Rugby

Habana farewell SMS revealed

2009-08-25 07:52
Email | Print
Bryan Habana (Gallo)

J.J. Harmse

Pretoria – "I have decided not to extend my contract with the Bulls. I am going to sign for Western Province. It has been the most difficult decision of my life. Thanks for the last five years, it was a fantastic time. Let's go and win the Currie Cup."

That is how Springbok wing Bryan Habana informed his Bulls team-mates and certain members of the management team by SMS on Sunday that he would no longer be playing for the team next year.

The message was sent to his team-mates late on Sunday afternoon.

The news, which has sent shockwaves through Blue Bulls rugby, follows months of speculation about Habana's future. He won the Super 14 title twice as a Bulls player.

Habana's agent – his father Bernie – and WP Rugby have since stated that negotiations are at an advanced stage for the player to pursue a career in Cape Town from next year.

The Blue Bulls Company, which handles the contracting of Bulls players, have a "right of first refusal", to match any other offer. That means they can refuse to release him if they match the WP offer.

They will have 14 days to reply after the WP offer has been delivered. However, because of the vast sum of money involved, it is unlikely that will happen.

French rugby website frenchclubrugby.com reported that Habana accepted the WP offer after Toulon declined to increase their offer.

Your Comments

ED8/26/2009 9:48 AM
Good luck Bryan, you were a great asset to the Bulls & have served us well! Enjoy the Cape as it is a beautiful city, a great experience & the money isn't bad too. The Bulls will also move on in developing & acquiring new talent to fill the voids left by the likes of yourself. WP needs to focus more on identifying & developing young talent, rather than just buying well established players from other unions (...Yes, I know the argument by the Anti-Bull brigade, that we bought players like Habana, Steyn, Matfield & many more from other unions too, BUT we bought them as fairly unknown entities & developed them into the stars they are today). WP is looking for a quick fix to boost morale & support, & I hope it pays off to a degree, as this may fast track their plans in re-establishing WP as a truly competitive union on S14 & CC fronts, whilst getting their development program on track. We at the bulls were all sad when Liefling left,..but it paved the way for Morne! It's still early days in his int career, but what a start! So good luck
Elf1nDrak38/26/2009 3:44 AM
Habana is past the pinnacle of his career. Personally, I think WP is making a mistake to buy him. The only reason why his still playing is because of his name. His performance the last 2 years have not been on par. PS. I'm a Bulls supporter, that just give the facts. Luckily the Bulls infra-structure is good enough to replace him. No-one is irreplaceable. Good luck to you Habana and WP.
Rob8/25/2009 6:46 PM
Just to inform you guys. One of the main reasons why WP has won the most currie cups, is because the blue bulls franchise was lauched only many years after WP. Think there were only like 4 teams or something. Please don't ride on history's back Lorenzo and Stiped Kiwi, you idiots. Think that 2 super 14 titles are anyway much more prestiges than any currie cup title.
Lorenzo8/25/2009 5:29 PM
I just wonder what will happen to all the BB fans if Habana decides to stay? Will your hero, now "has-been" still be your hero who single-handedly won you guys the 2007 Super 14? And just so by the way....We (WP) still holds the record for the most Currie Cups and although we haven't won any in the past few years, you had so much time to catch up but you couldn't even get past the bloemen Cheetahs!!!!!!!!
Sriped kiwi8/25/2009 5:14 PM
I wonder what will happen to all the BB fans if Habana actually decides to stay? Then you guys will be stuck with your hero being a so-called "has-been" and I will be laughing my ass off!!!!!!!!!!!! We (WP) still have the most number of Currie Cups EVER! We gave you 10 years to catch up and still you couldn't manage to defeat the bloemen Cheetahs...
@Frans8/25/2009 4:07 PM
Thank you Frans, you truly opened my eyes...... Now shut and suck that dummy till you sleep. We do not hate all bull supporters, some of the ladies look quite sexy in their skimpy outfits. Its the rest of them that suck though. I reckon you sound decent, Welcome to the decent half of the bulls!!!
jaco8/25/2009 3:22 PM
WE WILL TAKE IT THIS YEAR YOU FOOL!!!! WITH OR WITHOUT HABANA!!! CURRENTLY OUR U/23 TEAM AINT DOING THAT BADLY ON THE LOG IN 4TH PLACE WITH 24 POINTS......
Neil8/25/2009 3:16 PM
Hahahaha! ALL of you MUPPETS make me laugh! Who gives a toss where Habana plays? Get a life man!
Klippies8/25/2009 3:04 PM
Stand-out bonus-point performances from the Vodacom WP age group teams against the Lions this weekend contributed to another successful Saturday for the Blue and White Hoops, and the Newlands Faithful. The Vodacom WP under 21´s move to the top of their Group A log, after recording a convincing 55-26 victory over the visiting Lions under 21 side. For Vodacom WP Dane Johnson, Burger Schoeman, Dayne Jans, Tiger Bax, Liam Slatem, Sidney Tobias (pictured: Craven Week 2007) and Timothy Whitehead scored tries. A penalty try was also awarded. Coenraad van Wyk converted 5 tries and slotted a penalty. The under 19´s also opened their campaign with a strong five point performance, securing a 31-16 victory over the Lions. They currently lie 2nd on the log, on the same points as log-leaders the Blue Bulls, who beat the Leopards 36-8 in Pretoria. The Bulls lead on points difference. The performances of both teams highlight the strength of rugby in the Province and that junior structures continue to deliver. 90% of the players that are representing Vodacom WP at age group level (under 19 and under 21) have graduated or are currently being schooled at the Western Province Rugby Institute in Stellenbosch. The Institute was established three years ago, with junior graduates like Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Martin Muller, Nick Koster, Tiger Bax and De Kock Steenkamp stepping up to senior rugby this year. In addition, 85% of the players who have graduated from the WP Rugby Institute have been kept in the Province by Senior Professional Coach Rassie Erasmus. At schoolboy level, Vodacom WP once again dominated the National Youth Weeks in 2009, with every representative team (under 13, under16, under 18 Academy and under 18) competing the final matches of the respective weeks, with the Under 16´s and Under 18´s victorious. This success stems from the structures currently in place to identify and nurture talent. “We have trials for the Under 13, Under 16 and Under 18 national tournaments, as well as trails for Under 12, Under 15 and Under 17 Elite groups. The Elite squads, under the direction of Hennie Bekker at the Toyota Rugby School of Excellence, are selected in the year prior to the National Youth Weeks and get scientific testing, skills training, specialized coaching and dietary programmes to assist with their development,” explains Youth Rugby General Manager Theo Kleynhans. The WP region is truly a rugby development factory as demonstrated by the depth of talent available at under 18 level. More than 800 players (this excludes the 2nd, 3rd and 4th league players and the 20% of players who are already under 19 and not eligible for Craven Week) vie for provincial selection annually, a situation unique to the Western Province. Even though athlete development and identification is not an exact science, recent results at all age group levels point to structures that are delivering results http://www.wprugby.com/article.asp?id=313099
Frans8/25/2009 2:48 PM
It seems that Paul is the only one that read all the comment and saw that the ALL the bulls supporters did not say anything bad about Bryan Habana. Why do everybody always put words in bulls supporters mouths - even if we do not say anything. Why do everybody always bad-mouth the bulls. The only answer I can think of is that they know the bulls is the best - even on their worst day and that the supporters is the most loyal supporters. May be that is why we are the most hated team and supporters. Stop crying babies, grow up and support your own team and leave the bulls alone.
@ DPS8/25/2009 1:41 PM
Another Bull showing zero intelligence!!! DPS can only stand for 1 thing........ DipSh1t!!!!
Pieter (Sharks for life are chokers)8/25/2009 1:38 PM
@Post1:26: HA HA At least the Bulls has won the more prestigious Super14 twice in the last three years, that is of much bigger importance and consequence.
@ bulls supporters8/25/2009 1:26 PM
You Bulls supporters are such hypocrites if Habanna went overseas then you say good for him he is a pro and deserves the cash, but move to WP for the cash ooooh my that is bad he cant do that. Ps Bulls u have not won the curry cup in the last 4 years
charles8/25/2009 1:17 PM
As long as he plays for the boks thats fine, to hell with all the other crybaby BULLShit
DPS8/25/2009 1:02 PM
I have to say that it came as a shock when I heard the news. I thought about it and came to the following conclusion... with or without the player mentioned we, the Bulls, will win. Its not called a team sport for nothing. He is a brilliant player, but without the other 14 players he is nothing and to my knowledge the players in the Cape are up to shit! Best of luck to you and hope the road ahead holds only the best.
Alex @Sharkie8/25/2009 1:01 PM
I take it you would much rather have Raun Pinaar at Flyhalf for the Boks? Seeing as Morne scored most of the points and the Boks actualy won some games, which to a Shark supporter must be hard to take. Bryan, go and enjoy rugby in W.P. At least you will have some more time off rugby as W.P don't play in semi's or finals.
Jo8/25/2009 12:51 PM
Bulls & WP - why don't the pair of you go off and have your own little competition - you seem to think you're the only ones capable of playing good rugby and winning the Currie Cup! Just remember - it's the Sharks who are the current champions!!
Steveywonder8/25/2009 12:42 PM
Habana probably only has 5 years left in him. Who knows, maybe I'm wrong. He is a professional, and now he needs to earn his retirement fund which is why many players go play in France for a year. They get a fat wad of cash to put towards their retirement. So at least we're keeping him on home soil so he'll still wear the green and gold. Besides, the Bulls are obviously really good at what they do, so maybe they know something we don't which is why they decided not to match the offer. Can't wait for Habana to spend some of that cash on a restaurant... I wonder if his dad will manage it too :D
mr.WP8/25/2009 12:16 PM
well at least he gonna get some class now that he is leaving the arrogant bulls
ANOTHER SHIRL8/25/2009 12:16 PM
Rifdef,you really have to ask yourself why everybody slags the Bulls off ...... they have the worst attitude of any provinces fans in the country,probably have the IQ of somebody like Max.........
Jaco 8/25/2009 12:12 PM
Cheerio Habana! Thanks for being a awesome Blue Bull Player! We will miss you, however you are still carring the Green and gold and there for makes you te best player i have seen!!! Keep up the good work - I am a huge blue bull fan, let s all wish you good luck, and be safe on the field....just keep away from Puke Watson please...
Blitz8/25/2009 11:48 AM
ERA, You are the arrogant A******* !! Bakkies outoppie ? Still miles beter than any of your Puke's and Kanko's !!
Malcolm (Sharks will win CC again!)8/25/2009 11:42 AM
@ please, lol I think that Province will need to be paid to take Rose....It's how things go in life. You must be compensated when taking on a risk or liability.
Gabba8/25/2009 11:29 AM
Blue Balls Supporters - you bunch let me pull a puke watson on myself - arrogant farts. Lets see about stealing players from other provinces -- CJ (FS), Morne (FS), ZAne (Griquas), Ndungane (EP) and so on and on - True what they say - in the land of the blind one eye's the king.............
rifdef8/25/2009 11:29 AM
Moenie almal met die selfde kam skeer nie... I am and always will be a Bulls suporter! Why does everyone always slag the Bulls off? They are a great team. They and WP have entertained SA rugby for decades! No other team in the country even has double figures when it comes to Currie Cups apart from us and WP. Good decision Habanna! Its your live and your future! Thanx for everything you have helped the Bulls achieve while you were with us! Hou by die BLOU!!!
Pieter (Sharks for life are chokers)8/25/2009 11:20 AM
Habana you will feel at home in Cape Town, enjoy, you now have mixed blood, some red, some blue and now some more blue and white, I am sure you will feel at home with the Capeys....enjoy the money, remember it does not last, but reputations sometimes do, yours will be broken because soon your career will end, max 5 years for you..
SHARKIE8/25/2009 11:16 AM
Joe 8/25/2009 8:46 AMYOU TALK SHIT, HE LOOKS CRAP BECAUSE MORNE STEYN GETS THE BALL AND KICKS NEVER DOES ANYTHING ELSE. BRIAN HABANA IS THE BEST WINGER IN THE WORLD, MAY BE HE LEFT BECAUSE HE WAS TIRED OF CARRYING THE BULLS BACKLINE BY HIMSELF.
A Bull8/25/2009 10:47 AM
Habanna on his day is a game breaker of note. The Stormers and WP will benifit from his move there. But there is absolutely no need to panic. The Bulls together with the Sharks have the best youth programmes in the country and that is evident by just looking at the young wing currently playing in the Curry Cup. ---
ch8/25/2009 10:47 AM
all this moaning this for one player is really not call for, in the past the bulls used the army to get all players in the pretoria regend now when it became proffensial the player can pick and choose where they want to play stop being so short-shithed every ones that know rugby better and look at history facts that it will take any other team another 10 years to achieved what WP DID IN THE CURRIE CUP no other team took the curriecup more time then the WP. so if a team got money to spend on players that will be great influence for youngster in the team so be it, have a good fougth over and go look it up who had the cup the most time with only base cape players and wish team bougth players to win the cup.
SA Rugby fan8/25/2009 10:44 AM
Good to see the true colours of Blue Bull supporters coming out. Brian is looking after his own future - no one else is going to do that for him. Rather be glad that he is staying in SA and will not be lost to the Bokke - the one team we all support! @Vleiskuif - You clearly don't know much about rugby because Willem is one of the best flyhalves in the country. Schalk Brits plays excellent rugby but no matter where he plays he is too light to be considered a strong scrumming hooker! @Bull For Life - perhaps you should learn to spell - IF YOU CAN. Sorry for making you "feal" inferior
Morne (..)8/25/2009 10:44 AM
People asking why Habana? why??, why not rather wish him the best of luck. If you read his sms he sent his BullsBrothers you will understand he had difficulty to decide, Sunday afternoon depression caught him I think. The entertainment he offered the Loftus faithful and the TV audiences around SA and the world, will never be forgotten! It's very difficult to imagine Bryan in a hooped jersey, but I'm very glad that he will still be pulling the Green and Gold over his head. Habananana!!! Will miss you flying over the try line in Blue! Thanks for 5 amazing years, it was a privelage! Opi Blou!!
downwards8/25/2009 10:41 AM
Province can have Bryan Habana. For the past couple years his rugby-career has gone downwards.. Another has-been...?
Paul8/25/2009 10:34 AM
Most of the posts in here are from supporters other than the BULLS, yet they all comment on how sour the BULLS supporters are. I've read only one bad comment from a BULLS supporter towards Brian. All the others clearly points out what a loss it would be and then wishes him well. Why are all the comments from the other supporters about sour grapes? I say: Sorry to loose you Habsy, hope it goes well over there...One BULL has gone - Lank lewe die BULLE - BULLE BO!!!!!
Max8/25/2009 10:32 AM
@ Another Shirl - you make yourself sound so high and mighty but I guess you supposedly 'know a lot about rugby' so we should all stop and listen to you. Just cause your mom says you are so clever and know a lot about rugby doesn't mean you really do.
please8/25/2009 10:31 AM
When is province going to buy Earl Rose...??? ....pleaaze....
