Currie Cup

Griquas name team for Bulls

2012-08-08 15:04
Ryno Barnes (File)
Cape Town - Griquas coach Pote Human has named his team to take on the Blue Bulls in their Currie Cup opener in Pretoria on Friday night.

Hooker Ryno Barnes will skipper the side at Loftus Versfeld.

Flanker Justin Downey and fullback Willie le Roux  - who impressed for the Cheetahs in Super Rugby - are two notable inclusions in the starting team.

Two former Bulls players, centres JP Nel and Stefan Watermeyer, will also line up against their former team.

Griquas will be eager to get their campaign off to a solid start in the new six-team Premier Division format.

The last time these two teams met in the Currie Cup Griquas upset the Bulls 48-44 in Kimberley at the tail end of last season - a loss which eventually cost the men from Pretoria a spot in the semi-finals.

Griquas finished sixth in the eight-team Premier Division last season, while the Bulls were four log points above them in fifth.

With the top division only featuring six teams this year, the event is sure to test the depth of the men from Kimberley as they find themselves as the only of the so-called "smaller" unions playing in the top flight, which might see wins hard to come by.

However, they thoroughly deserve their top-flight status, as since the advent of professionalism in 1996 they have been by far the most consistent of the smaller unions in the Currie Cup.

This year sees the first time since 1995 that the Currie Cup reverts back to the old six-team strength versus strength format.

Kick-off at Loftus is at 19:10.


Blue Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Ulrich Beyers, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Clayton Blommetjies, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Ruan Snyman, 8 Dewald Potgieter (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Dawie Steyn.

Substitutes: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Lionel Cronjé, 22 Jan Serfontein.

Griquas: 15 Willie le Roux 14 Luzuko Vulindlu 13 JP Nel 12 Stefan Watermeyer 11 Rocco Jansen 10 Francois Brummer 9 Jacques Coetzee 8 Leon Karemaker 7 Jonathan Adendorf 6 Justin Downey 5 Martin Muller 4 Ligtoring Landman 3 Lourens Adriaanse 2 Ryno Barnes (captain) 1 Steph Roberts

Substitutes: 16 Matthew Dobson 17 Janro van Niekerk 18 Frikkie Spies 19 Jaco Nepgen 20 Marnus Hugo 21 Marnitz Boshoff 22 Wilmaure Louw

Read more on:    blue bulls  |  griquas  |  currie cup  |  ryno barnes  |  kimberley  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

01 July 2016
Cell C Sharks XV v Leopards, Durban 16:45
Blue Bulls v Boland Cavaliers, Pretoria 19:00
02 July 2016
Free State XV v Hino Valke, Bloemfontein 12:15
Xerox Golden Lions v Griffons, Johannesburg 14:10
Western Province v SWD Eagles, Cape Town 16:00
Windhoek Draught Welwitschias v Border Bulldogs, Windhoek 16:00
EP Kings v Griquas, Port Elizabeth 16:00
07 July 2016
Griquas v Pumas, Kimberley 19:00
08 July 2016
SWD Eagles v Free State XV, George 19:00
09 July 2016
Hino Valke v Xerox Golden Lions, Kempton Park 15:00
Border Bulldogs v Blue Bulls, East London 15:00
Leopards v EP Kings, Potchefstroom 15:00
Boland Cavaliers v Western Province, Piketberg 16:00
15 July 2016
Blue Bulls v Windhoek Draught Welwitschias, Pretoria 13:00
Cell C Sharks XV v Hino Valke, Durban 16:15
EP Kings v Griffons, Port Elizabeth 18:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The new-look Currie Cup format for 2016 is,

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.