Rugby

Jones's suggestion irks Div

2009-04-23 22:45
Email | Print
Div opts for Ruan Pienaar (Gallo)

By Stephen Nell - Die Burger

Cape Town – Ruan Pienaar will be South Africa’s goalkicker in the Test series against the British and Irish Lions.

That was the message on Thursday from Springbok coach Peter de Villiers, who was asked about the idea of bringing Percy Montgomery out of retirement for the looming series.

Former Wallaby coach Eddie Jones told Sport24 this week that South Africa should consider asking Montgomery to come out of retirement.

“I can’t understand how a top rugby brain says that,” De Villiers said in his reaction.

“Why is Naas Botha not playing anymore? There is a time to come and a time to go for everyone. I have too much respect for Percy to pick him.

“I can see when a player’s best days are behind him. I’m not going to break down Percy’s image and have people say he should not have been there.

“Percy has not played badly this year. He is just no longer good enough to take us to the next level.

“I pick Ruan (at flyhalf) because he has so many dimensions to his game. One of his attributes is that he can kick and he is really good at that.”

Pienaar kicked well on South Africa’s end-of-season tour and De Villiers believes that was the result of hard work prior to their departure.

“I trust the people around me. If Ruan’s goalkicking is not good enough I will drop him. He has to do the job. That is what he is paid for!”

De Villiers believes Pienaar’s natural talent will help bring the best out of South Africa’s backline. “Ruan is a gifted rugby player. I view him as the Tiger Woods of rugby,” said De Villiers.

“It’s important for him to have the freedom to express himself. If we show confidence him, I think our outside backs will have a chance of penetrating.”

Your Comments

ST5/14/2009 9:00 AM
Somebody please write a book on this man's cryptic comments. "Ruan is the Tiger Woods of rugby" What ?????? Confucious at its best. Get ready for more cryptic clues as the international season starts. Zapiro are you ready.
DHUMSI5/6/2009 1:54 PM
Pieter DV please make us colouredz and the whole of SA proud. I know you understand the game, and you've got vision that is not appreciated by most people in this country. I stand 100% behind you. Just make sure we've got a solid scrum, smit at hooker and as captain and we will kick some serious butt. The emphasis should also be to play the game in the oppositions half - please convey this to my friend R Pienaar. Thanx for all the entertainment.
Anonymous User5/6/2009 11:53 AM
Ruan may be a gifted rugby player but not a natural born kicker, not enough depth Peter not enough, there are other flyhalfs that can rise to the challenge
skywalker5/5/2009 8:48 PM
OK...so Butch is not available...the Lions are bringing two pairs of 9and10...that of wales and Ireland...we should do the same with fourie and steyn,kockott and pienaar...bring Percy in to tutor pienaar...'cause he was also a kak kicker at first..I do believe ruan can be one of the best but without a 80% place kicker we will lose...
Sa-eed5/3/2009 12:33 PM
to the guy who said morne steyn is made to look good coz of the good players around him. the guy kinda has the most points scored in super 14 at the moment you pie. he tackles hard he's big and his kicking game is better than any SA flyhalf in the super 14. i still say butch should b the SA flyhalf coz he's much more physical and would scare the fart out of any player he runs at but morne is definately my second choice by far. peter grant is good but he has 2 many average games pienaar's running is brilliant and his vision but he hasn't played much this season and he is a bit small to go up against the lions.frans steyn at flyhalf?... uhm no! he's more of an individual on the field and a flyhalf must leads the whole frkn backline which he can't do. we could hav made him into a great fullback though which is now greatly needed for SA. percy an pretorius an willem are to old even though they're good. lets not even talk about earl rose, if Pdv picks rose again then he should fokoff as SA coach. who's left? some pie from the cheetahs? they're bottom of the log nuf said. Butch James and Morne Steyn for SA flyhalf
Waleed4/24/2009 3:42 PM
well done Peter... dismiss Jones's non-sense.. use these tough tests to identify our future players and potential WC players.. dont waste your time with pensioners living on past glory who has max 6months left in his legs to play top flight rugga.... Jones was and will always be a one dimensional coach.. does the basics well though
Tim4/24/2009 1:47 PM
Glen I pitty you. He pushes his ideas that win worldcups. Are you so narrow minded that you cant see that he achieved the highest the sport has to offer? with his so called players that dominate other players because of their size. State facts before you shout your mouth off. Show evidence that the Lions turned him down or for that matter offered him the job? The current coach of the Lions has been there for the previous two tours why would they get rid of him. We will see how well your snor does with his (non) existant game plan and no kicker in the lions series and then we can chat again.
Glen4/24/2009 12:47 PM
All rise for Tim, then why does'nt anyone employ Jake u plonk, not even the Lions wanted him, now he is parading around on Boots & All giving advice....based on his "Mass" theory, bra Jake is a pusher, ask James Dalton
BigAnt4/24/2009 11:46 AM
All of those "Anonymous Users" who dis the coach in these forums are weak and spineless - if you are going to insult the coach of the World Champions with your banal mutterings at least have the guts to state your name or nickname. Until such time your comments should be treated with the contempt they deserve. Where's your sense of National pride?
Ettiene4/24/2009 11:43 AM
Anyone who considers Ruan Pienaar the Tiger Woods of rugby should even be watching the game let alone be the Springbok coach!! Dont get me wrong I think Ruan Pienaar is a talented player but to say he is the best player playing rugby at the moment is not only wrong its just plain stupidity. If I had to pick the 2 or even 3 best teams in rugby he wouldnt even feature in any of those teams. Lets compare according to position: Scrumhalf - Byron Kelleher,Fourie Du Preez, Kockott all better by far Flyhalf - O Gara, Butch, Gitaeu, Carter all better by far And as far as kicking goes I must be the only one watching him kick....If kicking is what he is being picked for then PdV seriously needs to reconsider his selection process.....
Anonymous User4/24/2009 11:08 AM
Well, In my honest opinion, Butch James is the best all round flyhalf we have. He is a better tactical kicker than Pienaar. He is ranked one of the best flyhalfs that has the best defense in the world! When an unstoppable force meets an immovable object...you get Butch James!!! It's as if his bone structure is made out of Tungsten! But Ruan Pienaar still has some coaching needed to fulfill the duties of a consistent no. 10
Marius4/24/2009 10:51 AM
The number of idiotic comments made on this forum this morning are the only things that surpases the moronic statement that PdV made. Anonymous's real name must be Julius Malema. Ruan is a gifted player, but he has only played a handful of games at flyhalf. This year, he has only played 2 games in the Super14 before getting injured.How he can one even consider picking him astounds me. It is not fair to Ruan or his team mates. Against the Lions, who has a very physical backline, you are going to need a flyhalf that is not neccessary full of flair, but is firstly completely injury free, have a solid defence, should be able play a structured kicking game but also knows how to feed his backline on the front foot and the only flyhalf currently in the country that has all of these attributes, is Morne Steyn. First prize will still be Butch James.
Tim4/24/2009 10:33 AM
@Glen Words cannot describe the stupidity of your comment. Jake White is one of the best rugby coaches in the world. His vision won us a world cup you moron. and Anonymous User 4/24/2009 8:26 AM, what has snor done? best coach? you are a racist! and have some balls and post your name gatiep. it amazes me how big some people mouths are on here.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 10:10 AM
To Wallie - with comments like you made you are living up to your name. Who needs a goal kicker when you are playing a series against the Lions - what the hell are you smoking? If you are playing Georgia you can win on tries alone. I have never heard such a stupid comment in my life - are you sure you and PdV aren't related?
Wallie4/24/2009 9:37 AM
Just what if PDV plans comes off and we win the Lions. Are you guys going to say it was due to the senior players. lol I agree he has a speech prob but as far as rugby is concerned I see what his trying to do and if you negative guys can't then watch NFL or something..... Because clearly you still love your one dimensions rugby. PDV plan to be solid upfront for good clean ball so the twinkle toes Pienaar can play in the spaces and put players threw spaces ...... but no the rugby geniuses on this forum wants us to take it straight up into players…. Ask any player who they would hate most to defend against? I’M SURE Pienaar’s name will be top on the list due to him being able to step off both feet and has a lightning burst of speed off the mark…. Who needs a good kicker ( Pienaar’s not a bad kicker) when you can score tries? Yes test rugby is different to S14 and CC but why not implement the same S14 flair into test that’s what makes the AB very good….. Why does SA rugby have to be so dependant on a kicker why not on a great team combination who plays for each other? And I’m not a Shark Fan.
Anonymous4/24/2009 9:34 AM
Pieter De Villiers should go and pick daisies somewhere where he can't waste South Africans time with his dumb decisions and retarded comments. Seriously, how can someone like that ever become an international coach!! I agree that Percy shouldn't be back but come on don't say Ruan is the Tiger Woods of rugby. Butch James started as an awful player and I used to be embarrased to see him run onto the field but he has become a true fly half that knows how to play. Put on Butch and watch him control the game!!
Anonymous User4/24/2009 9:25 AM
Shame, look at the Bulls supporters punting morne steyn, as if he really stands a chance... BMT to Steyn is a lekker sandwich that you eat at the Wimpy. Steyn is made to look good by brilliant players around him.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 9:21 AM
@ Anon 8.10 - that kickandhope of Jones and White brought us a World Cup you idiot. Shows how much you know about rugby.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 9:18 AM
Pieter Div will do good not to listen to Eddie,Jake and the Super Sport Gang.They all want to drag us backwards,all Preachers of the "Swart Gevaar" ideology.That is how they get what they want. The S14 will still prove that the Sharks,the source of all their brilliant potential Boks is an over-rated team and the wheels are coming off big time. Their luck held because of brilliant players like JP Pietersen scoring tries against the play in tight games. Frans Steyn is treated like a rugby god although he does not know the first thing about passing and is a big obstacle to a free flowing game because of the super glue in his hands. Adi have the best hands,link and pass in SA rugby but suddenly he have to make way ,and the same with Conrad. I just pray that Peter will not fooled by the so-called Experts.
Camel Man4/24/2009 9:16 AM
We should make a deal with Div. If we lose the series to the Lions due to kicking, he will resign and be on his way.Deal??
Tim4/24/2009 9:06 AM
@Anonymous User 4/24/2009 8:10 AM You are a moron of note... Div is too arrogant to listen to any advice. Steyn should be the flyhalf. Ruan hasn't played enough rugby this year to warrant being selected. But we all know what will happen. Ruan at ten and fatty at nine putting loads of pressure on him. aka Januarie...
katman4/24/2009 9:05 AM
Thank god we have a coach who has the balls to make his own decisions and stick by them. And of course he's spot-on about Ruan vs Percy. All you muppets kissing Jones' arse here should ask yourselves why he's not an international coach right now. All along we've been lamenting the fact that we don't have our own Larkham or Carter at 10. Div recognises that Pienaar could be just that for the Boks. Supremely gifted with ball in hand and a real knack for reading the game and making split-second decisions. Of course he's the right choice. As a goal kicker he's done well for the Boks. Steyn has been very erratic of late and Grant can only land them from well inside 40m (and seems to be playing second fiddle to De Waal at the Stormers). They're nowhere near Pienaar at this stage. Plus, I reckon we'll see Kockott on the bench. What a handy back-up should Ruan's boot fail. So for the love of god, stop you automatic and incessant bitching about everything Div says or does. It's so tired.
Mark4/24/2009 9:01 AM
We won the world cup with Butch as flyhalf and he is playing even better rugby this seasen - sure Pienaar is a talented player but should be used as a utility back during the Lions tour.Bring butch back!
keith4/24/2009 9:00 AM
Non of the no 10s are up to scratch for the Lions team - P Diddy should rather focus on how the hell the Boks are going to win; The coaching staff are in a worse off position than our no 10s...I believe it will be the (poor/incorrect) team selection and lack of structured game plan that will see us give it away to the Lions.
John4/24/2009 8:57 AM
Pienaar the Tiger Woods of rugby !!!! I think not not Pieter. 1st'ly it's a stupid analogy and 2nd'ly if there were one surely it would be Carter or Gitau ahead of Ruan. Also sending out the message to Pienaar that he's in but if he misses kicks he's out. Is there no end to this man's stupidity?
Louis le Roux4/24/2009 8:57 AM
I'll say it again... Where is Jake White our World Cup winning coach. Seems to me that SARFU drops the good coaches and keep the bad ones. Ridiculous. Someboby please prove me wrong. Would Australia or New Zealand for that matter drop their coach, especially after he won the world cup and the players playing understand and know his methods and have an excelent chance of playing in the next world cup. NO! Now they have to get use to some guy with a squicky voice who compares himself with Jesus. It's just not right!
Snoobab4/24/2009 8:51 AM
It was Jones that first said Pienaar should play at 10 as he reminded him of Stephen Larkham.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:48 AM
He should stick to selling snoek on Kalk Bay harbour...
Glen4/24/2009 8:48 AM
Can't believe some of the comments. Just because PdV does not just hand out caps to past players like Bob "supersport canned my show' Skinstad now suddenly he's wrong? The problem I have with some of you rugby supporters is that u can't embrace change and I really believe that Luke Watson was right. Sure Butch may be playing good as the UK media suggests, but which Southern Hemisphere player is'nt? Ruan is by far the only option we have and what I find baffling is that when Jake was coach he would discredit players and the rugby public never objected i.e Luke Watson...now suddenly out of the blue Morne Steyn is now good enough and yes Jake, Ed and Eddie did try to show PdV that Francois Steyn was a genuine #10 against the Barbarians...what a huge flop, and Francois is justifing that he indeed is a horrible #10 in Ruan's absence. So please be careful when taking advice from Jake or Eddie because one has just been fired at Saracens and the other....well he is trying darn hard to include himself everywhere....pity no one wants to employ Jake.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:46 AM
luister vir snorre man hy is ons coach punt oor en uit en die ou met die swart gevaar comment....come off it
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:46 AM
Down in the Cape, 90% of the public smokes dope, and Div has proved his 1 them. Ruan at flyhalf, Please get real. I'm not saying Ruan won't be a outstanding flyhalf, but the dude has only recently played in that position on an international level. Give him the opportunity to grow and develop in the position. I would go with Peter Grant or even Morne Steyn. But Ruan has proven inconsistency, and it is very self explanatory why he is not performing. Coaches, bosses, mentors are there to put in a structure to ensure that the player will succeed. What Div is doing is setting Ruan up for failure.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:42 AM
Well there is a easy solution, PICK THE BES on form scrumhalf, rory cocket, as he can kick as well. Div is putting all his trust in Pienaar, what happens is he get injured in the first game, what is the back up plan?
deon4/24/2009 8:37 AM
The days of eddie and jake are over!!!! Support our coach and our world champ springbok team! Most of the anti Div comments are from individuals who just can't accept change. Live with it or lump it! Ruan will be flyhalf at the next world cup....the building process starts now!
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:26 AM
You guys are a bunch of racists..just because Div is not white..maybe you should bring back Jake White & Eddie big mouth Jones.Div is a good coach and he is right not picking has beens like Monty.That is taking a step backwards.I salute you Div .You are the best coach SA has had..
