Ireland make four changes

2012-06-14 07:19
Mike Ross (File)

Christchurch - Ireland have beefed up their front row with the return of tighthead prop Mike Ross in one of four changes to their starting line up for the second Test against the All Blacks on Saturday.

Ross, a robust scrummager, missed the 42-10 loss in the first Test because of a hamstring injury leaving Declan Fitzpatrick to make his debut against the All Blacks 84-cap veteran Tony Woodcock.

Fitzpatrick has been dropped back to the bench for the second Test as has left wing Simon Zebo who also made his debut last week.

The other changes in the team announced on Thursday see Gordon D'Arcy restored to inside centre in place of the injured Keith Earls and Kevin McLaughlin, comes off the bench to take over from Peter O'Mahony at blindside flank.

D'Arcy's selection reunites him with captain Brian O'Driscoll to start their 48th international as Ireland's midfield partnership.

Ireland forwards coach and former Springbok Gert Smal expects a vastly improved performance from his pack for the second Test against an All Blacks side he rates highly.

"They have the makings of a great side," he conceded after Ireland were trounced in the first Test.

"In saying that, we are not going to sit back and wait and see what they can do.

"Again, I think we can also play a little bit and we also showed two years ago that even with 14 men we can score two tries if we keep possession and have a go at them. That is what we are going to do on Saturday."


New Zealand:

15 Israel Dagg, 14 Zac Guildford, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock

Substitutes: 16 Hikawera Elliott, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Ali Williams, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Ben Smith


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Kevin McLaughlin, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Dan Tuohy, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Declan Fitzpatrick, 18 Donncha O'Callaghan, 19 Peter O'Mahony, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 Ronan O'Gara, 22 Simon Zebo.

Read more on:    ireland  |  new zealand  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership nearing its conclusion, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Bidvest Wits hold them off? A bridge too far for new boys Cape Town City FC? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Following the draw for the 2019 Rugby World Cup, how will the Boks fare at the tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.