Deans makes sweeping changes

2012-06-07 07:26
Robbie Deans (Gallo)

Sydney - The Wallabies responded Thursday to their shock loss to Scotland this week by making eight changes to the starting line-up for the first Test against Six Nations champions Wales in Brisbane.

Coach Robbie Deans brought in five fresh forwards and three backs for Saturday's match, after his side were upset 9-6 by Six Nations wooden-spooners Scotland in Newcastle on Tuesday.

There will be an all-Waratahs front-row with Benn Robinson at loosehead, Sekope Kepu at tighthead and hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau.

Reds second rower Rob Simmons is reinstated for injured Sitaleki Timani, while Wycliff Palu is the new number eight.

Robinson will make his first appearance since the record 59-16 win over France in 2010 after missing all of last year's Tests with a serious knee injury.

In changes among the backs, Adam Ashley-Cooper was selected at fullback while Rob Horne will partner Pat McCabe in the centres. Injured winger Joe Tomane is replaced by Cooper Vuna.

"We're going out there to attack... and to turn the scoreboard over," Deans said. "We've got some plans that suit us and suit our playing group and the rest remains to be seen.

"We've got some firepower across the backline that we'll be wanting to bring into the game."

The Welsh have lost their last four matches against the Wallabies, including the World Cup third place playoff in New Zealand in October and a 24-18 defeat in Cardiff in December.

The Wallabies have won eight of the nine Tests played between the two sides in Australia, with the sole Welsh victory a 19-16 win in Sydney in 1969.



15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Cooper Vuna, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Will Genia, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 David Pocock (captain), 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson

Substitutes: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Dave Dennis, 19 Michael Hooper, 20 Nic White, 21 Anthony Fainga'a, 22 Mike Harris


15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 George North, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins

Substitutes: 16 Matthew Rees, 17 Paul James, 18 Alun Wyn Jones, 19 Ryan Jones, 20 Lloyd Williams, 21 James Hook, 22 Ashley Beck

Referee: Craig Joubert (RSA)

Read more on:    robbie deans  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

SA Rugby's coaching indaba is set to take place this week. Do you think the two-day think-tank will make any difference?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.