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:24 AM
Viljoen you hit the nail on the head. The in form fly half this super 14 has been Morne Steyn hands down. I'm a Sharks supporter but one must be an idiot not to recognise it. I like Ruan but against the LIONS a kicker comes first.
papa4/24/2009 8:24 AM
comments here just goes to show y there should be only ONE coach In trying to defend himself though, Div shouldnt personalise half hearted criticism like this. it would make sense if Eddie is saying such to give a good look and put ALOT of extra time into Ruan's goal kicking then
Dave4/24/2009 8:22 AM
I think PDV is a genius. He is constantly confusing the hell out of the opposition (& locals for that matter) with his cryptic comments! Is there method in his madness?
Grant4/24/2009 8:22 AM
Helium Piet's on a roll again, I think Phil Kearns rated him funnier than the Gerry Seinfeld show. Seriously, we don't have a world class flyhalf in any of our S14 teams, he has a short term problem. Div should be looking at finding a youngster who he can mould into the position and not be running back to the old nem to bail him out, so come the world cup we can seriously compete.
Marius4/24/2009 8:17 AM
Ruan is one of our best,but has been out for some time.To even consider him for flyhalf is stupid and unfair to the player.First,we have the potential in Mornè and Grant,they play flyhalf every game and can kick at goal.If we loose this series again like in'97,it would most probablly be blamed on the lack of kicking abillities in the team.Why try and make a scrumhalf a flyhalf at international level?Why not develop the existing flyhalfs which for some reason aren't good enough??
Anonymous User4/24/2009 8:10 AM
Eddie Jones is blind,same as those who asks for Stefan Terreblanche to be included in the place of Jantjes. I am very greatfull that we will not return to the KickandHope times of Eddie and Jake. That 2 snakes need a foothold and now that the DA took the Cape with "Swart Gevaar" tactics i can see Jake and Eddie worm their way in the same manner.
Mark4/24/2009 8:07 AM
One would think that we would have learnt a lesson from the previous Lions tour here, where we didn't have a recognised goal kicker and subsequently lost the series. Pieter de Villiers - what Eddie Jones has forgotten you are yet to learn. Rather let John Smit be captain and coach, he knows more about the game than you will ever. Pity we can't drop you for the stupid comments you make, the sometimes ridulous selections you made last year and for the dodgy game plans you came up with before the senior guys rectified it.
Manzini4/24/2009 7:57 AM
Good coaches are those who identify potantial and nature it. You have proven yourself Coach from the past series that your success come from your own game tactics and you always showed people that you have your our understanding of the game. As a proud Springboks supporter I will say chose the player you know have potential and make sure they keep on winning, so they can gain all needed exprience before the world cup.
Ali4/24/2009 7:55 AM
Peter de Villiers is a small man, in all regards.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 7:54 AM
Div doesnt like anybody else making suggestions. The difference is hat Jake would take advise,and the results showed. Eddie Jones had a lot to do with our WC success - he is a top rugbt brain.
VLS4/24/2009 7:52 AM
Totally agree with PdV. Percy is a shadow of the player he once was and to suggest that we pick him simply to kick is ridiculous. On that theory then we should surel rather pick somebody like Morne Steyn from the Bulls who also kicks well but has actually played more than 2 Super 14 games like Percy. So-called supporters really annoy me when they mouth off rubbish without thinking.
Navarac4/24/2009 7:49 AM
Butch, Ruan, Francois and Peter have all ruled themselves out as Springbok flyhalves for various reasons. Morné Steyn has got to be the man for the job!
Anonymous User4/24/2009 7:47 AM
Div open your eyes and close your mouth, Butch James is playing some of his best rugby overseas. The British fear him and have great respect for Butch. At the moment he is the best SA Flyhalf. In SA the only other flyhalf thats playing good rugby is Morne Steyn.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 7:45 AM
Div open your eyes and close your mouth, Butch James is playing some of his best rugby overseas. The British fear him and have great respect for Butch. At the moment he is the best SA Flyhalf. In SA the only other flyhalf thats playing good rugby is Morne Steyn.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 7:38 AM
If Ruan is the Tiger Woods of rugby, surely dropping him if his goal kicking is off is a contradiction. Other wise Div, your comments about Percy are spot on. But please be careful not to lead with your jaw.
Thinus Oosthuizen4/24/2009 7:25 AM
Blubbering as oppose to thinking. To drop "the Tiger Woods of rugby" when his goal-kicking is not good enough? Peter, here's a hint: The best scrumhalf in the country is also a very good goal kicker and he has also played quite a bit with Pienaar. (Although this idea probably would not suit your political bosses' and friends' agenda).
wayne4/24/2009 7:20 AM
And where are your brains coach? You are the coach of our national rugby team, yet you publicly endorse a political party. Shame on you. You should know that sports and politics shouldn’t mix. Respect Jones, one day when you have half his credentials you can talk out, till then, hou jou bek.
Paul4/24/2009 7:14 AM
I agree with the coach, you have to play with the cards dealt and take them to a higher skill level
Anonymous User4/24/2009 7:12 AM
And so the Pieter De Villiers show starts again. "I view him as the Tiger Woods of rugby", we in for a lot of silly comments this year. He probably didn't get the MP post he was campaigning for.
Anonymous User4/24/2009 7:09 AM
I think it's fair to give ruan a chance, but it does worry me that he seems a little passive. I think he needs a little more mongrel in him.(especially on defense). He makes most his tackles, but i would certainly run at him if i were in the touring lions side.You are going to make good yardage against him. If only he tackled like Grant, then he really would be a total fly-half. I can see o'connell and co running STRAIGHT over him.
eddie botha4/24/2009 7:03 AM
i fully agree with de villiers. pienaar is probably one of the best footballers - as danie craven would have said - in this country. he should play. the only aspect where i don't agree with de villiers is that he would dropnpienaar if he does not klick well on the day. surely there must be a back-up in the team to take over kicking duties. but to bring percy back (and i have also been one of his greatest fans) is ludicrous. we can't live in the past.
Hein4/24/2009 6:15 AM
Ruan Pienaar for sure is a gifted rugby player - but is he a gifted flyhalf?
Justin4/24/2009 3:41 AM
This guy should just not say a word. Every time he opens his mouth he shows how little he knows about rugby. Eddie Jones sees that we have a BIG problem with goal kicking, to the point that Pienaar was not even first choice for the Sharks...yet he is going to kick us to victory against the Lions?....this seems to be history repeating itself. While I agree that Pienaar can become a great flyhalf, at the moment he has done little to convince us that he is the man for the job in this series anyway. I think it's gotta be Butch this year anyway...
BigAl4/24/2009 1:19 AM
Div, build a bridge man!! Thank-goodness John Smit & Matfield are able to coach the team, ask them who they want!!
VinChainSaw4/24/2009 12:58 AM
I'm a big Percy fan but fair comment and I agree wholeheartedly Div. I've seen too many players leave the game on a law. I salute you Percy - the Springbok's first centurion and a guy who has clearly shut up the critics that have plagued him through his career. Enjoy that RWC medal and thanks for the memories. The consumate professional.
Viljoen4/24/2009 12:13 AM
Ever thought of Morne Styen?
Denése - SHARKS SUPPORTER4/24/2009 12:03 AM
I agree with P de V on this matter. Ruan has a flair for playing that not everyone has. He has proved to be a good flyhalf after playing there for only a few times. Unfortunately he was injured in the early stages of the Super 14. He is a natural. His goal kicking will get back to normal - which is very good. On top of that his tactical kicking and distribution are both better than anyone else's. He brings a dimension to the game that no other flyhalf is capable of - except for NZ's NO 1 flyhalf who went to play in France and has also been injured (for longer than Ruan has been injured). Ruan has the X-factor.
Gavin.4/23/2009 11:20 PM
The Bok coach must know by now that "everyone" knows the game far better than he ever will. All those people in the stands have a considered opinion about who should be selected and how the game must be played etc. Coach De Villiers must not take the bait and simply do what he must do to make the Springboks a winning team. You are our coach,Sir, and results are what you should be measured by, nothing more and nothing less. Good Luck against the touring British Lions- it will be a tough series but we have every confidence in your leadership and the ability of the Springboks. Kind wishes, Gavin.
Anonymous User4/23/2009 11:13 PM
That just shows how little Pieter de Villiers know about rugby. Firstly he is not prepared to listen to probably the best technical adviser the Springboks ever had. Secondly, he is just another coach going into an extremely important series without a recognised goalkicker. Both Pienaar and Francois Steyn are at best average kickers on their day. They are not the consistent goal kicker that Montgomery has become. If he does not want to pick Montgomery, then why does he not pick Peter Grant who has been playing well in an underperfoming team? And Grant is a much more consistent goal kicker than Pienaar. I'm also not saying Pienaar should be left out. I believe he is our answer at scrumhalf where he is probably the best in the country at the moment, but he is not a flyhalf.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If current Springbok coach Peter de Villiers were to be fired, who would you like to see take over?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide