Currie Cup

Cheetahs hold off WP

2015-08-28 20:55
Rayno Benjamin (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Free State Cheetahs on Friday defeated Western Province 28-21 in their Currie Cup encounter at Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.

The Cheetahs held off a fightback from the defending champions after initially dominating proceedings

Facing a 25-15 half-time deficit, having at one stage been down by 25 points to three, WP chased the game brilliantly but had to be content with a losing bonus point in the end.

However, their slow start, which saw them concede three early tries, ultimately cost them as they lost their second game in a row this season.

In next weekend's action, the Cheetahs travel to Pretoria  to face the Blue Bulls, while WP host Griquas at Newlands.


Free State Cheetahs:

Tries: Niell Jordaan, Shaun Venter, Rayno Benjamin

Conversions: Fred Zeilinga (2)

Penalties: Zeilinga (2), Sias Ebersohn

Western Province:

Tries: Seabbelo Senatla, Rynhardt Elstadt

Conversion: Demetri Catrakilis

Penalties: Catrakilis, Kurt Coleman  (2)


Free State Cheetahs:

15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Armandt Koster, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 BG Uys

Substitutes: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Reniel Hugo, 19 Freddy Ngoza, 20 Ruan van Rensburg, 21, Tertius Kruger, 22 Sias Ebersohn

Western Province:

15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Nizaam Carr (captain), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 JP Smith, 18 Jan de Klerk, 19 Chris Cloete, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Dillyn Leyds


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2016 Currie Cup winners will be ...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.