Lions in SA

Burger banned for eight weeks

2009-06-29 06:33
Email | Print
Schalk Burger (File)

Johannesburg - South Africa flanker Schalk Burger has been suspended for eight weeks after he was found guilty of eye gouging during the Springboks' series-clinching 28-25 win over the British and Irish Lions at Pretoria on the weekend.

Burger was charged with making contact with the face in the eye area of Lions winger Luke Fitzgerald only 32 seconds into his 50th appearance for the Springboks. He was yellow carded at the time by referee Christophe Berdos of France.

Lock Bakkies Botha was suspended for two weeks for charging dangerously into Lions prop Adam Jones, who left the field early in the second half with a suspected dislocated shoulder.

South Africa Rugby announced the bans on Monday after both players attended disciplinary hearings by International Rugby Board judicial officer Alan Hudson of Canada.

Burger will be allowed to return to rugby on Aug. 23, ruling him out of Tri-Nations matches against New Zealand on July 25 and Aug. 1 and Australia on Aug. 8.

South Africa's first match after Burger's ban expires is at Perth, Australia on Aug. 29.

Botha was found guilty of dangerously charging into a ruck without binding on a player in the fourth minute of the second half. He won't be allowed to play until July 12.

TV replays showed Burger's hand apparently making contact with Fitzgerald's eye in a ruck, confirming what touch judge Bryce Lawrence reported to Berdos and making it fortunate for South Africa that he wasn't directly red carded.

South Africa rallied from 19-8 down with 17 minutes to go and the match was locked at 25-all going into the final minute when replacement back Morne Steyn kicked the winning points.

The South Africans have a 2-0 lead going into the last match of the series this weekend.

Burger was the second veteran international player to be banned for eye gouging in a matter of days. Italy captain Sergio Parisse was suspended for eight weeks for eye gouging a 27-6 loss to New Zealand at Christchurch on Saturday.

Parisse, a 65-Test veteran who had never previously received a red or yellow card in a test match, was found guilty of making contact with the eyes or eye area of All Blacks lock Isaac Ross in the 58th minute.

IRB judicial officer Paul Tully found the Italian No. 8 guilty after viewing video evidence and hearing reports from the match referee and linesmen, imposing a ban which will run from Aug. 2 - when the Italian domestic season starts - until Sept. 26.

