Rugby

Chiliboy to lead midweek Boks

2009-10-31 22:37
Email | Print
Midweek skipper (File)

Pretoria - Blue Bulls hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle will lead the Springboks in their two midweek matches on their end of year tour to Europe.

Bok coach Peter de Villiers also announced that Ralepelle, the first black player to captain the Springboks, would lead the midweek team in their matches against Leicester (November 6) and Saracens (November 17).

Ralepelle is one of three hookers picked in De Villiers's squad, along with rookie team-mate Bandise Maku and Sharks No 2 Bismarck du Plessis.

Tour captain John Smit, now a tighthead, can also do duty in the middle of the front row if required.

Your Comments

Chris11/2/2009 2:03 PM
I fully support PDV on this one. Derick Kuun is the week link in the Bulls scrum and this point was proved on Saturday when Maku replaced him. As far as I am concernrd Chilli should be in the Bulls starting side with Maku as his deputy. Kuun should be a reserve loose forward since he is not a hooker nor a captain. Both Chiliboy and Maku are good players and came thru the ranks. The Bulls future captain for the future could be either be Chili or Dewald but NOT Kuun.
Toit11/2/2009 9:01 AM
Ek is nie 'n Bul supporter nie, inteendeel ek hou niks van hulle nie, maar ek haal vandag my hoed af vir Derick Kuun. Die feit dat hy nog nie sy goeg gevat en gef-off het nie, se baie van hom. Hy is by verre die beter haker in die bul span maar moet terugstaan vir twee KWOTAS. Absurd, lagwekkend, noem dit wat jy wil, dit is 'n skande, Piet snorre ek hoop hierdie een backfire sleg op jou. BIGTIME!!!!!
ImpartialCanuck11/2/2009 2:44 AM
Mr. de Villiers, you cannot be serious? We have just watched a fine Currie Cup season where Mr. Ralepelle hardly featured and yet he has been selected to play as captian in mid-week games abroad..... We sure do hope this works out, as the foreign fans cannot understand the selection - can certainly understand why your local "bloggers" are so upset - there must have been 3, or 4 better hookers to choose from. You owe it to the SA rugby fans to apologise for this inclusion if their fears are realised, as we think the global teams are going to be feasting on this decision!!!
What the hell11/1/2009 5:00 PM
Hey PDV, While you are losing your head, why don't you make Earl Rose the captain of the test side. This is one for the book hey. Hope old Chilly is proud.
nice one 11/1/2009 12:48 PM
He is going to have to do very well to convince anyone that he is good enough to be captain. He doesn't seem to have much support, hope at least his team mates support him, otherwise it will turn into a circus one again ------- SA rugby dont you love it !! Maybe they should have a white captain in Bafana Bafana - seeing that its always about the colour of your skin .....
VELLE11/1/2009 11:43 AM
Praat van diepte by die Bulle, hulle nr 2 en 3 hakers ook 2 en 3 in die land.Beter as die bulle se nr 1 en alle ander provinsies behalwe Sharks se nrs 1
Ces11/1/2009 11:09 AM
I am happy they make Chiliboy the captain for those two matches. Do it and get it over with,so we can start preparing for the next world cup and search for a TRUE captain. Better now (then they can see he is not worthy) then in the world cup. My opinion, SA`s next great captain. Dewald Potgieter. And Earl Rose again...WTF?
Pat11/1/2009 10:22 AM
What next maybe a brazilian coach
huh11/1/2009 9:19 AM
The sense this makes ......... halp!!
Bok Fan11/1/2009 9:12 AM
I am sad. It is great when people in position deserve the honor. I respect Chili Boy as a person, but as a Captain of arguably the most successful organization in the country, I do not. I am not sure that I even respect his ability as a provincial hooker. I do not blame CB for the cheapening of the Springbok cap (he already has 8 and has played just about as many minutes) or the cheapening of the leader's role, he is just taking his opportunity. I look forward to a day when a black man who is not forced in by some political agenda earns his place in the team and leads the Bok's to victory. Until them I hope CB does a PDV and proves to be worth the leg up.
Mitch11/1/2009 9:11 AM
So he is a better captain than John, or any of the other guys with years experience. Where has he played?? What experience does he have to make him qualify for this position. I think I am going to pick a political party and start shouting for them around the next braai. LMAO
Phil11/1/2009 9:07 AM
This cant be taken seriously..Chiliboy is probably one of the worst selections to ever in a Springbok team..Its a sad moment of South African rugby
Molefe11/1/2009 9:05 AM
Personally I think that this is a mistake. Nothing against Chillie Boy, but Bandise Maaku has shown that he is the better Hooker. Surely you select the better player first... before you look at stuff like leadership ability? As for the peanut Earl Rose? Somebody needs to yank his head out of P. Div's behind before the man suffocates!
Jos11/1/2009 8:55 AM
this is just racial window dressing, Ralapelle shouldn't even be in the squad, and no I'm not a racist the guy is just not good enough!! well done to Maku, I was hoping he'd get a chance, he's a talented dude! but Ralapelle...eish! he doesn't even make the Bulls starting line up, now he's a midweek Bok captain, joke!! hope he proves me wrong but he'll have to step up in a serious way!!!!
Syd11/1/2009 8:42 AM
Does anyone remember whose name was read out after Earl Rose. Everyone who was at our venue went "WHAT" and it took a couple of seconds to register that the backline fetcher was back in favour . Remember Jake White saying Luke Watson was only good enough to fetch his beers. Maybe Div needs a beer fetcher as well.
what a joke!!!11/1/2009 8:19 AM
hahahahaha....this is funny. LOL! He's not good enough to start for the Bulls, but he's good enough to lead our country!....hahaha...i wonder if he thinks he actually deserves to be in the team....hahahaha...imagine that!
ALL OR NOTHING11/1/2009 8:03 AM
With Derick Kuun and Gary Botha at the Bulls, it would mean that Chilliboy is the 3rd or 4th best hooker, since there is also Maku to consider. And now this chap is considered the future captain. He will have to improve drastically. Maybe he has got the leadership qualities, but a leader must also be able to lead by example.
DON11/1/2009 7:59 AM
The players of colour that realy stood out for me this CC season was: AJohsnon, De Jongh, L Mapoe, Gio Aplon, Earl Lewis. Sadly only 2 of the aforementioned players were selected. Other players that made their mark were Sarel Pretorius and Joe Peterson and they were also not selected. But I hope the Boks will make us proud
MvdM11/1/2009 7:53 AM
You do not sausage somebody and then hope that when he is in the position he will rise to the occasion. Chiliboy and Earl does not meet the criteria period! Secondly before I am told that I am racist I would like to congratulate all the other players of color in the team. You deserve the honor of playing for the Springboks.
Peter11/1/2009 7:42 AM
And so SA rugby starts its slide into obscurity
Jones11/1/2009 6:58 AM
The exclusion of guys like Kuun, Pietersen, and Deysel for Maku, Rose, and Johnson is a disgusting show of racism. When these guys put on the green and gold I hope they know why they are there. This totally degrades guys like habana, beast, JP, and the countless other black players who have earned the right to wear the springbok colours.
Peter11/1/2009 6:40 AM
Here begins the march of SA rugby into obscurity
PDV se gat11/1/2009 4:21 AM
give me a break...... pushing for colour to lead. hope his true potential comes out
Tommygun11/1/2009 3:16 AM
Chiliboy and Maku they not even good enough for the CC. To say they are better than Tiaan Liebenberg and the two Strauss boys from the Cheetahs is a bloody joke. As for ( Soil my pants under every highball ) Rose, this is an insult to all those players who stood tall in the S14 and CC. For Snor to say he is looking to build back up for 2011 defence of the world cup, he had better take off his dark glasses because some of his selections are poor.
Rudi11/1/2009 12:09 AM
I believe that Dewald Potgieter should be the future captain. Not only does he have a proven track record as captain, but he is a "first choice player" for his union.
Diemoerin10/31/2009 11:53 PM
My Moer...Chilliboy !! Quota Captain..quota player..end of friggin story. Fall on your sword snorre...I suspose the ANC political henchmen got to you !! Payback time !!??
Dons10/31/2009 11:39 PM
WHAT A JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Chris10/31/2009 11:06 PM
Firstly, before you get your panties in a twist, I am not a rasicst, I will support any person selected for the Springbok (or whatever) team, as long as the players selected are selected on merit. Although this latest selection is supposed to bring new blood to the Bok camp, are the selectors now trying to cull the already endangered "white springbok"? I have had the pleasure of watching many Provincial and International games on T.V, and have hardly heard of some of the second stringers that have been selected. These guys aren't even the second or third best players that are available. I mean, the previous Earl Rose debate is still ringing in my ears. I have absolutely nothing against "players of colour" who deserve their green and gold jersey's, but players who get selected "just because" are a cause of major concern. Select the best because the best have worked very hard to earn those colours. Why demoralise the guys that are deserved of a place, because of the country's past.
Renoldus10/31/2009 11:00 PM
What a joke. He is not even starting for the Bulls! Next Bok captain? LOL
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If current Springbok coach Peter de Villiers were to be fired, who would you like to see take over?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide