Junior Boks name starting line-up

2015-06-01 13:12
Hanro Liebenberg (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron has confirmed his starting line-up for their World Rugby Under-20 Championship opening clash on Tuesday against hosts Italy in Calvisano.

Number 8 Hanro Liebenberg will lead out a Junior Springbok match-23 sprinkled with several players who also took part in last year’s event in New Zealand, where they lost by a single point against defending champions England.

Theron stuck mainly to the combinations that earned his team a morale-boosting 2-0 series win over Los Pumitas last month in Argentina.

Sharks prop Thomas du Toit will anchor the scrum and is one of the players that will participate in his second successive tournament, as well as lock Abongile Nonkontwana (Blue Bulls) and Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks). Another survivor from last year, Joseph Dweba (hooker, Free State Cheetahs), will play off the bench.

Theron opted for a strong forward pack while the backline has a settled look.

Warrick Gelant is also returning for his second tournament in a row and the Springbok Sevens international starts in the No 15 jersey. Much is expected of the centre pairing of JT Jackson (Blue Bulls) and Daniel du Plessis (Western Province), in particular.

“This is a well balanced team and the squad is overall in good shape. We have done a lot of mental preparation for this match because Italy will come out fighting all the way,” said coach Theron.

Junior Springbok team to face Italy on Tuesday evening in Calvisano:

15. Warrick Gelant (Blue Bulls)
14. Khanyo Ngcukana (Western Province)
13. Daniel du Plessis (Western Province)
12. JT Jackson (Blue Bulls)
11. Leolin Zas (Western Province)
10. Brandon Thomson (Western Province)
9. Ivan van Zyl (Blue Bulls)
8. Hanro Liebenberg (Blue Bulls, captain)
7. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
6. Rikus Bothma (Western Province)
5. RG Snyman (Blue Bulls)
4. Abongile Nonkontwana (Blue Bulls)
3. Thomas du Toit (Sharks)
2. Jan van der Merwe (Blue Bulls)
1. Ox Nche (Free State Cheetahs)

16. Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs)
17. Njabulo Gumede (Blue Bulls)
18. Frans van Wyk (Western Province)
19. Jason Jenkins (Blue Bulls)
20. Dan du Preez (Sharks)
21. Marco Jansen van Vuren (Golden Lions)
22. Tinus de Beer (Blue Bulls)
23. Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)

Read more on:    dawie theron  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.