Lions in SA

Boks win epic Test

2009-06-27 16:05
Email | Print
Yes the flags go up (AP)

Pretoria - Replacement flyhalf Morne Steyn landed a 55-metre penalty in the last minute to give South Africa a 28-25 second Test victory over the British and Irish Lions on Saturday and an unassailable 2-0 series lead.

The nerve wrecking physical contest will go down as one of the greatest in the Lions' illustrious history and the Springboks will celebrate long and hard after adding their scalps to the 2007 World Cup triumph.

The Lions deservedly led 18-9 after an hour but the world champions fought back superbly to level the match at 25-all with three minutes to go. Morne, who helped the Bulls win the Super 14 title on the same Loftus Versfeld pitch a month ago, completed the job with the decisive kick from inside his own half.

The game got off to an explosive start when flanker Schalk Burger was sin-binned in the first minute for a gouge at the face of Lions wing Luke Fitzgerald and was lucky to escape a red card.

The incident set the tone for a ferocious match which was played at a pace and level of aggression several steps up from last week's relatively civilised opener.

The Lions in particular were far more purposeful in everything they did in the first half and had much the better of the furiously contested breakdown.

Stephen Jones was on target with a penalty after three minutes and then delivered a lovely back-of-the-hand pass to Rob Kearney for the opening try.

The Springboks hit back with a try by JP Pietersen after a sharp pass by Fourie du Preez but it was a rare attack by the world champions.

The Lions' scrum, with three changes from last week, was much more solid and lock Simon Shaw delivered a colossal performance.

Another Jones' penalty and a drop goal had the Lions 16-5 ahead and looking in control, though Francois Steyn reduced that with a penalty from inside his own half just before halftime.

The second half maintained the high-octane atmosphere as the tackles and off-the-ball hits continued and South Africa missed their chance to close when Ruan Pienaar sent two penalty attempts wide.

Injuries to both Lions starting props meant the introduction of uncontested scrums for the final half hour and the game turned scrappy with an influx of replacements and the relentless battering took its toll on both sides.

Jones then landed a penalty from wide to stretch the lead to 19-8 but the hosts it back when Bryan Habana exploded from the back of a scrum to score his side's second try after 63 minutes.

Morne converted and then landed a penalty to bring the home side within a point, only for Jones to edge it back to four.

The thin air of Pretoria appeared to take its toll on the Lions, who were flagging in the last quarter as the Springboks piled on the pressure.

It paid off six minutes from time when Jaque Fourie scrambled over in the corner and, after an age, the TV match official ruled the score fair.

Morne converted but Jones then landed a nerveless penalty from the touchline to make it 25-all with three minutes remaining.

The first drawn test in a series since 1974 looked on the cards until replacement flyhalf Ronan O'Gara was penalised for taking out du Preez in the air.

Morne nailed the kick to give the Springboks long-awaited revenge for their 2-1 series defeat 12 years ago. The final match will be played at Coca Cola Park in Johannesburg next Saturday.

Score:

South Africa: Tries: JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Jaque Fourie; Conversions: Morne Steyn (2); Penalties: Francois Steyn, M. Steyn (2);

British and Irish Lions: Try: Rob Kearney; Conversion: Stephen Jones; Penalties: Jones (5); Drop goal: Jones

Yellow card: Schalk Burger (South Africa)

