Boks on Tour

SA Embassy shifts blame

2009-11-17 07:45
Email | Print
Ras Dumisani (File)

Paris - South Africa's Embassy in Paris has denied any role in choosing the singer who botched the national anthem before the Springboks' Test against France in Toulouse. 

VIDEO: Botched South African anthem

GALLERY: France vs South Africa

South Africa's coach and players were furious as the singer Ras Dumisani, who is South African, botched the words and struggled to reach the right notes before the Springboks' 20-13 loss on Friday.

Responding to media reports that it recommended Dumisani to the French rugby federation, the embassy said it was not involved in the decision to choose Dumisani.

"The Embassy had no subsequent dealings with any of the parties and rejects all claims that the embassy chose or imposed the singer," the embassy said in a statement. "This was entirely the responsibility of the hosts."

After the defeat, South Africa coach Peter de Villiers, lock Victor Matfield and flyhalf Morne Steyn all expressed their disappointment at the rendition of their anthem.

In a statement on Monday, South African Rugby Union president Oregan Hoskins said his organisation was "shocked and horrified" and wanted explanations from their French counterparts.

The South African embassy in Paris was contacted by the French rugby union in September for the names of singers living in France who could sing the anthem, and said it passed on the number for an agent of the only singer they had listed.

"This was not a recommendation from the embassy since the embassy had no previous exposure to his performances nor is he a renowned performer," the statement continued.

Your Comments

Geejay11/18/2009 7:44 AM
Never seen so many Boere come to defend the national anthem they ridicule themselves. So tell us Boere which part of the national anthem badly sung rendition were you so upset about that you just cried and cried lol. Ja and I'm sure had at least uit die blou been sung correctly you would have seen a totally different "Springsok" performance. Funny all I saw was 15 Frenchmen on the field hurting our so called hard players lol
Junsau11/17/2009 4:10 PM
Why get a doped up Rastafarian to sing what really is a christian hymn. what did they expect?
Ian11/17/2009 3:33 PM
Did anyone really expect the SA embassy in France to actually own up and admit they made a mistake come on now get real
chris11/17/2009 3:30 PM
I wonder who they are going to use for the anthem in the Italy match. Has SARU inquired with the hosts, maybe it could be in Italian. To Fly a national flag upside down means the idiots who made it stitched the toggle on the wrong side, mmmh!!, wonder where the flag was manufactured
Stefan vd Westhuizen11/17/2009 3:29 PM
I don't understand the people of South Africa, nor do I understand the hype about old Ras and how he infuriated the SA team. The reason why I am saying this is because, while the country crumbles due to poverty, unemployment, poor management skills and violent crimes we moan and groan about the SA team who lost, possibly due to sabotage? Yeah right people, wake up and smell the coffee. We lost ... not because of Unlucky Ras, if anything, he was great comic relief for such an intense game, but due to the fact that the French team were better. Plain and simple. Don't go around trying to find an excuse, it is really sad. Oh, and by the way, I ask to most of the people who rant and rave about how Ras butched the anthem, do you really think it's halaal, kosher or ok to moan and groan about your country and then on the other hand moan and groan about someone else who is making your country look silly? Are you jealous? Do you have some sort of mandate that stipulates that only you might try and make SA look crappy, and now you are jealous just because Ras got it right before you? Please, pick a side, and be consistent. Rather than worry about a pathetic game or why we lost, worry about the issues that affect your everyday life as a citizen of South Africa, staying in South Africa. Or do you have hopes that the glorious Boks would come and save you from that driveway hijacking?
herbivore11/17/2009 3:26 PM
eish oh rasi jy raas! shame poor ol rassi is public enemy no1 now...we've heard a lot about him and lets face it,he is famous now...but what about the two chimps that was beating the drums??..no coverage for them? aye mon if you were high on da weed,rassi wudve sounded like a nightingale..hense the 'i sang beautifully' comment....he was what aboriginals would call in 'dreamtime'...hmmm...jah maaan..strawberry fields forever. sorry but raas bek rassi was funny.(lighten up ppl)..i love South Africa.
Dot 11/17/2009 2:49 PM
What an international shame for our proud country. I do think that any hired professional would have had to show there talent before they got the contract to sing. Therefore shame on any of the decision makers for there pride in there own country and there work.
Ah beg yaws...11/17/2009 1:43 PM
Poor old Ras, he along with his lack of talent are responsible for putting the Rastas back by ten years at least. He should make some money by selling his image to the anti-dope organisations, imagine his pic with the caption JUST SAY NO or THIS IS WHAT SMOKING WEED DOES TO YOU.
Nonkie11/17/2009 12:49 PM
Next time we should travel with someone to go sing the National Anthem from South Africa, and lets just travel around with those few selected individuals, I mean I have white friends and family who sing the words so beautifully and here is a black man who cant even say the words right, whats up with that! Leason learnt, lets travel with our singer next time, cause that was not on.
Digby11/17/2009 12:40 PM
I am sure the manager of the SA side is supposed to meet with the officials to check out changerooms, refreshments, anthem arrangements etc.. No, do not blame the Frenchies, it is our own incompetency that led to this!!
Ivan11/17/2009 12:32 PM
Have CSA given any thought to who the Proteas' opponents are??
Ivan11/17/2009 12:27 PM
Careful what you say guys. The French may send Napoleon down here to sort us out!
Amelam11/17/2009 12:25 PM
@La Cock, I don't think it was the French wine. Probably stoned on Malawi Gold.
Ivan11/17/2009 11:42 AM
I guess the French football team will be here next year. Time to get those vuvuzelas out whenever their anthem is played. Mind you the vuvuzela morons probably don't even know this has happened!
PATRIOT11/17/2009 11:38 AM
wow,now is famous all around the globe but I am not even on autograph of this worst clowner.
Smiler11/17/2009 11:36 AM
Maybe Canada will give him political asylum...
Anon11/17/2009 11:32 AM
Well done France. Brilliant, deviant and dishonest tactics, but it worked! I hope when France play in SA next, that we play God Save the Queen instead. See how they like that.
Malema11/17/2009 11:29 AM
That was lovely job done for the country Ras Dumisani, I am haapy that you are not part of the ANC otherwise, the DA will be baying for your blood.
Charlie11/17/2009 11:13 AM
How did the embassy know about Rasti.. They must have heard about him or heard him sing. Maybe he performed at the embassy. How will those nerds know what singing is. Rasti and his contemporaries can only shout, not sing.
PublicAnnouncement11/17/2009 11:11 AM
Is Ras going to sing the Jamaican national anthem at the Bafana game tonight? I think that wuld b a damn good idea!
disgusted11/17/2009 11:08 AM
Responsibilty starts when you are two years old..Some mother's potty train their todlers, then you get the mothers that let their todlers run around without nappies these kids then don't learn any responsability and do their bussiness where ever they like,When these kids are growing up there hormones take over and they make babies with no responsibility.Then they get a job and again they don't take any responsability like some of the Goverment officials. When something goes wrong they blame everyone but themselves and they are excellent in passing the buck, honesty & responsibility does not exist.
Tom11/17/2009 10:59 AM
the SA anthem is so inspiring when performed correctly..The fact that our flag was also flown upside down..... Well cant blame Dumsani for that..no this is the doing of the french ...win at all costs ..distraction tactics....and it worked ,,
Glynnis11/17/2009 10:48 AM
Get over it, people!!!!! There is m0re important stuff going on in the world at the moment. Sure - the Rasta Mahn butchered the anthem - but guess what - the sun came up the next day!! We South Africans are so weighed down by our own feelings of inferiority that we will grab at anything to prove to the world that we are hard done by. Get a life, people!!!!!!
Tbone11/17/2009 10:42 AM
There are a few issues. The embassy was approached to provide names of artists that can sing the anthem. Obviously nobody even checked if the one singer they had on their books could sing the anthem. the second sad part is that the South African embassy has only got one singer on their books that resides in France. what are they doing all day; go shopping and drink wine. Thirdly, Ras's greed, knowing that he could not sing properly, but still accepting the gig, is to blame just as much. He has learned much from our politicians, accept the money to do a job that they can't perform and when found out, to blame everybody else.
velle11/17/2009 10:41 AM
Government should force the embassy official to watch a whole show of Ras, just to make sure in future we dont get another ballsup
Dononvan11/17/2009 10:40 AM
South Africa is a joke in the eyes of the rest of the world, what a mess the 2010 is going to be, I suspect RAS was paid to perform, is he going to give the money back and make a public apology - and RAS please don't use that age old excuse it was a technical problem, do us all a favour and buy a copy of the national anthum and LEARN IT
Ah beg yaws...11/17/2009 10:40 AM
Ras my ganja smoking little Rasta ... if the pressure gets too much remember to blame everything on the previous regime and end every sentence with ... "Is this a black/white thing" or in your case .."Iss diss aye blaak waait ting maan".
SteveD (not steved)11/17/2009 10:38 AM
I agree with the one blogger who stated that this fiasco united (most) south africans. I love my country irrespective of the cr@p. I love the Anthym irrespective of the politics. To bludgeon it to death by a Durbanite - livng and smoking joints in France - not cool dudes, not cool at all............d!ckhe@d
Froggie11/17/2009 10:36 AM
C'est la vie mez amis! 20 - 13 Merci Dumisani, merci! Lol :P
Tshidi11/17/2009 10:32 AM
It's called National Anthem REMIX. That was the quickest way of being famous. Now many S.A's know Ras Dumisani. His albums will be sold out. I had a lekker laugh and was embarrased at the same time when I was listening to him.
.!.11/17/2009 10:27 AM
Ok this how it works... 1: you blame the person who said he can sing the anthem. 2: blame the person who didnt hear him sing the anthem before the whole event started. 3: ras dumisani had nothing do with the picking the artist to sing the anthem... 4: rather blame the nut who said "Hey Ras Dumisani, you can sing the anthem for sa" ( and make your name poo... ) 5: i got nothing against ras dumisani he can sing, just not the sa anthem. he still needs to learn it kthxbye
Elias11/17/2009 10:27 AM
E sechaba sa geso, the most critisised national anthem by the so called "ras dumisani" is on news24, batho I never laughed like that in the morning. You cant blame this guy, He doesn't know the Anthem, He also not seem to care how you feel about that. He was appointed to do the job, and Be it what it be, the job was done, to his best and fullest ability. the only problem ke gore some people might laufg to death watching the video.
Nhlanhla11/17/2009 10:19 AM
I believe there was NO conspiracy at all!! The Rasta-guy was too HIGH and didn’t know the national anthem @ all. It’s a pity cause his black, some racist freaks will turn this into a Political issue. Cool then! . . . . . call him to sing the national anthem when Bafana plays, that will make the issue even.
Dude11/17/2009 10:18 AM
This whole story makes me sick , I have to agree with Bob and others, NO ONE can own up to their mistakes here its a circus of blame (Oh no I couldtn sing cause the mic was old WTF?) No we didnt pick him it was the French (Are you not there to represent our country you useless embacy). Pathetic grow a pair and take responsibility
AVHATENDI MPHAPHULI11/17/2009 10:13 AM
A big embarassment to the nation and the world. South Africa is one of the most respected country in the world, even in sports.
Don11/17/2009 10:12 AM
More denial as per South African government....Ha ha, face it SA embassy, you messed up big time!!!, but don't worry the ANC will lie and protect you. Oh yes, old motormouth will also have something to say, but that will just be rubbish as per normal.
Jan & Elton11/17/2009 10:04 AM
What does the New Constitution prescribe as punitive punishment for murder....in case you think we're on the wrong blog, we refering to Ras Dumisani's diabolical and sham or is that shameful rendition of our inspiring national anthem preceeding the rugby test against Le Bleu at Toulouse last Friday evening. However now that we've all had some time to reflect on events one thing remains resolute the rendition was indeed K*K and deserves the Music Rasberry Of The Year Award! What is most interesting though are those protagonists who profess to ascribe this abysmal rendition as the main reason why the Bokke lost...this view too is K*K for on the night we were out muscled and out played by a more inspired, motivated and prepared set of forwards who starved our backs of possession turning over more balls in the loose and rendering our `main konainne' Victor & Bakkies as inneffective neutralised `newts'! Let's face facts we were out played by the better team. Not a bad thing though.....one cannot rest on one's World Cup Champ's' laurels. In todays rugby arena where even the minnows like Italy, Samoa, Fiji and the next tier from the Northern Hemisphere are fast narrowing the once seismic gap with the Southern Hemisphere teams, you cannot simply rock up and expect to win! A lesson that Div & co will certainly be wise to take heed of! Yes I know that the manne are flat and `sat' after a hectic Super 14 and Tri-Nations but hey we are the world champions and with that comes extra responsibility! Lastly we must have a quiet `Lag' at our fellow rugby supporters and whilst I prefer to abolish the race card to the rubbish heap where it belongs I have to chuckle a little at some of my fellow chommies who mouth the opening stanzas of Nkosi Sikele and gingerishly sing the vernacular lingo in tentative tones before erupting into full gusto when it comes to `Uit die blou....' yeah all of a sardine they're up in arms ctritisizing the Rasta Man's rendition when they themselves have'nt bothered to learn and perfect the words of our national anthem! Remember the idiom `People in glass houses should'nt throw stones'.....or is that `get stoned'! Ya Jahman!
Transformation fear11/17/2009 9:56 AM
Goodness me. Rasta gave such a s*** performance that we could in terms of government policy be forced to also select him for the BOKS. He could compliment Sir Earl Rose. I heard one of them can sing and one can play rugby. Well, we know Rasta can't sing and Sir Earl can't play rugby.
vivian malema11/17/2009 9:54 AM
it was my left hand....no it was my right hand......no it was my left hand.......no it was my right hand.......typical south africa! it sickens me!!
Funny enough ...11/17/2009 9:51 AM
Funny enough, I though RASTA gave a better performannce than the BOKS. Doesn't that say enough..........
BEE11/17/2009 9:49 AM
Are you all stupid? They call it BEE. Government policy and procedure for self-enrichment without any form of empowerment or let's just call it the good old Gravy Train. As with all other government tenders or projects, they simply got an idiot for cheap, approved a budget 10x the value of the contract/project and split the profit between them and their friends in government. That's exactly what BEE represents and unfortunately our RASTA friend was the victim who had to be exposed in front of the entire world. Hey boys, this is Africa my friends – accept it or go and shag a sheep in AUS or NZL.
Mbongeni11/17/2009 9:48 AM
I wouldn't mind if brother Dumisane sings the national anthem when Bafana plays. Lets face it! The team is hopeless. Please! do refrain from turning this issue into ethnic fiasco. AYOBANESS!!!!
Jo11/17/2009 9:47 AM
The only good thing out of all this mess is that it united us as South Africans for our national anthem...Horaay!!!!
DISCWORLD11/17/2009 9:46 AM
When have you ever seen a card carrying member of the ANC fall on his or her sword. They are not wired for this. It takes generations of principles such as fair play, honesty, character and honour to instill this. Dont hold your breath.
Gerry11/17/2009 9:45 AM
Shooo!!!!!????What the? ??!!!!!Ras Dumisani better forget about being a singer,how can a professional singer sing in such a horrible way?was he 100 % sober or did he smoke dagga before he could crush our national anthem?
Anon11/17/2009 9:44 AM
Stop Compalining everyone - Affirmitive Action is part of Government policy to address the wrongs of the past and F*&k up the future.
patrick11/17/2009 9:44 AM
Its was called "attention to detail" A concept that no longer exists in South Africa. Now everything is done the "African" way. What do you expect?
Ras Dumisani11/17/2009 9:39 AM
Eish guys give me a second chance against italy i promise i wont get high again.hahahahahah, i think also the equpment sound are to blame,if there is anyone who wants me to sing during the shower session give me a call. Damn the french
david11/17/2009 9:39 AM
Affrimative action at its best. . This is one of the mistakes that we could all see, but what about all the million others that we do not see. Scary stuff.
The cheeze moved...11/17/2009 9:37 AM
If we can take only one positive from the fiasco then Ras Dumisani is the poster boy for why you shouldnt smoke dope.
I was11/17/2009 9:36 AM
Iwas going to sing the anthem, but then I got high....I was going to sing the anthem but then I got high.....My black brother, you stink.
Buffalo soldier11/17/2009 9:33 AM
Jackie Selebi sent that Rasta, i think he smoked his hair.
Sintu11/17/2009 9:29 AM
Next time lets try a white or mybe a coloured person to sing the entire national anthem,ask me why!
Clive11/17/2009 9:29 AM
Why are we not surprised at the Embassy's denial? This government has become notorious for lies, denials and cover-ups.
Shawn 11/17/2009 9:26 AM
Some one made money out of this clown, anyone heard of this guy? he obviously cant sing, cant remember words and cant take resposability. Poor show.
Burgiesburnin11/17/2009 9:24 AM
Of the 9 options available on the poll as to why the Boks lost, 8 are excusses and on is a reason. Its very good to see that currently 40% chose the reason. Its still a pity that 60% seem to think that the team are good enough. How can you expect Div to get it right when most of you are just looking for excusses anyway.
TshepoK11/17/2009 9:23 AM
Iyo!!......Yep, I saw it for the first time on Morning Live, what a disgrace! Is there a chance of him being charged or probably prosecuted? someone needs to go to jail. This is clearly a matter of national security, this is treason. The players even lost focus and we got slammed by the french, or maybe the french deliberately sabbotaged us. that singing killed my ears this morning.....Ok...ok...can somebody tell us who is this Dumisani guy?
@DeeDee11/17/2009 9:21 AM
It is unfortunate that you blame affirmative action for this whole debacle, why don’t you use your brains a little before blaming, are you playing the BEE card now.
This is not ASA or an AA botch-up!11/17/2009 9:20 AM
The embassy was asked for a list of names of SA singers based in France. It gave the only name it had. It did not endorse Dumisani in any way. The final decision was made by the French rugby union. The responsibility was theirs to ensure the guy knew what he was doing. It is not the embassy's fault. Why had nobody asked why the French rugby union hasn't apologised yet for for hoisting the flag upside down or putting this guy out there when he was clearly was not the right guy for the job? They must have met with him before? They saw him at rehersals? This is not comparable to the ASA debacle. Consider each case on the merits!
@DeeDee11/17/2009 9:20 AM
It is unfortunate that you blame affirmative action for this whole debacle, why don’t you use your brains a little before blaming, are you playing the BEE card now.
peter11/17/2009 9:08 AM
Pathetic! Exactly the s(h)ame as ASA. Ag sies, man! Wonder what awaits the Soccer World Cup? The one bungle after the other.
searching for a scape-goat11/17/2009 9:06 AM
Can't blame the French if we were the one's submitting his name with no other options, pathetic that the embassy is trying to shift blame... But this storm in a teacup would've been forgotten after the final whistle had we won...! But #2: we shouldn't have been on tour in the first place - our players are exhausted after an incredible year... So therefore final blame for Dumi's performance must be placed on money-hungry SARU !
peter11/17/2009 9:06 AM
Pathetic! Exactly the s(h)ame as ASA. Ag sies, man! Wonder what awaits the Soccer World Cup? The one bungle after the other.
Q11/17/2009 9:02 AM
If the French contacted the SA Embassy for name surely the French would make the reasonable assumption that the SA Embassy would do some due diligence and provide a “suitable” list of names. How could any foreign country be expected to ‘quality check’ a rendition of another country’s anthem. The fact that the SA Embassy simply provided the number of an agent smacks of classic Africa apathy. As much as one may argue that the French could have done more, so should the SA Embassy responded with a bit more enthusiasm and professionalism to the request to provide names. But hey, professional conduct from African politicians in fast becoming an internationally pipe dream.
Ref11/17/2009 9:02 AM
I dont the rasta took time to rehearse the National Athem,you could see even from the players themselves,they were very uncomfortable.He spoiled the whole match
Clive11/17/2009 9:02 AM
Of course the embassy will deny it. It's the way this government operates - lies, denials and cover-ups. Which makes us a genuine LDC country.
faithless11/17/2009 9:01 AM
deny deny deny!!!! blame someone else....not my department...had nothing to do with it....sounds so familiar....NO Accountability!!! ....Perhaps Chuene is in the SA embassy in France now ........
PATRIOT11/17/2009 8:59 AM
It seems that it was not only ras who was high there and our embassy too may be they smoke the weed together so they were financialy unstable so they decided to give Ras a chance to make a quick bucks SIES ITS DISGUSTING.
terence11/17/2009 8:54 AM
i dont think we should be surprised what is happening here it is simply the birth of the new banana repupublic headed by the anc and its uselss alliance partners.This is just the beginning you can expect many more jumping bananas with dreadlocks making a mock of this once great nation.In the old days this kind of circus rubbish would never be tolerated but hey this is the new banana republic.
JA11/17/2009 8:53 AM
THE TRUTH ALWAYS COMES OUT, LET WAIT AND SEE.
Stu11/17/2009 8:52 AM
Don't know what all the fuss is about, Singer was off key and didn't know the words. I think he showed the world a true reflection of the real South Africa. We will get the standard South African excuses , It was not me, there are challenges, It conformed to our bill of rights and constitution etc and it was after all totally BEE compliant.
ann11/17/2009 8:50 AM
WOW! Thank goodness this rasta is no longer living in our sunny South Africa, wish we could export all our wonderful singers to the cocky French and let them suffer for doing what they did to us
PETE11/17/2009 8:50 AM
Rasta's zol he had before, was loaded too much and he was still flying high during his performance. Whoever assigned him is just as much a crackpot as the howler.....
George11/17/2009 8:48 AM
This yet another case of complete ineptitude which brings world and African sport in general and South African sport in particular into disrepute. There is the Agassi "tik" issue; the embarrasing goings-on in Formula1; age cheats in African soccer; Santana at Bafana Bafana and the Caster Semenya saga at ASA!! You can name them ad infinitum. Surely the SA Rugby authority has a lot of hangers-on - the so called managers of this and that - and someone must check all arrangements to the finest detail. I heard someone want to make push the racial line - Rugby is controlled by whites hence they don't give a damn about the National Anthem - this is perhaps going too far, but it reflects how the incompetence of the Embassy and Sports officials can distract the nation from the things which really matter - service delivery. Someone must be "recalled".
Matt11/17/2009 8:44 AM
Here we go again - world war 3 again??? Looks like our SA officals have no balls to ever say I messed up. What cowards!
I Luv WP11/17/2009 8:43 AM
Ras is probably a Bulls supporter
steved11/17/2009 8:38 AM
He represented South Africa as it really is.
Guy11/17/2009 8:37 AM
Ok, so the Embassy only has one singer listed as living in France. The French should still have had him audition for the Embassy before selecting him. But this is typical "if more than one person is to blame, then no-one is to blame."
pete11/17/2009 8:37 AM
The show and use of National Symbols is governed by an issue called PROTOCOL. Ever embassy has a Head of protocol that must see to it that Symbols are correctly deployed. Just another case of people getting fat pay cheques and not doing even the basics right - AND they sh?t themselves if the old flag is shown. This is akin to discipline - in this case lack of. CEO's get dismissed and refuse to leave without their multimillion handshake. Wow thats life in our rainbow kleptocracy.
Uncle11/17/2009 8:35 AM
If this was a white singer he would have been branded a racist. Can you imagine how Julius would have wet his panty?
mac11/17/2009 8:30 AM
A fair reflection on the state of public administration in South Africa for the world to see.
never published anyway!11/17/2009 8:27 AM
My goodness! So typical of those in authority in this country - it is everyone else's fault not mine!!! When you take on this sort of power then accountablity should come with it - not in South Africa! The anthem is just a minute example of what is going wrong in this country!
john B11/17/2009 8:24 AM
Typical of the South African government, officials etc - can not accept responsibility, its always someone else's fault. Be accountable - stand up and say - yes sorry I cocked it up.
Schofeild Mahhumane11/17/2009 8:23 AM
This guy should not be allowed to come back to S.A. Actually there should be charges against him for embarrassing a country like that.
Karin11/17/2009 8:22 AM
The singing of our national anthem has been going downhill for the last 5 years. I have noticed that the opposition countries' anthems are alwys sung better and more professional than ours. Could the matter of the singing of the anthem not be done by the manager of the team. He is certainly paid well enough. My suggestion is that they take Claire Johnston with them wherever they tour. She is by far the best anthem singer we have.
Voëlvry11/17/2009 8:21 AM
Not only is the moral fiber of our citizens highly questionable, they simply refuse (Castor Semenya, Eskom, Armscor - going to run of space) to accept to take responsibility. How long can we last like this? Ala Mandy Rice: "Well, they would, wouldn't they?" - regarding denying any responsibility.
Ashamed Mlu11/17/2009 8:19 AM
Why did this guy accept to sing our anthem if he knew very well that he couldn't. Hell i would know if i'm capable of doing a particular task put ahead of, irrespective of whether i'm South African or not.
Motheo11/17/2009 8:17 AM
i think rasta was high.
Danny11/17/2009 8:16 AM
I hope this guy did not get paid & when the French come out this way we should get a frog to sing for them.
sing beta11/17/2009 8:08 AM
jah man,migi dem whacha we tinkin?
La Cock11/17/2009 8:06 AM
What a cock up...The SA Embassy were punch drunk on french wine..
del11/17/2009 8:04 AM
who ever was/is too blame - this whole issue is a complete shocker - what can you expect when the french coach is on record saying he enjoyed watching the springbok forwards bleed - imagine if we had come up with this - time to slaughter a cockrell
Met Uysh!11/17/2009 8:04 AM
Ok, the flag was upside down, the French picked a guy who didn't know the anthem and embarassed us all and the Boks embarassed us on the field. Let's move on. Let's give Ras a break, he apologised and probably feels very bad about it. No matter what we say or do, the fact remains it happened.
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE11/17/2009 8:00 AM
Do we see an ASA debacle happening all over again where nobody wants to take blame for mistakes until someone decides to apologise for this!!!!!!! So who chose this guy the French or the South Africans?????????????????????? Why is there people placed in top positions who never want to take blame for their actions, this is an international embarrassment for SA??????????????????
DeeDee11/17/2009 7:56 AM
All I can say, after seeing it for the first time on Morning Live this morning, is: what a disgusting rendition of the national anthem, which is normally very tuneful. Typical affirmative action at work here! And so typical too, that everybody involved in this idiot's selection, now pass the blame.
Bob11/17/2009 7:56 AM
Typical , when the SH$% hits the fan . No one owns up and takes Responsibility . Exactly the same attatude as the ASA .
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide