Rugby

Emotional farewell for Kruger

2010-02-03 22:33
Email | Print
André Venter being pushed into the church in his wheelchair by Wahl Bartmann. (Photo: Christiaan Kotzé)

Sarel van der Walt

Johannesburg – Springbok rugby on Wednesday laid former hero Ruben Kruger to rest in Pretoria after the 39-year-old lost his 10-year battle with brain cancer last week.

In fact, there were so many former Springboks, former Springbok coaches, rugby administrators and erstwhile team-mates and opponents of Kruger – a member of the 1995 World Cup-winning Springbok team – that they could have filled out a few tour buses.

Just about all the members of Francois Pienaar’s 1995 World Cup Springboks were present.

Pienaar, who visited Kruger in hospital shortly before his death, could not attend the funeral as he was in Europe.

Gysie Pienaar, a former Springbok and assistant coach of the 1995 team, sent an apology from China for not being able to be there.

Former Springbok captain and 1995 team manager Morné du Plessis said in his tribute that former South African rugby boss Danie Craven had said that it is one thing to become a Springbok, but quite another to be a good one.

“Doc Craven would probably have agreed with me that Ruben Kruger was one of the greats. He is renowned from London and Edinburgh through to Auckland.”

Kruger was South Africa’s rugby player of the year in the season that they won the World Cup for the first time.

Du Plessis arrived at the funeral with another member of the 1995 team Kobus Wiese and former Springbok Toks van der Linde.

Apart from Du Plessis, several other former Springbok captains like Wynand Claassen, Naas Botha, Gary Teichmann and Joost van der Westhuizen also attended the funeral.

Blue Bulls president Boet Fick, several of his predecessors and numerous current and former Springboks and Bulls players also came to pay their last respects to the Silent Assassin.

Even his old school – Grey College in Bloemfontein – sent a delegation. The school and its former pupils held a moment’s silence world-wide at 10am when the funeral started.

“Ruben is finally over the goal-line – that which we are all destined for,” said pastor At Boshoff at the funeral service at the Christian Reformed Church in Pretoria-East.

“You knew where Ruben stood when he spoke. He knew his God,” said Boshoff.

“Shortly before his death, when he emerged from a deep sleep – or perhaps rather a coma – he told Lizel (his wife): ‘I dreamed – it’s big, big, big!’”

Lizel Kruger said in her tribute to her husband: “Earthly possessions were not important to you. We were proud of you. Not because you were a Springbok rugby player but because you were a Springbok dad. In your life you never said anything bad to or about me.”

His two daughters, Zoë and Isabella, wrote in their funeral letter: “Thank you that we could lie in your arms every morning and ride with you in the bakkie every day.”

One of the most moving moments was when another former Springbok flanker, André Venter, was pushed into the church in his wheelchair by Wahl Bartmann.

Venter also delivered a tribute: “Ruben was a remarkable person. My wife and I visited him and Lizel in Pretoria in December. He prayed for me in spite of all his pain. That sums up his life. It does not matter what his situation was – he always thought of a fellow human being before himself.

“He was not just a legend on the field, but a legend of life. Ruben, when I get to heaven one day, I want to be in the same team as you again.”

Kruger will be buried on Thursday on the farm where he was born near Vrede in the North-East Free State.

Your Comments

Leon2/5/2010 8:00 AM
Jy het my nie geken nie, maar as jy maar net geweet het watse groot rol jy in my lewe gespeel het......'n man en vader van liedfe soos min....
Jock Bok2/4/2010 6:56 PM
I my son or I end up being half the man you are then I will think it a life well lived. A true legend R.I.P and thoughts go to your family
Bernard2/4/2010 2:07 PM
rus in vrede Ruben; jy is nou by die Here ons God sonder enige pyn. Aan sy vrou en pragtige kinders, alle sterkte voorentoe en hou julle oe op die Here en Hy sal julle dra deur hierdie donker tye.
Andre Cloete2/4/2010 1:38 PM
Ruben Kruger... What more do you need to say? The man was a legend and a great human being. May you rest in peace "Ou Grote".
Morné (..)2/4/2010 1:21 PM
NAG OU GROTE!!!! SIEN DAARNA UIT OM JOU WEER TE SIEN SPEEL SAAM DIE LEGENDES EENDAG DAAR BO!!
Ams2/4/2010 1:19 PM
RIP Ruben, you were a great of Springbok rugby. My thoughts go out to the family.
Abi2/4/2010 1:14 PM
Dit was absoluut hartroerend om na die insetsel op Superrugby te kyk. Sterkte aan Ruben se familie. RIP Ruben
Gibbaan2/4/2010 12:55 PM
Rest In Peace
DCloete2/4/2010 12:04 PM
I love the current boks, thinks they are an outstanding team. Yet seeing the '95 guys getting together like this - albeit in tragic circumstances - really make one realize they were a very special band of brothers, as 'TheLastRhodesian' so eloquinetly said. Seeing images of Kruger's wife and kids at the funeral are truly heartbreaking. Ironically he will now go back to the Vrede district to be buried and find his peace. Kruger's fortitude in trying to contain an ultimately fatal disease for a decade (without turning to any other support bar his family and spirituality) casts hims as a legend, plain and simple. May he always be lionised as our greatest no.7. One of those very, precious few post isolation Boks who would never be allowed to pay for their own drinks at any venue in New Zealand. Very emotional to see Toks admitting Kruger was his personal hero. Part about his wife calling him a Springbok dad, well, I don't think their was a dry cheek in the entire church. One of Loftus's stands to be named in his honour? I think it's the least we can do...
Allan2/4/2010 11:52 AM
RIP Ruben. Family, I am really sorry, be strong!
Nikki2/4/2010 10:45 AM
Rus in Vrede Ruben...ons sal jou nie vergeet nie. Jy was & sal altyd wees: 'n legende en ware held!
Justin2/4/2010 9:30 AM
Rest in Peace. A Champion in rugby, a champion in life and a champion as a father. Our most sincere condolences to his brave wife and beautiful children. Ruben will always be remembered with affection and admiration. Zoë and Isabella, your Daddy was a great man and admired by so many people that did not even know him personally.
Quinton2/4/2010 8:49 AM
RIP...dankie vir `n positiewe gesindheid wat jy tot op jou laaste geopenbaar het, ek en talle ander neem kennis-lewe is tekort om negatief en haatig te wees. Sterkte aan familie en vriende.
louwrens2/4/2010 8:38 AM
@ awie, emigreer eerder hierdie is nie die plek vir sulke kommentaar nie. reuben sou dit nie so wou gehad het nie. lekker rus reuben
Billy2/4/2010 8:34 AM
Rest easy big fella. My prayers and best wishes to his family and mates.
Slacker2/4/2010 8:29 AM
A true legend. Rest in Peace Ruben.
Eamon2/4/2010 8:23 AM
If I had a son I would name him Ruben,
noeline2/4/2010 7:58 AM
Ruben on behalf of my family in South Africa and me staying in the UK we want to express our appreciation to the example to fight the big C till the last. You were and always be the great Springbok of the 1995 worldcup and also the best and biggest husband and father to your wife and 2 lovely 2 daughters. We are all praying and thinking of Lizel and girls. God Bless!
Eliza2/4/2010 7:55 AM
AWIE - ah come on, get off this blinking racial thing.... SABC 2's Afrikaans News ran a lovely insert about his funeral and career last night. Get off your high horse and appreciate the goodness and love that will continue throught this brave Sout African Warrior!
Anton2/4/2010 7:28 AM
RIP Silent Assassin
Johnnie Bok2/4/2010 6:56 AM
Ruben, jy het die regte wedloop as 'n held voltooi!
A care in the world2/4/2010 6:54 AM
To Lizel, Zoe and Isabella, May the love of family and friends surround you and bring you some comfort at this difficult time. Praying that God will give you strength to handle each day forward with peace in the knowledge of your love for each other. His spirit will remain in and with you always.
Awie2/4/2010 6:51 AM
As I said before he was a true blue bull and Bok. Pity one of the major TV stations (e-tv) did not even have any tribute or any coverage report about his death. Are white rugby players so insignificant or is this another form of discrimination? R.I.P. in any case.
Shrek2/4/2010 6:42 AM
'n Reuse tussen manne..
Gavin2/4/2010 3:54 AM
You certainly gave your very best. Thank you for the entertianment, now rest in peace.
JC2/4/2010 2:05 AM
RIP
MJ2/4/2010 1:18 AM
RIP
Fan2/4/2010 1:08 AM
Thanks for playing the game with your heart and soul..it showed on the field, and that's what makes a first-class sportsman and man. Rest in peace.
Anthony2/4/2010 12:38 AM
A true legend lives on forever
TheLastRhodesian2/4/2010 12:27 AM
R.I.P my old friend!....it really makes you realize how precious life is and can i just say that those 1995 boks were indeed a "band of brothers" and they trully symbollized what a springbok rugby player is! tot siens jou lekker ding!
AMB2/3/2010 11:50 PM
RIP - you were a true Springbok.
Ian2/3/2010 11:48 PM
What a Rugby GREAT, what a GENTLEMAN! R.I.P Ruben!
Mike 2/3/2010 11:30 PM
Thanks Ruben for all the great memories, Dankie vir die voorbeeld wat jy gestel het! Rest in peace. Thoughts and prayers for all family Nag ou Grote
Teebs2/3/2010 11:13 PM
RIP Legend!!!
Pierre2/3/2010 11:08 PM
Nag ou Grote
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.