Man of the Match: Simon Shaw

Your Comments

Alan6/29/2009 3:51 PM
I am an Irish lad and I just want to say what an awesome match. One of the best games I have had the pleasure of watching. The intensity sometimes gets the better of players a la Schalk and O' Driscoll. The Boks were superb, gave a real lesson in taking chances. As said it was a fantastic game and well done Boks. I fear for the us in the last match though without O' Driscoll and Roberts. Congrats!!
Rob G6/29/2009 3:40 PM
Well done SA. I am English and enjoyed both Tests immensely. First half of second test was the best Rugby I have seen in years. Second half we just stopped playing Rugby. Burger should apologise like a Man for that gouge though and De Villiers comment was ridiculous. Not sure a Red card would have been good as 15 V 14 would have spoiled the spectacle. The two SA Wingers tries where just fantastic. I wish we had seen more of the Back row of both teams. Looking forward to the Third test big time. PS Can we borrow a Loosehead and a Tighthead as we are running out of forwards :-) Rob G
Truth ?6/29/2009 2:14 PM
@Steph. Well done in terms of your apology. You took the bait and your apology compensated for your emotional outburst. The Brits make the statement regarding the Boer war just to evoke a reaction from us. I appreciate that this is a rugby column but would suggest you read a bit more about the war. Remember:-there is the Boer side and the Brit side and then the truth is somewhere in the middle.
Steph @ Lionsfan6/29/2009 10:05 AM
I do apologise for my tirade, as it is a touchy subject for some of us.(boer war) We all love rugby, and there will always be a love, hate relationship between Brits and Saffers. But that does not excuse my tirade so I apologise for reacting in anger. The Lions put up a good fight and that we have to give them. Good luck for the 3rd test.
Steph -"Anonymous User 6/27/2009 7:25 PM @Lionsfan6/29/2009 8:18 AM
We don't hate you because we lost the boer war, we hate you because your leaders fed ground up glass in meat to thousands of boer woman and children causing them to die in horrible agony. And 75 000 boers needed just under 500 000 Brits to beat them, so I don't know if I would boast to loudly about winning a boer war when the English were being outsmarted by boys starting at the age of 12 and not to mention that these very young boers were better horsemen and shots than the Brits. Go study your History on that war, not the version written by the Brits who tried to make the war look like it was them saving Africa. Go read the real version then come back and spread your uninformed crap. Get a life, go home you caused enough trouble in Africa. You are just sour because you lost at Rugby. Go home and focus on playing the game and a lot less crying.
Piet6/28/2009 7:39 PM
A truly great test match and one that will be remembered for some time to come. I felt at the end that 25-25 would have been a fair score, but then again as a Bok supporter I enjoyed the win. This series is as tough as any you will get and if anything it has shown that PdV is not fit to be the Bok coach and truky out of his depth. It is easy to pick a squad built on the great legacy of genius before you, but to manage the squad, picks teams, strategising, etc. requires somebody with experience and a deep knowledge of the game. What a great squad (incredible depth) we have at the moment. Pity that politics dictates that we cannot have a great coach as well. Well done Morne! A pressure kick not only to win the game but also take the series...fantastic!!
Ettienne6/28/2009 6:49 PM
@Rob the Englishmen Dear sir, i believe you are correct a lot has been said on this blog that was based on emotion and unfortunately does make for bad writing. My wife is still a bit upset with you but she will get over it. I really do hope that the 3rd and final test is a closely fought affair with a lot more of the spirit of rugby rather than what we witnessed yesterday.
Anonymous User6/28/2009 5:24 PM
Come on the lions crying about it? Can you imagine if the roles were reversed? Say if a lion had eye gouged a bok and wasnt sent off, had charged high ending up with a dislocated shoulder for a bok, a bok with a broken cheekbone, can you imagine what would be said here about the lions? Id say it would be pretty nasty. Dirty cheating lions etc. Both sides were guilty of some high tackles on each other, but as far as i could see none of them were so dangerous as to warrent more than a talking to, correct me if im wrong here and point to the tackle please. Also i have seen a lot of people complaining about the officials, did they not keep burger on the pitch? Then your coach saying he saw nothing wrong with what burger did. If the lions coach said that he would be crucified. The ref wasnt perfect but he wasnt that bad either. He gave the penalty at the end against o gara, which i think was a pen, but was not that dangerous either, just plain stupid. It was a hard game of rugby, both teams played well and deserve credit for a very exciting game. The lions saying that things could have easily gone the other way is not making excuses as its true. It should really have been a draw to set up the 3rd test, which is now basically meaningless. Its pretty obvious that a lot here dont like the b & I lions at all, fair enough, but surely they are not that bad. They came over and were involved in exiting and good rugby just like it should be. I think that no matter what the lions did or said, they could never satisfy some on this board, its just not possible. You have your minds made up. I think that a lot of you were just waiting for the lions to be hit with a big score so you could write the usual the lions are hopeless blah blah and are therefore shocked that the game was so close. The game at test level is tough and everyone who competes should be respected not dismissed as rubbish when clearly they are not. I also think that the boks should have been allowed to play in the provincial games to add excitement and maybe crowds to the event and try to embarass the lions with defeats in the warm ups to the test. Overall, both tests were good games, especially the second one, which was a classic imo. It takes two to tango and both teams put themselves on the line yesterday, so congrats to both teams for the entertainment. The lions came up just short, but we are proud of the effort, especially when they were not given much hope on arrival by some. I think they exceeded expectations and put on a good show.
Warren6/28/2009 4:38 PM
Hey guys I know that tensions run high after games like that with talk of the shit Schalk did, but the guy was facing the wrong way it was a stupid challenge not an assult as what happened in other parts of the game. The game was close and both teams played well, but don't come talking of bad ref or punches we all saw the game - think the guys who watch the game without being too full of bias could see the bokke have come away from the tag of being one diamensional thugs and the Lions where quick to reginite fights as in the earlier tours. And to Rob the Englishman in SA, I'm currently in London and I think our press back in SA are a bit less full of bitterness than your boys, and remember cheer up you didn't really think the Lions would win...And where the hell did you guys get the name Lions??
Mark6/28/2009 3:20 PM
Great game. All these insults been slung around. My respect for Schalk has diminished somewhat. It was a stupid and unfair thing to do. But the lions came into their own too after numerous high tackles that were as blatant as schalks eye treatment. Players were tackling each other so hard they were being knocked senseless etc. But the way I see it both sides were in each others faces! I thought the ref could have clamped down harder on the high taclkes and John Smit could have kept the boks more dissciplined. The way the Lions shout foul though is a joke. None of their players were cited for sometimes blatant and deliberate dangerous tackles. And to the Anon comment about S.A. and stealing - sometimes its like your mind - its lost not stolen! What a prick!
Mare Iridium6/28/2009 3:03 PM
Congratulations to the Boks - you were fantastic. It is ridiculous that John Smit has the additional pressure of speaking on behalf of our ever-incomprehensible and clueless coach but thank goodness he saved some of our blushes at the press conference. Please send PDV on a Communications/PR course before inflicting him on the local and international media again - my German Shepard can be available for the next test at Coca Cola park, she certainly could'nt do a worse job.
Rob the Englishman in Joburg6/28/2009 2:27 PM
