Lions in SA

Chiliboy set for Bok start

2009-07-01 11:22
Email | Print
Set for starting role (File)

JJ Harmse

Johannesburg – The Springboks will know on Thursday if Bakkies Botha will be allowed to run out for the 49th time as Victor Matfield's lock partner in the green and gold.

Botha's appeal against his two week suspension will be heard a few hours before the Springbok team is announced for the third Test.

If the Bok lock's appeal fails, Johann Muller will have to do the job along with Matfield against the British and Irish Lions at Coca-Cola Park. Muller is not unfamiliar with the Bok jersey, but hasn't played any of his 22 Tests under Peter de Villiers.

His last Test was in 2007 when the Springboks, after the conclusion of the Rugby World Cup, played against Wales in Cardiff.

"Johann is a respected player and a leader in one of our leading teams. He was always a part of our plans but was kept out by Bakkies. If Bakkies can't play, then Johann will step into his shoes," De Villiers said on Tuesday.

"He is the same type of player as Botha and won't let a Springbok team down."

Should Botha's appeal be successful then Muller will get a chance to play off the bench, De Villiers added.

Andries Bekker has already been sent home after loose cartilage was removed from his knee and Danie Rossouw has taken a compulsory break after he sustained a concussion in the second Test.

Matfield didn't train on Tuesday as he has flu. This leaves the Boks a little thin in the second row and Juan Smith may be forced to double-up as cover in the lock position.

Bulls loose forward Dewald Potgieter trained with the Boks and could possibly be included as a substitute although De Villiers said that he, like Zane Kirchner, had been invited to practice alongside the Boks "as part of a bigger picture".

"Dewald and Zane used their opportunity as part of the Emerging Boks, so we are giving them a chance now to train with the Springboks. They will, like Earl Rose, remain in the picture," said De Villiers.

It was clear at training that the Boks would make a few changes to the front row. Chiliboy Ralepelle could start in his first Test in the place of Bismarck du Plessis and could slot in between John Smit and Tendai "Beast" Mtawarira.

Ryan Kankowski looks set to play at No 8 in Pierre Spies's place. Spies sustained a knock late in the second Test and was not at training on Tuesday.

With Schalk Burger banned, Smith and Heinrich Brüssow will be the flankers. These two are team-mates at the Cheetahs and compliment each other well. It will mean that the Springboks for the third consecutive week will play with a different loose trio.

The Bok team, like the Lions team, will only be announced on Thursday.

Your Comments

Simpiwe7/2/2009 9:35 AM
@ Troll: I totaly agree comrade
Simpiwe7/2/2009 9:34 AM
@ Troll: I totally agree comrade!
JACQUES7/2/2009 9:09 AM
Ok kids! The only reason Chillie boy is in is because of quota and not merit, otherwise Derrick kuun would be playing. Thats not the boks problem though; having Ad jacobs on centre with Jean de villiers is the problem. Wynand olivier is by far the best centre in the country and he has not been given an oppertunity to prove it, so instaed we try bring up young,inexperienced talent like Kirshner so that useless Frans Steyn could be another backup in centre. What the hell? Wynand should start with Jacques Fourie and Morne should start with Fourie- Than we will see running rugby and tries will be scored
JACQUES7/2/2009 9:07 AM
Ok kids! The only reason Chillie boy is in is because of quota and not merit, otherwise Derrick kuun would be playing. Thats not the boks problem though; having Ad jacobs on centre with Jean de villiers is the problem. Wynand olivier is by far the best centre in the country and he has not been given an oppertunity to prove it, so instaed we try bring up young,inexperienced talent like Kirshner so that useless Frans Steyn could be another backup in centre. What the hell? Wynand should start with Jacques Fourie and Morne should start with Fourie- Than we will see running rugby and tries will be scored
Greg7/2/2009 8:24 AM
Ant, Chilliboy is obviously not a legend. Think you are confused. Am happy for him though and hope he delivers. As for Earl Rose, definitely the worst player in the emmerging bok side. Was at the game in Newlands. Without him in the side the boks would have won that match. He is an average club player. Nothing more. Well done boks on the series. Finish them off now. Really feel we should beat the Lions by 20!!
Mike7/1/2009 6:34 PM
@Troll. Yes what the hell are you talking about. History? Oh of course, whites were never killed in SA, Sure you're name starts with a T or should it have been a D??? Lastly, Rugby is the game played with the egg shaped ball in hand, not between the shoulders.
Jaco7/1/2009 4:53 PM
Troll, what the f... are you talking about?
troll7/1/2009 3:13 PM
@ Anonymous User 7/1/2009 2:40 PM. Please read through your post and really think about it. You will then discover that you ARE infact a racist. For one, do you have any idea how many people died to the hands of those that wore springbok jerseys? Do you not have any respect for these people and their families?
Anonymous User7/1/2009 2:44 PM
derick kuun is nie my favourite nie... Bismark by verre die bese haker in die land/wereld. Geen probleem met Rallapele op bank nie. As derick kuun vir die bokke speel dak "luke watson" ek my longe uit!!!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 2:40 PM
@ Anonymous User 7/1/2009 12:52 PM: You and Peter seem to have the same attitude, when you fight a losing battle you call people racists. I am not a racist, I think Beast is the best in his position as well as Habana and Pietersen - they belong in the team as they are there on merit. Earl Rose shouldnt even be allowed to play Club Rugby!!! He sucks!!! Get over yourself and stop blaming apartheid!!! Its because of people like you that the Springbok emblem is on its way out and that the Springboks will end up as a third string rugby nation!!! Stop embarrassing our nation by playing people out of their depth and above their talent/ability regardless of skin colour!!!!
Jaco7/1/2009 2:36 PM
I must admit that I will not shed any tears if Chilli replaces our big boytjie Bismarck. He must be the biggest "vuilgat" of all times. Since he became the no. 1 hooker he is larger than life and rugby itself. He is so busy pussing and shoving players of the opposition and aiming fists at everybody that his general play is not nearly of the same quality than one or two seasons ago. The same happened in the S14. He, like Schalk, will cost us a few games in future.
Bull7/1/2009 2:06 PM
@Ant. Can you please explain how can somebody(in this case "Cilliboy") become a Springbok legend after just 4 tests(most of the bench)? Can he can become a Springbok legend is more the question.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 1:58 PM
Have you ever seen Chilliboy throw the ball straight in a lineout? He can never find his jumpers. Bad choice!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 1:58 PM
Ant. I agree with you chilli boy is good and will do good in the future, but there is a reason why he is chosen after Derik Kuun. Derik Kuun had a amazing Super 14 better that anyone thought he would have. And the statement of you saying he didn't find his jumpers is absurd. Your were clearly not watching the same Super 14 as all off us cause he was clearly better. All I know is that SA has such a big pool of talent at this moment. Just hope DIV can use it properly for the future. PS.... John Smit should be replaced, he had a great career and it is comming to a end. Let us train another captain and new players and not let him take up that space
Anonymous User7/1/2009 1:57 PM
Ant. I agree with you chilli boy is good and will do good in the future, but there is a reason why he is chosen after Derik Kuun. Derik Kuun had a amazing Super 14 better that anyone thought he would have. And the statement of you saying he didn't find his jumpers is absurd. Your were clearly not watching the same Super 14 as all off us cause he was clearly better. All I know is that SA has such a big pool of talent at this moment. Just hope DIV can use it properly for the future. PS.... John Smit should be replaced, he had a great career and it is comming to a end. Let us train another captain and new players and not let him take up that space
Anonymous User7/1/2009 1:55 PM
Glen, as I've said before your rugby knowledge is nil and based on most of your comments you are clearly a plonker.
Gtr7/1/2009 1:48 PM
Glen, I will aggree with you that Chilliboy will be a future Bok captain, not because of quotas, but because he is a good player. Derek Kuun is a good player too, but sometimes he gets a bit too emotional.
Carl Muller7/1/2009 1:37 PM
When will the supporters stop criticizing the team. Are they supporters or critics. Old PdV is just the coach. Leave him to his coaching, and the selectors to selecting. If you were a selector, I would like to see how 99% of the country would criticize you.
Kobus7/1/2009 1:32 PM
I believe the most of you do not understand what is going on. Let Rose ply for the boks We all know is every springbok’s dream to play one day for the Bulls. The springbokke team is only a stepping stone to may be one day if you good enough play for the Bulls And now I am going to sit back en enjoy the reaction.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 1:29 PM
I believe the most of you do not understand what is going on. Let Rose ply for the boks We all know is every springbok’s dream to play one day for the Bulls. The springbokke team is only a stepping stone to may be one day if you good enough play for the Bulls And now I am going to sit back en enjoy the reaction.
Glen7/1/2009 1:20 PM
@Inkwe, read what "TheGreenMan" wrote. Even Jake White, as much as I dislike him, gave talk of Chiliboy being a future captain hence he chose him to captain the Boks vs the World 15. Transformation demands that a black captain be chosen and I believe Chilliboy is there based on merit despite his lack of game time. Unlucky Derrick Kuun, but thats how the cookie crumbles. lets move on.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 1:17 PM
Ons moet Saterdag wen en ek hoop die span is dieselfe as wat Reon sê. Daar is meer as genoeg spelers wat die skietgoed het om ons te laat wen. Dit sou my span ook gewees het maar van die begin af. Jean de Villiers en Adi Jacobs het my glad nie beindruk nie, selfs in die super 14. Wynand Olivier en Jacques Fourie was my eerste keuse van die begin af as senters. Mornè Steyn is die kalmste persoon op die veld wat ek nog gesien het, en voer alles uit presies wat hy moet doen. Hoe meer ek hom sien speel hoe meer werd raak hy in elke wedstryd. Sterke vir Saterdag bokke mag die beste span wen.
Ant7/1/2009 12:53 PM
Cilliboy is the real deal. He has all the skills and an excellent attitude. He's become a Bok legend, and probably a Springbok captain. If there is any racism in selection, then it is at the Bulls for keeping him on the bench in place of the very average Derick Kuun.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:52 PM
@ Anonymous User 7/1/2009 11:48 AM. Clearly you are the racist here....Open up your eyes, there are lots of talented players of color (like Earl Rose). We dont need your stinking attitude in this country!
Richard7/1/2009 12:41 PM
Albert, Peter Heluim and Earl Roses father must be old drinking buddies that can be the only reason for his name being mentioned at every interview
Glen7/1/2009 12:37 PM
Bekker is injured, read a newspaper before you comment. Just like Gavin Rich. What a sponge donkey!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:36 PM
If everyone make reference of players of colour...isnt white a colour? Just asking.
Inkwe7/1/2009 12:36 PM
Glen, based on what do you make those claims?
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:22 PM
We are messing with parts of the team that dont need to be messed with... Chilliboy is a great talent (granted) and if he gets a start then well deserved in my book, but the selectors should be looking at our real weaknesses, like our centre combination!! Jacobs is so out of his depth its scary, and to be keeping one of the best centres in world rugby on the bench is ridiculous!! Fourie is a must for the 3rd test. And Steyn has to get a starting run too! If i hear the word "ROSE" again im gonna burst a blood vessel, the guy is useless, change of career bud seriously...
TheGreenMan7/1/2009 12:20 PM
I think Bismark is a phenomenal talent but I have to agree with Glen. Chiliboy has followed very much the same route as John Smit. In his early days John was also earmarked as the future Bok captain and many were baffled as they did not believe he was the best in his position. Look at how wonderfully that worked out for the Boks! @ Anton, I am also happy to say from my side that although transformation is obviously an agenda, the small bits of leadership I have witnessed from Chilliboy say to me that his appointment as Captain in the future will have nothing to do with the colour of his skin ... and this coming from a white guy, to all you folks who are part of the RACE CARD BRIGADE!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:19 PM
We can all just hope that Div will leave or get sacked before to long, especially whne people like Zane, ROse etc is here for the FUTURE! Chillyboy is nowhere near as good as Kuun and Kuun showed his leadership whne he played for Southern Kings, HE SHOUDL be in fact be groomed for the future bok captain. But hey we can all dream, we know what will happen in reality! Love the Boks, Hate Politics in Sport.
Captain7/1/2009 12:13 PM
Every time I hear the name Rose I get chills down my spine. it scares me to think that he might be palying in the Tri-Nations.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:10 PM
Its simple, we have a quota system (thou they dont like to call it that) and he is one of them. It might not be fair to others, but that how it is and its not going to change, so get used to it if you are a supporter. I just sometimes wonder how players like this feels. Knowing you are a quota player must not be nice, but then again all things in life these days revolve around money. GL for the weekend boks!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:10 PM
Anon -11.37 It does not take rocket Scientist to figure out why Chilliboy is included the team - to make up those numbers
Derek7/1/2009 12:09 PM
Chiliboy is an excellent hooker. I was very happy to see him in the original squad. Much better than the other two you mentioned.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:09 PM
Chilliboy did not have much game time in recent times, but let's see what he can do to those whining Brits! Hope he sorts them out!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 12:08 PM
Yip, he only makes the bench at the Bulls, but it is all about quotas people. Still, he is a reasonably good player who has not yet reached the same heights as earlier in his career, when he was awesome as Captain of the Junior Bokke I think. Put Smittie on hooker, with Beast and Guthro on props, could be good.
Reon7/1/2009 12:07 PM
I feel we must put a BIG final nail in the coffin of the Lions so I hope the team for Saturday looks like this: 15. F Steyn 14. Petersen 13. J Fourie 12.Olivier 11. Habana 10. M Steyn 9. du Preez 8. Kankowski 7. Smith 6. Brussouw 5.Matfield 4. Botha/Muller 3. Smit 2. Ralapele 1. Beast 16 - 22 Pienaar, deVilliers, Nokwe, Steenkamp, Potgieter, duPlessis, Carstens Lets see !
Ant7/1/2009 12:07 PM
Yes, Anonymous, Derick Kuun stood out. Mainly for his ability to miss Bakkies and Victor on every throw in. I'd never select that plonker - Chilliboy is miles better.
Glen7/1/2009 12:05 PM
I told you Chilliboy would start. Thats great news, and with that you are now looking at your new Springbok captain come 2011 world cup. U just watch!!
Anton7/1/2009 12:01 PM
Anonymous - catch a wake up call. There is a transformation agenda in Sa rugby - accept it. Where the targets are genuine talents like Chiliboy I welcome it. The only problem we should have is where this agenda brings in players like Rose who are clearly out of their depth. I reckon Bismark is a bit overated (crazy tap penalty/regular penalty offences) anyway so maybe Chiliboy will stake his claim.
Gavin7/1/2009 12:00 PM
Lets see what madness the coach comes out with come Thursday's announcement, then we decide if it's a strong team. Funny for coach to say "He was always a part of our plans but was kept out by Bakkies. If Bakkies can't play, then Johann will step into his shoes" when Adries Bekker was ahead of Muller as back up to Bakkies!!!! But then again, we never can be shocked these days :-)
Anonymous User7/1/2009 11:53 AM
If JJ gets his way he will predict or select 22 Blue Bulls in a Springbok rugby team... PDV, JJ & Gary Boshoff goes clubbing together...
Albert7/1/2009 11:52 AM
This is all good and well, Muller and Kankowski are both briliant players. But please tell me, why the hell do they keep on picking Chillyboy??? He is not even the first choice for the bulls!! And why does the name of Earl Rose keep popping up? What the hell is the plan with the guy, there are scores of players better than him, but not chosen for the team. I am a white oke, but i will still cheer for the boks, even if all the players are of colour, but please put them there on merit!! Please can we not mix the greatest game in the world with petty politics!!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 11:51 AM
All replacements are at the required level, if ER comes on, its ganna get embarrassing for player as Lions will target and destroy. Should manage 3-0 in spite of all the goings on(coach). If 2-1, Boks have given their all and I commend and respect them for it. BOKKE FOREVER.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 11:48 AM
Why on earth (someone please enlighten me) is Earl Rose part of the "bigger picture"??? He is the most pathetic flyhalf in South-Africa (he's not even first choice for the Lions) and cant be compared to the likes of Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Peter Grant, Willem de Waal, Francois Steyn... the list goes on!!! He has no place in Springbok rugby and it is blatant racism of Peter de Villiers to even concider him above any of the mentioned players above. Keep politics out of sport please!!!! In short, send Peter de Villiers back to club rugby where no one will mind him being an ignorant, rugby noob!!!
Anonymous User7/1/2009 11:44 AM
Some of therse forced changes to the bok team will be for the better......and that despite T******, our dear little pet in his green blazer.
Anonymous User7/1/2009 11:37 AM
This will still be a very strong Bok team. I'm just baffled by the inclusion of Chilliboy as hookers like Derick Kuun and Tiaan Liebenberg stood out more this season in that position.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.