Upset fans slam 'pathetic' WP

Cape Town - Western Province scraped into the Currie Cup semi-finals with a narrow win over the Boland Cavaliers on Friday night, but their fans were left frustrated after another unconvincing performance.

WP needed to win the game at Newlands in order to reach the semi-finals but were left trailing 28-20 with seven minutes remaining against their lowly opponents.

They rallied to score 10 points in the final few minutes to avoid the embarrassment of being knocked out by their neighbours.

The Capetonians will now face the Blue Bulls in the semi-finals in Pretoria on October 15.

WP got thumped 45-26 by the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld earlier in the season and, given the effort against Boland, their fans have predicted a similar disappointment.

Several disgruntled fans took to the team’s official Facebook page to express their dissatisfaction after the match against Boland:

Bevan September wrote: "This WP rugby hurt my eyes. I can't see a game plan. They can't tackle. They shoulda lost the game today coz it's gonna be embarrassing at Loftus next week."

Annatjie Jansen van Rensburg  - "They don't deserve it!!!"

Beverley Graham De Bruyn  - "Win is a Win but not a good game at all"

Jakes Henning - "Useless. ..."

Natie Olivier - "Pathetic!!"

Andre Van Minnen - "Pathetic rugby by Province They don't deserve to win. They will be slaughtered in the semi finals. What is going on with that loser president and coaches? Get rid of them and get WP back to where they should be. WP going from bad to worse."

Helgard van Wyk - "SA rugby gone worse since the springbok players don't play in the currie cup competition anymore. Total rugby in this country is a disgrace.what does gert smal do to improve wp rugby. Dobson must be fired."

Richard Van Breda - "Disgrace. I wonder if the useless slob president took a break from the buffet to watch this performance ?"

Michael Pansegrouw - "Not tense ... ridiculous!!!! It is laughable how bad they are"

Graham Manuel - "WP so lucky to win this game.Loftus going to be a tough one.Eish."

Henry Van Rooyen - "Union falling apart. Absolutely disgraceful"

Yusuf Adams - "The coach must go.... poor , poor game"

Although they were in the minority, there were some fans who highlighted the positives:

Soraya Galant - "Will all of u just stop moaning? Yoh!!!!"

Shukri Allie - "WP Jou lekker ding...silencing the critics once again!!!!"

Barney Klaasin - "Congrats Boys.I take the win ugly or not.Up your game next time."

Michelle Geral - "A win is a win. Not all wins are good, easy or based on brilliant performance. Even professionals have bad days but we won that's all that matters is the points on the board. Well take that. Thank you. Semi final 3rd year in a row. No wonder there are so many critics. #diehardprovincesupporter"

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
Who we choose to trust can have a profound impact on our lives. Join thousands of devoted South Africans who look to News24 to bring them news they can trust every day. As we celebrate 25 years, become a News24 subscriber as we strive to keep you informed, inspired and empowered.
Join News24 today
heading
description
username
Show Comments ()
Voting Booth
How much would you be prepared to pay for a ticket to watch the Springboks play against the All Blacks at Ellis Park or Cape Town Stadium this year?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
R0 - R200
33% - 1817 votes
R200 - R500
32% - 1777 votes
R500 - R800
19% - 1083 votes
R800 - R1500
8% - 461 votes
R1500 - R2500
3% - 187 votes
I'd pay anything! It's the Boks v All Blacks!
5% - 254 votes
Vote
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.

LEARN MORE