To Ettienne and many others writing here with a lot of emotion. Yesterday was yesterday. Today is another day. I have re-read in the sober light of day this entire blog plus all the others over the last 2 weeks concerning the Lions tour. I wish all writers could show more decency and respect to the opposition or at least write with enthusiasm (which is great) but without winding eah other up. This includes me. Whilst the vast majority of my remarks were written simply giving support and enouragement to my Lions team, having re-read I admit that I made 1 remark that I can now see was read and taken as being inflammatory. This was not my intention but I make you a committed promise to try to be more thoughtful in how I word my comments in future. I am not making an excuse but perhaps as an explanation you might appreciate that my reading of the constant pre-match boasting about how the Boks would be giving the Lions a "hiding" and post-match reading some comments that the Lions WERE given a hiding and "Lions go home" and so on I certainly found unnecessary and inflammatory. I would be grateful if ALL of us who write on these blogs can each try to be more thoughtful and less teasing and infammatory, whilst of course maintaining their passion and support for their team. Having got that part off my chest... 1. Congratulations once again to the Boks who showed a great determination and spirit to achieve their win. 2. Congratulations to all the Boks supporters who are amongst the most passionate and loyal supporters in the world as well as being very knowledgeable about the game, the players, and the coaches. I will be sat with you guys supporting the Boks vs the NZ and Aussies. 3. Congratulations to the Lions for putting up such a battle as clear under-dogs against the mighty Boks. 4. Congratulations to the Lions fans who deserve everyone's respect especially for the fact that they travel around the globe to support their team as they never play "at home". One final thought for you all just for fun so that the 3rd Test can be at least a bit interesting. Shall we pretend its a 1 match series and that we are 2/3 of the way through the "match" with the combined score currently being Boks 54-46 Lions with the last 1/3 (being the 80 minutes at Ellis Park) to play. I wonder whether the Lions have a chance of coming back in the final "1/3" or whether the "hiding" will continue? Any thoughts on this? (constructive please!!!) I wish all of you a happy remainder of the weekend. See you at Ellis Park! Rob
LionsFan6/28/2009 1:49 PM
Wow, that would be a great idea. A team made up of the best of SA, NZ, AUS and ARG versus the lions. That would be some southern hemisphere team alrite. Having a team with such talent and getting it to gel and become a team can be tough (if i believe what the lions coaches say) but potentially a very strong team. I can tell by the comments that rugby is taken VERY seriously in SA and its always a nice feeling when the national team does so well. My father recently visited SA for a holiday and said the people were really great so im not going to pay much attention to the sniper bloggers who seem to hate the lions for making excuses about the refs etc. Nobody i know likes to hear excuses either. I just heard an interview with the lions capt, o'connell and in it he says the lions didnt play as they would have liked in the second half, that sounds fair enough to me. He also said the injuries to both props and centres didnt help the lions, which is also fair enough. Personally i dont think that is making excuses, just answering a question and expressing an opinion. But i can see how it could be viewed the other way too. So good luck in the tri nations, maybe these test matches will setup the the SA team nicely for that. That match yesterday was tough and great to watch. If the tri nations and super14 can match that test for drama and tension then they must be very exciting too.
Norbert6/28/2009 1:43 PM
My Bok starting lineup for Ellis Park (Coca Cola Park) Saturday: Front row: John Smith, Bismark Du Plessis and the Beast Locks: Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha Loose: Heindrich Brussouw, Dewald Potgieter / Danie Roussouw and Spies Backline: Fourie Du Preez, Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier, Jacque Fourie, Brian Habana, JP Pietersen and Zane Kirchner Comments?????
Anonymous User6/28/2009 1:31 PM
"Anonymous User 6/27/2009 7:25 PM @Lionsfan, they hate us British because they lost the Angloboer war." Lets rather talk rugby boet, the death of innocent women and children is not something to make a joke about. Nobody hates you, we are just very competitive and passionate about our rugby, which is also true for you guys judging from your comments. I think both teams played well giving the poor decisions from the refs to both sides.
Mkhwenyane6/28/2009 1:01 PM
Hey O'Gara - karma is a funny thing. Your bad sportsmanship beat us in 04, but the same cost your team yesterday (yes I believe shoulder charging a man in the air is bad sportsmanship - rugby should be played hard but clean). Anyway a win is a win is a win. Go bokke!!!!!!
riaan6/28/2009 12:46 PM
@Rugby lover: Can't you get the message? We only show this attitude towards you Poms, because in this whole world there is not another nation with so many big-headed,misrable sour loosers than you poms. As we can be quite hostpitable towards others, you should by now have figured it out. We don't like you, so go home and stay there.
robin6/28/2009 11:50 AM
yes our rand is not strong,yes we hav political problems but in london so many mp's hav been cited for corruption like south africa,and what hurts the british is we killed them in the last minute,which the failed to do last week,their front row tried being strong but they soon left the field after figuring out that S.A is tough not trying to be tough like the british,yes our coach is kak but with that said we keep winning......the reason we hate the british is because they think they are that good which we know they arent....after next week 3-0 series win will vindicate that we gave them a hiding with little resistance,all this with a not so good number 10,13 or 15 so to thr british keep up the good work but we know how to win
Anonymous User6/28/2009 11:44 AM
Well done Boks. For everyone who says this win has anything to do with Adi or Div, go whatch soccer becuase maybe you know more about that thne Rugby. The players played for the BOK and the COUNTRY, nothing to do with respect for the Couch! All I can say is THANK YOU JAKE WHITE becuase he build this team and THANK YOU John Smith becuase he is holding them together! And for that matter holding Div together having to save him at the post match interview after yet another stupid bunch of comments!!! Once agin WELL done Bokke and thank you for a great day!! It was one of teh best events have been at for ages!
Ettienne6/28/2009 11:28 AM
What a nail biting game, after Schalk's incident (everyone is going to mention it and i see he has been unsurprisingly cited) I thought we where going to loose this game, the islanders did what they set out to do, they put a dampener on the Bok fans and rallied their own fans to help them. But we ultimately prevailed and managed to win a hard fought and physical game that we last experienced in the world cup. It was time that we where mangled in the scrums, we have always been proud of that facet of out game and we where given lessons yesterday on how to scrum. Whe where outclassed in many areas of the game yet we still managed to get the win despite our ill discipline. It shows a resoluteness in the Bok team to be the best and it shined through as the winning ingredient. Well played Lions an awesome game to watch, it has indeed been a privilege to beat you and I hope the last game will be as nail biting as the second. I unfortunately will be watching the game on the telly as it seems that only the Lions fans are able to pay that much for a ticket. No wonder it is always a sea of red in the stands.
Ettienne6/28/2009 11:17 AM
Anonymous User6/27/2009 8:35 PM Arrogance and theft along with a sympathetic referee, any other excuses you would like to come up with ? Sorry I forgot crooking, is that even a word ? I wouldn't know I'm an uneducated bully that lives in a backwater country where the B&IL come and play to appease their loyal subjects. An then they loose and we have to simply sit here and take the verbal abuse as well?
Ettienne6/28/2009 11:01 AM
@Rob the Englishman in Joburg6/27/2009 7:32 PM You sir are acting exactly like the bad BOK supporters, except your trying to hide it behind a "superior" attitude. If you do not like the comments being passed then surely no-one is forcing you to read them neither is anyone forcing you to respond and since you only like this country for the girls, (which obviously means there are no quality women in the UK) you are more than welcome to pull you passport from your pocket and leave this awful country. No-one is holding you back in fact we will help you get on your jet plane and leave, because the moment you do you will free up a working spot in this country for someone that was actually born here. Really what are you doing here? Are you running just like the Aussie dude you where chastising? Your comments are hypocritical bud and they are being formed to be hurtful, simply because you lost the game. Have nice cup of sober up and then come back here to post something with substance and integrity, instead of the hate speech.
Aaldert Oosthuizen6/28/2009 10:42 AM
Congratulations to the British & Irish Lions on a game well played. I am a Bok supporter that was seriously concerned by the strength of your team and the passion with which you played. I can honestly say that if you won I would not have been disappointed because it was hard fought and one of the best games I saw you played yet. Morne…….you are a star! I hope Div can now finally see that you can play under pressure…I don’t know why you have to proof this after a great Super 14
moles6/28/2009 10:41 AM
We were lucky to win, and are gonna keep on needing luck with PDV in charge. How we can still play without a fetcher is beyond me. Look at the All Blacks and Aus. Their two great players are Richie Mcaw and George Smith, two fetchers and match winners. But we refuse to play with one. Schalk Burger is definitely not one, and the less said about him after last night the better. At one point we had 29 % possession, and if Danie Rossouw didnt get injured, we still wouldnt have sent on the fetcher. I wish PDV would tell us why he doesnt want to pick Brussouw, what could possibly be the reason? People underestimate the value of turnover ball , both for you and against you. Anyway, rant over. Thanks to all the Lions and Boks fans who support their teams in good spirits, and hopefully overshadow all the nastiness some other fans try to bring into the game.
Norbert6/28/2009 9:38 AM
Anonymous User 6/27/2009 8:35 PM - U see Lions Fan this is what i mean when i talk about the drabble that gets posted here by the pomms, though I will be honest ... i don't think this has been posted by a true B&IL supporter, unless he is an immigrant which will justify his poor form of the language, then again ... most of the Brits I have met, don't seem to have the language skills to communicate amongst themselves either... Never the less, I think that it would be a series worth watching should the powers that be decide to create a Southern Hemisphere team comprised of SA / NZ / Aussie and Argy players and let them take on the B&I Lions. Then again I truly believe that such an outcome would destroy the B&I Lions completely and they would never be the same again. You cannot honestly say that the Northern Hemisphere would even remotely stand a chance ... don't be so naive and believe that the Northern Hemisphere has improved in leaps and bounds .. also don't be fooled by yesterdays score ... remember Pienaar missed 3 Penalties and a conversion and Steyn (F) missed 2 Penalties .. that is 17 points ... the score could have well been 45 - 25. SA (Springboks) are the World Rugby Champions, the World Sevens Rugby Champions and the winners of the B&I Lions series ... Were also the S14 Champions .. thus it seems most of the truly distinguishable titles are in the Southern Hemisphere and belong to the Springboks ...
Hein Pretoria6/28/2009 8:39 AM
Congratulations to BOTH teams for a tense but entertaining afternoon of hard fought rugby. The Schalk Burger indiscretion as well as the Ronan O’Gara one rates on the same scale of stupidity. Fortunately the Boks had time to recover and the B&IL none. To all the SA supporters – you guys never stop to amaze me – I can recall days were Schalk Burger used to be a hero and were hailed for winning games for SA. Now he is rubbish?????? What he did cannot be condoned and he will be penalized for that, I hope, but please don’t shoot him for PdV’s mistakes in team selection. Also I am sure your parents taught you better manners and respect other people’s opinions as well, after all, we are ALL entitled to our own opinions. I feel that we should actually thank the B&IL for a lot of entertainment provided over the past number of weeks and I hope that I will be around in 12 years time to be part of the next tour. Go well B&IL and BOKKE BO!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/28/2009 8:02 AM
The Boks deserved the win. The Ref was utterly poor and allowed the lions to slow down so many balls in the ruck. Now 2ndly. You are an english turd staying in SA, at the mercy of all south africans. Show some respect to the country where you get your milk and butter from. You don't just waltz into another mans country and talk shit about it. Especially when you getting money out of it. And then to comment about your useless comments. Your the only useless prick that's trolling on here. Every one has a right to call all the BIL losers because they look for excuses (just like u) after every lost. Some times they blame the rain, sometimes they blame the game. They aren't worthy of shit, just like u mate, cheers :P
Theo6/28/2009 4:25 AM
3 tries to one. That's telling.
Steph - Bullls Supporter6/28/2009 1:57 AM
at the Anon 8:35 Just to inform you that 3 penalties that was suppose to be against the lions went to them and right infront of the springbok posts. I don''t know what you are bitching about in your very South African slang as from the way you write you live in SA. Just a bit ob advice stop being such a cry baby you SA Poms are so good at the crying game it is disgusting. I however agree the Boks should never have won that test they played patheticly and didn't deserve to win. Hope people take note of the lack of able defense by some players.
Anonymous User6/28/2009 1:35 AM
it is the scoreboard that counts
bokfan6/28/2009 1:16 AM
hey LIONFAN it sounds like you a 3year old little boy whose 1 year old sister just stole his tractor 'HARDIN THE F%$K UP" i lived in uk for 10 yrs loved it but do you know i was viciously beaten up after the 2007 world cup final by 8 england suppoters 8 on 1 MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM... dont see that been fair injurys included cracked skull from been kicked on the ground by 8 puncted lung rupterd spleen ,and 63 stitches SO DONT COME HEAR ON YOUR ALL MIGHTY HIGH HORSE AND COMPLAIN ABOUT VERBAL ABUSE FROM THE SOUTH AFRICANS referees are choosen by IRB NOT THE HOST TEAM SO WE HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THEM , WELL DONE LIONS BETTER LUCK IN 12 YRS TIME
Anon6/28/2009 1:03 AM
Rob the Englishman in Joburg. What a disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!! How disrespectful!OMG!
Anonymous User6/28/2009 12:58 AM
Rob the Englishman in Joburg. What a disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Richard6/28/2009 12:46 AM
LionsFan - ignore the jerks, 99% of South Africans have a totally different attitude. Well done both sides.
Marjorie6/28/2009 12:11 AM
Even the France-All Blacks match at the Millenium Stadium during the World Cup did not result in so many injuries. Gloating and testosterone induced bragging aside, how DID so many Lions go off injured? Huh? And I am not English, I am an American living in Britain who supports Wales/the Lions, but til today I also supported the Boks when they were playing other people. No more. I don't mind cheating--everybody does it--but I can't stand dirty play.
Oom Piet6/28/2009 12:01 AM
Burger, Peinaar en Jacobs - almal bokkak. Ek kan verstaan dat Jacobs in die span MOET wees. Jy is kleurblind as jy dit nie verstaan nie, maar die ander twee. Ag nee, gooi uit
Anonymous User6/27/2009 8:35 PM
Poor Lions couldn't win against the referee.He was the most important player on the South African side.Kill the Springbok for once and all and kill their arrogance.They learnt so well to steal in this country that they even steal the series.Lions still are the best.Come to the UK and we will show you how to win without any crooking.
Rafels6/27/2009 8:20 PM
If Danie Rossouw wasn't injured... Div didn't seem to want to bring Brussouw on. Imagine what would have happened. The gods were kind to Div. I hope he learns... but I fear that he doesn't. Thank goodness the players can still pull it off!
Francois6/27/2009 8:20 PM
@6/27/2009 7:25 PM: So, we hate you 'cos we lost the Boer War ? I thought we were talking rugby you f&$^-knuckle. If you really want to know who hates you for what your so-called Empire did, look at 1 Billion Indians and 1,4 Billion Chinese for starters. We just can't wait to get at you on the rugby field because that my friend, is where we make you squeal like little piggies !!
Rafels6/27/2009 8:18 PM
If Danie Rossouw wasn't injured... Div didn't seem to want to bring Brussouw on. Imagine what would have happened. The gods were kind to Div. I hope he learns... but I fear that he doesn't. Thank goodness the players can still pull it off!
LionsFan6/27/2009 8:08 PM
Well, im from ireland and i havnt heard that many excuses going around. I have no problem saying congrats to the boks, you have a great bunch of players there and well done in winning the test series. At the end of the day nobody has died and it is still a sport. When people give an interview they get asked how the game went and they give and opinion, but honestly i dont hear anyone here making excuses about the game. Personally i think a draw would have been great and fair to both sides who put in a great effort. You say a lot of B&I supporters and players are moaning and making excuses, but i dont see it. I see people saying well done to a strong bok side. At the end of the day, a lot of people on this board were saying the lions were rubbish and were going to be smashed, but that didnt happen. The lions are not rubbish and congrats to the boks. You know what, im not an expert on the differences between southern and northern hemisphere rugby and if you say that southern hemisphere is better running etc and more exciting and a better standard then thats fair enough. But imo opinion the lions played a nice fast paced attacking game. If an alien was somehow watching and was asked to pick out the southern hemisphere team, would he be easily able to from that match?
Bernard Brown6/27/2009 7:57 PM
Jo Burg Rob Yes we do have a sense of humour, and a sense of fairplay, Schalk you deserve not to wear the jersey ever again, an I, with the other SA folk believe what he did is totally unacceptable. Please do not confuse politics with sport, we have enough of that already BUT, we won today, I believe the B& I Lions were magnificent but at the end WE won, selection will always be a debated subject and who is the best another, BUT WE WON, write it in the history book. Done and dusted Yay Bokke
mike6/27/2009 7:42 PM
@LionsFan - when it comes to rugby, we're pretty militant. The Lions haven't endeared themselves to fans here much - complaining a lot (the weather in Cape Town was rubbish -but it was for both sides), etc. The Lions did play well today, but there was lots of niggling (by both sides). Poor reffing also raises the ill-feeling, which may not always be directed at the right people. Northern hemisphere rugby is pretty crap if you like a fast running game - which is what gets played down here. The Lions did win all the tour games, but some of them were very close - esp against lowly opposition. And in the tests, the Lions moments have been when we lose the plot - so it's pretty funny to hear how suddenly the lions looked better, and will crush us. Careers have ended on this tour - Phil Vickery being a big one. That said, that Irish center whose name embarrassingly escapes me is still good - kudos to him. The rest of you? Try again. Bokke!
Norbert6/27/2009 7:37 PM
to LionsFan 6/27/2009 7:04 PM ... The only reason us Bokke and SA supporters become aggressive and unmannered to you English and Mud Island dwellers is when you come onto these postings and post absolute hogwash. You claimed the WC was lost due to the ref, bollocks .. now u claim the B&IL series has been lost due to the ref and a host of other issues as mentioned in my previous post ... When will you ever call a spade a spade and stop being so pedantically spineless ... When our team plays shit, we voice our opinions publicly and vociferously. When our coach and selectors choose the wrong players, we reciprocate with our verbal tirades ... when a player makes a game loosing error or even plays remotely not up to par, we bay for his blood .. we are your truest Rugby supporters and are intensely proud of it ...
Basil Skanetty6/27/2009 7:37 PM
Where does one start... All the Lions supporters who whine that the saffas on these blogs are really mean spirited need to take a long hard look at themselves. Whenever you walk into a pub or bar in the UK that is full of Lions supporters in Jersies, they all boo. Whenever the boks score against them they boo. The same could be said about England Sevens at twickenham a few weeks ago. Anytime a team put points against ENG the whole stadium booed. How the F*&^ is that sportsmanlike. English and British rugby for that matter deserve everything they get as they have no respect for anyone else, period. Onto the game, no offence PdV but that was a quota replacement taking off de Villiers and keeping jacobs on the field. I love Adi from the bottom of my heart but the man was limping and he missed 7 tackles. 7. In an All Blacks team that could be your career, over. Morne, Jacques and Heinrich should have started that game on form. Thats 2 games now where we should have run these pathetic Lions into the ground from the start to the end. Australia ids laughing all the way to the bank as they might walk this TriNations based on our head coach's ineptitude. All these Lions supporters coming and saying that they were awesome and that the Boks were lucky. Yes we were lucky. But luck had no need to be on that field. Pick form and we would have smashed this wannabe's off the field. Players that stood up today for the Lions, = Shaw and Roberts. As for Tom Crofts and andrew Sheridan. Overated and lucky that Bakkies now knows how to hold his temper. Crofts is a prat who thought he could come bounding in from afar and shoot his attitude off. ag shame my boy. I'll be at Heathrow to boo your sorry self when you get off the plane. You are scum. Schalk on the other hand needs a holiday for a while. Stupid, stupid, stupid. JP also needs to shape up and so does Spies. At the end of the day the only reason why the Lions looked good is because we gave them the opportunity to look good. simple as that and any true rugby supporter has to agree with that. Lets hope now that we have won that PdV does not put in Earl Rose for experience. What has Div got to lose by starting a team that 43 million south africans want but he is too knob shined to see....
Anonymous User6/27/2009 7:34 PM
Well done Bokke!!! For any team to come back from a 0-10 down after 10 minutes shows true character in a match of this calibre. First off, Morné, YOU BEAUTY!!! As for Schalk, sorry mate, you're gonna have to serve your punishment! (Offense or not, rusty though, we are going to need him in Tri-nations, maybe as an impact) Heinrich, you rock dude! Can you imagine the score line with this guy on the field for a full 80 minutes! JACQUES FOURIE - How you can start this world class player off the bench, nobody knows? AD must feel he's the luckiest player in the world! (Because he's just plain k*k) Shame on the Lions for not admitting that they were outplayed fair and square! Now that we've polished the Pommies, why not select the following players for the whitewash: Zaine Kirsner at fullback, Frans Steyn instead of Jean - who seems to have an injury?, Fourie instead of "Please Help Me" Jacobs, Start Morne and Brussouw, and I can assure you a 20 point difference thrashing!!! Come on DIV, take a chance!?!
Rob the Englishman in Joburg6/27/2009 7:32 PM
For the benefit of Lions Fan at 7:04 I assure you that not all the South Africans here are full of vitriol. The majority are top people. There are just too many cocky opinionated arrogant pricks and dorks on this blog mate. Most of them have never been out of the country...and they still think they are living in the "good old days" (the dark ages to the rsst of the world). But you have to ignore the idiots cos most South Africans are cool I assure you. Cheers, Rob
LionsFan6/27/2009 7:30 PM
I thought the lions scrum held up very well and in fact when it went to uncontested i was very disappointed as i believe the lions had the edge in the scrum. Habana is so dangerous on the run and his try was pure class. Brussow came on and suddenly picked up a ball at the breakdown, great player. Cant believe he doesnt start more. Its nice to see a few posters actually praising the lions and their play. Day after day of bok will smash these stupid lions and stuff like i cant wait for these idoits to leave etc are baffling. Another thing i dont really understand, pulling out the springboks from the warmup and provincial sides against the lions devaluing those games, maybe resulting in lower crowds and loss of interest. Im sure the teams who face the lions before the tests would like to put out their best sides and win the games just to embarass the lions before the tests. Also the high ticket prices seems a bit crazy to me too. No need to shout, just expressing an opinion, right or wrong
Anonymous User6/27/2009 7:25 PM
@Lionsfan, they hate us British because they lost the Angloboer war.
Rob the Englishman in Joburg6/27/2009 7:22 PM
@ MK (simply a twat) and Mr Pienaar (who made many bizzarre comments that unfairly give South Africans a bad name) and Aussie Guy (who is almost certainly a South Afrian who gave up and ran away from this beautiful but challenging country - but he will deny that cos of his shame of leaving...) Clearly this "argument" is not between rugby supporters of different nations rather it is between educated and civilised people (me and may of the other contributing writers mahy of whom are South Afrian) and a small number of uneducated and uncivilised clowns (i.e. you two idiots). Have a nice life you morons. P.S. that Aussie dollar is worth so much these days...I was at the 3rd Test in Sydney in 2001 when Rod MQueen made his retirement speech and came back to the microphone afterwards to say "I forgot to say that its great to be Australian". Later that night I had a session in town with some big Aussies who I asked what Rod meant by that comment because the Aussie $ was shite, the economy waqs shite, the "sheilas" were shite, only the weather and the sport were good...they initially wanted to kill me ...but then they accepted my argument and we had a few Tooheys and were "friends"...hey Aussie Boy...I am sure nothing has changed!...Ian Botham said the same thing...you have no culture down under...Jesus...bring on the Ashes...ha ha! See you at Ellis Park, Rob
Anonymous User6/27/2009 7:20 PM
Ruan Pienaar is a great player, but he as injured in the super14 and is a bit out of form.The same counts for Jean de Villiers and Schalk Burger. Could someone please explain this to Peter De Villiers.He doesn't seem to understand that there are other players he can choose. Please bring Jake White back. He shaped young players to become the great Springboks we see today. Well done Springboks!!!!!!!!!!! Imagine what we could do with a real coach.................. Sorry Lions , you can moan as much as you like ,but the writing is on the wall.... 2 - 0. You have 12 years to practice rugby and learn to moan less.
Wimpiepie6/27/2009 7:15 PM
AAAAAAAgh LIONS fan....you lost it....do start with your phsycological crap...you have lost the game....PRRRRRRRRT,,,,
Anonymous User6/27/2009 7:13 PM
I am THRILLED that the karmic wheel has finally turned on O'Gara. Remember his unsportmanlike(CHEATING) quick tap against us in Ireland with Honis as ref??? Well well,- I can't think of a better way for him to cry himself to sleep tonight. He single handedly ruined a tour for his mates. Life can be sooo cruel,---WHEN YOU DESERVE IT!! He will always be remembered for bouncing off Jaque Fourie and giving away that penalty to throw the tour away.
Mr Drew6/27/2009 7:11 PM
Well done Boks. I cannot understand why Heinrich Brussow didn't start, for me he is the find of the season, hell he can steal ball, amazing. Schalk will have to take his punishment - I expected better from him and he has let himself and his supporters down. Boks showed amazing spirit to fight their way back into the match. I am looking forward to the tri-nations.
Boerseun6/27/2009 7:11 PM
Nag Nella!!
Boertjie from Beachview6/27/2009 7:10 PM
Great Win Bokke,Pieter de Villiers nothing but a babbling idiot .Please site Schalk Burger and expell him from Bok Rugby -he can stay with WP- they deserve him.."Rob the Englishman " I hope you have learned from your stay in RSA what a Doos is -well you are half a doos -Go back to your cold miserable Island !
Tyron6/27/2009 7:09 PM
the springbok infantry caused the lions blood and pride to be spilled on the turf of sa rugby enforcers.The only relevant red was that left on the field the lack of blue in the stands or green is saru s way of getting rich at the local fans expence.BYE SCHALK or is it AU REVOIR. VIVA BROUSSOU M STEYN and the worlds best JACQUE FOURIE. Shalk u cost us big time.
Anonymous User6/27/2009 7:09 PM
We have the best players in the world. Unfortunately it's complimented by the worst coach. The Lions should stop moaning and eccept they lost against a better team. It's not the substitutions that one the game , but rather the poor initial team choice that almost lost the game.Please De Villiers , let the players who are in form play , and not the ones that played well a couple of years ago. Names don't win games , form does.
papa6/27/2009 7:08 PM
I wacthed the match from EGYPT. Wow what a game. i expected the Bokke to win by 20 but the game reminded me...Test match rugby is nt Super 14 rugby. The intensity the Lions had in the 1st half really caught me off guard. What Schalk did was disgraceful. Heinrich was on A MISSION.at least we have coaches that put faith in players and dont chop and change but have enough sense to have form players that r game changers! i rate Ruan Highly but today Morne was really needed. such depth. we r DESERVED world champions. GO BOKKE!!!
LionsFan6/27/2009 7:04 PM
As a lions supporter i have been interested in seeing how the lions team are viewed in SA and am shocked at the aggression and bad feeling shown towards them on this and other SA boards. I really hope the feelings generally on this board do not represent south africans in general. A lot of you seem unwilling or unable to give credit where credit is due. Personally i thought the lions played a great game, rugby like it should be played. They fought on without both props and both centres in the second half and only for a stupid o gara hit right at the end would have tied the game. In fact, i think the lions overall deserved the win and i believe burger should have probably gone for the eye gouge. But many of the comments here are still boks smashed the crap lions etc. Are you really that mean spirited here? Check out some coverage of the game on british and irish sites and news and you will see a lot of praise for the boks after a great game. In fact i dont think i have heard a bad word said about the boks, but yet on SA boards like this one this is the common thread. Why all the venom? Are your lives not happy? I was thinking that maybe the lions shouldnt bother coming back to a country where all they get is put down, told northern hemisphere rugby is rubbish and so are the lions. Its a very strange attitude and im struggling to understand it. It looks to me like a mixure of ignorance and arrogance, but looking for the outside its just mean spiritness.
Wim6/27/2009 7:00 PM
I totally agree...and now off to wash my jeans....
Rugby Lover!!!6/27/2009 6:54 PM
This mail will be in bouth English and Afrikaans, What a Game and i have to say Schalk Burger is dissapointing and should not be in a Bok Team again, your 50th teast and that i'm sure is the only reason he was choosed before Heinrich Brussouw today and you get a yellow card after 30 seconds, idiot is all i can say. Die Lion's spelers was van die begin af lek geniepsig gewees en so amper ons Bokke se koppe heeltemal van die Game afgehad maar dink daar is hard gepraat deur van die senior spelers en dis toe gelaat staan. yes the first half the Lion's was all over us, our defence was bad and i thought Pierre missed a few easy tackles and was to quiet, amazing but when Jaque Fourie go on the field you alway's get the feeling things can happen, he is aggresive and looks for work, i would like to see him in the starting line up with maybe Wynand Olivier for the last test, might aswell give it ago with Morne Steyn at Flyhalf, Heinrich Brussouw is a must start for sure. Dink nie Steyn op heelagter is so n goeie kombinasie nie, sluit te min by agterlyn aan, Heinrich Brussouw het bewys dat n losvoorspeler nie 2 meter plus hoef te wees nie maar het Deon Stegman nie al in die Super 14 dit bewys nie, kyk daai twee saam sal niemand n bal sien by die afbreek punte nie. Habana is back and you can see that spead and acceleration is back from him, just the first try of the Lion's he went for the interception and not tackled the Man, he maid up with a good try though. Scrums het ons swaar getrek vandag maar kan dit uit sorteer vir volgende naweek. Moet die Bokke krediet gee dit was n obelooflike terug veg poging, dink die Lion's het halftyd gedink hy is in die sakkie.
Tony Ferrino6/27/2009 6:49 PM
Well done SA, showed skill and character the Lions gave it everything but injuries and indiscipline let them down. Great game, one of the best of the decade. Only bit of injustice was Burgers yellow- in my view he lost it and should face a lengthy ban- no excuse for what he did. Lost all respect for him both as a player and a person. Habana just doesnt stop though, such an allrounder.
James6/27/2009 6:41 PM
Hey nice bokke !! we are the best now!! true world champs Just a message for Rob The Englishman ...In Joburg...please stop bitc...n about everything that could of been..., the lions lost 2 - 0...!!! the boks outplayed the lions BOTTOM LINE YOU POM!! GO BOKKE TRUE WORLD CHAMPS!!
Anonymous User6/27/2009 6:34 PM
Well done to the Bokke!!!!!!!!!!
Mk6/27/2009 6:32 PM
for English man living in SA you are an arrogant english what do you now you English?,You are in SA and your comment about the country which welcome you make me sick i'm an frican not South African who leave in England i'm really sick of your comment you are arrogant every where you go think you know everything in football poor Rugby poor,tell me which sport are you the best in? a South African can say we are the best in world rugby what can you say as an English? you suck........leave south AFRICAN AND COME BACK TO YOUR COUNTRY WHERE IT RAIN 24/24 EVEN IN THE SUMMER.
Spitfire6/27/2009 6:28 PM
@ kallie, you bet R100 that your surname starts with a "van der" you box. From a lions supporter, well done boks
DalBoy6/27/2009 6:26 PM
As a Sharks supporter I have been saying all year that Pienaar is NOT a flyhalf. WTF is DV thinking by putting him in as 1st choice flyhalf when Morne Steyn has been playing so well?? Also, another weak link is Adrian Jacobs - played better today, but he's not the best we have. Christ, can you imagine what the Boks would do to the rest of the world if we had a coach with a brain and none of this political BS in rugby? No one would come within 30 points of us.
Jon6/27/2009 6:24 PM
Remember when O Gara took that quick tap against South Africa at Lansdown in 2004? Smit was talking to the players, turned his back and O Gara took a quick tap to score a bogus try. The referee allowed the try to stay (probably felt intimidated by the crowd) and the Bokke lost the game by 7 points... It really is a funny world that you may think that you have pulled one for your side through cheating but it all comes full circle. I really have enjoyed how this tour has crushed the reputations of some truly worthless B&I players i.e. Sheridan, O Gara, Vickery. The Northern Hemisphere will only ever be able to complete at home, with a Northern hemisphere ref and some yellow cards. Watch any Wales, Ireland, England or Scotland match against Southern hemisphere opposition and listen to how they call for yellow cards for anything i.e. good tackling, lineout steals, dummying etc. Great game Smit and the boys!!!. Justice P.s. Rob the Englishman, last time I looked it was your banks and economy was that going to sh@t my friend. And if you want to have a go at our politicians I think it was YOUR MP's that got caught with their hands in the cookie jar....I think someone even claimed a Church donation as an expense! Hahaha ...what an Island of Losers
Kassie6/27/2009 6:22 PM
Pienaar Suig!!! Go Morne!
Anonymous User6/27/2009 6:22 PM
Rob, you tosser, how many Englishmen were on the field! This was never going to be a runaway series win. You have the cream of 4 countries (Well 3, cos Scotland is out of its depth) pitted against one... most South Africans fail to see that. This was a classic test with everything!!! Drama, skill, tries, tough tackling! I would have been only to happy to have seen a draw today; the Lions deserved that & maybe even more. But a champion side is one that wins when the chips are down and things dont always go to plan! This Bok team has learnt to do that, even when the best flanker, center and flyhalf start on the bench!!! I hope PdV realises that a reliable kicker is not negotiable - please play Morne at flyhalf and dont think you can shove him in at inside centre.
Rob the Englishman in Joburg6/27/2009 6:21 PM
Well done to the Boks (that was my point #1 that somehow got deleted...why? "great test match" was point # 2...) sorry for causing any offense to locals about my comments about weak Rand and socio-political problems that we all have to live with daily (it appears you dont agree with me and so I take it you think this country is perfect...well it aint!! we have work to do...but it is a fantastic country..thats why I have chosen to stay here!!) I appreciate the english comments from 2 x Anonymous at 5:55 and 5:59 Both are clearly gentlemen. Each to hos own opinion. But if I see a Bokke supporter in a pub and he tries to tell me he gave my Lions a hiding and that they are useless and/or if he tries to tell me how fantastic they are vs the bnorthern hemisphere teams..then he had better watch out cos I will "mourer" him (my Afrikaans spelling is kak but my boxing is fab...) 2 great tests. Lets all hope that the 3rd test is also a great match and spectacle. See you there! Rob (PS maybe we can discuss solutions to the Rand and socio-political problems togethyer when we see each other...unless you decide you prefer to continue to deny that they exist....ha ha)
Aussie guy6/27/2009 6:17 PM
@Rob the retard from Johannesburg...Pls go back to England with your british mentality..Taking that the boks havent played much together,2 - the lead the boks had in the 1st test (before PDV had a replacement fit) 3 - missed kicks from Pienaar in 2nd test, surely the score gap should have been much bigger..O Gara got penalised for not contesting the ball in the kick..Damn right a penalty, a few harsh calls were made against the boks aswell..Cant wait to see the pathetic excuses again from the BIL coach..WELL DONE BOKS
dp6/27/2009 6:14 PM
great test match. morne steyn was a dream, brussow was incredible, fourie was epic, frenchman are funny, pienaar is a scrumhalf, schalk was an idiot and pdv is lucky and my blood pressure is too high but the smile on my face is huge. thanks boks for another nail biting weekend...
Kallie6/27/2009 6:13 PM
Come on, Rob. What are you talking about. Make up your mind. It was always going to be a hard game. No love lost between these two teams. It was a war of attrition. At least we are not like the English who run a victory lap after losing a test.
Dikdaan6/27/2009 6:13 PM
Why are there players like Jean de Villiers, Schalk Burger and Ruan Pienaar in the Sprinbok team? There are clearly 300% BETTER choices at hand with the likes of Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier, Heirich Brusso and Jacques Fourie!
dan6/27/2009 6:08 PM
rob are you for real? if you havnt realized,the uk is in a deep ression!! and even with the best players of the four home nations they couldnt win!!! we are the best in the world, and if we havnt proved that already by bashing those moaning poms, then we will in the tri nations. enjoy ellis park 3-0!!
Anonymous User6/27/2009 6:07 PM
I cannot believe ur idiotic south africans!! I watched the game and has never seen so much crap playing in my life!!! All that ur boks were out to do was to play the man, and not the beautiful game of rugby. U and ur team should be ashamed of urself of the disgrace ur brought over this game. The B&I Lions were all over u in all fasetts of the game, why the ref give that last penalty, only he will know? U might think that ur that good but let's see ur faces when the get the wooden spoon (again) in the TRI-NATIONS!
Mr Peinaar, of South Africa6/27/2009 6:06 PM
Rob the Englishman in Joburg, im glad that at least you have mixed feelings, but your comments about the k@k rand and the political issues should have been kept to yourself. you in SA why?? Maybe you should just pack jou goede en vy. if you living here, then respect, appreciate. and the fact would be that you would be overjoyed if the Lions were ahead, clearly shines through in your statements. i have to admit they played a good, game but the results count, and yourl got a meorse hiding.
mac6/27/2009 6:05 PM
WELL,well.well. my “ENGLISCH FRIEND ROB” I comment you on your looong comments: the fact is “YOU LOST”; unfortunately you will have to endure the last test match. Never mind the outcome: “YOU LOST THE SERIES …..SEE YOU IN 12 YEARS” CHEERS: MAC
Anonymous User6/27/2009 6:05 PM
well want can you expect of a english supporters(CRY BABIES) stop whining and accept the bokke are the best team at the moment in the world.BOKKEyou did us proud.
Anonymous User6/27/2009 6:00 PM
jacques fourie scored the try. And Rob it is the best players from 4 countries playing against the boks. As soon as english,wales,scottish or irish play on their own they are going to be giving a true hiding! Do you know what a combined southern hemisphere (aus, NZ, RSA,Arg) do to the northern hemisphere teams?
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:59 PM
We were lucky in both tests. South Africa has the players in both Rugby and Cricket but the coaches and management are pathetic. Hell Loftus was the same as playing an away game courtesy of management GREED & STUPIDITY.
jay man6/27/2009 5:56 PM
well done bokke. for all the british supporters that say they were robbed! firstly you lucky the score was so close, only due to the fact that we could not contest in the scrums. secondly we scored 3 tries compared to 1, so you cant say it should be 1 all in the series. we were just unlucky with our kicks otherwise we would have been way ahead. finally we left our great players for the last 20min to help you guys out. morne, rosow and fourie, and besides we also gave scalk a breather on the bench. so the only reason you guys really got close is cause we let you. go bokke
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:55 PM
Mornè is die beste losskakel. Hy moet in die begin span wees. Mooi so Bokke.
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:55 PM
The Lions played very well-I salute them. Schalk should be dropped, what he did was not sporting and a disgrace. Morne should be the flyhalf, he has outplayed Ruan the last few months. Heinrich should be in Schalk's place. I think the boks played fantastic the last 15 minutes
frank6/27/2009 5:53 PM
come on BOKKE I'm so proud of you, Africa is so proud of you, you deserve it poor British & Lion you where lucky in 97 not this time YOU SUCK.................
Marius6/27/2009 5:52 PM
OI hop you Shareks and Srtormers supporters finally admit that your players nearly lost us the game. For next week just add Wynand Olivier as inside centre to the team that finished that fibished the game and we will give the Lions a hiding that will go down in the history books as trhe biggest ever.
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:50 PM
FANTASTIC FINISH BOKKE!!! HIER KOM DIE BOKKE HIER KOM DIE BOKKE NANANANANANANAAAA!!!
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:49 PM
On their respective performances in the last few months Morne deserves his place. I think ruan is a fine player, but not reliable enough as a kicker. Schalk should be dropped- what he did was disgracefull. Heinrich should get his place, with Danie on the bensch as an impact player.
Jan Van Deventer6/27/2009 5:49 PM
This BOK team is brilliant! They have to be to counter the effects of Pieter Arch-Idiot De Villiers. Can you imagine what this team will do under a good (not even great!) coach. Arch-Idiot will not know a good rugby player, even if one smacks him on his snor... Everybody but Arch-Idiot knows that Stick-em-in-the-eye Burger does not come close to Brussow's magic. And how Arch-Idiot can continue with Ruan Pienaar in his starting line-up is beyond belief. Affirmative action is one thing, but to go and appoint a STUPID affirmative action coach is just plain nonsense. Fire the Arch-Idiot!
Flim6/27/2009 5:46 PM
Will someone put Schalk Burger on a high protein diet and lots of oxygen, so he can increase his IQ from 5 to 6.over the next 5 years. ( personal opinion) If you are going to 'bliksem' someone in rugby, do it in the middle of the field, in a very good loose ruck - not 5 mt from the touch judge in the first mintue of the game.He'll be lucky not to be cited but then it may pay the Lions to not cite him and DIV will pick him again so we can play with 14 men again for 10 minutes. As for Ruan - tough mate but such is life. And Adri - mate not that good in the tackle and Jacque is that much more agressive and decisive.!!!! So Brussouw and Steyn for the next test and then a good whitewash is more than likely on the cards. Not definite but more than possible
Al J. Venter6/27/2009 5:46 PM
We were watching in faraway Canada - way north, on the shores of Lake Superior. What an experience! The Boks were a bunch of schoolboys the first half, the ref wasn't up to scratch (evenm if he was fair) and you couldn't miss a sobering determination among the red jerseys. Our guys did make some stupid mistakes though, high tackles predominating. Question for the administrators: what was Morne Steyn doing on the bench for 70 of the 80 minutes? Same with Heinrich Broussouw. Ruan Pienaar deserved that dishonour - he played like an old man. As for the despicable Schalk Burger, he doesn't deserve the green and gold jersey: it's the same with him every time he gets onto the field. He is going to be cited and perhaps they can do us a favour and 'skors' him for a year! You're a candidate for the 'groendakkies' if you try to gouge a man's eyes out in front of the camera with two of the three adjudicating referees looking on... How stupid! Al J. Venter, Sault Saint Marie, Canada
Gerald6/27/2009 5:45 PM
I said it last week after the 1st test and I will say it again now, both O'Connell and McGeechan are sore loosers. In their post match interviews both seem to just complain and make excuses and neither uttered one word of congratulations to the Springboks. I hope the Bokke beat the pants off them next week.
Leonardo6/27/2009 5:44 PM
Hope all the critics has been silence. now the whole world can see that the springboks are coached by the best (Pieter D V) in the world. and for those who still doesn't want to believe it, I feel sorry for you. Congrats coach, You make me proud to call myself South African.
jan6/27/2009 5:44 PM
Van n' WP man... Mooi Morne !!!!
VI6/27/2009 5:43 PM
Why bring on Steyn and Brussouw in so late. Skrik wakker de Villiers The score could have been Bye Schalk!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:42 PM
we are the best
meester6/27/2009 5:42 PM
i don`t want to be racist (white bull supporter) against schalk burger (white stormer), but what an idiot...luckily he will be cited and miss a couple tests paving the way that heinrich brussouw can play!!!!! well done boys, we definitely did not deserve the win, but you showed bmt - something a coach can`t take away from you!!!!
Mr.Z6/27/2009 5:42 PM
Congrats PdV! Well done Adie jacobs. Hope all those ignorant idiots will now eat their words. The boks were rattled after Schalk was sent off, but showed their class to never give up and their faith in their team and their coach. You can't get this kind of a fight back if the players didn't respect their coach as some morons think.
Henk6/27/2009 5:39 PM
Ruan, Schalk... sorry boys... just not enough... Morne, Heinrich... keep the momentum...
Rob the Englishman in Joburg6/27/2009 5:38 PM
1st - What a great Test match. 3rd - Well done to the brilliant British & Irish Lions - you played heroically. As an Englishman living and in love with this country I have mixed emotions. This result means so much to the South African public (who have little else to be happy about - their Rand is worth sh*t and there are plenty of political and social issues - however their chicks are great!) so that is great for them. But as I have tickets for the 3rd test I cant help feeling 1-1 should be the score right now. Its a pity for the Lions that O'Gara missed the tackle on Jacques Fourie which Morne Steyn converted from the touch line (brilliantly) and that the ref also penalised O'Gara for his chase (I am not sure what O'Gara did wrong...??) which gave Steyn the winning penalty. Schalk Burger could easily have been sent off on another day for his horrible eye gouging after 30 seconds. So in summary over 2 tests there are lots of talking points whih might have been in the Lions favour and my opinion is that the Boks are rather fortunate to be 2-0 up and to have won the series already. I remain very proud of the Lions players and performance. To all the Bokke supporters who wrote on this blog that their beloved Boks would give the Lions a "hiding"...well if that is your definition of a "hiding" then your rugby isnt at the high standard that you think and you are going to get found out in the Tri-Nations guys. Finally I want to say to you all that it is clear that the so-called "gap" between the Northern and Southern hemisphere rugby standards is definitely closing. The Southern hemisphere is definitely finally managing to catch up quickly! Ha ha!! Do you Bokke supporters have a sense of humour I wonder? And do you now have more respect and less arrogance? Regardless I look forward to seeing you all at Ellis Park! Rob the Englishman in Joburg
Carmen6/27/2009 5:37 PM
Morne you absolute beauty! That's BMT in the true sense of the word! WE LOVE YOU!!!
Tinus 6/27/2009 5:37 PM
Please get a better ref.They are causing our boks to lose there heads.Please get rid of Schalk Burger!!!!
mac6/27/2009 5:34 PM
I actually cannot believe PdV decision for not bringing MS on much earlier. He should have been in the starting line up.
Bez6/27/2009 5:33 PM
Well done Boks (right at the end). Can anybody tell me - why doesn't our Coaches listen to our opinions? From start of week, everyone mentioned the highveld / sea level issue - and surely as pro's they should consider it, but what are they doing? I feel we must remove them with force....!!!!
Boytjie6/27/2009 5:31 PM
I am sitting in China wit absolute no tv reception and had to follow the core om supersport websaite blow by blow, man it wa nerve racking!!!! Well done bokke ALL 22 of you!
mac6/27/2009 5:30 PM
It was a great win! I cannot belief the comments of the Lions Coach. What a brat. Please admit “what a great win” do not make excuses with non committal responses. Shame on PdV because it caused me nearly a heart attack not bringing on MS earlier.
Wynand6/27/2009 5:29 PM
What a shame that Danie Rossouw had to be injured before Heinrich Brussouw had to get on the field. Schalk Burger was the big disappointment. Pieter de Villiers will get the glory but it was pure luck that the best players were on the field at the end.
Chris Jeddah6/27/2009 5:28 PM
Bokke....You did South Africa proud ! Make it a whitewash ! We support you from all over the world...
Lunga6/27/2009 5:25 PM
I told u that bokke can destroy the lions and eat grass. Bokke bokke
Andy6/27/2009 5:24 PM
Well done, Boks. Why is Schalk Burger part of this team???? He should be dropped permanantly (preferably by Morne!)....and No, I'm NOT racist, I'm actually a white, English-speaking South African.....
siphp6/27/2009 5:23 PM
frans steyn for president!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! morne for vice... jakobs is steeds bokkak!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:16 PM
pieter woke up at last
neville6/27/2009 5:16 PM
I wish someone would tell the English commentators Lions full back Kearney's name is not pronounced Carnie but Kerrney
Adriaan6/27/2009 5:12 PM
Well done BOKS!!! International REF and all.
doodlr6/27/2009 5:11 PM
hi
Anonymous User6/27/2009 5:10 PM
BOKKE
scud6/27/2009 5:10 PM
The Lions focused on Beast too much that cost them..... BOKKEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3-0
Sashasheena6/27/2009 5:09 PM
Well done Bokke!!!! I knew you could do it. Morne, you are the best. If it wasn't for you, we surely would have lost this game. Why is Ruan Pienaar in the Sprinkbok team? He sucks big time!!!!!
Lunga6/27/2009 5:07 PM
Bokke bokke
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide