Carter wins best player award

2012-12-03 17:54
Dan Carter (AFP)

London - Dan Carter led a New Zealand clean sweep of the 2012 International Rugby Board (IRB) awards announced here on Monday.

The flyhalf was named player-of-the-year, with Steve Hansen winning coach-of-the-year and the All Blacks the team-of-the-year following a 20-match unbeaten run by the world champions that only came to an end with a shock 38-21 defeat by England at Twickenham on Saturday.

That New Zealand undefeated sequence started last year, on their way to winning the World Cup, and 2012 saw New Zealand win 12 out of 14 Tests, with their only blemishes an 18-18 draw away to Australia in October and Saturday's stunning setback.

It was the second time the 30-year-old Carter, who this year returned from injury problems that saw him miss out on New Zealand's World Cup triumph, had won the IRB honour, following his success in 2005.

The other nominees for 2012 player of the year were All Blacks captain Richie McCaw, a three-time winner, England flyhalf Owen Farrell - who scored 17 points against New Zealand on Saturday - and France pivot Frederic Michalak.

This was the third straight year New Zealand had won the team award, with Hansen keeping the coaching prize in the country following the back-to-back wins of World Cup-winning boss Graham Henry.

IRB player of the year winners:

2012: Dan Carter (NZL)

2011: Thierry Dusautoir (FRA)

2010: Richie McCaw (NZL)

2009: Richie McCaw (NZL)

2008: Shane Williams (WAL)

2007: Bryan Habana (RSA)

2006: Richie McCaw (NZL)

2005: Dan Carter (NZL)

2004: Schalk Burger (RSA)

2003: Jonny Wilkinson (ENG)

2002: Fabien Galthie (FRA)

2001: Keith Wood (IRL)

IRB team of the year winners:

2012: New Zealand

2011: New Zealand

2010: New Zealand

2009: South Africa

2008: New Zealand

2007: South Africa

2006: New Zealand

2005: New Zealand

2004: South Africa

2003: England

2002: France

2001: Australia

IRB coach of the year winners:

2012: Steve Hansen (NZL)

2011: Graham Henry (NZL)

2010: Graham Henry (NZL)

2009: Declan Kidney (IRL)

2008: Graham Henry (NZL)

2007: Jake White (RSA)

2006: Graham Henry (NZL)

2005: Graham Henry (NZL)

2004: Jake White (RSA)

2003: Clive Woodward (ENG)

2002: Bernard Laporte (FRA)

2001: Rod Macqueen (AUS)

Read more on:    all blacks  |  dan carter  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.