Currie Cup

Lions to beat WP by 8 - bookies

2015-10-23 20:00
Johan Ackermann (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Golden Lions will get the better of Western Province in the Currie Cup final at Ellis Park in Johannesburg on Saturday, if local bookmakers are to be believed.

According to, Johan Ackermann’s charges will beat WP by 8 points.

The Lions will be out for revenge after narrowly losing last year’s final 19-16 to WP at Newlands.

On that day, Lions flyhalf Marnitz Boshoff had a torrid afternoon, missing several kicks at goal - including a last-gasp effort to take the game into extra time.

But the Lions have been in rampant form this year, winning all their matches en route to the final.

They will also enter the match at Ellis Park confidently with the knowledge that they thumped WP 62-32 at the same ground just three weeks ago.

However, WP were impressive in their 23-18 semi-final upset over the Blue Bulls in Pretoria last weekend and will be confident knowing they are into their fourth Currie Cup final in succession.

The Lions showed glimpses of vulnerability in their semi-final against the Free State Cheetahs last weekend and it will be interesting to see how they handle the ‘firm favourites’ tag this Saturday.

Kick-off is scheduled for 13:45.


Golden Lions:

15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Courtnall Skosan, 13. Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 12. Howard Mnisi, 11. Anthony Volmink, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley, 7. Kwagga Smith, 6. Jaco Kriel (captain), 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Lourens Erasmus, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Jacques van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16. Malcolm Marx, 17. Ruan Dreyer, 18. Fabian Booysen, 19. Stephan de Witt, 20. Jaco van der Walt, 21. Stokkies Hanekom, 22. Sampie Mastriet

Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Dillyn Leyds, 13. Johnny Kotze, 12. Juan de Jongh (captain), 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16. Michael Willemse, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Chris van Zyl, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Jano Vermaak, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Huw Jones


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2016 Currie Cup winners will be ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.