Maties to host Club Champs

2011-04-11 15:49
SARU president Oregan Hoskins (File)

Cape Town - The SARU National Club Championships will again be hosted by the Western Province Rugby Football Union at Stellenbosch University’s Danie Craven Stadium later this year, the South African Rugby Union (SARU) confirmed on Monday.

This prestigious tournament, in its 37th year, will take place from Saturday, 17 September to Friday, 23 September. Sixteen teams will again participate in the Club Championships, consisting of the 14 provincial club champions and two invited teams, to be determined by SARU’s Games and Policies Committee.

Other SARU tournaments were also finalised after a meeting of the Games and Policies Committee, which was ratified by the Executive Council at their meeting held on 31 March 2011.

Amateur Provincial Tournaments:

APC North
Valke Rugby Union
Venue: Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park
Date: Monday, 13 June to Friday, 17 June 2011
Teams: Blue Bulls, Blue Bulls (Limpopo), Falcons (East), Falcons (South), Golden Lions, Leopards, Mpumalanga & Mpumalanga Rural (8 Teams).

APC Central
Griqualand West Rugby Union
Venue: Kimberley
Date: Monday, 5 September to Friday, 9 September 2011
Teams: Free State, Free State Rural, Griffons, Griffons Rural, Griqualand West, Griqualand West Rural, KwaZulu-Natal and KZN Rural (8 teams).

APC South
Boland Rugby Union
Venues: Vredenburg / Saldanha / Velddrif
Date: Tuesday, 20 September to Saturday, 24 September 2011
Teams: Boland, Border, Border Rural, Eastern Province, EP Rural, South Western Districts, Western Province (7 teams) and an invitation team from Boland, as host, to make it eight (8) teams.

Sub Union Tournaments

Leopards Rugby Union
Venue: Profert Olën Park, Potchefstroom
Date: Monday, 18 July to Friday, 22 July 2011
Teams: Blue Bulls, Blue Bulls (Limpopo), Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Mpumalanga, Valke (7 teams) and an invitation team from Leopards, as host, to make it eight (8) teams.

Boland Rugby Union
Venue: Vredenburg / Saldanha / Velddrif
Date: Tuesday, 20 September to Saturday, 24 September 2011
Teams: Boland, Border, Eastern Province Free State, Griqualand West, Kwa-Zulu Natal, South Western Districts and Western Province (8 teams).

Easter Weekend Tournaments

Four tournaments will he held from 22 to 25 April 2011, in Border, Eastern Province, Griqualand West and Boland.

The hosts are Swallows Rugby Club (Border), which celebrates their centenary; Universals Rugby Club (Griqualand West), celebrating 125 years of existence; and Gardens Rugby Club (Eastern Province), which reaches its 50th anniversary this year. A similar tournament will be held in Boland, with a host to be confirmed.



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.