@ Zee8/25/2009 10:30 AM
True words. I'm a 100% Bulls suporter and must say I miss a top performing WP and Stormers. SA Rugby is just not the same without a strong Bulls and WP/Stormers team. Provincialism from anyone makes me sick, although the Stormers really have been shit the last couple of years. The Bulls went through the same bad patch when Hyneke too over (anyone remember?). They couldn't even beat their own B-Team. I just think the difference between the Bulls then and Stormers now is: 1-Coach, 2-Team Dinamics, 3-personnel. I really don't rate Rassie as a coach, especially after his flashlights and flash cards. WP & Stormers has serious team dynamcs problems. Assholes like Luke Watson prevents any form of team spirit - I don't care who says what. He is a f@cking Prick. And then Personnel. Province doesn't develop their own talent and they tend to keep on buying the wrong players. The money spent on Chris Jack could have been used to contract a young talent from other provinces. Why don't they invest in a proper tight 5? You are not going to change anything from wing, believe me. Everything starts upfront and then at the inside backs. Despite De Villiers, Province really doesnt have quality inside backs. If you want to play a running style game, then why do you by a Willem de Waal. Great player, but not suited for Province. Bashing the Bulls and Bulls suporters with petty or sour comments won't solve anything. The Bulls and their supporters respect the tradition between the Bulls and Province. I'm just not sure the amount of money wasted on Habana is worth the investment, especially at wing. I also don't really mind him leaving the Bulls. At his asking price, together with the lack commitment he has shown from time to time and the amount of the time he is not available due to Test Rugby, I support the Bulls for not entering into horse trading with his greedy father. Sure the Bulls will now be able to contract 2 or 3 new youngsters or a star player in a critical position. It's all about strategic choices and I think Rassie just made onother big f@ck-up to follow Chris Jack.
Louis8/25/2009 10:29 AM
Hey as long as he stays in SA then I'm happy. May he have an awesome time and become an even better player. Best of luck Bryan.
buy8/25/2009 10:23 AM
The only thing Province can do good, ..... buy "has-beens"...
SJ8/25/2009 10:19 AM
To all you blue bull supporters u are all saying passed sell by date this is sour grapes. Bulls steal players all over every year especially from cheetahs. Reading these comments just shows again why I am not a Bull supporter there is no loyalty from supporters Bulls stole habanna first. Talking about players going to WP and not getting anywhere like JOE ect... What about all the FS players that the Bulls have poached even OS went back to FS after he did not like the BULLS. Werner Puke is leaving WP next year so he is not going to play there(Best move ever after letting Earl(TIGER) rose leave the WP.
Bull For Life8/25/2009 10:18 AM
ANOTHER SHIRL - Dont get personal, nobody likes to lose and we do cry when we lose, but we never blame the ref or the bounce of the ball etc. The quality of the bulls is that next season they show their class - that is when they lose. And Brian was a failry unknown when he joined the bulls, and his dad said that the main reason was the professional way the bulls run their affairs for his move from the lions. We are sorry to see him go, but it is for the money and that is his right to do so and not for us to be critical on his moves. All clubs can buy who they want, that is the new era we are in and we must accept that loyalty comes after the financial deal is done. Interesting that Wynad stayed behind for less than what Rassie offerred. I think WP union's biggest problem is the coaching staff and team spirit, and not talent
Bull For Life8/25/2009 10:18 AM
ANOTHER SHIRL - Dont get personal, nobody likes to lose and we do cry when we lose, but we never blame the ref or the bounce of the ball etc. The quality of the bulls is that next season they show their class - that is when they lose. And Brian was a failry unknown when he joined the bulls, and his dad said that the main reason was the professional way the bulls run their affairs for his move from the lions. We are sorry to see him go, but it is for the money and that is his right to do so and not for us to be critical on his moves. All clubs can buy who they want, that is the new era we are in and we must accept that loyalty comes after the financial deal is done. Interesting that Wynad stayed behind for less than what Rassie offerred. I think WP union's biggest problem is the coaching staff and team spirit, and not talent
Shark 1018/25/2009 10:15 AM
Lets face it - Brian only got a few seasons still ahead of him so let him milk the cash cow while he can.But i cant see how he or even Morne Steyn can do anything about the Stormers Western Problems.Teams like the Sharks and the Bulls are still gonna whipp their asses!!
Ghwappie8/25/2009 10:14 AM
Welcome to Province and the Stormers, Bryan! Good move, here you can at least play your style of rugby. And to set the record straight about all the Cape rugby schools with the talent: most of these boys are bought from up-country with huge scholarships, after school they they simply go back home. The exception was the two Rose brothers, who were contracted by the Lions while they were still at school. Another case of a greedy dad selling his kids for money?
@ Boknaai8/25/2009 10:13 AM
In the Professional era there is no more room for provincial support - the whole idea of the Currie Cup. You support a franchise
BUK-BUK8/25/2009 10:08 AM
I have always maintained there is nothing wrong with the Bulls team, the problem is their majority (not all) narrow minded supporters, who claim to be rugby supporters but arnt. They are Bulls supporters first and rugby supporters second. They even manage to embarass the real Bulls rugby supporters and If you doubt this then look at the comments. One of these days one of the better insults will be to say to some noisy ignorant Tjop .."You are such a Blue Bulls supporter", and the best part is the Tjop will take it as a compliment.
BUK-BUK8/25/2009 10:07 AM
I have always maintained there is nothing wrong with the Bulls team, the problem is their majority (not all) narrow minded supporters, who claim to be rugby supporters but arnt. They are Bulls supporters first and rugby supporters second. They even manage to embarass the real Bulls rugby supporters and If you doubt this then look at the comments. One of these days one of the better insults will be to say to some noisy ignorant Tjop .."You are such a Blue Bulls supporter", and the best part is the Tjop will take it as a compliment.
@Bull for life8/25/2009 10:06 AM
After your 1st comment, I actually thought that for the 1st time we were hearing from a bull supporter that could be liked..... then you had to spoil it with your second entry!!! You are just as big an A-hole as your buddies. Maybe you should learn to read if you believe the bulls are being nice to him for leaving!!! This proves that you are not not only stupid but blinded by your blue blinkers!!!!!
Luke8/25/2009 10:05 AM
Ag shame, you stupid little bull supporters. Loyalty has nothing to do with anything in rugby except when it comes to springbok rugby. As a player you only get 10 years max in your career, if you are injured or loose your edge, you are gone. Let him make his money. Victor started at Griqauland Wes, Habana started at the Lions and when they moved over to the Bulls no-one had anything to say about poaching or loyalty. At least he is still in SA!!
riaan s8/25/2009 9:58 AM
Wonder where WP is getting the money. I hear that they had to fork out quit a bit of money to convince Bath to accept Watson.
hardi8/25/2009 9:58 AM
As Bulls supporters we understand that he has to do this, we had a great time together, but as life is, all good things come to an end. Who was Habana before the Bulls turned him into a legend?, We develope players, we do not buy in "ready mades" then squander their talents through lathargic coaching. Problem is Bryan is not used to always losing, he is going to find that side of his move difficult.
Marius8/25/2009 9:54 AM
Everyone tearing us Bulls apart - chill please.The fuss here isn't about Bryan leaving,it's more about wiepieees' 'need to buy' attitude.Habanas' father clearly saw the gap when Wynand decided to stay and took it.Simple as that.All the unions buy and the smaller unions will always suffer and their supporters will always bitch about it! But come saturday these bitchers sit at home while their teams are playing in empty stadiums and the unions can't afford to hold on to their own talent!! Then you're the first to critisize other unions for buying your players!!!!!!!!!
Clint8/25/2009 9:50 AM
Darn, I fear another Stevie song coming on.
Pieter8/25/2009 9:49 AM
Habana can go, he is the most over rated winger in world rugby. Yes he was once the best winger in the world, but lets be serious, how many tries has he scored for the bulls in the past season/super 14/springbok??? point proven plus both early tries conceeded in the tri-nations were scored on his wing, ironic isnt it. Enjoy province, we'll find someone beter than habana that you can buy in 5 years when hes finished, since you cant create your own stars....
ANOTHER SHIRL8/25/2009 9:47 AM
IF YOU LOOK AT THE "SILVERWARE" AT LOFTUS CLOSELY THERE WILL PROBABLY BE QUITE A FEW TROPHIES FOR BIGGEST BAD LOSERS OF THE YEAR AMONGST THEM.THE BULLS DID NOT MAKE BRYAN FAMOUS,HE DID IT ALL ON HIS OWN!!! IF YOU ARE SUCH A GREAT TEAM WHY ARE YOU GRIPING OVER 1 PLAYER THAT IS LEAVING.JUST BE GRATEFUL FOR THE TIME HE PLAYED FOR YOUR TEAM AND ALL THE TIMES HE MADE YOU ALL PROUD,YOU ARE SUCH A BUNCH OF INGRATES!! AND TO MY SHARK SUPPORTER FRIEND,I TOO AM A SHARK SUPPORTER AND HAPPEN TO KNOW A LOT ABOUT RUGBY,WHO MADE YOU THE JUDGE OF ANYTHING?!!!!!!!
THE BIGGEST BLUE BULL FAN8/25/2009 9:39 AM
BRAIN, you will still be my hero wearing that ugly shirt from Cape Town, this is a professional era. He is weighing up the city of Cape Town against Pretoria, anyone with some brains will pick Cape Town... All the luck for you for your last years in Cape Town. Thanks for everything you have done at the Bulls. I will never forget the try you've scored against the Blues, taking the ball from kickoff at your own 22m and running down the touchline to score in the corner. Drink 'n Branna op Habana...
michael8/25/2009 9:33 AM
now the blue bulls are going to lose. thank you because i hate the bulls
Zee8/25/2009 9:26 AM
Say what you want about WP all your bulle - yes they are going through a bad patch right now and no-one is 100% sure what Rassie is doing but don't forget that they are the most successful union in terms of the Currie Cup. Slate them all you want, but they'll build and be back to their winning selves in the next few seasons I reckon, especially with some of the talented youngsters in the side. All teams go through bad patches, hopefully WP's won't last too much longer and hopefully Brian can make a difference!
Hien8/25/2009 9:23 AM
Brain , dankie vir die goeie jare by die Bulle. Ons gun jou nou n ruskans. Draai jou bed so dat jy noord kyk as jy in die aand aan die slaap raak .
hilarious!8/25/2009 9:19 AM
So what, the ouk moved on. None of you guys resigned from your job to accept a better paying one?! Eih, now you ouks wanna bash Bernie. Get a life losers.
sharkie8/25/2009 9:18 AM
BRYAN YOU ARE AN ASSET TO ANY TEAM FROM A SHARKS SUPPORTER
Jody 8/25/2009 9:10 AM
The days of provincionalism are gone. Habana started a Lion, became a Bull and now he is becoming a Cape Daisey. Do we have loyalty for our companies, or our salaries?
Bull For Life8/25/2009 9:09 AM
I wish the non bull supporters could read, they wil then realise that most comments from bull supporters are that of being sorry to see Brian go but wish him well. It is actually a compliment that so many other team supporters are having a go at us bulls, it means that they feal inferior, which is what they should feel especially if they see our trophy cabinet and then look at the empty ones in their clubhouse. And i am not talking just current, go back for 6 years and count -IF YOU CAN - and then comment. Also every WP supporter says now Brian can score tries and not run after high kicks, in the past S14 of the top ten try scorers Brian was 2nd and the Bulls had 4 out of ten top try scorers, well ahead of any other SA team. Peter Grant and De Waal and Steyn is the best kicking flyhalfs in RSA currently - so what is going to change. The first S14 game this year - when Bulls beat WP - Rassie himself said that his plan was to kick anything he gets - needless to say they lost the game. So WP scored less tries than the bulls and has 2 kicking flyhalfs, how is this going to make Brian play better
Stryder8/25/2009 9:09 AM
No loss. Thank god he didn't come to the sharks.
Shit move8/25/2009 9:04 AM
Penny wise, pound foolish! This is what happens when a greedy parent is running your life to the immediate benefit of his own pocket. A move to the Sharks would have made more sense. The Bulls & Sharks have by far the most professional organizational structure and systems in place. The administrations of the Lions and WeePee on the other hand are extremely poor. I hope we don't loose another world class player as a result of poor administration and management at WP. What happened to Joe van Niekerk, Brent Russel, Frikkie Welsh, etc. If you are part of a professional structure and wants to leave, at least go to a similar or better structure. They call it - an improvement. Where did the Stormers end on the log the last couple of seasons? Moving from a competitive team to a team that just make-up the numbers is poor judgement. Any administration/team that covers and protects ego's like Puke Watson, to the absolute detriment of the rest of the team, undermines its own organization and deserves to be at the bottom of the log. Bernie Habana is a greedy, stupid and short-sighted fool. What happens if Habana gets lost in the WP chaos? Will Rassie also flash lights or flash cards to try and give him direction? I’m so disappointed in Habana and for that matter the WP administration. If Habana copes within that structure, then at least he is not lost to the BOKS – I however think its going to be downhill from here for him. He will also just disappear like Joe van Niekerk. Thank Bernie! Just glad I don’t have a greedy father that is only interested in exploitation for own benefit. Makes me wanna puke to.
MD8/25/2009 9:03 AM
Anyone with any respect or decency would have picked up the phone to inform his mates and management, but not Bryan, he must send a sms - says a lot about you as a person Bryan.
GeePMB8/25/2009 9:03 AM
If you want loyalty, get a dog! Take out the emotion here and realise that a professional rugby players sporting career is time-limited and moving for a bigger payday has more to do with looking after one's future security than the loyalty to a particular employer. If the Bulls were so wooried about losing him (or any other player for that matter) they will price them out of the market. Habana knows that he wont be the best in the world forever and good for him for securing his retirement package. And let's be honest here for a moment, the Bulls will probably try and poach a few of the Sharks Boks at the end of the season and likewise, all the other provinces will hunt big names to bolster their teams for the following season. It's called professional sport. Live with it!!
Rick8/25/2009 9:00 AM
What is this greed above loyalty story people ? He is a professional rugby player and obviously he will go where the best offer is, just like any other professional such an accountant, lawyer etc would move to another company should a better opportunity arise. There is no loyalty in professional sports nowadays just like there is very little loyalty in the corporate world out there. It is a fact of life ... live with it. I'm just glad he has not left SA for France and we as a country have been able to retain his services. Good luck in your new venture Habana !
Mark8/25/2009 9:00 AM
It's a good sale. I know for WP it's a huge buy but for the Bulls it's definately not a huge loss. Poor WP - they have all those good rugby schools but yet can't find decent rugby players at the top level and must resort to buying them. A crap team with a few good individuals and a crap coach will still be, well, crap.
Sharks Supporter8/25/2009 8:57 AM
All you negative people back down. It's not about loyalty, I bet you would accept that same offer if you were trying to start a family or make a damn good living. Family comes first unless you are a lonely old sod, and have no one. Atleast he will still be playing for the Boks. it is his decision and his only, atleast he's not overseas......... Wake Up Man and as for you Shirls, what do you know about Rugby!!!!!!!!!!!!
Vleiskuif8/25/2009 8:57 AM
At least the Bulls can buy another 3 future stars and build them up like they did with Habana, with the money they will save. Not sure what WP is doing. They always buy people and then those people sort of loose their form. Look at AJ, De Waal, Welsh, Brits, etc. WP needs props otherwise Habana wont even see the ball anyway. Another thing I want know is, where are all the fantastic wings we see in the Craven Week every year running out for WP, Boland, SWD, etc.? Good luck Habana. Bulls, rather use the money and build three new Habanas!
Dee8/25/2009 8:56 AM
All the negative blue bull supporters must remember that Bryan was also bought from transvaal 5 years ago to join the bulls - Good luck to you Bryan we will support you all the way!!!
Steadfast8/25/2009 8:56 AM
With the professional game the players need to look out for them selves due to short career. I am also dissapointed that some say good ridence - what a troop of fools. Brian has given 110% and now he wants to make some money he is given a red card by some. How sad our spectators are so short sighted.
GP8/25/2009 8:55 AM
So now the Bulls are crying!! Dis hoe die Vrystaat elke jaar voel as die ander unies hul spelers af rokkel. Kry vir julle!!
tubby8/25/2009 8:55 AM
haha go habana!screw the so called fans of urs,who are showing their true colours bcos u had the "arrogance" to think about ur future.if you dont, who will?typical blue bull fans.very same reason why i never watch or support bullz-their fans are selfish halfwits.this mst be the only place where people actually feign this much surprise when a player moves teams.news flash: it happens all over the world. get over urselves!! Go Habana!! Finally i can support you again!! woohooo!!!!
wouter8/25/2009 8:54 AM
Jy sal moet speel om plek te kry,onthou WP het n belowende jong vleul ek kan nie onthou wat is sy naam nie, maar ek dink hy kom van Fishi af ?Ek hoop regtig jy gaan die WP se droogte oplos
Vincent8/25/2009 8:53 AM
The bulls poached him from the Lions in the first instance, so what is the big deal if a professional decides to earn some extra pension money
Mart8/25/2009 8:51 AM
Hehe...get over it lads, this is professional sport and these transfers are part and parcel of it. Aactually I am surprised he stayed with the Bulls as long as he did. I think he is pretty much tired of chasing high balls as that is all he gets at the Bulls and the way the Boks are playing its just more of the same. Winning is not everything, the man is an artist and just needs somebody to pass him the ball from time to time so that he can express himself. Very good move Brian!
Nikki8/25/2009 8:50 AM
Oh well...there isn't much more that he could have contributed or achieved more at the Bulls in any way. Good luck to him for trying to make some money out of it whilst he still can. He's 27 & moving to WP...he's gonna need it!
ash8/25/2009 8:49 AM
there should be no problem with a gr8 player trying to earn as much as he can in a short earning span , rugby players don't play till 60 . w.p is better than france. BRIAN WOULD HAVE MADEIT with or without blues , how many sharks players are in the boks ...?
andrew carlin8/25/2009 8:48 AM
I can never understand why people get so upset about a player leaving a franchise/club/province. It's a professional game, that's the way it works....I just wish my dear old Gauteng Lions could get some cash and be able to afford half a Habana!!!!!!
BullBooi8/25/2009 8:48 AM
You people say "Loyalty!" - This is the era of the professional game boet. Players only have so much rugby in them, if Province made an offer to Habana that he couldn't refuse he did the smart thing to take it. We can be thankful Province is keeping him in SA, otherwise we could have seen him off to Toulon. This was the right choice for you and the country. Bulls lack the loyalty to you for not matching Province's offer!
johnBoy8/25/2009 8:47 AM
looks like a case of "sour grapes" all around. "pass his sell by date"? please! if he had stayed you wouldnt be making that statement. give him credit where it's due. and people change jobs all the times, for better prospects or just more money. so why cant he?
PJ8/25/2009 8:47 AM
Everyone seems to forget that Habana was bought by the Bulls from the Lions, where he started his career. This isn't really any different. There is very little loyalty to the team with the professional game having taken over.
Joe8/25/2009 8:46 AM
It's ok. Brian can go. I think he is overrated if you look at his performances in the tri-nations. He looks like a loop en val these days. He cant even catch a ball
Rita8/25/2009 8:46 AM
What a shame! We'll miss you but we look forward to see what the change will bring to your career.
Werner8/25/2009 8:45 AM
All this poaching comments are sad - BULLS POACHED HABANA from the LIONS you one-eyed biased bulls supporters.
Johan8/25/2009 8:44 AM
A Please!!! Suddenly the Bulls supporters are moaning that WP are poaching players but weren’t they the first ones to poach Habana from the Lions!? The Bulls are clearly the best rugby side at the moment but their supporters are still they same bunch off ignorant commoners!!!
Johan8/25/2009 8:44 AM
We will miss you Brian... It is a professional era and we need to respect your decision. I do see a red flag though. That red flag is in the hands of Rassie Erasmus, who is single handedly making rugby players gods thanks to the amounts he is offering them. We should guard against this. Rassie is win driven, which is fine, but maybe should rather focus this obsurd amounts of money offfered to Haban and Fourie into WP's structures and player development. In stead he waits for other provinces to develop players and then take them over at a huge cost and risk for WP rugby. What happens to all the good school players in province? They sit with so much talent in schools like Paarl Gim, Paarl Bois, Boland Landbou to name but a few. Shouldn't you rather develop those boys Rassie? Shouldnt you rather invest money in your structures? WP will not be successful next year, doesnt matter who they buy. They are not a team, just a bunch of individuals. Thats due to the fact that they dont have pride for the WP journey, they werent developed by that province, but taken from somewhere else. You doubt this? Lets mention a few names... Schalk Brits, Chris Jack, Luke Watson, Riccie January, Willem de Waal, Conrad Jantjes... The list goes on! You build a house from foundations up, you dont start with the golden taps and flatscreen TV's.
Rita8/25/2009 8:44 AM
What a shame! We'll miss you but we look forward to see what the change will bring to your career.
Bull For Life8/25/2009 8:43 AM
Thanks Brian for all the good times, I think the Blue Bull Management is correct not to increase the offer. Brian must look after his own future and income, sportsmen only have a limited time to maximise their income and you have to take the opportunity when it arises. Rassie HAS to start performng and he is buying talent at any price, problem is if the structures right down to club rugby is not there then this is no solution to WP rugby. I think Brian will fade away like big Joe did and many others. Pity though as the big losers will be Springbok rugby
johan8/25/2009 8:42 AM
A please people!!! All the bulls supporters are suddenly moaning that WP is buying players but Habana was poached from the Lions by the Bulls!!! The Bulls are clearly the best rugby side at the moment but their supporters are still the same bunch off ignorant commoners!!!
