points by half-time. Eight points wasn’t enough, and when injuries started playing havoc with their team, it was the end for them. When things get tough, you want your best players on the field, but with Roberts and O’Driscoll off the field, the Lions no longer had that luxury.

• The ninth point is that Morné Steyn’s conversion after Jaque Fourie ’s try and the long penalty kick at the end were winners, but his biggest contribution was his tactical kicking. Pienaar’s kicks were too loose and the Springboks won back Morné’s high kicks almost every time. Jacque Fourie is one of the world’s three best outside centres and must play again.

• Lastly, the Springboks still don’t build enough phases but twice scored tries from a first phase and this is rarely seen in Tests. Fourie du Preez was tactically brilliant by calling the right movement with JP Pietersen’s try. He saw the Lion’s wing defending in that area and because it was a strange defence area, a gap opened.

Your Comments

Anonymous User6/30/2009 9:32 AM
HEY PIETER, I DONT LIKE YOU BECAUSE YOU HAVE NO TACT (I WAS SOOOOO EMBARASSED TO HEAR YOU ON BBC THIS MORNING). ITS NOT BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT WHITE OR MAKE STUPID SELECTIONS - JUST GIVE THE BEST MAN THE JOB AND FIND A SPOKESMAN!
jaco 6/29/2009 5:21 PM
'n Deeglik deertrapte beginsel in rugby is om altyd die speler te kies wat op vorm is. Dit is ook waar dat in die opbou na vier of vyf jaar doelwit dit nodig is om soms met sekere spelers voort te gaan. Die plaaslike reekse en super 14 is egter 'n baie beter toets veld vir sulke proewe, nie toets rugby nie. - Morne Steyn moet na verdienste (reeds in die super 14) die nr 10 trui dra. (Ruan het wonderlike potensiaal, maar is nie nou goed genoeg nie). - Jaque Fourie moet die nr 13 trui dra (Jacobs goed vir Sharks maar kon nog nie in die volgende rat wat internasionale rugby vereis oorskakel nie). - Wynand verdien die nr 12 trui (Jean is 'n uitmuntende speler wat nooit 'n span in die steek sal laat nie, moet verseker op die bank wees. Ek voel egter dat Wynand huidiglik meer op vorm is). - Heinrich is vir my die fond van 2009. Speel konstruktiewe positiewe rugby binne 'n baie kretieke area van die spel nl. die afbreek punte. Hy moet verseker die nr 6 trui dra. Puik speler. - Mnr de Villiers moet as afrigter die spelers aanwend en saamsnoer tot 'n doeltreffende eenheid. Ons het huidelik groot-ten deels van die beste spelers in die wereld nl. Victor, Bakkies, Juan, Pierre, Fourie, Jaque, Habanna en John. Hierdie spelers vorm 'n vaste fondament waarop die span gebou kan word. Wanneer ons spelers soos Morne, Heinrich, Frans, Wynand ens. byvoeg het ons een van die sterkste Springbokspanne ooit. Ten slotte is die grootste onder presteerder vir my as ondersteuner Mnr de Villiers. My redes. 1. Swak spankeuses 2. Plaasvervangers is telleurstellend aangewend (om net te se ons het darm gewen is nie genoeg nie.) 3. Sy kommentaar deur die week stel ook baie teleur (Ps. Ek het baie van Jake se openlikheid gehou, hy het dikwels sy besluite uiteengesit terwille van ons as die ondersteuners. Al het ons soms van hom verskil kon ons die logika agter 'n besluit waardeer. Dankie Jake). Sou graag wou sien wat doen Jake of Heyneke met hierdie groep spelers!
slg6/29/2009 4:42 PM
It's obvious to all and sundry that Heyneke should be the head coach of our national team
Anonymous User6/29/2009 4:05 PM
About Schalk - Why don't you play? Or are you a overweight couch potatoe? Why nothing about Bakkies? He was send of the field three or four times this season? Why no fuss about him???? Wake up bru stop wasting your companies time and money. It seems to me that all the oucks that could not make it in primary year rugby complains. Why don't you not give comments on the above article, but plays the racist issue, helium etc. If you think that you can do better than PdV why did you not apply for the position???????
About Schalk...6/29/2009 2:16 PM
Just to add to the Schalk Burger debate - this was his 50th game for SA. That means it is safe to say that he has now given away 150 points to the opposing team - as he ALWAYS plays dirty and concedes penalties. And besides, he faired poorly this season. There are currently better players then him. No need to play him.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:17 PM
now if only Heyneke was the coach, and Mountain Weed did not determine some of Div's comments and decisions, we would hammer the BI Lions into oblivion!!
Michae6/29/2009 1:11 PM
I am a huge bulls and bok supporter. Why does the bok coach still keep on playing Jacobs? Fourie must start the came and Olivier must be on the bence, Jacobs won't make my 22 squad. And lastly our guys must learn to tackle the man and the ball, make the ball dead in the tackle. You can see NZ an AUS they are brilliant in doing that.
Lyle6/29/2009 10:59 AM
I think that for every test match it should be a law to have 2 props on the bench. Uncontested scrums really undermines the game.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:55 AM
I cant stop wondering whats going to happen when Jake Whites magic team wears off? PDV is ploughing with another mans oxxen!
Nick6/29/2009 10:44 AM
Heyneke should be the coach, full stop. Lets face it though, Div is going nowhere after beating the Lions, although he did everything in his power to try lose the games. Had Roussow not got concussed (and I think he is a great player) Brussow would not have come on the field. Jacobs and Ruan Pienaar should not have started the game, Jacobs should be getting his injury sorted out and Pienaar should be on the bench as an impact player. Spies definitely lifted his game but I think Kankovski should start this weekend along with Morne, Wynand and Jaque Fourie. Hope Reuben Kruger is ok
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:41 AM
I know I am no Rugby Fundy as some of you guys are, but I have one question on the substitutions. Why did div not replace The beast with Brussouw when the scrums could not be contested any more? He could have shuffled the pack a little and have three flanks on the field. Please do not misunderstand me, I think The Beast is probably the best front row player we have and I like him very much. It is just that when we can not scrum can we still use his power?
Springbok Fan6/29/2009 10:27 AM
I read all the comments including Heynneke's and agree with most of them. As much as one would like to support PDV as our national coach, he really makes it difficult (soon to be impossible if he carries on like this) for South Afrcian supporters to back him. To have played Schalk just because of his 50th game was a big mistake especially after Brussow has proven the week before that he can fill that gap brilliantly. Why did he not play Schalk from the bench, since he might have had better memories of his 50th game other than a game that he would rather want to forget as soon as possible. More reason for my argument is the fact that Schalk was injured for some time, and irrespectiuve how good you have been a player over years, history has proven that the best player that was absent from the game for some time should be brought back gradually and be managed responsibly. Imagine what the score would have been if Brussow was played right from the beginning and Schalk brought in for the last twenty minutes or so. We might by then have had a significant lead over the Lions, and Schalk would have gained important game time as well. The same could be said about the Ruan Pienaar selection versus Morne Steyn. I do not want to take anything away from Ruan, and we all know his capabilities and skills. The truth however is that Ruan also needed to be brought back to the game gradually, after having been absent from the game because of injury. Even though Ruan's goalkicking was good enough last week, we all know that he lacks stability when it comes to consistent accurate goalkicking. On the other hand, Morne passed this test convincingly during the Super 14, and in my view Morne is a mcuh better flyhalf than Ruan. Again, imagine the possible score we would have had if Morne started the game or was played earlier. PDV should have realised within the first half that we might lose the game if we continued with Ruan as our goalkicker. Why the hell did he not bring in Morne immediately after half time? We could have won the game with at least ten more points, and I am sure Ruan's confidence took a blow after the match. One hopes that PDV will now be less stuborn and give us a better game that would really see the Lions buried this coming weekend. In conclusion I am proud with the way the guys fought back and achieved the victory.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:27 AM
I know I am no Rugby Fundy as some of you guys are, but I have one question on the substitutions. Why did div not replace The beast with Brussouw when the scrums could not be contested any more? He could have shuffled the pack a little and have three flanks on the field. Please do not misunderstand me, I think The Beast is probably the best front row player we have and I like him very much. It is just that when we can not scrum can we still use his power?
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:24 AM
To the previous comment about Jacque Fourie being injury prone, what about Adi and his injured shoulder.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:17 AM
As can be expected from the man, what great comments by Heyneke. I cringe what kind of comments PDV would have laid out had he had been asked to write a similar article. Heyneke should be Bok coach and we all know it - becasue he is the best in the country and he deserves it. Anyone want to start a petition?
Lyle6/29/2009 10:17 AM
We go to un-contested scrums and what does PDV initially do, bring on Dannie and Andries, too of the largest and arguably slowest forwards. This PDV never ceases to amaze me...he has got to be the biggest chop on earth. I like some of the people on this forum can't help but feel a hallow victory here. Really with the kind of players we have at our disposal we should be beating the Lions in a convincing manner.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:15 AM
Yeah, De Villiers has lost the plot, its no longer makes me angry. As a massive springbok supporter living in New Zealand, I know find it upsetting. I also feel for players like Pienaar, Janurie and Jacobs. They are not deserving of their places, and the result is them just becoming disliked by the public when it is in fact De Villiers fault. He deserves no credit for the wins, we won inspite of his coaching and selection. How long do the supporters, (the very reason he has a job), have to take it? Even though we are winning, it is obvious we would be better with a more capable and unbiased coach.
drew6/29/2009 10:11 AM
no comments on habanana going for intercept instead of tackle, and giving the lions first try???
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:08 AM
Saturday has one again proved to me that PdV is out of his depth.Most knowledgable rugby crits have ask for Steyn and Fourie to be in the backline and it took him 65min to make that decision.Burger should hav started but his temper got the better of him after that he did nothing then replace him with Brussouw earlier a clear difference was seen we got cleaner ball at breakdown and theirs were sloweddown alot.SARU open your eyes we got away with it this time!!!!
Jacques6/29/2009 9:52 AM
15 F Steyn 14 Akona/Odwa 13 Jacques 12 Wynand 11 Habana 10 Morne 9 Fourie 8 Pierre 7 Jaun 6 Heirich 5 Victor (C) 4 Danie 3 Jannie 2 Kuun 1 Beast My Ideal Bok team Put who ever you want on the bench cause we wont need them
Rodders6/29/2009 9:50 AM
@ Shaun: Boet, if you're going to say it's the players who should be commended for the win, and the coach had nothing to do with it, then you simply CANNOT blame Div when the Bokke lose!! It can't be his fault when we lose, but it's all down to the players when we win - give credit where credit is due. WELL DONE DIV AND THE BOKKE!!!!
PIETER DU PREEZ6/29/2009 9:49 AM
aan die einde van die reeks vra niemand die telling nie net wie het gewen , en dit is wat saak maak om in die geskiedenis boeke te kom.almal vergeet dan wie het wat verkeerd gedoen
robert barrie6/29/2009 9:48 AM
Let Burger go - we cannot allow him to continue with his arrogant and mischievious play - it will cost us dearly. At the same time also Jacobs and Pienaar as they are just not there yet - might be still injuries but we cant afford it that 12 players must do the work of 15. The time has come to act serious on players that plays outside the framework of the game
DG NORTIER6/29/2009 9:47 AM
Why is everyone on PdV's back concerning Adi? He is clearly Dick Muir's silly choice is he not, and Ruan Pienaar, why not blame that one on incompotent Muir too? It will not be surprising to see Steyn, Olivier and Fourie next to each other come 4/7/9. Brussow will get another chance with Bekker next to Matfield... Interesting it will be coming Saturday...
Christian6/29/2009 9:44 AM
Well done Bokke. The reality in South Africa is that we will never have the best team on the field because of political pressure, this will never change so lets deal with it. The problem is highlighted when your coach does not know how to manage these "special" players. Lets atleast have the best coach who can get the best out of players that should not be there. Players don't pick themselves.
Schalk Fan to the end6/29/2009 9:38 AM
You tarts absolutely amaze me, it was not so long ago that Schalk was all SA fans hero! now you are all so fickel to be calling for his head. Yes he made a bad decision in the game on Saturday but he has been out for a long time and needs time. I would have not started with Schalk but I still think he is one of the key people in the SA rugby fold when he gets back to his best form. Play Brussouw until Schalk is back to his form, he will play when he can because he loves the game so much. The incredible Schalk will return!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:33 AM
@Shark fan what match did you watch? Adi did extremly well in defence in PTA, he made a few bad decisions with ball in hand, but he was not shy of work and his defence was way up there this week. Come on give credit where credit is due. Fourie scored the winnig try and is the flavour of the week, but dont forget he is unreliable because he is injury prone.
GeePMB6/29/2009 9:30 AM
Firstly, the blame stops with PDv. HE and HE alone is the fall guy. Sure he has Muir as his assistant (The same Muir who DREW with his emerging Springboks agains the Lions!) Secondly, PDv must not talk to the press. Thirdly, whether we like it or not PDv is here to stay. Fourthly, hopefully sanity will prevail and Adi will be dropped for Fourie, Mornet Steyn will come in as flyhalf, Pienaar on the bench as cover for scrumhalf AND Flyhalf. Fifthly, SARU must extend Burgers ban to 24 weeks and show him that we will not tolerate cynical and disgusting foul play. Sixthly, Find a back-up captain of substance, Smit will not be around forever. seventhly, Zane Kirchner is not quite yet ready for test rugby. Eighthly, Forget about Earl Rose as anything other than a Currie Cup player. Ninethly, SARU must stop being soft-cocks about citing, we are not here to win friends, there were many occasions in both tests where Lions players have been guilty of foul play and tenthly, The Springboks ARE STILL world champions and winning ugly on Saaturday proved why!!
Brian Modra6/29/2009 9:12 AM
If I were Heyneke (I say this respectfully) then I would have added that despite my fondness for Schalk, we don't need dirty players. I saw Sheridan punch towards Andries Bekker's groin, missing, thankfully... and that high tackle on Schalk spun his whole body through 180 degrees... So I hope that John Smit advises Bakkies not to allow the bad spirit in opposing players to affect him. He's the enforcer, after all, not the avenger. But our boys in general showed a good spirit, and thats what I watch for, above even a win. Congratulations to the Boks (mostly), and thanks to Jeremy Guscott for stepping in with gallantry, which his fellow Lions lacked.
Shark Fan6/29/2009 9:05 AM
Adi Jacobs should never have been picked ahead of Jaque Fourie. Adi was shown up badly on defense in both tests and contributed little on attack. Div must take his racial blinkers off and pick the best players in each position. Jean and Jaque are the best centres we have.
Adrian 6/29/2009 9:04 AM
Thanx for the comments, Heyneke! Great insight! I missed all these things while watching the game and after watching it again! Really, not to take anything away from Heyneke, writing a few points that was very obvious to the spectator doesn't make you a good coach. Maybe we should give him a chance and if the Springboks keep winning we can stop saying that the coach is riding on the building work done by a previous coach or will we? Point is: and I'm not a fan of Helium de Villiers, if you look objectively at the current performance of the bok team, the coach and his two monkeys (assistant coaches) or vice verca they must be doing something right. We keep winning. On the self-coaching team: Since we have such a great team that is self-coaching I hope they blame themselves when they start losing because if it's true they are coaching themselves they should not expect any sympathy from the rugby public if they start losing and I hope they will also be man enough to admit the coach didn't have anyting to do with it but that it was all their fault. I thought it was a great game and I think the team is doing great. Whatever the coaching staff did and doing: Well done, the springboks made me proud to be a South - African. Adrian
Pieter6/29/2009 9:03 AM
Good comments Heyneke, with the series in the bag, ill pick the following team. 1. John Smit 2. Bismarc du Plessis 3. Beast 4. Matfield 5. Bekker 6. Brussow 7. Juan Smit 8. Ryan Konkovski 9. Fourie du Preez 10. Morne STeyn 11. Nokwe (Habana?) 12 Wynand Olivier 13 Jaque Fourie 14. Ndungane (JP??) 15. Zane Kirchner Bench: Francois Steyn, Ruaan Pienaar, Danie Rossouw, Pierre Spies, Werner Kruger, Jannie du Plessis
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:58 AM
Point #11: If ruan had kicked all his attempts over the winnig margin would have been bigger, $h!* happens pick Ruan at fluhalf again. Point #12: The Coach got it right and we won period give him his accolades due to him.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:58 AM
John, why would you want to replace both Jean and Adi? and with a flyhalf nogaal! I'd like to see the old combination of Jean deVilliers and Jacques Fourie in the starting line up with Adi/Olivier covering on the bench adn definitely start with Morne Steyn at flyhalf. With Schalk out this would be great opportunity for Dwayne Vermeulen who is playing super rugby at the moment.
Shaun6/29/2009 8:57 AM
I agree with Walt. I don't think SA is doing good because of the coach. I think the players has so much experience they can do the job without a coach. To come back from that deficit is only done by experience on the field. Like Anon 8:14 said. He is still riding on the crest of what Jake White made created in 2007. I think if PDV took over when Jake took over, then he will not have won the RWC. I also say (as a sharks supporter) that Morne Steyn should start. He is very good under pressure and kicks blerrie well at posts! Pienaar is also very good, but he had a off day on the pitch. GO BOKKE! Make it 3-0 next weekend!
Willem6/29/2009 8:56 AM
Great, logical and well-stated article, Heynecke. I have never been a B/Bulls supporter and to my dying day will not do that to myself, but fow did it feel for you, Heynecke, when SARU said to you:" We are not looking for the best coach in the country, but for a non-white coach"?Those weren't the exact words, I don't remember all of it, but it was the bottom line of their communication to you. How did it feel, Heynecke?
dumkofp6/29/2009 8:54 AM
Dankie vir die bydrae oor Saterdag se toets, maar kan jy dit nie baie meer simpel beskryf, of miskien met n paar prentjies, so dat DIV dit miskien ook kan verstaan.....?
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:54 AM
Hey PDV, now you almost killed Joost as well. If we had a white (sorry, I mean better) coach the game would have not been as close and Joost would not be stressing as much.
Mike6/29/2009 8:43 AM
A lot of people are blaming PDV, but maybe it is Dick Muir that is the weak link....PDV will be taking a lot of advice from his assistant coaches, and maybe there feedback to him is poor. As has been said before...if you have a really good team, you dont even really need a coach...like the Australian cricket team of old. My consern is we dont have a great "backup" captain...John Smit is like Francois Pienaar...not the best player, but can get his players to run through walls. A series win against the Lions...great stuff, even if we all aged a bit
katman6/29/2009 8:35 AM
Steyn and Brussow were great, but the game was won with Jaque Fourie's try. I can't think of another centre in the world, apart from perhaps Mortlock, who would have scored from that position. He must start.
Willie6/29/2009 8:34 AM
Heyneke you should have been the coach no doubt. But hey if SA was for everyone then Numb Nut De Viliers would not have been there. We still miss you!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:31 AM
Yeah De Villiers is an idiot. How can he not see that we were losing the fight in the rucks hands down and then bring Danie Rossouw on? Hopefully he saw what happend after Brussouw went on and keep him in the team.
Frank6/29/2009 8:30 AM
Div is confused, he must focus on rugby, not racism. We were lucky, twice. How about playing our best team from the squad, with Olivier and Fourie at centre, Steyn at flyhalf and Brussow starting at flank? Bit much to ask I guess.
Walt6/29/2009 8:14 AM
John, I Agree with you - perhaps though, Jean should stay and also add Olivier to the mix. 'Helium Head' (alias The Mad Hatter) must go! The sooner the better. Tri-nations next and we don't need him around to screw the Boks up further. As it is, I believe the team is self-coaching at the moment.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:11 AM
With all their problems we stand an excellent chance of beating the Aussies and the All Blacks in the Tri-nations. BUT we MUST change the coach NOW! PdV is still riding on the back of the good work done by his predecessor. His erratic and poor decision making will eventually cost us dearly (assuming, of course, that SARFU still wants a winning team instead of a politically correct team?)
Chris6/29/2009 8:07 AM
Burger gone for 8 weeks. What a blesing for SA Rugby
Georg6/29/2009 8:02 AM
... and I would add a point #11: bring in Heyneke Meyer as Springbok coach. And I dont even support the Bulls!
Robin6/29/2009 7:58 AM
Very fair and factual comments, good work Heinecke
Robson Mandu6/29/2009 7:56 AM
Imagine how good the boks would be if they had a proper coach like Heyneke Meyer, instead of the ANC puppet, PDV. We wouldn't have to scrape by in test matches like this. I accept, a win is a win, but we could, and should be beating the lions by at least 20 points, with the calibre of players we have at our disposal. Poor coaching!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:54 AM
The big changes was seen after Brussow and Steyn got onto the field. They should be used more. Hyneke We still need you as Coach.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:53 AM
Eleven Point of Interest, Again stupid choices of replacements made by Coach de Villiers and again the timing were pathetic. Maybe he should also get rid of Dick Muir so that we can stop seeing duplication of Sharks Rugby Mentality. So we had to make a place for Schalk Burger, who seems to enjoys his time of from Bok and Stormer responsibilities he just got an 8 week holiday. Then when we are struggling in the rucks he opts to bring on Danie Rossouw, "Luckily" he got injured and we finally got Brussouw on the field. This Coach needs to stop blaming Racism and stop listening to the Unions with money and look at the player for who it actually means something to play for the Boks, even if he is a Cheetah
Choices that aren't really choices6/29/2009 7:51 AM
It should have been 35-19 and would have been if: Burger never started (why the selectors like him so much is totally beyond me and always has been but is even worse now that we have such a worthy replacement) Morne replaced Ruan earlier - especially at Loftus. Ruan has the experience but obviously was having a bad day and should have been replaced earlier. We have amazing talent. Can we please find someone who can apply it more logically? Let's hope
John6/29/2009 7:46 AM
Great comments Heyneke. I just hope that helium de villiers reads it and takes note .... out go Adi Jacobs, Jean de Villiers and Schalk (gouge your eyes out) Burger .... in comes Morne Steyn, Jaque Fourie and Heinrich Brussouw ..... and this comes from a Lions supporter living in Pretoria.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide