Currie Cup

Sharks win as WP see red

2012-09-15 21:39
Sharks v WP (Gallo Images)
Durban - The Sharks secured second position on the Currie Cup log after their 43-27 victory over Western Province on a waterlogged Kings Park pitch on Saturday evening.

Province paid a hefty price for blatant ill-discipline with loose forwards Tyrone Holmes and Jebb Sinclair being red-carded for throwing punches while Wilhelm van der Sluys received a yellow card for a late charge. The Capetonians were left with only 12 players in the last six minutes of the encounter.

While the match was played in wet conditions the sides nevertheless played entertaining running rugby. Most of the time the game was on a knife’s edge with little separating the two coastal teams.

In the first 15 minutes the two sides took turns to slot over penalty conversions with the scores level on 6-6 at this stage in the game.

The Sharks opened the scoring courtesy of centre Meyer Bosman with Province flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis replying with a successful penalty conversion of his own.

This pattern was repeated until the Sharks broke the cycle with flanker Jacques Botes scoring his first of a brace of tries, with Bosman converting.

Bosman added another three points with a successful penalty kick three minutes before half-time while Catrakilis kept the Sharks at an arm’s length with a penalty conversion of his own in the 40th minute.

The Sharks opened up a 10-point gap thanks to Bosman’s on-target place-kicking with two more penalty conversions.

The match then took an unexpected turn with Sinclair receiving his marching orders for a punch that saw Jean Deysel drop to the ground in the 53rd minute.

Deysel was not spared by match referee Lourens van der Merwe, who had his hands full with players being guilty of off-the-ball antics.

After continuous pressure the Sharks were finally rewarded for their patience as skipper Keegan Daniel crossed the white-wash in the 60th minute.

The skilful eighthman broke through the middle off a ruck metres from the line to add more points to their tally with Bosman converting to take their score to 29-12.

Province, however, struck back five minutes later with replacement scrumhalf Louis Schreuder scoring his first of two tries with Catrakilis converting.

The visitors found themselves in trouble again over ill-discipline with Holmes receiving his red card for punching Botes.

Botes soon got his revenge scoring his second try of the evening with a try from a driving maul.

Bosman converted to extend the Sharks' lead to 36-22.

Despite having two less players on the field, Province got on the scoreboard again with Schreuder intercepting a Sharks ball to run the length of the field to add to his side’s scoring.

With five minutes left in the match, Van der Sluys was rather cynically yellow-carded for a late charge on Sharks fullback Louis Ludik.

The Sharks, however, could not manage to take full advantage of playing against a depleted Province side with only 12 players on the field.

They nevertheless found their way over the tryline to score their bonus point try on the 82 minute mark with the referee awarding them a penalty try, which Bosman converted to take their score to 42-27.



Tries: Jacques Botes (2), Keegan Daniel, Penalty try
Conversions: Meyer Bosman (4)
Penalties: Bosman (5)

Western Province:

Tries: Schreuder (2)
Conversion: Catrikilis
Penalties: Catrikilis (5)



15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (captain), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Jandré Marais, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Pieter Dixon, 1 Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 Peet Marais, 19 Brynard Stander, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 S'bura Sithole

Western Province:

15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Damian de Allende, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Jebb Sinclair, 7 Tyrone Holmes, 6 Deon Fourie (captain), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Don Armand, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Deon Carstens

Substitutes: 16 Steven Kitshoff, 17 Tom Botha, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Helmut Lehmann, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Joe Pietersen

Read more on:    sharks  |  wp  |  currie cup  |  cape town  |  durban  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 25 August 2017
Pumas v Blue Bulls, Nelspruit 19:00
Saturday, 26 August 2017
Western Province v Sharks, Cape Town 15:00
Free State Cheetahs v Golden Lions, Bloemfontein 17:15
Friday, 01 September 2017
Blue Bulls v Griquas, Pretoria 18:15
Saturday, 02 September 2017
Golden Lions v Pumas, Johannesburg 14:00
Sharks v Free State Cheetahs, Durban 16:15
Friday, 08 September 2017
Pumas v Sharks, Nelspruit 17:00
Griquas v Golden Lions, Kimberley 19:15
Saturday, 09 September 2017
Western Province v Free State Cheetahs, Cape Town 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Which team will be crowned 2017 Currie Cup champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.