Currie Cup

WP reward Duvenage, Koster

2011-10-19 22:18
Dewaldt Duvenage (File)
Cape Town - The Western Province Rugby Football Union (WPRFU) held its annual awards evening on Wednesday evening at the Kelvin Grove Club.

The event, held in conjunction with Die Burger, CTC Sport and DHL, recognises club performance within the Western Province and WP professional players, who have performed well in 2011.

WP loose forward Nick Koster walked away with the award for “WP Best Forward".

The award for “WP Best Backline player” went to Dewaldt Duvenage who, before his foot injury had a remarkable season, alongside Siya Kolisi, who was awarded the “Most Promising Senior player” trophy.

Winger JJ Engelbrecht won the “Players Player of the Year Award”, an award voted for by his peers.

With both the Province u19 and u21 teams progressing to the semi-finals of their respective tournaments, there was a lot of talent to choose from in the Junior Awards category.

Youngster Rayn Smidt took the “WP u19 Best Forward” category, with team-mate Kobus van Wyk chosen as the “WP u19 Best Backline player” and flyhalf Dillyn Leyds as the “Most Promising u19 player”.

In the u21 category, wing Tshotsho Mbovane was the well deserved winner of the “Best Backline player” award, with flanker Reuben Johannes rewarded for a great season by being selected as the “Best Forward”. Province fullback Heinrich Steyl scooped the award for the “Most Promising u21 player”.

Demetri Catrakilis was recognised as the “Clubs’ Player of the Year”, whilst the “Women’s Player of the Year” went to Andrea Stubbs. Varsity Cup Champions, UCT, were also awarded the Grand Challenge for the first time since 1992. The WP Disa and WP Amateur teams collected their trophies for winning their National competitions. 

WP coach Allister Coetzee, commented: “Whilst the job is not quite done yet, this season has already been a remarkable one for WP Rugby at all levels, the team and our supporters. The structures are in place through the ranks and rugby in the province is strong and healthy. Congratulations to all of the winners here tonight.”

Tobie Titus, President of the WPRFU, added: “Congratulations to all that have achieved here tonight. Rugby in the WP is growing from strength to strength. Investment into the structures and careful foresight and vision will ensure returns into the future.”

Full list of winners:

WP best back - Dewaldt Duvenage
WP best forward - Nick Koster
WP most promising U19 - Dillyn Leyds
WP best back U19 - Kobus van Wyk
WP best forward U19 - Rayn Smidt
WP most promising U21 - Heinrich Steyl
WP best back U21 - Tshotsho Mbovane
WP best forward U21 - Reuben Johannes
WP most promising Snr. player - Siya Kolisi
Club’s Player of the year - Demetri Catrakilis
Players player of the year - JJ Engelbrecht
Women Player of the Year - Andrea Stubbs



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • SS3
    Fri, 01 Aug 2014 @04:00
  • SS4
    Fri, 01 Aug 2014 @05:00
  • SS5
    Fri, 01 Aug 2014 @05:59
  • SS7
    Fri, 01 Aug 2014 @06:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

08 August 2014
Eastern Province Kings v Western Province, Port Elizabeth 19:10
09 August 2014
Griquas v Sharks, Kimberley 15:00
Golden Lions v Blue Bulls, Johannesburg 17:05
Pumas v Free State Cheetahs, Nelspruit 19:10
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS

Who will be crowned 2013 Currie Cup champions?

Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.