Currie Cup

R1.8m for Currie Cup winners

2013-08-08 12:32
Currie Cup (File)
Cape Town - The Absa Currie Cup has been given the 'ultimate makeover' for the 2013 season with the winners set to walk away with a R1.8m cheque and a trophy restored to its 1891 historic glory.

The tournament has been given a major revamp by the South African Rugby Union and sponsors Absa in arguably one of the most exciting developments in the competition’s 122-year history.

The finalists in all divisions will share in a new R5m prize fund while the trophy returned this week from the workshops in which it was made and where it had been sent for restoration.

“The Absa Currie Cup is the ‘Holy Grail’ of South African rugby and now the winners will be rewarded as such and the trophy looks like it once more,” said Jurie Roux, SARU CEO.

“The competition is massively important to the provinces, players, coaches and sponsors and by offering prize money for the first time in the competition’s history we’re underlining the Absa Currie Cup’s current status as well as its historical significance.”

Roux said the prize money would be split as follows:

• Absa Currie Cup Premier Division champions – R1.8m
• Absa Currie Cup Premier Division runners up– R1.2m
• Absa Currie Cup First Division champions – R1m
• Absa Currie Cup First Division runners up– R500 000
• Absa Under-21 ‘A Division’ champions –R200 000
• Absa Under-21 ‘A Division’ losing finalists – R50 000
• Absa Under-19 ‘A Division’ champions – R200 000
• Absa Under-19 ‘A Division’ losing finalists – R50 000

The prize money is awarded to the provincial union in each case to be used at their discretion. However, R200 000 of the R1.8m awarded to the Absa Currie Cup Premier Division winner is to be allocated to the Academy structures at the victorious union.

“The Absa Currie Cup is the oldest domestic rugby competition in the world – as far as we know,” said Roux, “and the winners since 1891 have only ever received the trophy. The award of prize money aligns our premier domestic competition with the modern tradition of many top sports tournaments worldwide by financially rewarding provinces and their players for their hard work. 

“Many iconic Springboks took the first meaningful steps in their senior rugby careers in the Absa Currie Cup and I have no doubt that this tradition will continue with the crop of young players coming through in SA.”

Bobby Malabie Group Executive: Marketing, Communications, Citizenship & Public Affairs, Barclays Africa Group said: “The Absa Currie Cup undoubtedly remains the cornerstone and anchor of South African rugby and the restored trophy and prize money will add to the prestige of the competition and serve as further motivation to players across all divisions.

“At the heart of the game there is, respect, integrity, the desire for excellence and the camaraderie of match day for players and fans. This complements our human spirit campaign which promotes these values. 

“At Absa we want to inspire people and work with them to excel.  I am sure the 2013 edition of the Absa Currie Cup will live up to all expectations of another exciting season.”

To coincide with the new season, the famous trophy also underwent an extensive restoration to recapture its former glory. A near century and a quarter of presentations and celebrations had taken their toll of a trophy that was actually manufactured in 1875.

The Cup was returned to Garrard of London, the Crown Jewellers, from whose workshops it had first emerged. The handle - which had been damaged in recent times - was remodeled and the whole trophy given back its golden sheen.

“The trophy first arrived here 122 years ago and it was in need of a makeover after passing through so many hands in celebration,” said Roux.

“It is now restored to its original glory and is worthy once again of being the centerpiece of South African rugby. It is an iconic cup and will be the source of many more memorable rugby moments in years to come.”

Sir Donald Currie gave the famous golden cup to the captain of the first British team to tour South Africa in 1891 with instructions that it was to be presented to the first team to beat the tourists, where after it should become a floating trophy for interprovincial competition in South Africa.

In the event, the tourists were unbeaten but the trophy was presented to Griqualand West, who were adjudged to have put up the best performance against the 1891 team. Their name is the first to appear on it. 

It was first competed for by provincial teams in 1892 – when Western Province were the winners – and, at one time, was not contested during seasons when international touring teams were in South Africa. Since 1968 the competition has been held annually. The first final was held in 1939.

From left to right: Frans Steyn (Sharks), Rayno Barnes (Griquas), Derick Minnie (Golden Lions), Jono Ross (Blue Bulls), Deon Fourie (Western Province), Boom Prinsloo (Free State Cheetahs)

Read more on:    currie cup  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Quiz: Test your Rio Olympics memory!

Think you know what went on at the Rio Olympics? Prove it by tackling Sport24's ridiculously impossible yet highly addictive post-Games quiz!


Rio Olympics

GALLERY: SA's Rio Olympic medallists
As it happened: Rio Olympics - Day 17
Selecting 6 numbers turned Britain into Olympic superpower
Caster cranks up the heat in Rio semi
31 August 2016
Griquas v Eastern Province Kings, Kimberley 17:00
02 September 2016
Boland Cavaliers v Pumas, Wellington 15:00
Blue Bulls v Golden Lions, Pretoria 19:00
03 September 2016
Cheetahs v Eastern Province Kings, Bloemfontein 15:00
Western Province v Sharks, Cape Town 17:10
08 September 2016
Griquas v Boland Cavaliers, Kimberley 19:00
09 September 2016
Golden Lions v Western Province, Johannesburg 19:00
10 September 2016
Sharks v Cheetahs, Durban 17:00
Pumas v Blue Bulls, Nelspruit 19:10
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The new-look Currie Cup format for 2016 is,

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Follow all the action from the 2016 Rio Olympics. The highs, the lows, the tears, the smiles as the world's greatest athletes compete for gold, silver and bronze.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.