Werner8/25/2009 8:40 AM
You didn't make the decision. Daddy made it for you. I thought that you were old enough to make your own decisions. Habana and "Puke" Watson in the same team??? WP has no idea how to develop talent, that is why they buy them.
choice8/25/2009 8:40 AM
From a winning team, ..to a loooosing team, ..bad choice...
boknaai8/25/2009 8:39 AM
One day, South African supporters will understand what pro sport is all about. Until then, we will read on these comment pages utter crap from sudden ex-supporters of Habana. Grow up SA and live in the real world. This is business. Nothing stopped the Bulls renegotiating. GO BOKKE
Rob8/25/2009 8:38 AM
Go earn the big bucks - we all change our jobs for new challenges / opportunities and better money, so no reason why you should not do the same. Job well done at the Bulls... good to see you will still be wearing a shade of Blue.
Riaan8/25/2009 8:37 AM
Lekker aftree in die WeePee ... Sluit sommer die WeePee High Performance Sentrum om kostes te bespaar - want die plaaslik talent kry nie kans nie !
Shirls8/25/2009 8:36 AM
Greed above loyalty! How can we have respect for you after this!
Shirls8/25/2009 8:35 AM
Greed above loyalty! How can we have respect for you after this!
Neil8/25/2009 8:34 AM
very clever move brian, more pay (+-50% more i think) for less games (WP never reaches finals). hahahha
bye8/25/2009 8:33 AM
Bye bye Bryan, ..bye bye Bernie... Go Shadow..!!
bye8/25/2009 8:32 AM
Cynm8/25/2009 8:31 AM
Glad to see that he isn't going to leave SA. I just find it sad how WP is trying to poach the players from other provinces. Kind of pathetic actually.
CJ8/25/2009 8:31 AM
Can we have Frikkie Welsh back now?
JuJu238/25/2009 8:30 AM
Habana, Habana you beauty, know you are playing for a GREAT team. Go W.P.
Andy8/25/2009 8:30 AM
Mmmhhh......it will be interesting to see how his career shapes up. He may or may not be successful as a province player. We'll just have wait and see
ERA8/25/2009 8:29 AM
Habana....... gone!! Matfield, Bakkies....... outoppies......... I see a tough road ahead for a bunch of arrogant bull A-*****!
Piet45458/25/2009 8:27 AM
As a Bulls fan i wish him all the best if you can get 5 years out of top professional player then thats good. The game is professional now and players move on, don't forget that we've signed him from the Lions.
JuJu238/25/2009 8:23 AM
Chrisdup8/25/2009 8:21 AM
Bryan, as a Bulls supporter it is sad to see you go.... But just one question, is it because of more money for yourself or for your Dad ?????? Maybe ask yoourself that question, and be honest with the answer to yourself........ Anyway good luck at WEEPEE, and with the rest of your career. At least we will still see you in the Bok jersey.
Tackler8/25/2009 8:21 AM
Young Bulls wingers like Gerhard Van Den Heever are better prospects than Habana na WP move, time to for youngsters to shine as Habana na his money move to the Western Pleasers are under performing and past his due date!
TP8/25/2009 8:21 AM
Just remember that the franchise did not put in the performances on the field, that the franchise would not show "loyalty" to him in the long run. Everybody is entitled to change "jobs". If you were offered more money and new opportunity in your career you would consider it and take it perhaps. You wouldn't worry about "loyalty" etc and at the same time your company wouldn't throw "loyalty" in your face! Perhaps "the company" needs to start looking at why our "employees" are going and working overseas!
An0n8/25/2009 8:21 AM
Well he has been playing like a prancing pommy for a while now. Not able to contribute much to the game. Good riddance. Now the other great wingers will have a chance to prove themselves.
bye8/25/2009 8:20 AM
IanC *sharks supporter*8/25/2009 8:19 AM
Jeez, I can't believe how lame some people are - Its a professional sport where your ability to get paid more will allow you to have a more secure life-style. As another sour commentator on this stated you only have a certain shelf life to make a living before you need to move on - Yet you are actually sour that he wants to make a good finacial decision. Take your emotions and loyalties out of the equation - This is his livelyhood, and your expected loyalties won't pay his cheque. Brendan - Thanks for at least seeing the positive aspect of him staying in SA rugby and being positive about all the good things he did for the Bulls while he was there.
Larry8/25/2009 8:19 AM
CONGRATS Habana dont worry about all the "nay" sayers I support ur decision. FINALLY, go to a team which will support your natural game which is attack & expansive game. Blue Bulls plays typical ancient rugby which makes me nosious when watching...YAWN!! Frm Larry, SHARKS suppoter
Hansie8/25/2009 8:18 AM
I agree with CAR. I am a WP & Stormer supporter, but where does loyalty start? Is it really worth it to earn double, but play where you are not neccessarily going to be happy? It's all a bit greedy I think. By the way CAR, Joe van Niekerk never was and never will be a good rugby player.
Brendan8/25/2009 8:01 AM
Darn, us Bulls are going to miss you! But us Bok supporters are glad you're still in SA!
Herman8/25/2009 8:01 AM
What is all the fuss about - The Bulls have Brilliant wingers in the making + Habana is way past his "sell by date".
CAR8/25/2009 7:58 AM
If you wanna go, GO... no loyalty to the franchise who made you more famous than you started out as. GO... Many has made such a move just to vanish in their career... eg: Joe Van Niekerk... GO HABANNA...
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Don't shoot the messenger... 9/3/2010 7:50:37 AM

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.