Currie Cup

Liebenberg named WP skipper

2011-07-28 15:47
Tiaan Liebenberg (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Hooker Tiaan Liebenberg has been named as Western Province's captain for their Absa Currie Cup clash against the Blue Bulls at Newlands on Saturday.

Liebenberg replaces Deon Fourie, who captained WP in their first two Currie Cup games of the season.

This is the only change to the starting line-up that thrashed the Leopards 47-9 in Potchefstroom on Friday night.

As usual, WP expect a big physical onslaught from their Northern rivals and Liebenberg provides some much needed extra beef to their front row.

Fourie has also struggled to find is lineout jumpers this season and coach Coetzee will hope Liebenberg will bring some much needed improvement in that regard.

"Tiaan is a specialist at set piece and thus this week he is preferred. We will continue to alternate the captaincy between these two players until Duane (Vermeulen) returns," said WP coach Allister Coetzee.

On the bench Nick Groom replaces Louis Schreuder at scrumhalf while Berton Klaasen replaces Isma-eel Dollie.

Groom and Klaasen both performed well for WP's under-21 side against the Leopards on Friday.

"The Bulls are a physical side and you need to match that physicality. It will be direct, in your face stuff this weekend and there is a high premium on physicality. As such we have included Nic Groom on the bench, and brought in Burton Klaasen to cover centre - both are abrasive players that can handle the pressure and deserve the opportunity," said Coetzee.


Western Province:
15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 JJ Engrlbrecht, 10 Dimitri Catrakilis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nick Koster, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 De Kock Steenkamp,4  Hilton Lobberts, 3 Brock Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg (captain), 1 Wicus Blaauw

Substitutes: Deon Fourie, Frans Malherbe, Adriaan Fondse, Nick Fenton–Wells, Nick Groom, Berton Klaasen, Marcel Brache.

Blue Bulls:

15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Dustin Jinka, 8 Gerrit-Jan van Velze, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Derick Kuün, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Fudge Mabeta, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 2 Gary Botha (captain), 1 Corné Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Warwick Tecklenburg, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Marnitz Boshoff,  22 Francois Venter



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • SS3
    Sat, 26 Jul 2014 @04:00
  • SS4:
    Sat, 26 Jul 2014 @05:00
  • SS7:
    Sat, 26 Jul 2014 @06:00
  • SS5:
    Sat, 26 Jul 2014 @06:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

08 August 2014
Eastern Province Kings v Western Province, Port Elizabeth 19:10
09 August 2014
Griquas v Sharks, Kimberley 15:00
Golden Lions v Blue Bulls, Johannesburg 17:05
Pumas v Free State Cheetahs, Nelspruit 19:10

Who will be crowned 2013 Currie Cup champions?

Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.