Bryce Lawrence wins ref award

2011-12-01 12:43
Bryce Lawrence (File)
Auckland - Jerome Kaino's massive contribution to the All Blacks' 2011 campaign was rewarded when he was named the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year at Thursday's Steinlager Rugby Awards which also celebrated the remarkable achievements of rugby hero Jock Hobbs and the Rugby World Cup-winning All Blacks.
According to the website, Kaino, 28, pipped two of his All Blacks team-mates - captain Richie McCaw and centre Ma’a Nonu - to win the award.

The 2011 Super Rugby Player of the Year award went to Crusaders and All Blacks loosehead prop Wyatt Crockett.

The world champion All Blacks emerged as the 2011 adidas Team of the Year, edging out the ITM Cup-winning Canterbury team, Super Rugby finalists, the Crusaders; and the world series-winning New Zealand Sevens team.

All Blacks coach Graham Henry won the 2011 New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year. Henry retired from the job as one of the most successful coaches of all time, guiding the All Blacks to an 85 percent winning record – a remarkable 88 victories from 103 Tests, during his eight years.

Nominated for the IRB’s Junior Player of the Year after showing outstanding form at the Junior World Championship, New Zealand Under-20 and Bay of Plenty flank Sam Cane picked up the NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year; Waikato’s Tim Mikkelson won the Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year; and All Blacks scrumhalf Piri Weepu capped off a remarkable comeback to be named the Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year.

Test referee Bryce Lawrence won the NZRU Referee of the Year award for a fourth time.

The hero of the Manawatu Turbos and All Blacks flyhalf Aaron Cruden was named the ITM Cup Player of the Year.

The Steinlager Salver, a special presentation to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to New Zealand rugby, was presented to former All Blacks captain and recent NZRU chairperson Jock Hobbs.

Acclaimed for his leadership in New Zealand’s 2005 winning bid to host the 2011 Rugby World Cup, illness forced Hobbs’ early retirement from his roles as chairperson of the NZRU and the RWC tournament body, Rugby New Zealand 2011.

The IRB this year also honoured Hobbs with the Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service.

Full list of winners at the 2011 Steinlager Rugby Awards:

NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year
Sam Cane (Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Under 20)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato, New Zealand Sevens)

NZRU Referee of the Year
Bryce Lawrence

NZRU Women’s Player of the Year
Fiao’o Fa’amausili (Auckland, Black Ferns)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Andy MacDonald (Canterbury)

Super Rugby Player of the Year
Wyatt Crockett (Canterbury, Crusaders, All Blacks)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Piri Weepu – Whakatohea (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)

Heartland Championship Player of the Year
Jon Smyth (Wanganui, Heartland XV)

ITM Cup Player of the Year
Aaron Cruden (Manawatu)

adidas Team of the Year
All Blacks

NZRU Coach of the Year
Graham Henry (All Blacks)

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby
Jock Hobbs

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Jerome Kaino (Auckland, Blues, All Blacks)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

SA Rugby's coaching indaba is set to take place this week. Do you think the two-day think-tank will make any difference?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.