Your Comments

Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:50 PM
Schalk made a mistake, if he does it again ban him for life, he has cost us enough. Pieter de V, haai siestog, as jy nie die punch kan vat om in die internationale kollig te wwes nie, kry jou ry. Jy maak jou naam gat.
Rudolph6/29/2009 10:34 PM
Well done BOKKE. If anybody watched the LION TOUR 1997 on ESPN the swearing that went on in their change rooms at how they are going to win the series 3 / 0 and white wash the BOKKE , then you will understand what the LIONS are all about. It was really bad. They were swearing all the time and swearing at the bokke all the time. Same coach, so I am sure this time it is the same. Forget Schalk etc. He is a good player. WE ARE GOING TO WHITE WASH THE LIONS. AND I AM SO GLAD
Terry6/29/2009 6:54 PM
What a game and a comeback. The comments about Schalk B are justified and he deserves to be sited. Rugby is a contact sport and it is rough but dirty play should not be tolerated, but what every rugby lover wants is consistency in the processes. Andrew Sheridan punch in the balls is an offence, so site him. High tackles are punishable so sight them. Consistency, consistency, consistency is all the fans want whether you are from the north or the south.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:29 PM
Burger is one of the best flankers in the world and a little dirty tactics isnt always a bad thing. What he did was unacceptable but he will never be a disgrace to SA.
EMILE6/29/2009 6:06 PM
HULLE MOET HOM SOMMER HEEL UIT RUGBY UIT SKORS WANT HY IS NET 'N VERLEENTHEID VIR DIE LAND EN HY KOS OS NET PUNTE
Anonymous User6/29/2009 5:21 PM
TO DAVID - Its funny how you refer to our countries barbaric history , I wonder who brought slavery to our country and killed 27 000 woman and children in the Anglo Boer War. :Please go look at all your babaric history in how many countries. And yes if you want to refer to history 80 000 Boere send 380 000 souties packing just as the Bokke send you packing. GO BOKKE MAKE IT 3 - 0
Alan6/29/2009 5:07 PM
I was taught differently in grade 1 how to tackle. All the players that got concussed did not tackle correctly.
Andre van der Lingen6/29/2009 4:50 PM
Was it not Schalk's Dad who also after some stupid thing at Newlands and being sent to the cooler (behind the poles in those days) when one of the Newlands regulars shouted at him " Gister was djy n hero, maar nou is djy K@K
John6/29/2009 4:19 PM
To David: Pointing towards Apartheid and calling South Africa barbaric is so typical of a sore loser. Leave politics out of it, the Lions players were just as dirty. Andrew Sheridan's groin bunch to Andries Bekker in the second half was blatant and deserved a citing to match Schalk Burger's, yet went largely unnoticed. Not to mention being involved in numerous off the ball incidents. I have great respect for Brian O'Driscoll as a player, but the concussion incident was his own fault, he came in for a tackle from a position miles off side. Overall I thought it was a great test match and unfortunately for the Lions they came off just short. Let's not detract from what was a great game by throwing insults and making it personal.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 4:02 PM
..every dog gets it's day, ..this dog got 8 weeks.. that attack was malicious, unprovoked and certainly not an "oops,sorry-moment" Let him "sit and stay"!
Shirl6/29/2009 3:48 PM
What is good for the goose is good for the gander. The Lions players are no angels either !!!
CraigL6/29/2009 3:36 PM
Great! Now Heinrich can start every game!!!
red6/29/2009 3:26 PM
@badbones....Could you re-write that in english, not sure of the point you were trying to make.....clown
Martin6/29/2009 3:24 PM
Ok, I too don't agree with Schalks cat-like attack on Saturday, but will still miss him for 8 weeks. People, it's rugby. If t wasn't aggressive, I wouldn't watch it. If I wanted something calm & relaxing, I'd watch fishing, snooker or golf. Just like the Boks, the Lions had their bad sportmanship aswell. When the same guy is involved in 5 - 6 off-the-ball incidents with different Bok players, it shows the weak dissapline of the Lions as well. These are things that happen in every rugby game, no matter who plays who or where. If you can't handle it, don't watch the game.
Mark6/29/2009 3:20 PM
Baz - what's the problem, you want to call 99 so you can hopefully win the fight cause you know you will lose the rugby. Clever boy you are, but as saturday showed, you would probably lose the fight too. You are not as strong and physical as you think you are you. And don't get upset when one of your fellow Lions supporters calls you a loser. I'm guessing that the truth hurts.
MACK6/29/2009 3:12 PM
David @2:42 ,are you defending the same british that built pow camps to house woman and children ,people of Kitchener ? You cant play rugby ,never have except 1974 , and thats it -get back to your pork pies !You'll never win a world cup again -you cant even play a decent game of cricket .Get back to your island ! scram !
Sarel6/29/2009 3:08 PM
As jy wil vuil speel, moet jy die gevolge dra.
Sarel6/29/2009 3:05 PM
As jy wil vuil speel, moet jy die gevolge dra.
Kaz6/29/2009 2:56 PM
Well I personally think that someone should have given Andrew Sheridan a moerse snotklap. When O'Driscoll took out Rossouw his team mates actually shook his hand and now he has concusion - go figure it's his own fault. Simon Shaw should also have been cited for high tackles because he was involved in many of them. What about the first test when F du Preez was shoulder charged while trying to kick the ball - no foul play was called. Geez it is actually hilarious the way the British are calling foul play and blaming the ref in every game - and the Cape Town Airport and the repairs of the roads. When they were winning against the provincial sides nobody complained - it is just when they start losing and that they moan. Grow up this is rugby and your team is not a bunch of angels. Not our problem 5 of your players ended in hospital and O Driscoll played himself into the ward.
Craig6/29/2009 2:54 PM
Last week I said the Schalk is a six pointer. Did I get that one wrong. It turns out that it was closer to 18 points on Saturday. Keep him off the field and will have at least six points less to score.....
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:54 PM
I find it fascinating that there has been so much criticism of the Springbok team and coaches in response to this matter. We WON! Rugby is never going to be squeaky clean, refs do not have 360 degree vision, and in the heat of the moment things happen that in hindsight shouldn't. The Lions were by no manner of means 'clean', and their constant chirping was designed to rile our boys. But at the end of the day, WE WON! What more do you want? Italy's captain did exactly what Schalk did and got the same punishment - and they won't be the last either. It's a physical, tense, aggressive game. If you can't handle that, watch Wimbledon!
Baz6/29/2009 2:48 PM
Mark the jaapie, thanks for highlighting the moronic idiocy of South African rugby supporters and players much better than I could. Wassamatter Paddy, embarassed about ROG's contribution to last Sat's game?
David6/29/2009 2:42 PM
For all you mental inadequates who seem to think cheating is a justifiable way to win, I feel truly sorry for you. For a nation with such a barbaric and disgusting history it is sad to see so little has changed with many of you since the days of apartheid, getting your way by any means possible. Also for all you idiots that use the word pom please look up the meaning of this word instead of just reinforcing the civilized worlds view of your country.
@Baz and Andy Bugden6/29/2009 2:25 PM
Croft and Sheriden are just as dirty, you forget to say anything about the off the ball niggly crap that the Lions entertained us with. Was at the game and have a lot of it on video. All I can say is harden the f**k up.
Simon6/29/2009 2:21 PM
I agree with Paddy. Baz and Mark - why can't you accept that we have seen two great tests, played by two great teams, that could have gone either way? Sure there is always going to be some foul play, but who got cited ? Crowing and gloating and whinging, is frankly maronic, akin perhaps to PdV. Recognise excellent play and the fact that it could have gone either way!
Glen6/29/2009 2:17 PM
You British And Irish lions can be very lucky BUTCH JAMES was injured because you lot would not have tried that off the ball shit with our 1 and only undfeated long arm tackler.UP THE BOKKE
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:10 PM
I am a South African. But Schalk Burger's barbaric behaviour a few seconds into the match made me support the Lions for the rest of the game. Schalk should have got a red card! This is not the first time he is involved in incidents. He is a disgrace to the Springboks, to rugby and to civilised people. I hope he never plays for the Boks again!
MACK6/29/2009 2:03 PM
What Schalla did was as braindead as the whole W.P/STORMER mindset gets - but now we have Brussow,who should have started as Scalla is having a bad year.As far as dirty play goes -these Poms have been niggley from ROYAL Bafokeng and needs to be sorted out.We have made them look good ,with a lot of help,thanks to Twakkie Snorre DEVIL(liers ). Yes they have some good okes ,but come for a full 8 week tour ,play all our sides ,the Bulls included with all thier Boks ,and half of the pastey white louts would have been home injured ! We remember 1974 - the great LIONS - and the 1980 LIONS who couldnt put a proper side together by week 3.ROLL on the Kiwi's and Ausies - there are a couple new arseholes to be torn there as well -Viva Bokke ! O' and JEREMY Guscot ,we cant respect these Lions- NOTHING TO RESPECT !
Paul6/29/2009 2:02 PM
Fair play to most of you Boks, who see his actions for what they were - cowardly, unnecessary and vile, and leaving the Boks weakened and under pressure. A high tackle, a punch, a shoulder charge - they happen almost every game. Eye-gouging?? Disgraceful. Rugby is hard enough without stupid attacks like that. Get rid.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:56 PM
I am ashamed of how the Springboks won on Saturday. The Lions deserved a draw - at least. Bakkies Botha is a disgrace, the way he is always praising the Lord and then goes and beats up the opponents. He is a disgrace. As is Victor Matfield. And all those bloody Holier Than Thou BULLS.
Paddy6/29/2009 1:40 PM
Baz, you are a total loser. I'm Irish and the 99 is a load of nonsense. I'm disgusted with your comments. You should be banned from watching rugby.
Mark6/29/2009 1:36 PM
Baz - the only cheap shot was Sheridan attemping a punch to Bekker's groin. You Lions thought that you could beat us physically and then when it didn't go to plan you cry foul. You clowns clearly came off second best on saturday and I love it. I would love to see you do the 99 call - then the rest of your squad can also visit hospital. In that way the 5 that have already spent time there won't feel as ashamed. I wish I knew who you were cause I might assume I heard you call 99, ijit. Here's to a whitewash and you can have 12 years to think about it, ha ha.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 1:36 PM
Burger is an IDIOT. In front of the touch judge and after 50 tests knowing how good the cameras are. Maybe he is involved in match fixing and tried to lose the match?
Simon6/29/2009 1:34 PM
Rugby is a tough, agressive game and in the height of battle, punches get thrown unsurprisngly. Afterwards one would meet for a beer or several and joke about it! However, gouging doesn't cover the 'hard but fair' mentality exhibited by most bok and lions players. It was a match that depending on 'what ifs' could have gone either way, although had we - am a Brit - won due to 15 vs 14, that would have been a let down. It was a very exciting couple of tests and fair is fair - well played you boks!
DG NORTIER6/29/2009 1:25 PM
I just love the comments. Schalla deserved his ban, what did Botha do taking into account the number of incidents on the field... If Botha is suspended for a dangerous tackle... The disciplinary committee can start with the suspension of Simon Shaw. Brian o' Driscoll on Rossouw since he was offside... the uppercut on Bekker, yes there is inconsistency that is the main problem with the system.
terry6/29/2009 1:16 PM
your problems all lie with the disgusting coach he is the one that should be banned permently he is a total disgrace to the springboks and is always making derogotary remarks.
Baz6/29/2009 1:13 PM
Typical jaapies. Can't compete playing rugby so you resort to thuggery and cheap shots. Any of you who aren't ashamed of your team and your nation are as contemptible as PdV. Here's hoping that the Lions intend to make the 99 call in next Saturday's game.
Spartan6/29/2009 1:07 PM
Why want the boks to win in style, not in disgrace. Wake up boks, get your dicipline sorted out so you can focus on playing good, exciting rugby without taking the guys eye out or breaking his arm after the wistle has gone. Bakkies we are getting tired of your attitude, Bismark is anothe one playing brainless rugby.
Andy Bugden6/29/2009 1:07 PM
The SA Coach is right that the eye gouging was not a yellow card. It is actually a red card offence and carries up to a 6 month ban. Apart from not giving the straight red card, the ref had a pretty good game. Let me teach you guys some of the rules of rugby that you don't seem to have grasped. I didn't see the last incident, but you are not allowed to charge a player unless shoulder to shoulder and you are not allowed to tackle a player - who has jumped for the ball if his feet are still in the air. By a charge i mean no attempt is made to grab hold of the player. This is why botha was cited. Finally high tackles are actually allowed in Rugby - they are perfectly legal. The rule is you are not allowed to tackle above the line of the shoulders. When a player is upright this is obvious - the neck and head. The rule was brought in to reduce the number of broken necks. Players in their running often lower their shoulders and charge and the rule of thumb is that if their head is coming into the tackle above the tackle then it is legal.
Marinda6/29/2009 1:03 PM
For a player who has gained so much international experience on the rugby field, you would expect that by now he knows the rules, maybe we should start looking at other players who really deserve the green and gold. Schalk is an embarresment to SA rugby. One has to start asking the question - is it because he and so many others ride on daddy's name who was a former Springbok, that they think they can get away with everything - there are many other players who are better than Schalk and co. can the selectors start waking up !!!!
ShanZee6/29/2009 12:47 PM
Schalk's behaviour is shocking and it put a damper on SA's win . . . cause now all the tabloids are saying is that we are dirty!! Why did the SA managment team not site any of the Lions players . . . I saw several incidents that were very suspect . . especially Andries Bekker getting an upper cut to the "crown jewels" area???
Andrew6/29/2009 12:47 PM
Amanda lovie, Schalk wasn't on the field longer than 35 SECONDS, what are you waffling about the inconsistency of the ref for and using that as an excuse? They are professional sportsman, ambassadors for the sport and a "supposed" good example to young people, they aren't supposed to retaliate, NO MATTER WHAT !! I guess if someone tried to gouge your eyes out, you would justify it by admitting that YOU were inconsistent?? Please talk sense or say nothing..All I say is bring on New Zealand and Australia and PLEASE start the game with Brussouw, he is a machine!!
Peter6/29/2009 12:29 PM
Schalk Burger is an embarrassment to South Africa and the Green and Gold. I can't believe people are justifying his actions by " he is a good player" or "what about the ref/ and the Lions getting away with foul play" etc. In my book he is a disgrace and has shamed SA.
Peter6/29/2009 12:27 PM
Schalk Burger is an embarrassment to South Africa and the Green and Gold. I can't believe people are justifying his actions by " he is a good player" or "what about the ref/ and the Lions getting away with foul play" etc. In my book he is a disgrace and has shamed SA.
chris6/29/2009 12:25 PM
As someone for whom Rugby is a second sport, I was amazed by the intensity and spectacle of both tests but especially saturdays. Truly world class sport and I am struggling to remember an occasion in any sport that could trump that. It has absolutely everything - total committment from both sides, extremely high levels of physical intensity, great skill and tactics and drama to the very very end. Fantastic to watch and respect to both sides for unbelievable efforts. SB was stupid in the heat of the battle. He could have easily been sent off but I am glad he was not as it would have ruined the game. I was distraught that the Lions lost; a draw would have set up the whole series. But I was immensely proud of the way they played. Fair play to the Boks, you weathered the storm and came back - a mark of a great side. I think we ran out of quality replacements and SA showed their smartness at key moments in the second half. Great game
Anonymous User6/29/2009 12:21 PM
What a bunch of idiots all of you are!!!!! Schalk gets totally ripped of by you, but Bakkies shame siestog he' s been hard done. Bugger that he did do something wrong and he got punished for it. Bakkies was send of about three times this seaon for dirty play and Schalk?????? et your facts straight A$$$$$es. If you do something wrong you need to face the consequenses thereof. I am sure that Scahlk and Bakkies will do so, but you lot have never in your life do something wrong that could hurt a lot of people. Never had one to many when driving, never skipped a red light, NO OH SO NO you're sweat little angels, sit at work and type a lot of crap on here , wasting your companies money and time. DON'T YOU HAVE WORK TO DO????????
LuLuBug6/29/2009 12:08 PM
Giggle......just wondering if any of us loudmouths (me included!) could have played better.......if so, why weren't you in that team???? So best we shut up.
Michael6/29/2009 12:03 PM
We are all great at breaking down people aren't we? As if we never did anything wrong - ever? Just by the comments, well most of them, it can be seen that we are biased to say the least. Yes a mistake was made by many on the field and if they were blown up for all it would have been a very frustrating game to say the least. They have a referee who sits upstairs (TV)watching all the mistakes and he is the one who should do all sitings immediately and keep all minor till after the game for immediate action. Meanwhile the Ref on the field should concentrate on the game and be more consistent and also remain fair. Then we have the problem that he is not always in a position to see everything, and this is where the TV ref comes in and should immediately call the ref on the field and deal with serious sitings. All minor ones after the game. Where are the days when we all played HARD Rugby and did not complain so much!!! Go Bokke the most of you make us proud and are playing with your heart!
Bonny6/29/2009 11:52 AM
Schalk was a bit of a twit and has paid the price. He is still a brilliant player. Just wondering why the Poms got away with so much dirty play......
LuLuBug6/29/2009 11:50 AM
What abt the lions ganging up against Victor????? I think the ref was biased - on the bright side......I could feast on the glimpses of Percy we got!@!!!!
Punani6/29/2009 11:44 AM
To try and turn around the filthy play of Schalk Burger and Bakkies Botha buy pointing fingers at the Lions indiscretions is pathetic. Sure, they were also guilty of dirty play, but that does not condone the disgusting behaviour of the team that carries the mantle of World Champions. Bakkies is a good player but this is his 3rd suspension for dirty play this season! Can he not play hard, but still fair like the greats of the game? Bakkies is still going to cost his country a close game or a series with his crass stupidity and lack of sportmanship. Schalk Burger, what were you thinking? Stupid Twat!Enjoy the sidelines and best you get your act together because I think Mr Heinrich Brussouw will own the number 6 jersey by the time you are allowed to play again. Every action has consequences.
bo6/29/2009 11:44 AM
What is Spies still doing in the team if the team is supposed to be picked on form? Kanko should play at 8 next time and also drop Ruaan
Machine6/29/2009 11:39 AM
SB is a disgrace. Nearly lost the match for us and got what he deserves. Bakkies, a bit rough when BOD got nothing for his armless tackle from an off side position that put Rossouw off.
Ockert Vermeulen6/29/2009 11:31 AM
Heaven help is with the brainless coach, when he opens his mouth you can hear the stupidity. Schalck is a liabilty, he gets a yellow card in every game he plays. Bakkies is unlucky but SA players are often penalised when heir opponents get away with murder. SA Rugby Authorities are to slapgat to do somthing about this. Just recently we saw Luaki in the S14 and Sheridan on Saturday getting away with something that a SA Player would be redcarded for.
Alan6/29/2009 11:27 AM
Yeah yeah,all you guys calling for Schalk to be punished more severly obvoiuosly,have never played rugby.When you in the engine room and there are hands grabbing your testicles, eyes, ears and nose and fingers up your as..,you have to fight fire with fire.If you are caught red handed ,then you take your punishment. The British lions are as guilty as anyone else.As for Bakkies,i noticed very few comments from the northern okes.Bakkies should have been given a pat on the back.I saw no fewer than six Lions do the same at rucks during the game.O Gara should have been yellow carded for that last,reckless run in on a player in the air.
Gerald6/29/2009 11:22 AM
Schalk used to be a marvellous player but he seems to have gone of the boil the last couple of seasons. He definitely concedes too many penalties and his deliberate foul play is inexcusable. Maybe he is like Samson - he shouldn't have cut his hair.
Cire6/29/2009 11:20 AM
Burger should have been given a red card. The japie team as always, relies on thuggery to smash opponents out of the game. And, as usual, many japie fans are crying about somebody having the cheeck to penalize their sweethearts. tHANK gOD YUOPU DID NOT LOSE
JSC6/29/2009 11:19 AM
I agree that Schalk did not do it intentionally. As a Stormer supporter I also do not agree with him in the side. Brussow is a much better player than him currently. The ref was pathetic on Saturday. He allowed the Lions to get away with a lot of illegal tackles and no card at all.
Trevor klein6/29/2009 11:15 AM
All you self righteous judges shooting your mouths off in condemnation. Yes the players got what they deserved. Leave it there! Can anybody out there please talk rugby??? Doesn 't appear like it!!!!!
