Lions in SA

Div: I don't give a damn

2009-06-29 16:45
Email | Print
You can have your opinion

Johannesburg - Springbok coach Peter de Villiers on Monday described himself as "a God-given talent" in reply to a question on how he viewed the increasing media criticism.

Near-antagonism in recent weeks against De Villiers culminated in a mandate to SARU to meet with the coach about his attitude towards the media.

When told at Monday's media conference that many people regarded him as the weakest link in the Springbok team set-up, De Villiers answered : "I'm not disappointed in them. I don't need to react to opinions, but if I am the weakest link then we are bloody strong.

"I'm a God-given talent. I know what I am and don't give a damn what other people think."

Early on in the interview, De Villiers defended Springbok flank Schalk Burger who has been suspended for eight weeks following an eye-gouging incident in the second Test at Loftus.

He said he knew Burger's nature and character and that the suspended flanker was more physical than any other rugby player but wouldn't go to those lengths (of eye-gouging).

"I don't think he did it," he said," and I don't want to say anything (outside what they had decided as a team).

"It is not something (the eye-gouging) that he did on purpose, when he saw it he was like 'ooh, aah'. He had never intended to go into the eye."

He said the Springboks will wait for the judicial report, and "dissect the whole thing, come to you with the facts", adding that he knew Burger and that what the footage showed was not worth a card.

Once the report is received, the Springboks will decide as a team what is best for them (regarding a possible appeal).

When asked whether he condoned eye-gouging, De Villiers said: "You must understand clearly rugby is a contact sport. If you really know the game and dissect it you'll see all sorts of malicious and off the ball incidents. In this game, people sometimes get away with it.

"If you're not up to the contact why not go to a ballet shop and buy a tutu?

"In this game there will be collisions, and the guys who're the hardest will win the collisions and will be selected."

De Villiers said that no matter how much people now focus on the negatives of the match, South Africa have won the series and "no one can take it away from us."

Injuries

On the injuries front, utility forward Danie Rossouw's knock to the head is being monitored.  Meanwhile, Sharks' lock Johann Muller has been called to replace Andries Bekker who suffered a cartilage tear in the knee at Loftus.

Jean de Villiers and scrumhalf Fourie du Preez have been cleared for selection after seeing a shoulder specialist.

There has been no feedback on Ryan Kankowski, injured some three weeks ago, who is a present member of the squad.

The selection of a replacement for Burger is an easy one. Heinrich Brussow should have been there last Saturday after Burger's disappointing form in this year's Super 14 and his injury that kept him out of the first Test in Durban.

Your Comments

Kritters7/2/2009 5:52 PM
On PdV# I think he is actually talented and smart. He may play a stupid part but he understands all the laws of the game. I personally dont like him. On Burger he said that Burger didnt gouge Fitzgerald and he was right. Burger was banned for making contact in the eye area and was never banned for gouging. Thats just one example. He does make mistakes and sometimes is really stupid. He makes me lagh at his stupidy and makes me wonder of the state of SA rugby. But this is SA Rugby.
wouter7/2/2009 9:33 AM
What i cant understand is how people can standby PDV. we almost lost both test matches. if it wasnt for the substitutes we would have lost the series. I do agree with some of the other comments PDV is riding on the back of Jake Whites success. i wasnt i big fan of Jake White myself but atleast he picked the right players at the right time (well almost). At the WC we were the only unbeaten team and that was all thankx to Jake White & Eddie Jones. The only reason we won was because of the senior players in the team and all of you who stands by PDV is condoning foul play in the game. I also agree that players should be picked on form not on skin colour. and for those who is saying that we rather wanted Heyneke Meyer as the head coach you are correct. There is not a rugby coach that is so successfull and atleast he is Professional as well in what he has done for the BULLS team and what he has said infront of the media. I would take Heyneke Meyer over PDV anyday. Paul True is a better coach than PDV why not make him head coach just look at what he has achieved. In any regards well done to the SPRINGBOK TEAM (THE PLAYERS) at the end of the day its the players that wins the matches not the coaching staff. PDV is a disgrace to SA Rugby we have tried to get rid of that lable that our players would rather play foul than otherwise. What Jake White has build up over the last 4-5 years has been teared down in a year. Just like the players should be picked on form so should the coaches as well not otherwise. Many of you would agree some would disagree we are all entitled to our opinions. But facts are facts PDV is not suitable and yes his win-loss ratio has been better than Jake White's but how come we were last in the tri-nations last year. Burger's time has come and gone he should rather make way for Heinrich Brussow. To the people who support PDV great you do that but i will not i would rather support the rest of the coaching staff as well as for the players you guys have been amazing and well done on a series win over the lions. But to be fair the lions played the better attacking rugby and the only diffrence between them and the SPRINGBOKS were the fact that they took there chances when they came and there was at some times individual brilliance from some players. GOOD LUCK TO THE SPRINGBOKS come saturday play the Lions off the field and just enjoy the game WIN OR LOOSE
Anonymous7/1/2009 10:22 PM
Hey Mike. We all know that Div is a poor speaker, but do you remember coach Straulli he too had a bunch of great rugby players and what did he do? He got them to run around kaalgat instead of getting them to concentrate on rugby. Now how dof was that and he was'nt even what you call an "affirmative" coach. Now that should make you totally confused !!
Selma7/1/2009 11:04 AM
We do need more black players in the Springbok side. We do need more white players in the Bafana side. We need the best in form players who are matchfit and not carrying injuries. Ruan Pienaar, Francois Steyn, Rickey Januarie, Jean de Villiers and Schalk Burger should have been given match practice prior to the test series. Why take such risks when players such as Olivier, Steyn, Fourie, Brussouw, Vermaak, Adams, Stegman, Kuhn,Kirchner, Nokwe are excellent substitutes.
Boer6/30/2009 2:08 PM
S***** is not the best PR person around. So give him one, so he can concentrate on coaching. He is not riding on Jake’s back. It is actually on Eddie's back. The big hero Jake saw he is not going to make it. So he bought Eddie Jones to teach his team how to play real rugby. Not the dull brand that Jake coached them into. And what happened to Jake? Nobody was actually standing in the queue to offer him a contract. If he was such a great coach, why is he not even coaching a professional club team? In the mean time he worked Loffie out of the Lions coaching position within a day. Hoping to get the job? But no, they also knew he was not good enough. Komaan Snorre, daai klomp Kakie joernaliste het jou in 'n lokval probeer lei om hulle reeksnederlaag verdoesel. Wys hulle weer Saterdag.
BB6/30/2009 1:31 PM
@ Cas stick to tiddlywinks my friend rugby and writing is not your forte'. Ps. Twakkie needs a reality check he has lost it professionally. Oh yes this comments page does have spell check
JS6/30/2009 1:05 PM
I have no problem with PdV's color or the fact that he is not a good speaker, to win the games is the ultimate goal here. I do not agree with all PdV descisions but he is still the coach. However, if PdV is as talented as he believes, he AND his team selectors should select the best team for the greater part of the game and not the last 20 mins. The Boks can look a lot better. I think the stats of the last two games should make the next selection a piece of cake. We should count our blessing to the 2 wins we had against the Lions. For those who call PdV all sort of names(no matter if he is right or wrong), you make yourself look worse than him. It says more about you than about PdV. Well done with the wins to the Bokke and all people involved.
JS6/30/2009 12:57 PM
I have no problem with PdV's color or the fact that he is not a good speaker, to win the games is the ultimate goal here. I do not agree with all PdV descisions but he is still the coach. However, if PdV is as talented as he believes, he AND his team selectors should select the best team for the greater part of the game and not the last 20 mins. The Boks can look a lot better. I think the stats of the last two games should make the next selection a piece of cake. We should count our blessing to the 2 wins we had against the Lions. For those who call PdV all sort of names(no matter if he is right or wrong), you make yourself look worse than him. It says more about you than about PdV. Well done with the wins to the Bokke and all people involved.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 11:36 AM
Precious Rudolf het gemaak die bokke moet kalgat uittrek.Slim Bokkies luister ook maar en trek toe uit...en toe wat gebeur? They were caught with their pants down.......Wat Div nou doen kan nie vergelyk word met dit wat die vorige doffies gedoen het nie....Die arme kal Bokke kan tot vandag toe nie die skarre in die oe kyk nie.....Miskien moet Div maak dat die Bokke uitrek ,sodat ons hulle willies sien.
Mike6/30/2009 11:32 AM
Just like in affirmative action everywhere, every one knows an incompetent and clueless Div is being carried and run by the senior players and experienced assistant coaches. The public knows it, the media knows it, not just here but internationally as well. Div has made SA rugby the laughing stock of the world. He's rubbish, he was a rubbish coach at the Valke, he was rubbish after that too. He's a rubbish affirmative action candidate. Plain and simple.
CAS6/30/2009 10:19 AM
Why attack the coach for defending his player, a white player nogal. Why not attack the match officials for not citing the lions players. At the end of the day we won. If we had lost Because of Schalks behaviour, which we almost did, and the coach came out and blame it entirely on Schalk. You idiots would have said ja is want hy will mos die useless spellers pick. Dont worry PDV, my broer hulle het ook so K%k gepraat oor hule hero Jake toe hy hom spelers pick wheter hulle in form is of nie. Go PDV stick to your guns and let these idiots continue to complain after all that all that they good at, they couldn’t even make apartied work. Of even better my broer, Rugby het mos baie geld quit en vat n package my broer.Moet nie worry nie die next coach is n swart man of even beter comrade Chiky Watson.Dan gaan hulle magte spoel.LOL!!!!!!!!
couloured rugby player from the cape6/30/2009 10:18 AM
ok.. Where do I start. How about reminding everyone about Karel Du plesses, Andre Markgraaff, Rudolf Straulli and yes the first 2 years of Jake's reign. Not that rosy hey! Fact is that whether you like it or not Pieter did well for his first year. - And those who claim that he's feeding off the remnants of Jake are a bit dof. There’s a clear change in type of play with Pieter. Its more flair and a bit faster (re: all games played so far). And believe it or not there’s a plan B in place. – take note of these things people. So, he brought he’s own thinking to the table. Back to Jake - when he won the WC everybody forgot about the bad days. - with Meyer Bosman and the time he placed Schalk Britz 6th on his selection list - And when Chilli Boy captained the team...was it politically motivated?? Why did only 2 coloureds play in the finals? Why was Bobby in the squad? Jake and Bobby in London… what was discussed? These are all questions. But yah.. Jake is still the man cos he won the WC. And the same as Pieter.. Jake never coached a Super14, so we can nip that thought. Rudolf and his Kampstaaldraad wasn’t too bright either hey. Joost at the 2003WC “We may not be the best team at the WC – but at least we are the fittest”….haha.. What is this?… dof hey…. Point being: Each coach will have a difference in taste of players/ combinations and style of play. Sometimes it works sometimes it don’t. And we have to mention this point… If for arguments sake Francois Pienaar coached the Boks at present and the result was exactly the same. Would the wining; crying and moaning have gone on and on and on? Isn’t this the nucleus of racism? For PDV sake we have beaten then the Lions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cheer up!! Pieter, you doing well under the circumstances meneer. Nice to see a Paarlite running the show for a change. Let them say what they want, as long as we stay focus and win. It don’t need to be all pretty. P.S there is a big difference in Super14 and Test rugby.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 9:27 AM
I am a loyal and passionate supporter of the "Bokke"! I live for match day and really love to follow the team! I feel strongly that our team is still playing Jake White, rugby. Which has proven to be winning rugby! This "so called" coach/Monkey has inheritted a winning team that is reaching maturity, with great leadership in the form of J. Smit and J. de Villiers. I believe that the springboks could play the way they are playing at the moment without P.Div. I think that he is an embarresment to our side, bringing a sense of arrogance to the table is the last thing we need! Get off your high horse P.Div. and actually do something positive with our guys rather than associate the game with Racism and arrogance! "VIVA THE BOKKE" Player 23
Anonymous User6/30/2009 8:20 AM
if rugby is such a physical game, where the "hardest players" win the collisions, why did you pick Earl Rose?
Anonymous User6/30/2009 7:59 AM
Why so much evil and so much Hate????? c'mon people...
Raven6/29/2009 10:15 PM
Anonymous User 6/29/2009 6:34 PM Idiot, we only won in nz last year cause of a moment of brilliance, with a WC winning team we were bottom of the trinations!!!! and NZ manged to beat us at our own backyard putting 20-0 its the first time SA has failed score a point against NZ, shite cv mate, with a team like that you should dominate world rugby, achieved the most in springbok history???wtf you talking about in a space of less then 2years hes only achieved to make a fool out of himself. K. Christie 14 games 14wins and a WC, Nick Mallet 17 games unbeaten, Jake White 2007 WC.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:04 PM
People are mad you know and they always got something to say, if you got a problem with PDV just voice it out, this is not the first coach to be treated like this, go and ask previous coaches like former coach Jake White, and e.t.c, they will testify about this. My words for you Mnr Peter don't loose focus, put on blinkers like a donkey an look forward, we have n't seen anything yet from you and I believe there's more still to come from you, and you are still winning games...well done keep it up
Peter Leonard6/29/2009 10:00 PM
Hmmmm....if only PDV could be like Paul Treu, Humble earned his stripes....
Whoo Boy!6/29/2009 9:51 PM
Hoo boy...this man is supposed to represent the World Champions of rughby. Would he have such arrogance if the Boks had not won. Besides, he has inherited a great side, with incredble depth of players. For heavens sake, he didn't build this team from scratch.....I would suggest a little line of humility. I can't wait to hear what he has to say when the Boks loose....probably blame someone else !!!
Louis6/29/2009 9:48 PM
Yes, P-Div is a good coach and he does not deserve all the flak he's been getting. He also has the best group of players to elect from. No other country can compete with our pool of talent. The kids who watched the 1995 cup win are now playing. They might be the best Springbok squad ever. The issue here is the same as the Ruan Pienaar vs Morne Steyn one: most fans want Steyn, not Pienaar, and they will dream up any reason to support that view. To lable their prejudice as racist is bollocks; they just wanted Heineke Meyer as coach instead. Meyer and Div happen to be of different colour. As I've said it before: in my view the only problem with this team is Pierre Spies. I'd take Kankowski over Spies any day.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:43 PM
I agree mate, more black players are needed. The team should be 75% black starting with Burger!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:42 PM
To anonymous 8:22pm : Are you for real? do you honestly think filling the team with black players is gonna be a true representation of the talent in this country? Stop writing useless stuff on here to get a response. If you had any sense, you'd realise that the current bok team is a fair reflection on the percentages of rugby supporters in this country, just like Bafana Bafana is. So go run your mouth somewhere else...
kurt6/29/2009 9:32 PM
I am so tired of all the Jake White comments. What exactly did he do to have this high regard.look at his record against the big teams and compare with DIV. DIV beats him hands down with a more representative team. Maybe this is whats bothering all these racist white supporters posting their comments here. That was not a world cup Jake White won that draw was a walk in the park for any halve decent team. Go PETER GO Schalk We support you we are South Africans GO Protea bokke
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:28 PM
To all those posting negative comments about PDV here... The length of the comment list here is in itself, a testament to the sensationalism that the media evokes from the public. By jumping on the bandwagon we are all proving ourselves to be the suckers the media needs us to be in order to make some money. Div is winning games and he is proving that the morale in the squad and the assurance that they can count on those who matter when it comes down to the crunch - including us, the South African supporters - is all that matters. Coaching and winning is mostly about trust and unconditional belief in your team!
Kevin6/29/2009 9:24 PM
The one thing that PDV has done very well is to truly piss off his critics. They cannot handle the fact that he won't shut up or go away quietly.
Fanie6/29/2009 9:08 PM
Please SA Rugby find a way to "fax" this stuped racist and appoint a winner like Paul Treu who knows his game on and off the field, this guy is a total disgrace to all South Africans.
Tony6/29/2009 9:06 PM
It was NOT Div's team that won us this series...his team almost COST us the series...it was the remnants of JAKE'S team who had the guts to play their own(and Jakes) style of rugby.....
Norbert6/29/2009 9:05 PM
LOL! .. folks that know me, will know also that I usually post pretty decent and very strategised comments on to these articles, however here I am actually going to stand out for PDiv and take one on the chine for him ... I think the man is actually quite spot on and lets be honest, he is standing out here for a "white" rugby player who everyone else wants to crucify ... yes he may have gone into the tackle and caught the opponent around the face, which certainly seemed to look like eye gouging, though one should also look at it from the players perspective and I am pretty positive Schalk is far too a professional to have deliberately gouged another players eye in front of the touch judge ... he is also an old school hand when it comes to playing physical rugby and can dish out as good as he gets. Lets also not deflect from the fact that the touch judge is none other than Bryce Lawrence, a man with a passionate dislike for SA and lets also not forget that we have been on the receiving end of some of Mr. Lawrences decisions ... in which we lost games we should have won ... wasnt it strange how he tried to convince the ref that Jacque Fourie had somehow touched the line whilst scoring his try ... but no I am not blaming the ref nor the touch judge ... what I blame and I think this is where PDiv is coming from ... are the inconsistencies in the citing commission ... SA always get the short end of the stick regardless ... look at the horrendous tackle on Habana in the S14, look at the clear offside when O'Driscoll tackled Danie Roussouw, without arms I might add resulting in a player being concussed, look at Sheridan punching Bekker in the nuts ... and the high swing over the shoulder tackle of John Smith ... why were none of these events cited or even picked up by the ref ... In one way I agree with PDiv .. if you dont like the heat, get ouot of the kitchen or in his words "If we want to win games in boardrooms and on TV screens, we might as well go to the nearest ballet shop and buy ourselves some tutus." Classic ... and i commend PDiv for standing by his player regardless of the opinion of the losers Journos in particular and public opinion. One very quickly seems to forget the amount of games old blonde boy Schalk Burger has helped us win ... yes he may have made an error and yes he has been punished for it, he still is and remains a World Class Flanker ... PDiv, surprisingly ... I am actually behind you with this one ...
Mike JJ from SHARKLAND6/29/2009 9:02 PM
Dis nie Jan, Jan, Jan, die soul van die span, Dis PDEV, PLAYER 23 !!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:58 PM
Easy to ride on the back of Jake's success - but hard as you try Snorre you cant disrupt the team - and try you do!!
Sa-eed6/29/2009 8:40 PM
fact: pdv preffers certain players over those who are in form e.g. pienaar over steyn, schalk over brussow, jacobs over fourie. fact: if he had his way earl rose an ricky january would be in the boks fact: our reserves saved us against the lions and some of them should have started in that game fact: some people support pdv cz he is clrd fact: some people dnt support him cz he is clrd fact: for the money he's getting paid he should at least make a competitive effort of the tri nations ok im tires of stating facts! im clrd bt i think players should be chosen based on form not colour. zain kirchner should hav been in the team because he played so well in the super 14 and if f.steyn gets injured who r we gna put at the back? burger is a gr8 player but i dnt think he should hav been in the bok side because of injuries and other on form flanks in the super 14 were better. olivier was the best centre for sa in the super 14 but hasn't even been on the bench for the boks. i do understand pdv wanting more black player in the boks and i cnt understand y thr aren't more players of colour playing in the super 14 coz thr are so many clrd rugby teams in Cape Town. maybe people hav to start developing players at smaller clubs more so that they can be noticed by scouts i dnt really know how it works but developement needs to start thr an pdv can't try to develope players like earl in the bok team. his main goal is to lead the strongest team possible for SA an he is not doing that
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:38 PM
PDV..... almal hier dink jy is nie 'n coach se gat nie..... ek moet egter se^, hulle is verkeerd en sal vir jou opkom... ek dink jy is!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:34 PM
No matter what anybody's opinion is of PDV. He has won the Lions series. That is the only thing that matters.
Richard6/29/2009 8:22 PM
Does anyone remember John Buchanan, the coach of Australia Cricket during their decade of domination. Australia conquered all before them and the coach got the plaudits. However Shane Warne said from the beginning, you could have made the groundsman coach and they would've won. It was completely down to the fact that the team was just that good. SA has a very special bunch of players right now, groomed by Jake White, and with or without PdV, we will still be a force to be reckoned with. Just because we're winning, doesnt make him a good coach. To test this theory, look what happened to the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, worst managed team in the league, under the leadership of one John Buchanan, who has subsequently been fired! PdV is hurting our public image with stupid/racist/nonsensical statements. He needs to go.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:22 PM
SA NEEDS MORE BLACK PLAYERS,ITS NOT A TRUE REPRESENTATION OF THE COUNTRY.... BURGER AND PDV ARE BOTH SHOCKING AND SHOULD BOTH HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH BOKS....
henk6/29/2009 8:19 PM
div, we feel a damn for you, you are an incompotent arrogant bliksem!
Hans6/29/2009 8:12 PM
Pieter; moenie jou verlaag tot die vlak van rugby joernaliste nie. Hulle is benede jou waardigheid. Baklei die 'POWERS" wat alles in het vir Suid Afrikaanse Rugbyspelers. Dit is nie 'n spel vir sussies nie en ook nie vir Britse Hollywood Oukies nie. Moenie toelaat dat ons manne vuil speel nie en vat hulle vas. Jy het genoeg hulp tot jou beskikking. Schalk en Bakkies speel dalk te hard vir die souties en Iere en Walliesers.
art6/29/2009 8:11 PM
Say what you want about old HELIUM.... he is OUR idiot! He needs to THINK before he opens that 'visbek', but he will be on the short end, once the current guys, who were all part of the RWC leave the team. We will then see how good a "COATS" (pardon the cape town accent) he really is! Someone should stuff a pair of old sweaty rugby socks into his mouth AFTER EVERY game.... and get him a spokeperson.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:10 PM
Mac Davis had Pete in mind when he wrote this: Oh Lord It`s Hard To Be Humble when you're perfect in every way. I can't wait to look in the mirror cause I get better loking each day. To know me is to love me I must be a hell of a man.
Johann6/29/2009 8:10 PM
I am one off the Dutchmen the press so lovingly refer to when they talk about the White Afrikaans speaking public. So hope this carries more weight. I gave Div a chance and he proved to me that he is a good enough coach. We have always had controversy in our rugby. BUT we have had much worse in the coaching department, Markgraaf that dropped Franscois Pienaar for no reason that made sense, Rudolf Strauli with Kamp Staaldraad. When Div took over we were doing average under him but the Boks are playing better and better. Last time we played the B&I we were crying because we had already lost the series. NOW we have beaten the the BEST the Northern Hemisphere have. Let Div be. Lets talk again when he loses the plot and 5 games in a row (Highly unlikely though).
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:41 PM
I have always liked you as a coach Peter, but please SHUT UP now! Gosh, you sound like an idiot and a Neanderthal...Just coach and get a spokesperson ok...
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:37 PM
@mark. Jou moer man. Schalk Burger is a class of his own, thats why all major countries fear him. PdV is the best coach ever, what he says, doesn't matter, its only the results on the field thats important. morone!!
Dirk6/29/2009 7:35 PM
PdV, please get a life ou!!!
Tatu6/29/2009 7:34 PM
This clown is behaving like Tito Mboweni with his remarks to the press when he is critisized. Do you think that a Auz on NZ coach would react like this!!! Div does not come across as a professional (sad to say even his dressing when he is not wearing his Springbok blazer). It's the Board's fault as they should have spend money on educating and grooming him for this highly visible role
Johan6/29/2009 7:31 PM
PDV, YOU ARE THE WEAKEST LINK!!! GOODBYE FELLA!!!
Koos6/29/2009 7:30 PM
PDV is winning games and thats what matters. SA still has a long to go..oh yeah, he is talented..look at his track record!!!and i am white FYI
Fred Flintstone6/29/2009 7:30 PM
The only thing more embarrasing in SA rugby than Schalk Burger is PdV. They should both be sent packing for good. Sadly, both will continue to plague us for years to come. PdV is taking the credit for these wins against the Lions. The Lions winger (Monye) let us off at least 10 points in the 1st test and O'Gara gave us 10 points in the second. Fortunately the players were good enough (with the help of those mentioned above) to win despite PdV atrocious selections and replacements.
Johan6/29/2009 7:30 PM
PDV, i really think you are completely out of line on your reaction to the S Burger saga. Then you say it out loud on SA Tv. Wow!!! i dont think anybody applaude you on that stupidity. I think he was as quilty as can be. It is a disgrace to see SA players do stupid things like he did. PDV, i think there is a time to come and a time to go, YOUR TIME TO GO IS LONG OVERDUE!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:25 PM
The management and coach of SARugby stink. The players are brilliant even if the strongest team aren't the run on team
MarkC6/29/2009 7:24 PM
I am a proud South African rugby supporter. Our coach is not a very diplomatic person, but he surely brings out the best in our rugby team. He is currently the best man for the job and PdV you are remarkable in that you stand behind your guys in good and bad times. Consistency will see us do well over the next two to three years. PdV speak your mother language if you feel uncomfortable with the English language, because you are proudly South African.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:23 PM
are you idiots perhaps looking for a white snake to replace him pdv . los die man uit moet nie kyk na sy lip of snor nie daar wasnog erger boere met donut neuse en lemommerang gesigte . PDV YOU GO BOY?
Johann6/29/2009 7:09 PM
Jake White and the players that won him the worldcup is still making Div look good. Wait until he has to start coaching his own players, then we'll see what he is actually worth. My opinion - he'll always walk in the shadow of Jake White's success. The only thing still keeping him as the coach is his speed dial number to comrade Stofile.
Grant Renecle6/29/2009 7:02 PM
Pieter Div IS THE RACIST! Period! His racist comments are not fitting coming from any person in his position nor applicable in this day and age!. APARTHEID IS OVER!!! GET a life! Except of course if he wishes to discuss his BEE position !! LOL
DG NORTIER6/29/2009 7:02 PM
I do not like the attitude of PdV, BUT , as he is at fault so is the media. Give him credit, the series is in the pocket... come on...
Joe6/29/2009 6:57 PM
The remnants of Jake White's influence and team spirit make this Bok team great. PdV ploeg nog met 'n ander man se osse. God given talent or God given skin colour?
Ryan6/29/2009 6:57 PM
Strange that such alot is being said about the way PDV speaks. I remember not so long ago a guy by the name of Rudolph Strauli who mumbled over his words and could not put one proper sentence together. Mister Carel du Plessis was not any better at it. Not much was said about it, WHY......
John Clark6/29/2009 6:53 PM
It seems to me the that the EASIEST way out is to bring RACISM into play! You - and you know who you are - are a disgrace for South Africans. Have some pride you idots. PDV - I dont agree with some of your calls and plays; but a win is a win! To ALL the SELECTORS and "crownies"above Pieter; - get a new JOB as you are his down fall. You guys need to get your game play right!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:52 PM
I think PDV is the best man for the job as it is obvious that the players is wiping their arses with him and play their own game plan while he think it is his brilliance so I say leave him be!!
Paul6/29/2009 6:52 PM
Piet snor must replace Twakkie in the Most Amazing Show before SA Rugby becomes as big a comedy. Likable guy but crap coach who is riding on a high because he has the best SA rugby players EVER to choose from. We could do so much better with a better coach!!!!!! Cheers Piet.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:47 PM
LOL...... @Mike, not once in this artice are the Lions or the British press mentioned, yet thats all you can comment on. I bet you are the type of person who thinks 1+1=11
Louis6/29/2009 6:42 PM
Thi is such a typical South African scenario it is becoming boring. The media and Div are probably equally at fault. He does seem to have a chip on his shoulder, but maybe the media is just portraying him like that. The problem is that the media operates in a moerse grey area where they can become antagonistic and the opject of their attention is alwasy in a catch-22 because the more he reacts, the more the media will hound him, and the more the public gets a distorted view. He can't ignore the media 'cause then they publish bollocks (which they do in any case). This is Rugby, a sport. I watch the game and complain that Spies is an not Kankowski. Further than that I want a good game and, preferrably, my team should win.
Viljoen6/29/2009 6:41 PM
SA rugby can do so much better if it was not for p-divy .. choosing out of form players for favourites. The reason why SB is so nice to you p-divy is because you choose the team.
James6/29/2009 6:40 PM
@PopIdol and Leonardo. I read many comments on many forums every day, both here and overseas. Why oh why does this forum always degenerate into racism and bigotry. I honestly think you people are SO bigoted that you cannot think or comment in any other way. Take off the "Race glasses" just for a second. PLEASE! The fact of the matter is the coach, like the captain, is the "face" of the team. He needs to be both eloquent and diplomatic. PDV is neither, and an embarrasment. I don't give a TOSS what race he is. REALLY!!!!
Andre6/29/2009 6:38 PM
WE ARE WINNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!WOTS THE PROBLEM!!!!!!!!!!!!AND SCHALK IS A TO GOOD A PLAYER TO JUST LET HIM GO!!!!!!!!!!!ONE DAY WE NEED GUYS LIKE SCHALK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:38 PM
I have watched this debate with interest (in the media). I am not pointing fingers but can't help but comment that some elements of SA society win or lose want Div out. Is this to do with the colour of his skin....I hope not. He is rough round the edges but appears to be a good coach (time will tell). The Springboks are winning what else do you want ?! So if he does not fill the mould of history is that a bad thing? Having said all this, having his own personal media manager might have some short-term benefit. When compared to his obvious passion and apparent ability I think we can live with his personal style. As for the media....there are some pundits and elements of the media who are a disgrace. The bias is pathetic and hidden agendas seem to be plenty. When he was appointed elements of our society were hoping the results would displace him well that is not happening so now what .......attacking his character...yes he does not help himself and plays into their hands .....lets give him a chance. As for Mr Burger.......over rated...what is his yellow card to start ratio....one of the highest in rugby I suggest.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:34 PM
FACTS and FIGURES speak for themselves, PDV has managed to beat NZ in the house of pain, beat the Lions and get some record wins against other teams since he has been incharge, infact if you look at his CV so far and check what he has accomplished, he has achieved the most in springbok coaching history. an that is a FACT!!!!!!!!!!!
David "FRANCE"6/29/2009 6:32 PM
PDV might be a good coach but please do not put him before the media.. As an SouthAfrican living in the south of France I have never been so embaresed listenening to the coach being interviewed. After 2 tests I am still nor sure he said. If He condoned Burger's gouge then he shoud not be our couch. I would have given SB a red card and we would have got stuffed. Surley dicipline is of prime importance once you pull on that SPRINGBOK jersey?
johan6/29/2009 6:28 PM
I urgently appeal to the SA Rugby Board to strongly consider the appointment of a spokesman on PdV's behalf. I am sure that a primary school child will speak better. What a shame for this country.
Molefe6/29/2009 6:25 PM
You know, This guy really should only open his mouth to eat! As it is he only opens his mouth to change feet! We are stuck with him as he is a political appointment. As proof I offer his pro ANC statements during the election. But for gawds sake get him a spokesman! He is embarrassing!
Guy6/29/2009 6:25 PM
@Mike - idiot. Have you read the British Press - have you read that the papers agree that S Africa is a great rugby team. Have you bothered to look it up and see that the majority, and all the 'quality' press agree that S Africa were too strong for us? No, tought not. Idiot. The only point being made is that eye gouging is bad! What is the problem with that? Or do you like it yourself? You South Africans are really getting your stupid minds in a twist over this aren't you. Mind you, I suppose we should allow you your momnet - time will come (and we all know it will) when you will be beaten.
Anne6/29/2009 6:24 PM
Agree with Charl and Mike. Leave him be - he clearly is not comfortable talking to reporters in general and especially in English. The Bokke are winning. GO BOKKE!!!
rich45456/29/2009 6:23 PM
I'm all for defending your players, but not on this occasion what Burger did was blatantly wrong. Compare Pdv's Cv to Heinke Meyers, end of discussion. And please please please don't do the press Pdv, im living in the UK and its embarrassing how these poms laugh at our coach.
Peter6/29/2009 6:22 PM
We do not need Schalk Burger in our team and we do not need PdV as coach. Thanks to these 2 a..h...s our image have slumped back to the pre-Jake White era. Get rid of them both - no matter what the financial implications. They will cost us a lot more in the future.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:19 PM
Die comments van sommige suid afrikaners is maar baie aaklig en dan is dit nogal wit mense.Gee Pieter krediet vir wat hy vermag het met die leeus toer. Wees net bly ons het gewen.Is dit dan nie waaroor dit gaan nie?As ek al hierdie comments so lees dan lyk dit vir my dat rugby net aan die witmens behoort.Ag nee man ons leef in n reenboog land, so los pieter nou net uit.Ek is trots om n suid afrikaner te wees wat van julle ?
Leon6/29/2009 6:16 PM
Ag nee wat ou Snorre! Jy bring mos al die dinge op jouself. Ek het altyd groot agting vir Schalk Burger gehad - tot 30 sekondes in Saterdag se wedstryd in .... Jammer, maar jy skuld jou ondersteuners 'n verskoning.
Dean A6/29/2009 6:13 PM
John Smit is the glue in that side right now and PD adds no value what so ever! Hell if they never had a coach right now I don't think they'd play any different!
Mark6/29/2009 6:12 PM
I think Leonardo must be PdV's dad. No one else could write such blind garbage about him with a straight face!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:10 PM
PDV hats off to you mate, you are not the most articulate of characters but no one can take this series win away from you and your team. I'm a bit disspointed that the South African/BIL media only focuses on your verbal mistakes and feel that they have an axe to grind with you. I for one have been critical of you in the past but in this instance I have to concede and congratulate you. Luckily the game is not played in a media conference but on a rugby field.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:10 PM
He is not the coach of a church choir. He is the coach of a rugby team. What is your problem? He actually wins games.That is what counts. He is right. Who cares about some journalists, who understand little about rugby and need to provoke the guy to get a story. I recommend that they rather become political commentators. And for you fans who do not like him, would you rather have a preacher or some guy from a PR firm as coach?
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:08 PM
Does anybody have a number of PDVs' bodyshop? He is a mechanic, isn't he?
Howie6/29/2009 6:08 PM
The Boks are winning. Lets stop the bitching. We jump on his back if they start loosing. He's clearly not a public speaker. Div, try to respond to the media rather that react.
Leonardo6/29/2009 6:04 PM
Peter you truly a remarkable person. i mean to be able to put up with so much crap from the SA media. lets face it non of these guys will ever appreciate what you are doing and we all know it is about the colour of your skin. there are many people in this country that is behind you and we believe in what you do. to the SA media, stop taking words out of context. the guy is only doing his job. i believe if this was a white person with the same record as PDV he would've been heiled a hero. SO PETER DV YOU ARE A HERO IN MY AND MANY PEOPLE OUT THERE'S EYES.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:01 PM
PDv is no ambassador for SA Rugby or the Country. He is on a joyride and capitalises on provincial teams performances during tournaments like the recent super 14 and our local currie cup. My advice is PDV crawl back to the hole you come from.
JustaSouthAfrican6/29/2009 5:59 PM
Once again - just sensationalism. Judge the guy on his results not his education / class or lack thereof. Being friendly to the media who mock his accent and turn of phrase was not part of the job desc. I don't condone the violence - but all he is doing is taking the team line...
Dawie van Staden6/29/2009 5:59 PM
Pieter, my vriend, vat my raad: Jy is totaal uit jou beste posissie uit. Jy hoort in die Parlement as ANC lid, dan kan jy daar help alles verder opmors saam met jou Partylede....Jy weet...Die Landbank...Die SAUK....Die hospitale....Die paaie.....Misdaad.....Of gaan help Bafana Bafana afrig, toe man, Groot asb ek soebat en smeek jou...
Mike6/29/2009 5:58 PM
Leave PDIV alone. You guys write this nonsense without even knowing his history. This guy has a successful track record that stands on it's own merits. Go read up on him before you make fools out of yourselves. For the record I don''t think Schalk did it. Go look at the replay in slow motion.
Mike6/29/2009 5:57 PM
I am NOT a PdV fan - far from it but I think the British Press are trying anything, especially anything anti SA to divert from the fact that they LOST !! And, on balance - idiotic remarks not withstanding - the Boks coaching team out coach their "coach-on-a-pedastal" McGeechan. Hasn't McG set some sort of record for the most consecutive losses by a Lions coach or some such statistic ?? Anybody got the details ?? Just think how badly this badly coached, badly captained, no-name-brand Lions would have lost if we'd had a REAL coach.......
Mark6/29/2009 5:56 PM
OK, so now when we call for PdV to be axed, we are racists? I am so sick of that tired tune being played. When I called for the same fate for Carel du Plessis for his shocking track record, or for that halfwit André Markgraaff to go for what he had to say, am I a racist then too?
Joe6/29/2009 5:55 PM
How long will Dof, I mean Div be tolerated to embarrass SA rugby? I guess he will be there till Kingdom comes - can you imagine him ever getting fired? We will never ever here the end of all the racist reasons behind it - "CONSPIRACY! " they,( the real racists) will cry! Keep him in the job and spare us the worst saga SA rugby will ever see!
francois6/29/2009 5:54 PM
Peter ignoreer al die stront wat hulle van jou skryf. Kyk net na die telboard. Sover ek kan sien het ons gewen. As hulle wil softies wees laat hulle gaan sokker speel. Ronaldo sal dit baie geniet.
Bokbefok6/29/2009 5:54 PM
Typical fickle supporter comments on this thread. Give PDV a break, he just won you a Lions series for Petes sake. Give Schalk a break too. He got banned. Life goes on, so get over yourselves. Everyones a bloody coach hey!! Idiots
Mr.Z6/29/2009 5:52 PM
the media are just trying to stir up trouble and the white public is falling for it as they have been against PdV from the beginning. When the team loses it's his fault and when they win it's in spite of him. Just remember the overseas media especially the english media attack our coach and players as that try to cause weakness in our team. You south africans running down the coach so badly are just playing into their hands! What do you people want! another new coach and a demoralised team!!! At the bloody least you can support the coach while the team is winning instead of relishing tearing him apart! Use your heads!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:52 PM
Devilliers is a God given doos. he has shown once again in the NEW SA that he is only there for his colour and not skills, an ANC appointment and a ja bru to the masters in SA sport...he is absolutely useless at his job, at his PR skills and can't talk to save his life, an TOTAL embarrassment to Sa rugby, his is a pure Racist and give him time he will dig his own grave the dickhead...even the ANC can see wehat a prick he is making of himself like many other ANC clowns ...he MUST go soonest...
Nicholas6/29/2009 5:50 PM
Is PdV on tik or something?
Andie6/29/2009 5:49 PM
OMG!!! This guy never ceases to amaze me. God given talent for being a - MORON - maybe!!. The only reason that you are there is that Oregan Hoskins said it was time for a black coach!! Boy did he screw up!!
Melt6/29/2009 5:49 PM
If PdV had the talent he is claiming , WHY did he NOT SITE ANY of the Lions players for foul play ???????
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:47 PM
This coach is so lucky he has the talent of the players to hide behind. If things were different and he did not have the talent to work with that was built up from Jake, he would have seen his a.... by now. Hell coaches of international calibre would be itching to get their hands on the boks cos of the talent we have!!!! PDV you are a embarresment to us and i am pretty sure you only have 2 brain cells, just to keep each other company!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:47 PM
WHAT ARE YOU ALL ON ABOUT. CHANGE YOUR TICKETS TO SUPPORT BAFANA BAFANA WHO PLAYED LIKE SUPERSTARS.
craig collins6/29/2009 5:47 PM
Dean A 6/29/2009 5:24 PM I'm finding that I look as forward to this clown's comments after the test matches as I do to the test matches themselves... What a doos ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ It takes a biiger one to know another
Melt6/29/2009 5:47 PM
Mark , I agree with you 100%
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:46 PM
This is just ridicules! Is this guy the real deal? lol!!!
Melt6/29/2009 5:46 PM
Mark , I agree with you 100%
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:45 PM
This coach is so lucky he has the talent of the players to hide behind. If things were different and he did not have the talent to work with that was built up from Jake, he would have seen his a.... by now. Hell coaches of international calibre would be itching to get their hands on the boks cos of the talent we have!!!! PDV you are a embarresment to us and i am pretty sure you only have 2 brain cells, just to keep each other company!!!!
Charles6/29/2009 5:42 PM
Its not fair to the Springboks that one man can be allowed to slowly destroy the brand, word by word, utterance by utterance. However, we Africans are quite used to this - we see it all around us - including neighbouring states. Snor owes a lot to Morne Steyn. I hope he has sufficient sense left to at least let him play for 20 minutes next week.
Mark6/29/2009 5:42 PM
Can anyone explain to me why Andrew Sheridan was not cited for his punch to Bekker's groin. Everyone saw it (except seemingly the ref, touch judges and citing commissioner). Or is foul play acceptable if the offender is wearing a red jersey?
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:41 PM
Pieter , Jy maak jou naam " gat". You are an embarrassment to yourself and to SA in general. Schalk was way out of line and was lucky to only get a yellow card & 8 weeks. It was his 50 th test & he did this in the opening minute .You should be commenting on Bakkies's suspension & how you plan to appeal against that : that is unfair in the light of the high tackles made by the Lions. If you had your way you would bring PLAYER 23 into the Bok squad with your talent.
Johan6/29/2009 5:40 PM
This guy should leave rugby asap. The final straw for me was after he called the critics of Ricky Januarie "racists" and then dropped Januarie from the team completely. He seems to shoot from the hip without really knowing what he is talking about.
Clive van der Poll6/29/2009 5:39 PM
You are all bloody RACISTS why dont you all go back home with the LIONS team and take your racist journalists with you...... From proud white supporter of S A Rugby ( black or white )
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:39 PM
We won and it's true,.... one cant take that away from the Springboks. However, Schalk should take care not to confuse dirty play with hard play. Schalk to date has rightfully earned a place and as any opposition will vouch, he does raise the angst level because of his work rate. To say he should go is extreme. PdV, on the other hand????
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:39 PM
I'm afraid I'm starting to lose faith in Div. Hopefully his meeting with Hoskins will go well, but he must know (and be under pressure) because if I am not mistaken, Div only has a 2 yr contract which will expire soon? Div does need to learn some serious tact, I've always supported him but I've been very disappointed with his comments of late, and his inconsistencies at press conferences. Pull up your socks Div, or you will lose all support.
Steve G6/29/2009 5:39 PM
Stuff you guys. Lets just support him for a change.
Ed6/29/2009 5:39 PM
For me there are 2 issues: Div cannot speak out like this - SaRU need to gag him a little. Like the ANC did with old Julius. Just because you have the microphone, doesn't mean you can say stupid things. Then, I feel that the journalists think they have a green card to attack him, but all you're doing is drawing too much negativity towards the team. Don't be like the British media please. Grow up! Not everyone needs to suck-up to the media just so that you don't burn them. be professional.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:38 PM
Mr dV, the boks are what they are because of the momentum Jake White propogated all the way to the world cup and beyond. The team is mostly the same team Jake had fielded during the World Cup. you unfortunately are too myopic to see the facts. And when it comes to "a God-given talent" - if you _have_ to tell someone you have talent (let me explain: because they can't see it, right?), then I'm afraid you have missed it altogether.
Belloc6/29/2009 5:37 PM
No intelligence, no self-respect, no dignity. Was this man appointed by the government to taunt Springbok fans?
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:35 PM
If thats god-given talent he should ask for a refund! ... & while he's at it ask for that part of the brain that stops you from saying the dumbest things, cos clearly he wasnt in line when 'god' was handing those out. his comments are so embarrassing!
Cool boy6/29/2009 5:34 PM
The issues are as following, Div has never been good at public speaking and he needs help. The difficulty is that our local journos are not standing behind our coach. The Uk media is having a field day with this issue as they have nothing better to write about their team that is facing a possible whitewash. Div makes sense i do not think Schalk goes into contact to say i will take the guys eyes out. Its contact sport. Schalk never made a single dessent tackle thereafter. The other issue there is poeple in the same space as me from the BIL fan base. Loftus had over 20k and i doubt the sit at pubs til the next game. They come to our spaces as Anon and insight us S African. Not a single article that says world champs win series over BIL come people, little credit to boks, coaches(i have my views), management(also have views). We won a series over a team we might play again in 2021.
Jonno6/29/2009 5:34 PM
I agree with Charl, the boks are winning...Remeber, Jake White also had to defend his team on more than one occasion, after the world cup he was everyones friend. Everyone has an opinion. Most of the time its not right...
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:33 PM
So if I understand ALL this, then ,Twakkie is off to do some eye-gouging in the Kruger Park while Rickie Januarie services Twakkie's vehicle ??
umfaan6/29/2009 5:32 PM
Suig nog n bietjie heluim en bly liewer vir ewig stil, of is daar dalk n haar in jou keel GODGEGEWE TALENT wat jy waar kry.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:30 PM
SA might have won the series, but if you look closely at the last 2 tests I believe that the SA team is disorganised in both defense and attack. They do not look like a properly coached team. I believe PDV is benefiting from a team and structure build by Jake White. Most of the tries are scored from individual brilliance as opposed to teamwork. Only the future will tell what the long term damage will be to the Boks. As for PDV's comments in the media, he should rather not speak because he is an embarrassment to SA and he is offending all the international teams. He did the same to the All Blacks last year.
Phil6/29/2009 5:30 PM
you didn't even report on the most stupid comment "If we want to gouge lions we go out on the lowveld and do it, and then out run them!!!!" He is an imbecile and an embarrassment!!!!
Hennie6/29/2009 5:29 PM
You got What ? You a God given talent !! SARU Please help this "coach" He want's to be fired. How on earth can this be allowed. The world is watching your next move !Please keep your mouth shut !!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:29 PM
What a disgrace to SA Rugby...Div, the truth is out...you have on your own version proved yourself to be a CLASS-ACT IDIOT...They should print 23 on your back to show your IQ to the world...!!
Some Bloke6/29/2009 5:27 PM
Everybody knows that De Villiers has a colourful turn of phrase. The question was obviously loaded and News24 is employing a low standard of journalism by trying to direct the reader towards an opinion. Judge the guy on his results. So far he's passing.
rightguard6/29/2009 5:26 PM
Well said Mark,it is truly beyond the pale for a coach to condone eye-gouging and justify it by saying it is a contact sport.Eye-gouging is not part of rugby contact.To claim that it was a fair challenge is even more bizarre when there is TV evidence that Schalk Burger went in with deliberate intent to cause injury to his opponent.
Dean A6/29/2009 5:24 PM
I'm finding that I look as forward to this clown's comments after the test matches as I do to the test matches themselves... What a doos
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:23 PM
Mark you're a first class IDIOT!!!!
Bobby6/29/2009 5:23 PM
I am no Div fan, but if I was asked that question i would have replied in a similiar way - perhaps not the "God given part". but still. That question was aimed at causing a stir. I live in the UK and today has been interesting- the boks have been called from thugs to anilmals... i was called a one eyed japie. I digress, the series is ours and the men pulled it together when needed. some of the press are just trying to move away from this fact by brining up questions like that.
Pop Idol6/29/2009 5:21 PM
Goodness gracious,,,itll always be the white south african who have a problem with non-white players,coaches and CEOs'..PDV is doing a grrrreat job.....Ill pray for you people to let go of your racism.
Eliza6/29/2009 5:20 PM
PDV is a horrible little man...... get rid of him, he does Rugby no good. How on earth did he get to the position of coach... shouldn't he have SOME personality.......
Luis6/29/2009 5:17 PM
Yeah we won but, with the correct players playing, we could have won by a lot more but then I forgot, mediocre is good enough in SA. Had we lost, would PdV still be a "God-given Talent"?
DAN6/29/2009 5:16 PM
get real PdV, schalk, like you, has passed his sell-by date. If you dont think he did it, then watch the footage, or has his hand got a mind of it's own? SCHALK YOU NEED TO GO AND WHILE YOU ARE AT IT TAKE THE PUPPET WITH YOU !!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:08 PM
This man is becomming a joke and an embarrasment for South African Rugby. Is he and Julius Malema related?. Please, someone...quick....give him a dummie to suckle.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:07 PM
PLEEEZE! Just vanish from SA Rugby! You have got no culture, no breedding, no nothing . . . WHAT TALENT!
Martin6/29/2009 5:05 PM
My liewe moer! Pieter de Villiers, jy gaan nog jou g@t sien. Het jy nie geleer van die vorige afrigters wat almal die trekpas gekry het nie! Nie eers Jake White, beste coach nog naas Kitch Christie kon oorleef as coach nie! Kom by my ram.
grant6/29/2009 5:03 PM
Why would he say that???? this better not be sensational journalism because after those comments i no longer back him, I have always given him the benefit of the doubt, but thats ridiculous- we will see what happens now , because when a coach starts telling the whole world how great he is then it usually signals the start of his downfall
Casper6/29/2009 5:02 PM
I wonder who de villierses "WE" are, the only talent he has is to make an ass out of himself, he seems to need a pair of glasses as well, he is not the weekest link, he is the missing link
Charl6/29/2009 5:00 PM
Leave the toon alone. As long as the Boks are winning Im happy. You journos are grasping at straws. We all know he cant talk in public, so by airing these things constantly your are just regurgutaing old truths. BORING
Mark6/29/2009 4:58 PM
PdV you and Schalk need to be axed from this team. You because of your incoherent, idiotic and mostly unintelligible comments. Not to mention bizarre team selection. Your defence of the indefencible is unforgivable, and you lower the standard of our team to that of thugs by condoning Schalk's behaviour. Howcome you are the ONLY person to think that Schalk did no wrong? Schalk, you need to go too ... you have given away more yellow cards and penalties than any other bok player in history (Dalton included!). You are a liability and an embarrassment to SA rugby. Bye Bye
Anonymous User6/29/2009 4:53 PM
Is this guys for real???? I think he has finally lost his marbles ....
Anonymous User6/29/2009 4:52 PM
Kan PDV just explain to me what talent does he have
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.