PAUL DE VILLIERS6/29/2009 11:07 AM
I recently was watching the series Lions on Safari , in one of the 1968 games there's a ruck on the Lions tryline which brakes out in a massive punchup , atleast 8 players throwing full on punches ,what amazed me was that the ref blows the whistle the players stop fighting and not even 5 to 10 seconds later the scrum is set and the game goes on , now that was when men were men , no yellow cards , no citings , no big fuss. GET a life all you whips!! Its a contact sport played by men so expect some rough stuff or go watch cricket or soccer. What's next no tackles because its to rough and and you softies will get hurt. GET LOST YOU SISSIES !!!!
Richard6/29/2009 11:07 AM
Its time to cut our losses. Schalk is good but is he worth it. He could have lost us the game.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 11:06 AM
Schalk needs to get his head right! We love you Schalk but discipline needs to be kept! Intentional or not you never pull on a players face. Bakkies is questionable but one match is OK, we've won the series. But these double standards are terrible. What about Phil Vickery (think it was him) punching Andries Bekker in the testicles. Yet nothing for him? Come now South African's always get disciplined but never any other players?
ARG 6/29/2009 11:02 AM
Tipical a BLOND's behaviour.... As a veteran and professional test player like SB do you not understand rugby rules. How come you commit a serious offence on the field that is not permissable. Your enfringement could have been a Red card that could have cost your team the match and my be the series too. There should not be a place for dirty players like you in the world of sports. WATCH OUT Bakkies you are next.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:54 AM
Come on guys....Skulk has always been harn , but not dirty .I think it was an accident and not intentional . Yip , you like to throw out your hero's .Skulk has still got a part to play for the Boks . The happiest man around now is Spies , cause it has taken the heat off him .Blimey , but he really is useless .Strong , but can't read the game at all . I would love to see the loose trio made up of Smit . Brussow and Skulk at 8th man .I thought man of the match should have been O'driscal for taking out Russouw so that the correct and most obvious replacement came on , namely , Brussouw ......sjc
ryan north6/29/2009 10:52 AM
That didn't warrant a card PDV ?? 8 weeks is a joke, anybody trying to gauge another mans eye out should receive a sine die ban. Rugby is a game, not worth losing an eye over, Schalk makes me feel ill, he is a disgrace
ryan north6/29/2009 10:52 AM
That didn't warrant a card PDV ?? 8 weeks is a joke, anybody trying to gauge another mans eye out should receive a sine die ban. Rugby is a game, not worth losing an eye over, Schalk makes me feel ill, he is a disgrace
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:49 AM
From anonymous fool with internet access to anonymous PdV defender - get real PdV inherited the side from Jake White - let him start from scratch - he coudn,t assemble an under 10 hopscotch side if he tried.
Amanda6/29/2009 10:49 AM
Are you anonymous users (to chicken to use your name??) ever watching rugby.. or were this your first match ever?? Did you see the high tacle's on the Springboks which were just ignored by the ref?? They should ban referee's who is not consistent, they force the players to take matters into their own hands. Still the Boks did great to win, go boys!! Did you see that???
Zee6/29/2009 10:47 AM
SB needs to grow the hell up - if your discipline is still as shocking as this after 50 tests then you are a liability to the team. Brussouw is here and it's time for Schalk to mature, and quickly, or he should be left out the squad permanently. He costs the Boks far too many points with his stupidity!
English Gent6/29/2009 10:47 AM
Well played chaps, dashed unfortuntate us British didn't get one over on you. Must take exception to comments about young O'Driscoll's tackle, watch it, he did use his arms but hit the poor chap so he hard didn't have time to enagage them. A punch (Sheridan) is par for the course - yes? Unlike eye-gouging which certainly is not de rigeur. You boys are known for your bullying tactics that's for sure and now you complain! Roll on the world cup when Johnson's chaps will reign supreme once again!
Scott6/29/2009 10:41 AM
Dudes, take Bakkies out of your team and watch how our forward pack will suffer, he is the force behind our forwards, he enforces and plays hard, if you don't like that, watch soccer! Schalk desreves what he got but he is still an amazing player, I am sure he regrets what he did and will work all the more harder next time he puts the green and gold shirt on, in the end, he has done far more good than bad for the Bokke!
Amanda6/29/2009 10:38 AM
Were you actually watching the game??? Particularly the Anonymous users..to chicken to use your name but you have all these opinions!! There were extremely dirty playing (dangerous high tacle) on the Lions side also.. the referee just choose not to do anything about it. The fact that the referee did nothing does not mean it did not happen. Therefor I feel it is unfair to single Schalk out. And 8 weeks is just rediculous!! They should ban the ref when he is not consistent in a game, and this was obvious that this ref was not!! The result.. players get frustrated and take maters into their own hands to even out the score.. Well done Springboks.. you WON!!
Brett6/29/2009 10:38 AM
Not only should Burger have been banned but I hope he gets fined a hefty amount. If the pride of being a representative for South Africa isn't sufficient for Burger to keep his dirty play on the rugby field (in front of millions of viewers and spectators) in check then maybe a serious hit to his finances will! Dirty play like that drags the name of Springbok rugby through the mud and also causes problems for other Springbok rugby players who don't indulge in Burger's tactics, as they end up getting tarred with the same brush.
Bob6/29/2009 10:37 AM
Schalk should of been red carded. British press shout how they would of won. Please address rules I pay to see a 15 man game. Yellow cards should perhaps be delt with as in British football hearing immediately after the match.
Birdman6/29/2009 10:33 AM
Captain - I agree. I thought that he would have been replaced after serving his time in the cooler - this to avoid the possibility of a red card for any small discretion thereafter. But our famous couch doesn't think further than his snor! The rest of the Bok team were visibly miffed at Burger when he came back on the field, and rightly so. He put enormous unnessary pressure on them right after being awarded a penalty which was instantly reversed (3 points) and him being sent off (10 points) What with the diabolical kicking display by Pienaar (11 points), we could have won the match by a landslide.
Gene Lopes6/29/2009 10:28 AM
Schalk should be banned for a longer period. Eye gouging is a no no. Bakkies was clearing the lines and does not deserve the punishment.I suppose his reputation has caught up with him. Why did PDV not start with Morne Steyn both in Durban and Loftus. PDV makes it so difficult on for all of us.
Brian Modra6/29/2009 10:24 AM
Schalk I was mad with you. But everyone has crucified you so bad that I still like you. But please take the 8 weeks now to gain a good spirit - above being gregariously positive, keen, confident, and strong... have consideration also for your opponents, even if they are foul mouthed philistines.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:22 AM
While we getting rid of Scalk (this time he went to far) cant we get rid of our 'Helium aka ag sh@# man' coach. he is really the embarresment of the side. Maybe Joel Santana can do the team talk. I would rather not understand than listen to the sh@# PDV speaks.
jason6/29/2009 10:21 AM
Schalk was a chop and Botha forgot to thing but they have been punished correctly but what amazes me is that O'Driscoll got away scott free for his ''butch james'' no arms shoulder tackle on danie roussouw and Sheridans clear punch to Bekkers balles, where is the consistency in the citing.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:21 AM
While we getting rid of Scalk (this time he went to far) cant we get rid of our 'Helium aka ag sh@# man' coach. he is really the embarresment of the side. Maybe Joel Santana can do the team talk. I would rather not understand than listen to the sh@# PDV speaks.
Richard6/29/2009 10:15 AM
Can someone please explain why the following players were NOT cited: 1) Sheridan for punching in the knacks (and denying it all immediately afterwards) 2) Brian O'Driscoll for his illegal challenge which took out Danie Russouw
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:11 AM
interesting to read all the emotional opinions. the fact is that non of the B&I lions got sited. O'Driscall challenged the boks, just after SB went to rest after a high impact 34 sec game, to "bring it on". the boks responded and they could not take the heat. all the B&I Lions supporters wanted a red card as this would be the only way they could master a win. the problems started with the wrong selection. SB is the only forward in world rugby that drive into the defence with his ass first, he wat useless, Pienaar is not a flyhalf and should be the understudy for scrumhalf. Morney and Jacques should be ab automatic selection. Brussouw is outstanding as we all know, did more in 18 min than the other two flankers in the rest of the game. and on PdV, he has one of the best rugby talent available that ever played the game is SA. we should have wone these two tests each with at least 20 points.
Powerman6/29/2009 10:10 AM
After reading all the above I can safely deduce that Schalk Burger is a chop of note, he should not be allowed to represent the Springboks again.
Russ6/29/2009 10:10 AM
Coach Twakkie to blame. He should ease players back from injury off the bench, like the Super 14 coaches do. Schalk hasn't played for months, what did he think would happen. Schalk is pampered, and out of form, and all and sundry still bow to his past achievements. Players should be there on form, just like the black mechanis Januarie (Ididn't know he was a mechanic, maybe his pat-time job now). Twakkie still persists with his pets - Adi instead of the ace scoring machine and solid defence of Jaque Fourie. Frans Steyn needs some fullback lessons from Stefan if he's staying 15.
Anton6/29/2009 10:07 AM
Firstly - to the morons who say they are going to watch old springbok games from before the professional era where things like this didn't happen. You must be kidding. The game is much cleaner now than before, really, come on. Go watch a game before you make such stupid comments. Now what happened to Bakkies seems unfair, especially in the context of none of the lions players being cited. As for Schalk, I am a huge fan, always have been and always will be. What he did on Saturday was wrong, and he has been punished now. Let him serve his punishment and give the guy a break. He made a mistake. No one was ever going to loose an eye, I've seen these type of incidents many a time and never even seen a player come off injured for it, let alone loose an eye; what people don't understand is that it's about niggling and irritating your opponents to win a mental battle. People don't see what goes on in the middle of rucks and mauls, but I promise you, if you've been there you know, its not clean at all, from anyone. Schalk has put his body on the line for SA rugby, and players and people involved in the game from around the world will all tell you how good he has been. It's easy to support the guy when he's player of the year, I have no problem with the suspension, but is it really this hard to show empathy when a guy is down and makes a mistake? The way some of you talk about him, no sympathy or regard. He made a mistake in the heat of the game, and I am certain meant no serious harm. You are the animals.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:07 AM
big Afrikaans box, A-hole, in individual points tally -13 cost his team 13 points how much more can the team take DV u toet grow some balls.
Al6/29/2009 10:06 AM
Anonymous User who stresses that HE played rugby and that is why eye gouging is ok: you dumb twit, we did not play for a mine or the local municipality like you did. We are talking professional rugby here. Burger lies right underneath the line judge's face and he rubs the ointment in. Thats ok with me, but what medal does he receive for it when it goes unnoticed? And does he do it because he likes it or for his team? Maybe for his team. Yes, he must be a team man like you were.
Riette McKenzie 6/29/2009 10:05 AM
It is a disgrace that a captain of the national team, can make himself guilty of such an act. Did he think he was going to get away with it, there are cameras, or are they to "stupid" to know that. Don't point fingers to what the other team did, point fingers to yourself, you are wearing the GREEN AND GOLD have you no pride. Maybe these BOYTJIES must get fined for their bad behavour and not get paid for bad performances, maybe then they will wake up. In the old days the men played rugby for the love of the game not for the millions they made. THEY WERE TRUE HEROS not these wanna bees of today, they are just in it for the money, not because they are proud ambasadors for their Country. Riette McKenzie MEYERTON
Anonymous User6/29/2009 10:04 AM
Can we assume from De Villiers' comments (Burger's offence didnt warrant a card) that he wont complain when every side playing the Boks from now on, tries to gouge their eyes?
Rudolph6/29/2009 10:04 AM
The LIONS played dirty the whole game and tried to enrage the boks throughout the game. This is part of their tactics and they thought they can win the game this way. Yes, Schalk did wrong, but tipically of SA supporter, only supporting the players when it suits them. I wander how many of the people who want to down Schalk, cheered for him during world cup last year. Wake up , its not chess its rugby
RH6/29/2009 10:02 AM
A real pity, I played many years ago and what SB did was pretty much the norm then. The game has changed and they are professional players now, the amount of cameras, replays etc dont allow for this kind of dirty play and surely the players know this, why do it, must be an absolute no brainer. We have the talent to win matches and dont need to resort to this type of behaviour, as for bakkies, I may be wrong but I dont see to much in it, he does need to cool down as there are other ways to intimidate opposition, just play better than them.
Anton6/29/2009 10:00 AM
Firstly - to the morons who say they are going to watch old springbok games from before the professional era where things like this didn't happen. You must be kidding. The game is much cleaner now than before, really, come on. Go watch a game before you make such stupid comments. Now what happened to Bakkies seems unfair, especially in the context of none of the lions players being cited. As for Schalk, I am a huge fan, always have been and always will be. What he did on Saturday was wrong, and he has been punished now. Let him serve his punishment and give the guy a break. He made a mistake. No one was ever going to loose an eye, I've seen these type of incidents many a time and never even seen a player come off injured for it, let alone loose an eye; what people don't understand is that it's about niggling and irritating your opponents to win a mental battle. People don't see what goes on in the middle of rucks and mauls, but I promise you, if you've been there you know, its not clean at all, from anyone. Schalk has put his body on the line for SA rugby, and players and people involved in the game from around the world will all tell you how good he has been. It's easy to support the guy when he's player of the year, I have no problem with the suspension, but is it really this hard to show empathy when a guy is down and makes a mistake? The way some of you talk about him, no sympathy or regard. He made a mistake in the heat of the game, and I am certain meant no serious harm. You are the animals.
Stryder6/29/2009 9:57 AM
What Schal;k did is a disgrace. What kind of example doe she set. ANd just because everyone else does it is no excuse.
D @ P6/29/2009 9:56 AM
I attended the match at Loftus on Saturday and only saw the incident on the big screen, but not very clear. My personal opinion is that Schalk WAS a game breaker. The key word is WAS. Given the fact that he has a standard 4 5 penalty give away per match, but be careful if you bash him. Look back at his 50 tests; he did enormous work for SA. I agree Saturday’s incident was not on. He deserves the ban. And at the moment Brussouw deserves the spot in the team. He is brilliant, everything swung around once him and Steyn got onto the pitch. Well done Morne. You were superb and I hope you start on Saturday. Concerning Bakkies, he is my Bok hero. And since when has this become a ballerina game? Bakkies do what you do; at least nobody screws with a springbok if you are in the vicinity.
Al6/29/2009 9:55 AM
Same old same old. How thick are these skulls? And of the coaches we keep on reinforcing their behaviour.
André6/29/2009 9:50 AM
Yes,Ja ! Fortunately the Boks have depth in loose forwards. Komaan mense van die Noorde, you guys say nothing or very little about your "Gentle Giant" Bakkies. I`ve expected him to receive a red card in the Super 14 final already! Look at his foul play against the SHARKS and throughout the Super 14. He remains a BIG BULLY!.
Al6/29/2009 9:50 AM
Same old same old. How thick are these skulls? And of the coaches we keep on reinforcing their behaviour.
Andrew6/29/2009 9:49 AM
I have noticed an odd thing, 99% of the bloggers here are in agreement!! Schalk may have been IRb player of the year in '04 that doesn't give him any automatic rights to be picked, Brussouw was superb and much like Schalk WAS when he burst onto the scene!! If he attempted that off of a rugby field he would have serious sh#t, I can only imagine what is going on where the camera CAN'T see, SCARY !! Sorry Scalla, your time may be running out, 32 seconds into your 50th match, you behaved like a schoolboy rugby player and that is unacceptable !!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:49 AM
Tip of the day: Don't comment on a player's intelligence if you can't spell or structure a sentence. The joke is on you.
Birdman6/29/2009 9:48 AM
What a way to end your rugby carreer - this is all that SB will be remembered for. He will never play for the Boks again.
bloubul6/29/2009 9:47 AM
Schalk needs a rest. Brussouw is magnificent at moment. Schalk only made 3 tackles in his given 62 minutes. Schalk is a legend but at the moment you can not ignore young Heinrich who made 3 turnovers in first 10 minutes he was on field. No one in his league. Just because Lions are soft does it mean Bakkies may not play....quite shocking that he is banned for clearing ruck..standard rugby ...Adam Jones take some cement pills and harden the f up
Maarten6/29/2009 9:45 AM
Eish. Hey guys we WON be glad. SB is in the most predictable player in any team. You know what he is going to do if he gets the ball - but then he is from WP and his father is a ex-bok so that explains his inclusion. You do things like he did when you start realising that you can't keep up with the guys anymore... As for Bakkies. He is a Enforcer. With his bahaviour he distracts the opposition. And he plays hard. This is rugby not Touch-rugby. Ruan had a off day but last week he was very good so why people are now commenting about his form I don't understand. And the couch's plan worked 100% this week. Why doesn't anyone congrat. him on this. Yes the first 40 mins was pathetic but we had no fetcher. But I believe this was the plan. Play hard, keep the score low and in the last 20 we do it.
Bugsie6/29/2009 9:45 AM
Schalk is such an idiot. He should be banned for life. He doesn't deserve his place in the team. The opposition must rub their hands with glee when he gets included in the squad because they always know that he is good for at least 9 points. This last match, he cost us 13. Pdv, get rid of him and put Brussouw in permanently. He deserves to be there!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:44 AM
After his injury a few years ago, Schalk has not played the same rugby. He should be retired and give Brussow a chance. As for Bakkies, he is also always in trouble, and giving us a bad name. Unfortunately the high tackles made by the Lions. were not noticed by the vigilant linesmen. As for PDV give him his gold watch and find a proper couch
dje6/29/2009 9:43 AM
PDV should keep his stupid comments for himself, Burger stupidity nearly cost us the test. PDV is busy destroying out rugby. Luckily for him he inherited a top class unit from JW and the players deserve all the credit.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:42 AM
burger was found guilty of incorrectly using the mauriceaus technique for delivering a breech babys head.he is not suppose to use this on the rugby field.it is perfectly legal in the delivery room !
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:42 AM
This banning is the best thing that could have happened. Burger is way passed his sell by date! He costs the Boks at least 6 points per test and no longer makes a positive contribution. Now there will be no excuse for not plaing Brussow
Hannes6/29/2009 9:41 AM
Even though Schalk did a stupid thing, it doesn't mean his a weak player, his still very good in defense. The BIL is just "sissies" if they think Bakkies played dirty, he is just tougher than any of their players! Bengy has it spot on... What about hitting someone in the balls, taking Fourie's legs out in the jump, all the high tackles, why do everyone think it is only SA who is playing dirty????
THEO6/29/2009 9:41 AM
It gives me the sh!^$ to read most of these comments. I still say the the lions are a far better team than the boks will ever be, because they never had the ref on their side. Last week he kept them out of the game for 60 minutes by blowing everytime they touched the ball and theis week he just left the boks to play the man and not the ball. Schalk and Bakkies are by far the dirtiest players in world rugby and the day someone break their necks will be the best thing to happen to them, because they don't feel anything for others. Even the stupid "over-ripe banana" Habana tried to jump on the band wagon as trying to play dirty. Anybody can score if their is an open tri-line in front of you, so you are not good at all. To the coach Div, you inherit a world class team and you did nothing to better them, it just shows another stupid puppit in the corrupt SA RUGBY organization and team.
Gareth6/29/2009 9:40 AM
Schalk replaced by Brussouw, M Steyn at flyhalf, Pienaar at fullback, F Steyn and Fourie at centre (the WC combination), de Villiers and Jacobs out, and Dick Muir as coach.
Houston6/29/2009 9:39 AM
Schalk was lukcy not to get more, but I cant belive they hit bakkkies with 2 weeks, what about Lions hooker that then cleared Bakkies out? Probably due to the Lions injury that he got cited - poor decision really. I wish someone would clean out PdV - he is an embarassment and makes us look like idiots to rest of the world. Anyway, let's give these Lions a huge klap this Saturday.
@ Thandile6/29/2009 9:38 AM
Grow a brain please! How can you compare Skalk to Watson! What a chop!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:37 AM
Get rid of this guy, his no good for our team.
Bernard6/29/2009 9:36 AM
That is just it - when you play Schalk you have to accept the fact that he is going to warm the sin bin for 10min.
Wynand Loots6/29/2009 9:36 AM
When is South African rugby going to stand up against this nonsense. Why weren't any of the Lions players cited. Their lock made 5 High tackles. One of their players slap a Springbok in the face while they were lying on the ground. O'Driscoll charged Danie Rossouw without usin any arms. At the rucks the Lions came in from the side without being penilised. They go off their feet without once being penelised. They fall over to kill the ball. I can actualy carry on. The fact is they get away with everything while our players get cited and penelised. I thinh the fact is that other teams are to scared to face a full strenght Springbok side. They try to get us in every other way because they can not do it in the field. Please stand up for our players
PS6/29/2009 9:35 AM
Schalk has played long enough now to know the rules. And with TV-cameras around you, it was a stupid thing to do.
Captain6/29/2009 9:34 AM
If I was Div I would firstly shave off my 'snor' and secondly I would have replaced SB in the 11th min of the match, any player that does that deserves to be shamed. He ruined his milestone 50th test and he almost cost us the game. i think maybe it is time for new blood in that position. Schalk you fight like girl, make space for a real man.
Syd6/29/2009 9:32 AM
How many yellow cards have Schalk and Bakkies collected for SA ?. Another brain cripple not far of the 2 B's above, is the third B - Bismark du Plessis. Running a penalty in the 25 when you are behind with Steyn on the field. I ask you with tears in my eyes. What an outcry if Steyn missed the final minute penalty !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:29 AM
Guys, its clear non of you have played at this level. let me tell you everybody does what Schalk has done.... the old Deep Heat under you fingernails trick must be rubbed off into some ones face ASAP... trust me. i have been there. unfortunate he was caught becuase he is still very good! fortunately we have a good replacement in Heinrich. Bakkies must watch his agression.... to me he has done more harm than Schalk. we want to compete against a full strength Lions team.... not true? Bakkie's victim is out for weeks. Schalks not even for a minute! get the point!
DG NORTIER6/29/2009 9:28 AM
Tough luck for those complaining about Schalla. Quite sure he is ashamed of himself and accepts his punishment. Punching in the testicles as mentioned by Theo just goes by... One of South Africa's player's head were nearly ripped of in a tackle it just goes by... The disciplinary system is ridiculousy inconsistent when applied. Players should be treated equally... it is not happening and therfor the disciplinary system fails...
Molefe6/29/2009 9:27 AM
Burger was lucky to only get 8 weeks! But I mean come on! How can they ban Bakkies? I will show you at least 15 other forwards do exactly the same thing Bakkies did! Jones is trying to seal off the ball and Bakkies clears him off the ball, from a totally legal position! Yes he is enthusiastic! But if the Ninny of a referee did his job, nobody would get into a position where Jones was! I think the ref was a wimp! If he had any bottle we would have lost this test because we would have been playing with 14 men! What gets my goat is that NONE of the Lions got cited! Again with the one sided nonsense! On the other hand Darren, if they did get cited who would be left to play in the final test? 7 of them off to hospital? Did they think they where here to play chess? Rugby is a game for men Souties!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:26 AM
I agree with Schalks ban, Bakkies was a nothing thing. But what about O'Driscoll so called tackle on Roussow just about decapitated the poor oke. No citing nothing = BS. And what about Sheridan's sucker punch on Bekkers, again nothing. But who cares they wanted to play rough against the might of south africa and came out second best. Third game we will bury them, knowing there is no more pressure on it.
Fred6/29/2009 9:25 AM
Schalk maybe a good individual player , but he is has no idea of team play, he is an embarrassment to South Africa and good sportmanship. This sort of play belonged to the last century!!
JOHAN6/29/2009 9:24 AM
AG ASB, NOU IS SCHALK KWANSUIS SO LIABILITY VIR DIE BOKKE !!! ONS PRAAT VAN 'N VOORMALIGE SPELER VAN DIE JAAR, ONS PRAAT VAN 'N WERELDBEKERWENNER. AG WORD GROOT, JULLE ALMAL WIL NOU VIR SCHALK SO SLEG MAAK MAAR NET VERLEDE WEEK WAS ALMAL SO BLY HY IS TERUG IN DIE SPAN ?? TIPIES VAN ONS ONDERSTEUNERS. NEE DIS REG, SKOP DIE MAN TERWYL HY LE. SCHALK IS EN BLY WERELDKLAS, EN NEE WAT HY GEDOEN HET WAS BESLIS NIE REG NIE, HY VERDIEN SY SKORSING MAAR ASB OM DIE MAN SO TE KRUISIG OOK NIE NODIG NIE.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:24 AM
maybe it is a provincial thing, most of the eyeguaging is from the south, hard men no lambs from the north
wiledog6/29/2009 9:24 AM
just a thought.... what about all the high tackles & dirty tactics by the B&I Lions? the touch judge at one point recommended a RED CARD for high a tackle... and what about their swinging fists? what, no citings after the fact? i'm not surprised... French ref and all....
Coby6/29/2009 9:20 AM
Enough is enough. Ban him and Bakkies permanently from the boks, and problem is solved. The history of both theses two players stink. Get rid of the cancer.
Delan6/29/2009 9:18 AM
The same people who shouted "Hossana to the Son of David", are the same people who shouted Crucify him !!!!!!!!!!. isnt it amaizing that in life the very same people who sing you praises will be the first to throw stones at you when your weaker side begins to show.TAKE HEART SCHALK son its typical Human Nature.
morris6/29/2009 9:18 AM
Ek is nie 'n schalk "fan' nie MAAR Schalk het sy rug na die Leeu gehad - hoe op aarde doen kon hy dit dan blindelings moedswillig gedoen het? Ek dink hy was ongelukkig on so 'n lang skorsing te kry. Maar ek stem saam dat hy ons te veel punte en strafskoope kos. En ons weet almal dat hy meer besig lyk as wat hy werklik is.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:18 AM
I think that Schalks position in the Boks must be assessed weighing his brilliant play against all the yellow cards, penalties and disripute he brings to the game. I think the one negates the other. Mike
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:18 AM
The idiot Schalk Burger should have been banned for life!! He is a liability to the team, but since PDV has NO clue about rugby, he is simply too dumb to see it. Still holding on to Jake White's legacy, but too ignorant to know when to make a change.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:17 AM
Maybe you guys should try playing the game... Then you'll understand...
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:16 AM
Schalk don't bother to come , Brussow for President , good game on Sat.
nigel6/29/2009 9:16 AM
The bolks were absolutely nowhere for the first 40 min, Burger deserved what he got & is far too expesive when it comes to penalties. Bakkies Botha is playing stupid rugby, his discipline is atrocious & he is quite simply a distraction & an embarrasement. I can't say that I was proud of the boks, winning is important, but not at the expence of ruining our interantional image. We need to learn to win ......& play well. The 2nd 40 was much better, after the negative players were off, we played well, but cant help thinking that our improved performace was healped by the deliberate injuries that bakkies Botha inflicted on the Lions forward row. As far as our coach is concerned, fire him!!!!!!!
Coby6/29/2009 9:16 AM
Enough is enough. Ban him and Bakkies permanently from the boks, and problem is solved. The history of both theses two players stink. Get rid of the cancer.
Badbones6/29/2009 9:15 AM
Bakkies for President ........ Bakkies would never go in so hard ..... Not Bakkies ..... Never Bakkies ....... Go In HARD BAKKIES!!!!!! ...... this is Internation Rugby .....NOT Ballad ....... it is supposed to be hard ..... come on !!!!!!!! ....... If you don't like it ..... change the channel ..... all you "Num-nuts" comment on .... o why so hard? .... O he shouldn't have ..... watch something else ........ sissies !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thandile6/29/2009 9:13 AM
What Schalk done was nothing worse to South African rugby than what Puke Watson did. He was only thinking about himself, and not about Rugby or the country. There are better players than him around, so I think he must retire now and leave Rugby for the real men.
J D Cox6/29/2009 9:10 AM
A few years ago you got 2 years for biting, is attempting to blind someone not worst than that, I think that an 8 week ban is far to littel
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:08 AM
I agree - he should have been banned for longer!! He was good in 2004 when he won the IRB player of the year award... that was then... time to hang up those boots and give the new (on-form) guys a chance.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 9:08 AM
TO ANONYMOUS USER 8:35 - Without his support staff (Muir and Gold) PDV would be in serious trouble. That is evident from his decisions to choose Schalk over Brussow and persist with Jacobs above Fourie. Everyone could see he was making a mistake. Only after these two players came on the field, did the boks have momentum. How could a whole nation (not neccesarily rugby experts) predict what would happen, but PDV just blatantly ignored the facts? He is a useless coach who was put there to be the "face" of transformation. He is nothing more than a puppet who needs legends like Muir to assist him. It would be greta to see what happens when PDV's ego outgrows him (and it IS going to happen) and he petitions to get rid of Muir. Man its going to be greta to see what PDV can do on his own. Never has there been a coach who's support staff was more highly rated than he was. Go the Boks support staff. If only PDV could be more like Paul (the seven's coach) then he would find much more support and respect.
Graham6/29/2009 9:08 AM
I am not prepared to comment on Schalk's ban as I have not seen the action frame by frame which I am sure the Citing Officer did. However, with regards to Bakkies' ban I think that it is ridiculous because then every one of the forwards, including the Lions, should be cited as clearing out is part of the game and this is all he was doing.
fielies6/29/2009 9:07 AM
Come guys we must support our team what Schalk did was unethical but what spurred him to do that go and look at the loose scrum what happened before the eye contact. Tthen comment. Schalk got what he deserved.
Delan6/29/2009 9:06 AM
The same people who shouted "Hossana to to the son of David", they are the same people who shouted Crucify!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! him. isn't it amaizing in life the very same people who sing you praises will be the first to throw stones on you when your weaker side begins to show.
Albert6/29/2009 9:02 AM
Schalk Burger is a liability. He is guaranteed to give away at least 6 points per game. Additionally the team has got to be able to play with 14 men for 10 minutes every game. Schalk doesn't know what an 80 minute game feels like. How can you get so worked up in 30 seconds that you play with so much aggression. Burger is plainly a born dirty player, we don't need him. Fortunately we won't have this wlaking libaility for 8 weeks.
Paul6/29/2009 9:01 AM
At last it is shown that Schalk should not be a Springbok. He does more harm than good and is taking up the place of other rugby players which deserve a place in the Springboks.
dean6/29/2009 9:00 AM
well done , he deserves this ban , what a chop , he also gave away a vital penalty , he looked like he was lined up in the lions backline , i am a burger fan but his sell by date has expired , let brussow start , we need a great little fetcher to combat george smith and richie mcaw in the tri nations.... bakkies , a bit harsh what about attempted punches from the lions ,and a punch in the privates from Sheridan..... be fair with your sightings.... as for pdv you are useless , you rely soley on the talent of the players... if it was not for the forced changes we would have lost . pdv you are so arrogant , just because a player ( brussow and morne steyn ) where not in your original plans , you didnt want to play them and they were the guys who saved the series .. put that in your pocket and bank it ,
Ross6/29/2009 8:59 AM
I agree with the suspension of schalk, not entirely with the two week ban on Bakkies. However i stand to be corrected the No 17 of the lions was dirtier than any of the bokke, i think he was the one who hit Andries Bekker in the crown jewels. Anyways it was good game and the bokke were very lucky to win, but well done boys lets end this good tour on a winning note and make it 3-0.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:59 AM
Now Div took his car to the "black mechanic" (January) - and he f@#** it up. Then he took it to the "white mechanic" (Schalk) - who also f@#** it up. Wonder where he will take it now? He will probably say that if a black player were sited - that it was racist. He is an embarasment for SA - but everyone that matters is to scared to come out and say it - for they to will be branded as racist.
Dean A6/29/2009 8:59 AM
Yes - Bakkies was cleaning out, but he was way to aggressive! He's a repeat offender and he dislocated the guy's shoulder! Come on people! Only has himself to blame! What would you all be saying if the Beast was injured like that by aggressive Lions cleaning out! As for Skalk - not the sharpest tool in the shed... I reckon the 8 weeks will be good for him
Jan6/29/2009 8:58 AM
Theres no bigger fool than a fool to stupid to know he is a stupid fool. So don't be too harse on Peter de Villiers -- he can't help it -- pity him. He truely believes that he is clever and the main kingpin. I do wonder if money and benefits is not perhaps playing a role in certain selection and actions -- must be.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:58 AM
Schalk you should be suspended for the rest of your natural rugby playing career. I D 10 T..Bring on Heinrich B or even Puke Watson
Edmund6/29/2009 8:57 AM
What the hell is wrong with him ?! You can't do that when playing at that level - (or don't get caught) I just hope he doesn't get paid for the eight weeks!! The Refs are gonna mark him now - and send him off everytime. We can't afford to play 14 players all the time. Put him on the bench anyway!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:57 AM
Both Bakkie's and Schalk derserve what they got, in fact both players should be banned for life. Botha has been sighted and banned in the super 14 games and is always always involve some otther scirmish on the field, he's filthy player and is definatley not the type roll model we need for our youngsters. It's very embarssing to have watch our springbok players constantly being sighted for some or other reason, mainly because of bad sportmanship.
Sammy6/29/2009 8:54 AM
Guys why do you chose to be so negative, mean and ugly in most of your comments? That's not necessary fellow South African. What are we doin to ourselves? Where the positivity? Remember same choice becomes a habit.
Hein Pretoria6/29/2009 8:53 AM
Edward - an Irish international player, who was picked for the B&IL got 12 weeks, so lucky Schalk Burger.
CTheB6/29/2009 8:53 AM
I agree that Schalk got at least part of what he deserved and perhaps a life ban for repeat offences is in order, though it seems that for now the powers that be don't see it that way. What I'd like to know is what is being done to punish the deliberate dangerous tackles perpetrated by the Lions players that the ref more or less ignored during the game. How is it that SA players are punished for their deliberate dangerous play, but the Lions players are simply allowed to get away with it? Or is punishment still coming to them?
Saarah6/29/2009 8:53 AM
He should have gotten 5 years. Two weeks ago a club rugby player of Young Peoples in the Western Province rugby union received my 5 yrs for the same offence........... How unfair can we be more!!!!!!
keith6/29/2009 8:52 AM
Should have been banned for life...we all know rugby isn't physically "clean", there's allot of punching and stomping going on but you have to draw the line at eye gauging and biting - that's just plain "siff"!
Herman6/29/2009 8:52 AM
IF Bakkies is guilty, so should every second person arriving at a ruck be. Can we expect to see similar "Citings" in the next games? He did what he is trained to do, as does every forward in the rugby playing world. IF SA rugby do not appeal to this, they surely do not protect their players at all. As always, I don't expect them to.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:51 AM
None of the Lions were cited because they lost and it would seem like sour grapes. Did the player who SB supposedly gouged lose an eye? Was there even a mark visible? But carry on like someone died.....
az6/29/2009 8:51 AM
Why only 8 weeks. Out of form liabilities result in the other members of the team having to put in extra effort. Did Schalk perhaps earn his place in the team with a papsak donated to Twakkie.
az6/29/2009 8:50 AM
Why only 8 weeks. Out of form liabilities result in the other members of the team having to put in extra effort. Did Schalk perhaps earn his place in the team with a papsak donated to Twakkie.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:48 AM
Burger shoul spend 3 months in jail for that!
Theo6/29/2009 8:47 AM
Bakkies suspension is B-U-L-L-S-H-I-T. Eye gouging is out "Geech", so is punching to the testicles, but I suppose "Geech" doesn't care because most of his "players" don't have any
Renier6/29/2009 8:46 AM
I was late for the game on Saturday, but when I arrived and I saw the yellow card, my first question was, "who was sent off... Schalk... what did he do now?". When that sort of response comes spontaneously, the question needs to be asked: "Does a player like that belong in the Springbok team?". The burden of his foul play is starting to weigh more than the contribution of the good rugby he plays. For that, methinks, Schalk Burger should be left out of the team for the rest of the season; or for a sufficient time, until he has learned how to play a clean game.
Yusuf6/29/2009 8:45 AM
DISGUSTING!!! Burger is crap anyway, conceded to much penalties and plays to wild without thinking, Brussouw is a much better player anyway. A blessing in disguise.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:43 AM
Schalk....you are the weakest link!
Claude6/29/2009 8:40 AM
I think the suspension are fair. If you wanna play that way you must take responsibility. MY BIGGEST PROBLEM is, why arent any of the LIONS CITED. Come on. They had some dirty players as well.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:39 AM
only eight weeks???? at least we will have some games in the tri nations without him. He never deserved to be there anyway. Prooovince
Pierre6/29/2009 8:39 AM
Bakkies and other forwards must watch the BINDING Rule when diving into the maul or ruck. The need to clear out the opposition is a given. But, when the man is tied in and not involved with the ball and is facing his side; Bakkies regularly aims at the kidney area. He must also watch for running through and dragging two opposition away from the point of breakdown. He walks back with hands in the air. Scrummies must just pass him the ball. 1 penalty = 1 goal. An easy War of Attrition.
Loosies6/29/2009 8:39 AM
Juan Smith did had a game he would rather forget as well, Sies does not seem aggresive enough on the field. Surely there must be space for Kankowski.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:35 AM
It doesnt matter what you few idiots with internet access have to say about Peter De Villiers. He is doing an outstanding job.He does not have to make "intelligent" speeches.All he needs to do is winning matches...The coach of 12 years ago couldnt do what PdV has just done...Thousands of South Africans support PdV ,so to hell with you...Get use to the Boks breaking records under De Villers ,its not over yet...Well done ,Peter De Villiers and the Springboks...Keep up the good work
chris f6/29/2009 8:35 AM
BAKKIES IS KONING.... Keep up the hard work , clearly legal clearing of the players and ball. also the lions were trying there best to provoke him and he just smiled at them.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:31 AM
Schalk, as a WP and Springbok supporter I am ashamed and embarrassed by your conduct on the field. You deserve the ban! I totally disagree with the ban on Bakkies, in every match you watch these days players are charging in and 'clearing' out players preventing the ball from coming out. Until the rules change this has become the way we play. Brussow deserves his place, by far the best fetcher and Morne in a class way ahead of Ruan at the moment. I would rather see de Waal on the bench before Ruan.
WillemK6/29/2009 8:28 AM
I think the people have spoken! No place for this sort of play in rugby. Forums are amazing and you can quickly see the mood of a nation. Schalk is out of form and Brussouw rocks! Morne Steyn MUST start all tests until another player plays consistantly better than him - only fair. Jacques Fourie is better at the moment that Adi -sorry bud. Then there is the list of repeat offenders in SA rugby that must change their ways - Burger, JP Nel, Bismark and Bakkies! Last though - has anybody seen the Lion's player that punched one of our guys in the nuts?? To me that is almost worse than eye couching - ask any man!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:26 AM
Its not the players fault, it’s the f*cking dumb idiot of a coach that select players that are not on form.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:20 AM
Schalk (past it) Burger - life bans must be imposed for repeat offences - he is giving himself - his fathers legacy and South Africa a bad bad name. Racist PdV bordering on insane suggesting that the incident is part of the game Time for a shake up starting with the coach
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:19 AM
I DO NOT AGREE WITH THIS!!!! HE shoudl be banned for life!!!! Now I am a huge Burger fan and always said , if he is fit he should play, but what he did on Saterday is WAY out of line and something that makes me sick every time I see it! We all know why thinsg like this are done, to intimidate the oposition, but if you have to do it in this way and don't think you can do it anymore via hard tackles and clever play then you are over the hill. Pity as he could have been one of the greats! He is big, strong and have everything going for him, why he always have to do S..t like this and tackly high etc is beyond me! Thank Goodness we wont have him now for a few matches!
Chris6/29/2009 8:19 AM
Wees danbaar ons is tenminste vir 8 weke va Burger ontslae. DANKIE TOG.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:18 AM
Schalk has become a liability and does not deserve to play for the springboks. But I know why he always plays, "It is his birth right" Shame to the person who introduced him to the "holy and competent springboks" Hahahahaha
chez6/29/2009 8:14 AM
ooh you guys are so fikkle; like a bunch of school girls. Had Schalk scored a try you would be singing his praises, now you act like he was always the devil and you have now been proved right. It really is just a game you know! I'm a Schalk fan and always will be, even though he was very doff on Saturday and deserves the ban
Frosty6/29/2009 8:11 AM
Burger a disgrace, Bakkies well unlucky but then the "sightings" have gone all green. What about the punches from the reds and the "Spear Tackle" by man of the match Simon Shaw. Hell was the game that one sided. I dont think so!
Niel6/29/2009 8:07 AM
Did we expect anything else, surely the rugby public should stop being surprised by the idiotic comments after the game. After being statistically the best in his position during the S14 for the past 2 years, taming the lions 3 games in a row, Pieter the thick headed idiot still does not know that Brussow is a legend. Soon Deon Stegman will “mature”, wondering how long the idiot will take to recognise that Brussow / Stegman are 2 players that will and can if given the change one another world cup for us. Ps. Thank you Brussow, Steyn and Fourie, I hope everyone will remember who the true Springbok hero’s where.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:07 AM
Schalk is a great legend from yesteryear. Put him out to pasture at Newlands and let Brussow step into the breach. He is more than capable.
Hannes Visser6/29/2009 8:04 AM
Thanks to Schalk, Bakkies and the rest of the Boks? playing thugby I will no longer watch rugby union in South Africa. I don't want to remember this kind Springbok foolishness. I would rather buy DVDs of the pre-professional Boks and watch that on Saturdays! Bring on 2010!
adrian6/29/2009 8:04 AM
SB suspension fully deserved. Lucky to get away with such lenient sentence. No place in rugby for what he did. Bakkies suspension questionable. If you look at the incident he was just cleaning out player (in the ruck) that was leaning over the ruck preventing the ball coming out. The lions hooker does the same thing to Bakkies seconds after. This type of incident happens at every ruck/maul. Do you only get suspended if someone gets hurt??? And i hope our coach was misquoted/misunderstood in reports that eye gouging is part of the game.
Philip Bacchus6/29/2009 8:04 AM
The problem started with an inept coach who picks out of form players like Schalk Burger, Ruan Pienaar and Adi Jacobs. Burger is an absolute embarrasment - 5 yellow cards in tests and counting. He made 3 tackles in the first half. It's time the IRB considered a life ban for repeat offenders. Bakkies probably a bit unlucky but must also clean up his game.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:01 AM
Schalk deserves it, he is the kuckest flank in world rugby, id rather have Demas at flank than Burger, or even play with 14 men, anything but burger
Anonymous User6/29/2009 8:00 AM
I wonder if PDIV thinks we are all racists for agreeing with the bans and saying schalk should be banned for longer? I think schalk should eye gouge PDIV and bakkies can then shoulder charge him.
Bill 6/29/2009 7:58 AM
I agree with the eight week ban on Schalk Burger. When will our players learn to play clean. I have been a big fan of Burger for many years but his behaviour on Saturday was an embarrassment!
marc6/29/2009 7:56 AM
at Anonymous User... after 50 testes... there is a difference between testes and tests, numbnuts!
JayBee6/29/2009 7:55 AM
Get rid of the dirty players in SA rugby. Bakkies is one, and Bismarck is on the edge of costing his team dearly.
Grant 6/29/2009 7:54 AM
SB You are a real disappointment. No, a real disgrace. Grow up !
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:53 AM
What kind of coach and role model says Burger's actions didn't serve a yellow?? Pdivvy has lost whatever respect I had for him, let's find someone with ethics, morals and ability.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:53 AM
Drop him from the team as he will cost you matches
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:52 AM
Burger deserves his suspension. It is not the first time that Botha has gone into a loose scrum the way he did. They both need to be ashamed of the bad example they set for the thousands of youngsters who watch rugby and idolise their Springbok heros.
Oom Koosie6/29/2009 7:51 AM
As a WP person I guess we at least need to be consistent. SB is no less of a thug than JP NEl. HE should #$%^#$% off too.
PeterB6/29/2009 7:51 AM
Agree with SB's suspension. Really not clever! But eight weeks? The Irish Flanker who was selected for the BIL was suspended for six weeks - why the inconsistency? Regarding Bakkies, this is pure victimization. He clearly entered the ruck thro the gate and was cleaning out. Now we hear that Rogers is complaining about punching and gouging! The reason BOD and Jenkins had to leave the field was that they both went for a HIGH TACKLE on Habs and he went under them. They collided -justice I say!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:49 AM
SB is simply a brainless boer,this guy is costing SA dearly in test matches,the guy has no real talent apart from throwing himself in with no regard for life and limb,the guy put's his brain in a bucket to go on the field and collects later when the match is finished.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:40 AM
SB can't have any complaints - he was very lucky not to get a (deserved) red and the eight weeks could have been much longer. Bakkies is a bit unfortunate - rucks are targets to be hit and cleaned out and it happens in most games (a big hit)
Bengy6/29/2009 7:38 AM
How was Bakkies Botha's clean out at the ruck any different to the one he did at the Rugby World Cup in 2007? In that instance he cleaned out Simon Shaw and wasn't cited...... Where was the citing of O'Gara for taking out Fourie's leg in the air? Sheridan's citing for punching Bekker in the nuts? O'Driscoll's citing for a no arm tackle on Danie Rossouw? and O'Gara's citing for trying to be be a speed bump to Jacques Fourie's try?
Frank6/29/2009 7:34 AM
He should be banned for 8 months...and take PDV with him ! Schalk Burger is more of a liabillity than an asset to any team. How PDV can still insist on keeping his best players on the bench for 3/4 of the game is beyond me , any coach will realise that Brussouw at the moment is the best fetcher in SA and you cannot win without the kicking abillities of Morne Steyn. What did Ruan Pienaar do that earned him a place ahead of Steyn? The same for Burger ahead of Brussouw ? Please PDV, do SA rugby a favour and resign.
Mach10006/29/2009 7:28 AM
Maybe loosing Burger for 8 weeks is a blessing. Sorry Schalk, but the game turned in our favour the minute that Brüssow came on.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:27 AM
Both players deserve their suspension for dirty/illegal play. Historically these two have caused unnecessary penalties against opposition sides for dirty and illegal play. Brussouw is a better choice at this stage anyway, and Bekker can fill the place of Botha with minimal upset
Louras6/29/2009 7:26 AM
SB is an idiot. These kind of behaviour can be expected from an U/16 player. Ban him for longer. Heinrich says thank you.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:25 AM
Justice...Burger let his team down and himself...after 50 testes one expected more
Anonymous User6/29/2009 7:20 AM
...a talented rugby player, but what an idiot... Schalk always seems to embarress us all, when we really need him
dvd6/29/2009 7:20 AM
I agree with burger but bakkies what a joke he was cleaning out
Rianus6/29/2009 7:11 AM
Suspended for eight weeks! - what a joke; should have been eight months. WWF is the only place he would be comfortable in.
JJ6/29/2009 7:11 AM
And rightly so... I use to be a huge fan but after what happened on Saturday... He is a disgrace to SA rugby!!!! I hope that is the last we see of him- we have a good enough man in Heinrich to step up and take over from Schalla!!
Antony6/29/2009 7:11 AM
This could be a blessing is disguise for SA rugby
Dean A6/29/2009 7:09 AM
Fair's fair... Evidence pretty clear. Not clever Skalk!
YAY6/29/2009 7:09 AM
Welll deserved - he is pathetic!!
Sean6/29/2009 7:06 AM
Quite possibly the stupidest rugby player on the planet.
Johan6/29/2009 7:05 AM
To suspend Burger I can understand but not Bakkies Botha he cleaned out the man laying over the ball ans preventing from come out. But once again the ***hole Pommie have too cheet.
chris6/29/2009 7:03 AM
boks are better off.with out .penalty freek burger
Burgiesburnin6/29/2009 6:55 AM
If this had been off the pitch he would have got 18 months jail
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:54 AM
why in the word did the lions not get any sightings, there was clearly punches thrown by the replacement prop????????????
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:52 AM
You got what you deserved, no played should do such a silly thing at rhis level of rugby. Just wich we could find a replacement for Bakkies as well. Go
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:51 AM
This idiot should never be allowed to play again.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:50 AM
Burger is a little w**** and should be ashamed of himself!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:48 AM
Ban Schalk for life - we do not need him, Schalk PLEASE, PLEASE go, join Luke "Puke" Watson. It's time!!!
Nick6/29/2009 6:47 AM
Now I wonder how many of the Lions players are going to get suspended for their dangerous tackles? Most of which the ref simply ignored or only gave a penalty for...
Anonymous User6/29/2009 6:45 AM
The Springboks have to pull up their socks if they wnat to win the Tri-Nations. Peter de Villiers is the worst coach every and have to be replaced. He also made racist remarks which is unaccounted for.
Edward6/29/2009 6:39 AM
If you cant take the heat stay out of the kitchen. What schalk did wasnt right but 8 weeks even bakkies 2 weeks somewhere something is wrong!
Andre Kapp6/29/2009 6:39 AM
What will it take for Schalk to understand that such play is costing SA dear in points. Get a grip on yourself and play the ball. We need 15 men on the turf, not 14 and a penalty against us!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

SA rugby provincial teams I dislike ... 9/3/2010 11:23:35 AM

No Future Without the Youth 9/3/2010 11:18:42 AM

Screw Letterdash 9/3/2010 11:13:55 AM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.