Boks on Tour

Naas: Boks were sabotaged

2009-11-16 11:34
Email | Print
Naas Botha (File)

Johannesburg - The reggae singer, whose tuneless rendition of South Africa's national anthem before a clash with France in Toulouse last week has been blamed by one former Springbok as contributing to their defeat, on Monday blamed "sabotage."

Ras Dumisani's howling performance of the usually stately Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika (God bless Africa) before the Test game, which France won 20-13, had some of the Springbok players battling to hold back laughter.

But others, like former flyhalf Naas Botha, reacted with anger, calling the performance an "absolute disaster" and suggesting it had a hand in the World Cup title-holders defeat.

"It was shocking and definitely didn't assist in creating a calm atmosphere for the team, as it should have," Botha was quoted by Business Day newspaper on Monday as saying.

"Someone has to be taken to task for this disaster," he insisted.

Radio phone-in programmes were swamped by callers accusing Durban-born Dumisani of "butchering" the anthem, which is based on a hymn that became a freedom song during the apartheid era.

Over 200 people had joined a page on social networking site Facebook called "Ban Ras Dumisani From Ever Singing Again" by Monday.

French-based Dumisani, who has several albums to his name and is popular in Europe but little-known at home, blamed his equipment.

"They (the match organizers) gave me an old microphone - a very old one," he told Johannesburg-based 702 radio station on Monday. His monitor - a device that allows performers to hear how they sound - was also very old and discordant, he said.

The orchestra also played the dirge-like tune too fast, he said.

"I was not feeling good because I felt they wanted to sabotage my concert," Dumisani said.

"I want to apologize to all the people at home," he said "I find myself disgusted."

Your Comments

Dwaas11/18/2009 6:12 PM
Naas en die res wat probeer om verskonings uit te dink vir die sebras se verloor gee my 'n kramp. Julle praat eenvoudig stront. Daar is alewig 'n verskoning, maar dieselfde fools het niks te se oor die 2 driee van Habana teen die Cheetahs wat nie driee was nie. Dit moes een of ander tyd gebeur, so julle moet maar solank nog verskonings uitdink, want hierdie span gaan nog baie verloor.
Who Cares11/18/2009 8:45 AM
An emblem of any country,a border of any country,an anthem of any country is a man made thing,well done Mr Rasta man and good bye CJ Langenhoven,Naas who?
ZION@ALL11/17/2009 5:59 PM
The argument that is A beats B and B beats C then A will or can beat beat C is totally fallacious. Every game is different and has its anormalies. In 07 NZ was the best world team when treated statistically. The referee made a total balls up with his call. The call or absence thereof gave the game to France. It is a long and tedious operation to work out, statistically, which team is the best even in the curry cup because allocation of points to a rugby win or loss is totally illogical. Many random aspects tend to creep into a match- players poisoned the night before (95') or a gust of wind or a gerookde ouk singing the anthem, etc, etc, remember a score of 50-50 is very different to one of say10-10. How do you measure the performance of a team?
@EDWARD11/17/2009 4:28 PM
HALLO EDWARD, THANK YOU FOR YOUR OPINION. I LOVE HOW YOU MANAGE TO JUMP TO CONCLUSIONS LIKE NEW ZEALAND > EVERYONE, TO BEAT THEM IS LUCK. YOUR FLOW OF ILLOGICAL RAMBLINGS MAKE LITTLE SENSE. IF YOU EVEN THOUGHTABOUT IT FOR A SECOND, THEN YOU WOULD REALISE THAT IN THE 07 WORLD CUP, BOTH ARGENTINA AND ENGLAND BEAT FRANCE... AND SOUTH AFRICA BEAT BOTH OF THOSE SIDES BY HUGE MARGINS. SEEING AS THESE TWO SIDES WERE CAPABLE OF BEATING THE TEAM THAT BEAT NEW ZEALAND, IT PERHAPS SUGGESTS THAT SOUTH AFRICA WAS SIGNIFICANTLY BETTER THAN NEW ZEALAND AS THEY WERE BOTH DOMINATED? SA 37 - ARGENTINA. SA 39 - 0 ENGLAND. SA 15 - 6. THAT FINAL GAME WAS ADMITTEDLY CLOSER. SECONDLY, BOUNCE OF THE BALL? THAT IS RUGBY: PLAY WITH AN EGG SHAPED BALL AND YOU ARE GOING TO GET THAT STUFF, AND IT HAPPENS ALMOST EVERY GAME. ALTHOUGH ADMITTEDLY NOT WITH SUCH MASSIVE CONSEQUENCES. NEW ZEALAND DID A PROTEA SPECIAL AND CHOKED, AND IN THAT IS PART OF WHAT BIG TOURNAMENTS ARE ABOUT: HAVING THE BACKBONE AND GUTS TO GO THROUGH TO THE END.
ZION11/17/2009 4:25 PM
In the name of democracy and all that jazz, in the interests of rugby and so forth, and to the edification of all us numbskulls concerned, let us, the best of us write a letter for comment, like this one, the topic being referees. Seriously, I find it invigorating that the subject is lesser taboo than what it was in say the 80's. I remember the referee had the same status of a god and criticsm was just not tolerated. No sir, he was never wrong. Have we ever heard a referee admitting to a monsterous f-up which changed the outcome of the game?. How many winners have lost and losers have won? How many times do we hear: I can only judge what I can see. (open your eyes sir). Think about it gents. Me thinks such a letter is well overdue.
milo11/17/2009 2:02 PM
to those who feel that the ref was bad on the night,,, he was the ref who so blatantly blew the all blacks out of the world cup by not blowing that blatant forward pass,,,to name but one mistake,,, the end result,,,the road to the trophy was so easy for the boks,,, when the all black fans cried afterwards,,,they were laughed at,,, i wonder what the outcry would have been here had we been in NZ`s shoes,,, so stop blaming the ref,,, BUT HE WILL ALWAYS BE A K*K REF IN ANY EVENT!!!
ZION PAY11/17/2009 1:43 PM
Naas, If you are prepared to place yourself in the limelight then you must be prepared ,too, to take the lambasting that will ineviatably come. Remember your sins of the past will not be intered in the past but will live on with you. I recognise your prowess on the field and too the lack of sportsmanship which you displayed a typical case was to "fall" onto an opponent who has scored a try against you, your almost infantile behaviour on the 1981 tour of Australasia. We do not forget easily. The rebel tour of New Zealand when we hired a real off-beat referee. The Jaw of a New Zealander broken by a Springbok (not you) and when complaints against the referee were aired you smugly commented "Cowboys dont cry". So Naas, I recommend you stop crying too. However, you are a good commentator.
Laughing11/17/2009 12:52 PM
@ Annoyed. It is obvious which provincial team you support! Say hi to Jeff, Bulla and bloubul from the cultured others!!
Edward11/17/2009 12:45 PM
MY QUESTION IS THIS: "IS THE RUGBY WORLD CUP REALLY A TRUE REFLECTION OF THE BEST TEAM IN THE WORLD?" I JUST THINK SOUTH AFRICA WAS JUST DAM LUCKY THE FRENCH BEAT THE ALL BLACKS AND ENGLAND TOOK OUT FRANCE, THE BOUNCE OF THE BALL DETERMINES THE OUTCOME OF THE WORLD CUP, ITS ACTUALLY PATHETIC.
Willie11/17/2009 12:13 PM
@ Annoyed - I think you problems stem from your childhood - you must seriously go see a shrink - you NUMNUT. I never said that pastrami was an Italian cold meat - you made your own assumption - and of course made an aSs of yourself. Again. It is no wonder you did not even made the right comments about the article. I am in between jobs at the moment. What's it to you - are you offering me a position. Seems like you're in the same boat if you can read and write about this column all day. I really think I am funny. My mother tells me this every day. I am considering stand-up comedy as a new career. You must please attend so that I can make a real jackass out of you - FETTUCINI. Enough NOW
AJ @ Anooyed11/17/2009 11:34 AM
I agree with most of your sentiment, but really claiming Australia is full of uncultured masses is a bit extreme. One could claim South Africa has it's fair share though - we seem to be able to only raise our own profile by belittling or mocking and insulting other nations - not very classy at all it must be said.
Annoyed11/17/2009 10:59 AM
First things first, willie, you're a jackass ... pastrami is NOT an Italian cold meat, you don't want to be insulted then stop insulting others, you have an over-inflated opinion of your own intelligence and sense of humor and also ... do you NOT have a JOB???? Secondly, a national anthem is supposed to raise goosebumps and bring tears to the eyes of anyone who is proudly South African, I wasn't even born here but that's what it does to me and I'll beat up anyone who has an unkind word to say about us ... so please don't belittle the absolute disaster that was the anthem at that test match, unacceptable does not even begin to describe the mess!!! Blame whomever you want, I believe there are a few to blame for this. Already these Europeans look down on us, do we have to play right into their hands??? And to those of you making light of this, a national anthem is close to hallowed ground, it is blasphemous to mess it up so royally, those of you who found this funny, you should pack your bags and move to australia and live with the rest of the uncultured masses. Thank you!!!
AJ @ Naas detractors11/17/2009 10:29 AM
Naas is NOT saying the anthem was teh sole cause of the defeat - we all saw the knock on's and lsing teh ball in the tackle and losing an attacking lineout etc. Naas saw that too. He is saying it would have been a contributing factor the mindset, and he is totally right in that, any of those players if they were honest would have said it disrupted the preparation before kick off (depiste us playing our best rugby then). Stop deliberately twisting Naas's words to suite your comments.
AJ11/17/2009 10:25 AM
Actually I like listening to Nass more than others. I hate commentators who site on the fence and tread softly-softly around issue. I like the way he cuts to the chase, and if it is us performing negatively he will say so as well as if we do well. Our normal commentators during the match are pansies. I'd rather listen to the Aussies commentate, at least they show a bit of heart.
@Willie11/17/2009 10:00 AM
No Williie, in fact at half time I get up to make myself a nice cuppa tea to avoid having to listen to Naas's ramblings. And his use of the english language has nothing to do with it - given that it's not his mother tongue he doesn't do too badly. Unlike Supersport I just don't value his stereo type technical opinion.
@willie11/17/2009 8:54 AM
willie, no I in fact dread half time when Naas Botha is a part of the panel. When he opens his mouth I feel like giving him a slap. He is a total dickhead!! Soon as I hear his whining voice (sounds like Karel Kraai) I switch channels. Your statement towards the end pretty much sums up why the world is a balls up....there are more fools on this planet than people with common sense - thats probably why many people can listen to Naas waffle along. I'm sorry but I don't go along with what the majority of people think - I have a mind of my own. If you like to follow along like a donkey then good for you....we're not all born with common sense and pride and that's OK. We all know what government the majority think we should have so I suppose your unwavering support for that idiot Naas can equate to the same thing. The asshole is paid to do a job i.e. know how to speak English and talk sense - he fails in both of these aspects. As for Campo ripping him off, I'd say he's justified in doing so. A lot of my friends do the Naas impersonation to a tee and it's hillarious. Sorry to all you sad sacks, but it's time for that idiot to go off air and stop embarrasing himself.
Ed11/17/2009 8:38 AM
Anyway, all this hullabaloo about the way the anthem was sung - who cares? The anthem is stuff up anyway, a clash of 2 different genres, like chalk and cheese. Sing one or the other and get some direction. So I actually think Dumisani did a good job. Well done, and be sure to send some of that DP down to Cape Town ...
ed11/17/2009 8:34 AM
Judging Naas about the way he speaks English is like judging a book by its cover - always a mistake, and always one made by fools. I'm as english as they come and enjoy Naas's technical appraisal more than anybody else's.
Garath11/17/2009 8:34 AM
One thing this guy should never do is to resign from his day job.
Lynn Janusz11/17/2009 8:21 AM
Rugby Folks, A National Team should be able to rise to the occasion even if their Anthem is so badly sung. They are not there to sing but play Rugby for their country and that alone should have been enough inspiration to their pride. On the other side - we should have our own vocalist dressed in traditional costume full of pride singing for his team touring with the Boks.
Willie11/17/2009 8:17 AM
@5:30 pm - if David Campese makes fun or a fool of a legend like Naas Botha - then he is the biggest plick alive. Campo can't even speak English - he mutters under his own breath and all the fools from Aussie land thinks its histerical because they don't actually know what they're laughing about - it's just because Campo attempted to say something. It actually just shows how what kind of person Campo is. As for Owen - I have to agree he is a very good presenter and he is very well spoken and I love to hear what he has to say - but - do you want to tell me that you have never looked forward to half time and the end of the game to hear what Naas has to say about the game?? Remember - he is put in that position because Supersport thinks (and many others) that he is worthy of this position and they value his opinion. Does it really matter that he is not fluently spoken in English - come on - get a life. Enough said
EC11/16/2009 11:30 PM
@cruz.. I agree with your comments..When I heard the singing on the TV I was shocked, and angry. What makes a springbok the best in the world (my opinion) is his pride, passion, and agression, and also a mindset or perhaps an arrogance of thinking we are the best nation etc. However!!!! The way our athem was sung was a disgrace and a shame. Having said that, I think Naas is right that it was only a contributing factor..The french were better on the day, but not the better team:)
dumpie11/16/2009 8:51 PM
BOKS are still on top!! im happy.
Max11/16/2009 8:20 PM
As a Frenchman, I would be quite annoyed if there had been an attempt to belittle the national anthem - of any country. The fact is, the singer was selected by the SA embassy in Paris, not by the French. As for the sound system being bad, come on! It is probably no worse that all systems were 10 years ago. Were the anthems always botched up then?
kick11/16/2009 7:52 PM
A shame to sing kind, anything to see with the sound system! A french
chameleon11/16/2009 7:42 PM
way to go willie! all these english language guys taking naas on about his accent, komaan ouens! what a disgrace. that is nothing but a crude form of cultural fascism. listen to the content and not the accent gentlemen. if speaking a language with an accent made you an idiot, the greatest idiot in the world would be that most mono-linguistic group of all: the english speakers. since this isn't true, i suggest another yardstick chaps.
chameleon11/16/2009 7:31 PM
no doubt the anthem mess would have thrown the guys a bit. many of the readers don't seem to understand the emotional intensity of such an event. you should trust both naas and the current boks on their assessment of this - they wouldn't lie about such a silly thing. but as professionals they are expected to get over it and deliver. they also simply had a badnight and were going to have one even if the anthem was sung well. but i think you guys should stop beating up on old ras. i sing myself and monitoring is a big deal. he wouldn't have deliberately screwed it up. how do you think all this hate talk makes him feel? he must be devastated and what was meant to be a great opportunity for him blew up in his face. he no doubt feels very bad right now. so cut the hate ouens.
RDJ11/16/2009 6:58 PM
Naas is absolutely spot on!! France is nation who are extremely arrogant. Naas Botha was probably one of the best flyhalves that SA had in the world, when you wanted to win Test matches, agree we all loved him!! The same with Morne, he is a match winner. At least we treat our touring teams with respect! How hard is it to play the National Anthem of a country properly? The ref was a Pr.....k
@ Mark11/16/2009 6:45 PM
Dear Mark, I write this to you in the very genuine hope that you will take your head out of your backside. Please verify your facts before making embarrasing comments. I just today paged through a publication documenting the 1980 tour to New Zealand. Naas actually scored a try or two on said tour. Ray Mordt scored a hat trick in the final test of which at least one could be directly attibuted to Naas breaking the line. That notwithstanding the fact that Naas is the flyhalve which made it possible for a wing in his backline to be the first player to score a hat trick against NZ. Then there is the statistic that indicates Naas Botha is the Springbok flyhalve under who's tenure the most tries on average per game was scored during the Amateur era. He is probably still very close to the top of the list. What is very insightful though is Naas' summation of the final minutes of the test when he asked the obvious question with regard to the Springbok's decision noty to kick the ball out. This as he rightly pointed out would have at least given the Springboks chance to compete at a DIFFERENT phase where they had experienced some success and not forced thenm to defend continiously as they had done for for most of that part of the match. Owen dissagreed becasue you kick the ball to put pressure on the French, but nobody had put the French under pressure because our cahsing was attrocious. Hope you find this information enlightning out there in your little dark isolated corner of the world.
RAZ11/16/2009 6:32 PM
WTF. I underestimated the way excuse would be used for the loss. Never thought singer would be blamed. Was there a score before the game started? John Robbie said after the game the Boks were lucky to loose with only 7 points. I see that the excuse for playing too many games is coming up up as well. Shame. I never heard anything from New Zealand after their game. Their Super 14 teams have been announced and they going for it! Wonder what excuse will be if no teams make the semis.
ZION PAY@CRUZ11/16/2009 5:52 PM
Cruz If you wish to pass remarks that you may consider the epitome of wisdom then please dont generalise. I was married to an Afrikaner for 35 yrs and raised normal and balanced boertjies. I see no difference between Afrikaners or Souties or Zulus. There are "factions in the Afrikaner community that distances themselves from the Souties but they are in the miniminority. Sadly rugby the great game does not bring people together but estranges them. The ABW ended a long time ago.
mark@william shakespear11/16/2009 5:42 PM
Naas was perhaps the best kicker of his time however, best flyhalf is pushing it a bit. When you say flyhalf you're talking tackling (which Naas couldn't do), you're talking scoring tries (which Naas couldn't do) etc. etc. The reality is we never had anyone else to call a hero during apartheid because we weren't allowed to compete internationally so we took anyone we could and fortunately (for him) he stood out for his kicking at the time. The rest of Naas is nothing to write home about. His kicking in the modern day era has been surpassed by a number of players like Wilkinson, Monty, Morne Steyn and the list goes on and on.....as far as presenting on tele goes, I agree - he's not qualified and makes a fool of himself. I don't think anybody can enjoy listening to that waffling. Sorry guys, lets keep things in perspective.
The Ice Man11/16/2009 5:31 PM
It's easy to sit here and say that singing the anthem had no impact on their performance. Frankly, after hearing a tune like that, who would want to perform ? never the less, the French capitalised on our psychological knock down and won. it's proven that any sport is not primarily built on skills and training alone, but psychological strength as well. Thats why you have sport psychologists. For those who do not understand what their function is, here's a brief explaination : Sport psychology deals with increasing performance by managing emotions and minimizing the psychological effects. Some of the most important skills taught are goal setting, relaxation, visualization, self-talk, awareness and control, concentration, confidence, attribution training, and periodization. So Naas's statement in light of what just occured is not an excuse, it's a fact. Yes they professionals, but they human as well. We have a responsibility however to help pick them up from this humiliation, show our support and help motivate the team into thumping Ireland as we prove a point that we simply are still the best team in the world. The one's who beat us, are lucky. The French received an early Christmas gift, and we out of pressies, so there's no more to go around.
chris11/16/2009 5:31 PM
To all those bloggers who claim to be english language critics, firsly go read exactly word for word what Naas said in the article - have you checked, so now please judge yourself. Guess you did not pass your english exams at school namely reading and comprehending. So go get a life now and rather crit "Bold and the Beautifull" in the "you" magazine. We don't need your ilk on this post
@willie and co.11/16/2009 5:30 PM
Willie, I have to agree with some of the comments here.....Naas is a total disgrace on air. Unfortunately he isn't qualified to present on TV. You have to separate the "wood from the trees". Being a rugby player is one thing - being a rugby player and being able to present is another. I recall a few months ago (I think it was Campo in Aus) putting on a Naas accent with the people he was addressing laughing. Surely our legends shouldn't expose themselves to be the laughing stock of the world!! Know your strengths.....unfortunately Naas doesn't know or is too arrogant to admit he's not cut out for something. At this stage he's a laughing stock and just becoming more and more of a fool the longer he goes at it. Look at Owen, "on the other hand".....now he is well spoken and talks sense, and it's a pleasure to listen to his views. Unfortunately when Naas speaks it just sounds like waffling.....sorry all you Naas die hards, he's not a presenter!!
ZION PAY11/16/2009 5:22 PM
The moral of this game is, besides the anthem story, is that the French for once stood up to the Bokke dirty play. Bakkies et el saw their backside. Barnes repaid his debt which his poor handling of the world cup game France/NZ gave SA the cup on a plate. I remember the 1981 tour of Australasia when flour bombs were raining on the field and in one of those barnies Naas Crept up and donnered the opposition from behind. I remember much of the dirt of our heros too. As for the anthem: priceless. remember rugby is a game not war.
cruz11/16/2009 5:20 PM
You clowns listening to what Sarel has said?? Has any of it sunk in to your baised thick skulls? It always amazes how people that know absolutely nothing about a sport have soo much to say. What is also disgusting is the attitude so many English speaking people have towards Afrikaans speaking people. Considering the history it should be the other way around. Have a little respect and if you have nothing but insults coming out of your mouth rather shut up and go and support/comment on Banana Banana. Well said Sarel and keep up the good work Naas!!
William Shakespeare11/16/2009 5:11 PM
@Willie11/16/2009 4:27 PM: Willie, you have nothing to worry about. Everybody knows Naas is a genius. Supersport pays him a fortune for that selfsame rugby brain that in a second could figure out how to demolish the opposition, and then do so with either his left or his right boot, depending on which side of the field he was on. The greatest fly half of all time. The fools who criticize him are losers whose lives amount to nothing.
Zet11/16/2009 5:05 PM
FFS he was an embrassment.
Willie11/16/2009 4:53 PM
@ 4:37 pm. I love my fishing - diep gooi lank lê, deep sea, fly fishing - name it - have done it and got plenty of T-shirts. Gotta luv this country and forums like these. Go BOKKE - I hope you pastrami the Italians
Mark MY Words11/16/2009 4:50 PM
We are South Africans here people!! What was meant to be an inspiration turned into a disaster which is degrading to say the least. Stop the people bashing guys. I have been a WP supporter all my life and still respect Naas for what he has achieved and his rugby knowledge. Why all the aggro? Go at the people who caused this fiasco in the first place, OUR EMBASSY!!!
da da dalema11/16/2009 4:47 PM
a country at war with themselves peace what peace even rugby fans hate one another. Boks lose then all is lost, each and every critic of any Bok player go and do beter analyse the game beter than Naas Botha and others, white black coloured thank goodness the indians and moslem population are not really into this. God Bless South Africa and all it's people. To all who spread hate and dissent in this country you are not perfect in any way.
Sidetracked11/16/2009 4:46 PM
Definition of a “Troll”: One who posts a deliberately provocative message to a newsgroup or message board with the intention of causing maximum disruption and argument. Every single article on News24 end in a completely of topic BS…. The Boks lost this one, France was a better team on the day. It’s not always somebody’s fault nor does it have to be. For once stand behind your country give the boys the support they deserve!
@Willie11/16/2009 4:37 PM
Your last comments just about sum you up I think! but I love the banter,you ever been fishing?
Willie11/16/2009 4:27 PM
OK. OK. I did not mean to insult you souties, but don't dis somebody just because you don't agree with them or you don't like the way they pronounce "....on the other hand, Darren". It is a democratic country after all. Keep the comments positive. Maybe you will learn something as well. There is so much anger in these comments. See a shrink if you have to. I seriously think we are all due for a nice December holiday. LOL
Sarel11/16/2009 4:16 PM
I am an English Speaking white S African. and as for all you guys that think that Naas doesn't know what he is talking about. You guys obviously don't know a bloody thing about rugby, he reads the game and picks up on things that only a rugby legend could. Accent means nothing, there are a thousand people with different accents on the Tele now days. Sostop being such useless Individuals and open your ears and listen to what the man is talking about. You say he speaks nonesense. I have played rugby for many years and I know that when you are ready to go on, you have only one thing on your mind adn that is the game..... You have ben mentally preparing for this moment and some idiot comes on to sing and throws the whole preperaton out of the window. Naas is dead right..... You keep up the good work Naas. Your rugby brain is priceless....... Oh and I am a shark supporter.
Willie11/16/2009 4:12 PM
@ 3:18 pm - where in the world are u coming from? Dark ages? Please learn how to spell correctly before trying to insult me. You seriously look like another numnut. Can't wait to hear your Afrikaans (that is another language BTW). As for the one who buys the CD's - yes it is me who buy these CD's (whatever CD's you refer to) - just so that you can dance (and even sing to them) when the rugby is on. WTF @2:21 pm - GP stands for Gangster's Paradise (where you obviously hail from) - what's with the disrespect for Naas? Unfortunately Kobus and Toks have annexed the Kyknet programme - so he will have to do with being an English commentator on Supersport. Deal with it and get over yourself @2:20 pm - Clearly YOU have never played any sport. Period. Yes I am upset about the comments made about Naas. Everybody is entitled to their own opinions - and I happen to agree with Naas. Give me 5 reasons why you should not respect Naas Botha - you clearly have no idea who he is and what he has done for Rugby (and that he has been voted the best flyhalf of all time). Grow up! I will be 16 in April @2:15 pm - I don't even know what a tappard is. Maybe your mother can enlighten you as well. Yes I am a Blue Bulls supporter and very proud of it. Who do you support? I also think Naas is a legend. Who is your legend? Refer to my first comment posted. Go watch some footie mate @1:46 pm - You say quite a lot - but then you don't. Ah yes because you are an idiot. Your village people are looking for you!!
Gtr11/16/2009 4:04 PM
The Bokke are tired. You can see they need a break.
Petentis11/16/2009 3:54 PM
Friday night we saw the weakness in a Springbok jersey. Well, to be honest, for this whole year the boks did not play any rugby whatsoever. They just depended on the accurate boot of Morney Steyn who also tried to outsprint Gabal. How stupid - he cant think. On the day the Boks were outclassed by a really good French team. Boks must learn to play rugby - running rugby - not footy.
francois11/16/2009 3:52 PM
oh please ........rather look after your poor son that you will have nothing to do with than talking rubbish.
Gatvol11/16/2009 3:42 PM
Maybe I should start a blog on Facebook ban @willie and all his @idiot friends from msn who have nothing better to do with their time than insult people who has achieved more than they have ever achieved.
Errol11/16/2009 3:24 PM
The All Blacks, did also win the Tri-Nations last year, played Super 14, warm-up test matches, the Air New Zealand Cup & win a Grand Slam in Europe, but did not make any excusses about their losses against the Bokke - stop shifting the blame. The Jake White personnel is getting old now & Pieter don't have a backup plan. Even if Pieter Divvy himself have sing the Anthem on Friday night, the French would still have won the game.
@Willie11/16/2009 3:18 PM
U still flying thet old south Efricken flag in your jean pant, what a blerrie skanda! now I now who buys all those CD,s advertised during and after the Regby! u go BOET?
@patriot from Patriot11/16/2009 3:12 PM
Find your own name I have been spelling badly on news 24 for 4 years already
Gudlabantu Msimango11/16/2009 2:55 PM
I think some people have so much respect for some current and former players it stops them from thinking properly.If John Smit can say Victor and Bakkies are not good rugby players,some people here will agree with him simply because it's from John and not apply any thinking to what he said,how childish!!People like Jack,SB,Don900 are biggest idiots who can't think for themselves but wait for twats like Naas to say something.I'm sure you wait for your gay partners to think for you too!
John11/16/2009 2:55 PM
National anthems carry the pride of a countries citizens and are NOT for mucking about with by any singer. Let alone a ragged rastafarian. Composure of a National Anthem takes time and requires top level approval. Perhaps the embassy staff in France need a top level official nad not the pumpkin who chose this singer.
Luke 11/16/2009 2:43 PM
You clowns who bad mouth Naas are the first to quote something he says when you are standing around the water cooler at work. @ Willie brew thats off side.
Kuppy11/16/2009 2:32 PM
Naas now i have heard it all. Please Super Sport Naas is going from bad to worst, lately he just wants to look for excuses eg: the ref, the weather, the wind, players over played now the singer. Naas will never have the guts to blame the coach or the selectors or players, i suppose the money is too good at S Sport.
OpenYourEyes11/16/2009 2:24 PM
Have any of you actually read the article? all Naas said was : "It was shocking and definitely didn't assist in creating a calm atmosphere for the team, as it should have." where is he blaming this for our loss? save your anti-naas comments for when they are deserved. rather blame the reporter who mislead you (for the people who do not know how to read) with the articles title.
@ Willie11/16/2009 2:21 PM
If you are a qualified GP (I hope you know what that is), you are not going to apply for a job as a dentist, are you? If Naas cannot speak English properly then he should not be presenting in english! If the man was sooooo great, the world would be queuing to secure his services. Sadly he cannot even get a afrikaans talk show to employ him!! (As was done for Fanie De Villiers).- written in english by a fellow afrikaner!!!
@willie and Jannie11/16/2009 2:20 PM
Willie, the last of the die hard Naas surporters, you talk more kak than Naas...please tell me how the singing of the national anthem can CONTRIBUTE to the loss. Clearly you've never played any sport in any arena of significance!!! You're just upset that Naasie has been insulted - he is an insult to himself....sorry if your bubble has been burst. By the way, how old are you? 8? 12 prehaps? Jannie, please tell me why anyone should respect the fool?
William Shakespeare11/16/2009 2:19 PM
@Jannie 11/16/2009 1:41 PM @Willie 11/16/2009 1:26 PM: Yes, spot on... couldn't agree more. Just like I am the greatest writer that ever lived, so is Naas Botha the greatest rugby genius that ever lived (Danie Craven said so too). For those that don't like his accent, try to focus on his content. That is what he is employed for. If you want to see fine English, please refer to my Sonnets.
Gilly11/16/2009 2:16 PM
Naas i smaak u stukkend boet!!! The anthem was very deflating but the French played with a lot more passion than we did! We will need to lift our game if we want to win games on this tour. The boks look very tired after a very hard year!.
Navarac11/16/2009 2:16 PM
It's a sad state of affairs when most of the comments on this page are directed at personalities. Other than those who are communicating in their second language, have you noticed that the worst offenders are also those who have the poorest command of the English language? Absolutely no idea of grammar, spelling or punctuation - which leads me to suspect that they are real failures, especially academically. In which case, it is safe to ignore their comments completely. Although the singing of the anthem was appalling, neither that nor the end-of-season tiredness of the players should be used as an excuse. We were beaten, there are reasons - get over it and then wait for those responsible to do something about it! In the meantime, fret about something important.
@ Willie11/16/2009 2:15 PM
Climb back under your rock you dim wit tappard! No doubt a Bulls supporter who thinks Naas is a legend. He was a great player but no doubt one of the worst presenters in the game. Despite his heavily accented bonehead whine, he speaks a crock of shit! "On de udder hand Derrin, we won dem wiff our forwards!"
Dave11/16/2009 2:09 PM
Sure we lost to a French team that was more fired up than the Boks were. But we must also remember that we are at the end of a long season. We don't have to write off our season due to this loss, just like the Northern hemisphere sides don't worry too much about the hidings they receive on their tours down south in the middle of the year, at the end of their seasons. I also feel the IRB needs to look at the ref's performance. It is not the first time that his interpretations have left a lot of people confused. To quote JR Ewing - "That idiot Barnes"
scipio11/16/2009 2:02 PM
Hahaha awesome!! It's nice to read in the papers about your very own facebook fanpage. ''Ban Ras Dumisani From Ever Singing Again''. I updated it so now it has it's very own pictue of the ugly smuck :D mwuhahahahaha
GPC11/16/2009 1:58 PM
Looks like Ras Dumisani is more loved than the boks, hope you guys make him rich then. Why is he not based in SA?? Does Europe have more money?? maybe a backhander from a anonymous Frenchman to irritate the boks with a low blow like that. Naas don't worry boet, these guys just love to hate you, they didn't mind when you had the springbok jersey on and scored points for SA, they only hate you as a Bull. It's most probably guys who doesn't understand how the players absorbs the pride when singing the anthems into performance on the pitch. Argentina v England was like this. Argentina had an average side, did you see the passion they had during their anthem, some was crying, they had 6 amateurs playing, and although they lost to Eng, I'm sure the English will say it was their hardest game so far, They had England on their toes to the last second. If you guys are happy with the way that Dumisani has "raped" the anthem, then you must have low standards.
Sean11/16/2009 1:54 PM
Why dont we get him to sing at the opening of 2010 !!!! After he sang i sms my friend saying I HOPE THEY DONT PLAY LIKE THIS GUY SINGS. And thats exactly how they played K - K
Ernst11/16/2009 1:47 PM
Mostly real mature comments, have to say, notably from Touch Judge, Naas O Naas @ 12:44 and the like). (Specially for you: this is a sarcastic remark.) Talk about "playing the man....." I happen to FULLY agree with Naas. @ French Kicked Ass: Go look at the video. Harinordique was at least 7 meters in front of the kicker when the turnover with Mornè Steyn took place, leading up to their first try, just for starters.
@willie11/16/2009 1:46 PM
Yes, he is a bumbling mumbling idiot....if you can't speak English properly then don't put your hand up for the job. I'm English and I wouldn't do an Afrikaans show because I know I'd sound like an idiot. That's just the thing about Naas, he's so arrogant and doesn't realise he's an idiot. Typical bonehead that thinks he's a larny.....by the way, I have listened to what he's got to say and I must say that most of the time he doesn't know what he wants to say and just says anything that comes to mind. He's an idiot, just like you Willie - but then again no one said that we live in an ideal world!
PW11/16/2009 1:41 PM
He reminded me of Cacofonix, the bard in the Asterix comedy!!
Jannie11/16/2009 1:41 PM
Nicely said Willie. All the negative comments aimed towards Naas comes from direspectful idiots.
patriot11/16/2009 1:40 PM
The only time I see rugby players cry is when they sing the anthem and when they hear the voice of their newly born child....off course the anthem had an impact...The French also outplayed us by the way. They were hungry...the ref is pathetic...same patheticness he showed when we played Australia earlier in the tri nations...same ref that caused the All Blacks the game against France in the world cup....idiotic!
Daniel's Green11/16/2009 1:38 PM
Frenchman, I have to agree with you, BOKS played SHIT and all should stop making bloody excuses!!! But don't get ahead of yourself against the Irish, it will be tough, but we can and will win.Good to get a kick in the ass, it's needed sometimes.
SPI11/16/2009 1:38 PM
Did Naas use the word "Sabotage" or did the journalist use his own interpretation? Just another way te "sell" sensation and we all fall for such nonsens journalism!
bokobserver11/16/2009 1:36 PM
Naas, nes ou Joos, kan ek sien jy praat nogsteeds k#k
Peter11/16/2009 1:33 PM
Where can I buy this musician's CD? I need it for an upcoming comedy festival. By the way, it was the SA embassy who gave this artist's name to the french rugby union. We have no excuse. Bad singer and awful performance on the field.
Ras innie kas11/16/2009 1:29 PM
SARB should contract RAS. He can sing all the oppositions anthems when the Bokke play.
bully11/16/2009 1:29 PM
Rasta idiot blamed the mic. We can only blame a too long season.
Willie11/16/2009 1:26 PM
@ All the souties who think Naas is a mumbling idiot and should never be a sports presenter, etc, etc.. Naas Botha's (check the surname) home language is Afrikaans (I promise). I'd love to see you (with English as your home language) on Super Sport presenting a show in Afrikaans. You'll probably be a bigger idiot than you actually think (par from your lack of rugby knowledge). Forget about Naas's accent - that is what makes Naas Naas - listen to what he actually has to say (that is to say if you can understand the rugby lingo). Naas is the best rugby brain this country (maybe even the world) ever has to offer - why don't you phone in at some time and speak to Naas in his home language and ask him some technical questions about rugby and stop slating him at forums like these. As to this article - Naas is saying that the bad singing CONTRIBUTED to SA's loss - NOT that the bad singing was the ONLY reason we lost. It seems that you can't even understand your own language. Stick to football. Much easier for you souties to understand - at least there you can also listen to real pommie commentary who can pronounce the words correctly. GO NAAS!!!
rob11/16/2009 1:23 PM
Naas, you must be THE biggest idiot to grace the Supersport airwaves!!! Perhaps you and Joost should start your own show on Bop TV.
Steriki11/16/2009 1:23 PM
Oh no, really! The Boks are supposed to be professional sports men.... get a grip guys, apologise for the loss and call it what it was... lack of discipline!
paul11/16/2009 1:21 PM
Ja but on de udder hand Naas, your point is? Are you saying that had the anthem been sung more appropriately we would have won the game?
MACK MYBURGH11/16/2009 1:19 PM
Gudlabantu Msimango , crawl back into the hole ,you just crawled out of. What would or could you know anyway ?Go play soccer !
cruz11/16/2009 1:16 PM
Are you yapping idiots deaf and blind?? He states it was a contributing factor a..holes! The Haka does not inspire the All Blacks and galvanise them for the "battle" ahead? When you see tears in a player’s eyes as he sings his national anthem that is not emotionally and psychologically preparing him to put his body on the line for team and country? Instead of a tense, focusing few minutes where the adrenalin is pumping through their veins they were treated to a giggles session by this clown. Tension gone, focus gone, steely resolve evaporated in a flash. “CONTRIBUTING FACTOR” NOT SOLE FACTOR” dimwits!! As to his mastery of the English language. It’s really in poor taste and reflects shamefully on your bigoted, narrow minded pea-brain to mock someone who at least tries and is not scared of conversing in a language that is not his own. Grow up or shut up, on second thoughts do both!
Steve11/16/2009 1:16 PM
Our end of year tour is always a bit of a disaster. Thought the boy's were out played up front. Can someone tell me why our soccer players can play overseas and also for the national side and the same rules do not apply to rugby?
Jim11/16/2009 1:16 PM
NAAS YOU HAVE LOST THE PLOT
Zak11/16/2009 1:12 PM
Naas , you have degraded your own profesional immage with this statement. Had nothing to do with the singing. The Boks were just outplayed. Simple.
Idiot11/16/2009 1:08 PM
Suppose you were an idiot and suppose you critisize Naas, the Boks or the supporters. But I repeat myself.
Mack Myburgh11/16/2009 1:08 PM
I agree with Marius Muller ,it was a well thought of plan and brilliantly executed.Yes the French played well ,and were ablely assisted by the referee.To all you chops critisizing Naas , how many times did you play for the Boks,and for argueable the best provincial side ever ?He isnt on SUPERSPORT as a linguist ,but as a highly knowledgeable,respected and experienced former player,provincial ,and international captain. The French got lucky...and Ras ,you are a sell out - I wouldnt even have sung.
Touch Judge11/16/2009 1:03 PM
What a lot of BS - K@k Singer - K@k Weather - K@k Ref - the biggest K@k of all was the Bokkes performance ! And now we have Naas talking K@K ! Get over it !
@mark11/16/2009 1:00 PM
Yes mark, I have made it into the Springbok side....the coach is a joke and Naas talks more kak than anyone I've heard...so you shut the F..up you turkey.
Peter11/16/2009 1:00 PM
Ag nee, Naas, nou praat jy plain k..k
Just another supporter11/16/2009 1:00 PM
What happened to "cowboys don't cry" Naas?
Rastabuster11/16/2009 12:57 PM
Dont believe the botched anthem had such an impact on the players performance, our tired and disjointed looking team were outplayed and outclassed on the day by a very physical and determined french side.
MIELA SNR11/16/2009 12:56 PM
'n Blerrie skande. Wat dink die perde doen hulle? En verder het die simpel ref ons ge-grind. Nou sal die Bokke moet reveng.........
pierre11/16/2009 12:55 PM
What a joke! Another contributing factor was that I was wearing blue underpants, and not my favourate green one!!! Whahahahaha
French Kicked Ass11/16/2009 12:54 PM
Naas please man - grow up and take defeat like a real rugby player. WTF is up with all the excuses - anthem, ref and long season for the Boks.....these guys are professionals and get paid a hell of a salary to do what they do! Whatever happened to pride? If they were so proud to be Boks, why didn't they lift their game and prove to the world why they are World Champions? But no, they blame their mindset on a poorly sang anthem - seriously WTF??? The French came to play hard rugby and they outplayed the Bokke, hands down!!! I think the only reason Naas is upset is because Morne Steyn was exposed to what he is - a kicker and NOTHING else. He is a flyhalf with absolutely no vision or clue of what to do when his pack is under pressure. Oh and then he struggles to kick when there is wind - maybe the Bokke must only play when there isn't wind so that he can't kick miss!
Chris11/16/2009 12:54 PM
Who cares ,the anthem is to long anyway, if it was shorter it would not have mattered? Naas can hardly speak English correctly yet he still gets his place week after week!
Killer X11/16/2009 12:53 PM
Naas has no class - focus on the performance
steven11/16/2009 12:49 PM
We'd better fly in Mimi Coertze for the Irish game then - looks like the Boks will be needing her.
Graham11/16/2009 12:45 PM
I have never read such rubbish I accept that the ref was dodgy and things did not go but when will we learn to accept some form of responsibility that at times things DONT go our way and we do play badly we really must stop this blame game and take a real indepth look at ourselves
mark11/16/2009 12:44 PM
To all the people who have made derogatory comments here about the our brilliant Springbok side: Have any of you ever made it into the Springbok Rugby side?? If not shut the f...... up. Naas your comments are valid!!! Its amazing how brilliant our side is when we win! Im surprised that nobody has called for the axing of Peter de Villiers!!
Al11/16/2009 12:44 PM
To all of you who chose to be nasty: you forgot: Naas Botha is one of the two best ever flyhalves this country ever produced. The other is Hannes Brewis. Errol Tobias came close. So, if you never saw Naas play, or if you forgot how brilliant he was, shut up. He had a very very good English teacher who failed at all her attempts to get some English into his head which was already too full of rugby. He was an excellent player because of his rugby brain, which he still uses to analyse rugby matches on TV. So, shut up and, in between all the English blunders, use the opportunity to learn from a rugby genius.
CTheB11/16/2009 12:44 PM
Is Naas perhaps entering for a Lamest Excuse Ever competition?
Naas O Naas!11/16/2009 12:44 PM
Naas you should be the last clown to use the words “disaster” and “shocking” seeing that those words, amongst others, describe your idiotic and pathetic using of the English language! You my friend, has been and still is a embarrassment to all Afrikaans speaking people in SA.You and this Rasta should make a CD together and call it, Twee poepholle op cloud 9”. Die Springbokke is ordentlik opgef..k deur Frankryk en kan gelukkig wees die telling was nie baie hoer nie. You win some you loose some. Get over it of verloor teen Italy ook!
nicman11/16/2009 12:43 PM
maak nie saak watse sport jy doen nie, dit is n vooreg om daar te staan en jou volks lied te sing. ek wwet hoe dit voel en dit is belaglik dat iemand dit so kon opvoeter. ek kry skaam om myself n Suid Afrikaner te noem na daai, (ek weet nie eers wat om dit te noem nie), gemors. ek wil nie eers weet wat so ons mede mense gese het as dit by die opening van die sokker wereld beker gesing word nie. dit moes die spelers so n knak gegee het dat iemand daar opdaag n n wereld wye grap van ons "Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika ". gan vra enige iemand wat dit al gesing het en hulle sal ook vir jou se dit is n groot eer om dit te sing en ja gan dit nie opneuk as dit van jou gevra word nie. die vent kon nie eers een van die tale sing wat in Nkosi is nie. WHAT AN IDIOT!!!!!!!
Louis11/16/2009 12:42 PM
Don't you people read? Naas didn't say we lost the game because of the anthem. He said it was one of the CONTRIBUTING factors. We all agree there were many other factors too, but going all mad on Naas is just blatant stupidity. Don't read what you want to read, read what is actually written and in the context of what is been said.
Dgs11/16/2009 12:42 PM
Gee, I just wish everybody would now get over this anthem business. Good heavens! Talk about making a mountain out of a mole hill!! If we perform poorly against Saracens tomorrow or against Italy on Saturday, is the anthem still going to get the blame? Perhaps its time to put the blame where the blame is due and that is squarely on the shoulders of PdV, his coaching staff and the pathetic selectors.
Bill11/16/2009 12:42 PM
Ridiculous, France just outplayed the Boks that were just able to limit the damages after a bad performance...
Riaan11/16/2009 12:42 PM
I agree with Naas. Any person that has done any sport on this level will know the mental preparation it takes to prepare for such a game. This mental state must be carried from the locker-room, during the anthem into the game. No normal person on earth could have kept focusing through that disaster. Management ,please please don't let that ever happen again. Sorry Bokke!
Louis11/16/2009 12:41 PM
Don't you people read? Naas didn't say we lost the game because of the anthem. He said it was one of the CONTRIBUTING factors. We all agree there were many other factors too, but going all mad on Naas is just blatant stupidity. Don't read what you want to read, read what is actually written and in the context of what is been said.
Gustav11/16/2009 12:40 PM
We lost the game; outperformed!! The Anthem was a disaster, agreed, but that's NO excuse! They are supposed to be proffessionals!!!!
sean james11/16/2009 12:39 PM
just like in cricket, three run outs in a odi ends with that side losing...well in rugga if you play against a really strong wind like on friday night, you really battle to win...and i thought he sang beautifulllllllly-maaan
LUNGELO11/16/2009 12:38 PM
On the 'other hand' come on Naas! SARU forces players to play all yr round? Div plays AJ @ 13 all seasons now he expects him to do wonders.RK had no clue (we miss u PS). Arriving late for an A test will not work. Show respect and drum up support (arrive a week early).IRELAND HERE WE GO! WHAT DO SAY NAAS!
Don900011/16/2009 12:38 PM
@ Dave Hiscock and Gudlabantu Msimango, while I think that the Boks did not deserve to win, I do feel that you two both deserve to be bound, gagged followed by a good tar a feathering, please don't comment on something you obviously know very little about, your disdain for the Bokke is obvious. So go back to your dark little holes and stay there - twats
Al11/16/2009 12:38 PM
Yes Naas, the rapper prevented the Boks from singing along and getting that bit of good emotion flowing. But, where was the captain? He should have noticed that the ball carrier was isolated on many an occasion! Why not get more players around the carrier? And then the forward coach: heavens man, just now everyone in world rugby is realising that the Boks can't scrum. We are going to be attacked bigtime in the scrums. And yes, the Boks are tired. Probably moreso mentally than physically. Our annual end of the year tour should be scrapped. In January our players start with Super 15 training already.
Alan Ingram 11/16/2009 12:37 PM
The idiot singer was chosen by the SA Embassy in France, so now you know the ANC are to blame for the sabotage of the rugby match.
Dave Hiscock11/16/2009 12:35 PM
@SB. So I take it that you are one of Naas's adoring fans, hanging onto every word he has to say? Talk about ignorance and a lack of rugby knowledge... When was the last time Naas (jou baas) actually said something of substance that made him come across as knowledgable about the game of rugby? You and jou baas, are both hypocrites of the highest order!
CRYBABES!!!!11/16/2009 12:33 PM
The Boks must use there arm bands like before.Boks can not take a loss like men
Cire11/16/2009 12:31 PM
Jeez Naas, get a life!
Kobus11/16/2009 12:30 PM
Naas is not blaming the rasta for being a bad singer, there is more to this. If he is so popular in Europe, then somebody at the France Rugby Union must have known that his performance will have a negative impact on the Bokke. I dont doubt for a minute that this was an deliberate tactic of the French.
Jen11/16/2009 12:30 PM
I am so sick and tired of very one always blaming the ref or the weather or the whatever! The Boks played crap rugby and that is that!
DD11/16/2009 12:28 PM
Rediculous. We lost, simple. Blaming it on the anthem not being sung properly is almost as bad as the the Kiwis blaming 1995 on food poisoning.
@Hennie11/16/2009 12:27 PM
You seem to be the only one who supports Naas. Makes you think, doesn't it?
Paul C11/16/2009 12:27 PM
Blah ... blah ... blah - ban the jah man to ALCATRAZ! Boks are paste ... BULL BOKS simply do not have any fuel in the tank left ... AND IT IS UNDERSTANDABLE!!! Have already played FOUR CHAMPIONSHIPS in 10 months - Super 14 .. B&I LIONS .. Tri Nations .. Currie CUP. Good grief ... ever asked an athlete to participate in FOUR WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS during 10 months ... he/she will laugh at you! End of the year tours to UK and Europe to be SERIOUSLY interrogated again by SARFU!!
SB11/16/2009 12:24 PM
Dave Hiscock,Gudlabantu Msimango plesse stick to what you know! Obviously its not rugby. Your ignorance is obvious, shame ,shame.
sanjay11/16/2009 12:24 PM
Bring back Jake White. The coach is @#it now!
SA vs FR11/16/2009 12:24 PM
What is your excuse for the game against leicesters B team?
Venom11/16/2009 12:22 PM
The Boks were beaten fair & square by a better team, anthem or no anthem. They are professional rugby players.
Just wondering11/16/2009 12:22 PM
Who actually chose this guy and any other singer for that matter?
Trevor11/16/2009 12:22 PM
Guys forget all the comments about unfair and stop the complaining; you were beaten by the better team on the day. What rubbish the anthem does not determine how you play. Do you remember how unfair it was when the whole All Black team suffered from food poisoning before the the world cup final in South Africa? Sure South Africa had nothing to do with it.
Nag ou Grote11/16/2009 12:21 PM
But the oke wasn't even singing..he was lipsinging...it was a track recording that Louis Lyt organised!!!!!
legend of the game11/16/2009 12:21 PM
Ras must sing for the world cup
GN11/16/2009 12:19 PM
We were poor, the sining was a shocker, BUT the ref was the main cause for the loss. that plomker doesn't have a clue! Two weeks in a row SA has been given the shaft by substandard refs. how about a yellow card system for the refs - two strikes and your out?
geoff11/16/2009 12:18 PM
Naas , get a life. To blame our teams poor performance on some doobi smoking Rasta is lame. If that's how you read the game , time to take retirement into consideration !! We were beaten by a better side on the day.However , the French authorities should be taken to task for allowing our anthem to be slaughtered by this refugee ( as he calls himself )
@Gudlabantu Msimango.11/16/2009 12:18 PM
@Gudlabantu Msimango. You are an idiot.If you had EVER played any type of prof sport you would know that concetration and focus are key aspects in achieving a result. So it defintely contributed to their bad performance. Not the only reason, but is surely had an impact. As for your comment about Naas. He alone achieved more than you will ever achieve! And he has got a lot of experience in this regard. So get lost and look at the PSL news. We don't need you on this forum! And stop living in the past. I wasn't bad because it happend in the apartheid era! Typical!!!
Greg11/16/2009 12:18 PM
i dont think it was the anthem that cost them the game...nor do I think it was the coach who has done damn well since being appointed (except of cause when he talks) in leading this team but rather the way the Boks played and a ref that really lost control of that game...but ja its a game..it happens..why complain and bitch and moan...its over finish and kla now for Saturday for Nick Malletts Italian side..hope the Boks do well...Go boys...
Dude11/16/2009 12:15 PM
Ok so we have moved away from blaming the REF - Good, but I am pretty sure that a singer wont disrup this team, They were outplayed by a passionate french team who was more physical then us -thats it we olost cause we played sub standard rugby, nothing else
Vincent Tseka11/16/2009 12:13 PM
How can we blame Dumisane for the loss of the Sprinbok,Some of the cricket players cant sing Nkosi Sikelele but they are not blamed any loss by the Proteas. Lets stop being so rasist about the lose. If our didnot play well let us not look for any excuses as to why the team has loose the game
sido11/16/2009 12:12 PM
our guys went onto the field thinking that they have aleardy won the match - no matter what you sing - even jan pierewiet - you should be able to play your game - for Naas to make such rubish comments is absolutely a disgrace - he should know better
Ras Dumisani11/16/2009 12:11 PM
Loved it ! Sounded nice
Frans11/16/2009 12:11 PM
The rendition of the anthem was awful. Who's to blame I don't know, but we were caught out with our one dimensional kicking game and our patathetic scrum and taken to task by the French. Admit, take responsability and move on.
jaco11/16/2009 12:10 PM
nonsense - france was way better - they looked like they were playing for their country - we were no contest - lets not come with stupid excuses - the guy cant sing deal with it and win the game - what utter nonsense
Wondering11/16/2009 12:10 PM
The government seems very quiet on this one. I wonder how they would have reacted if Ras had sung perfectly, but had only sung the "Die Stem" part of our anthem. I bet that would've gotten a reaction out of them!
Martin11/16/2009 12:10 PM
Wasn't "Suzi" around in the mix too?
Mike11/16/2009 12:09 PM
Naas is 100% correct, remember these guys play for our country and this is a huge issue guys. Just because your country means crap to you don't knock Naas because he has SA Pride.
Tsotsi11/16/2009 12:08 PM
I guess this time it was not the Bulls that but the Sharks....?! "So voorspelbaar!"
Robot11/16/2009 12:08 PM
Oh Naas! I really thought you had more backbone than that?
Gtt Miteau11/16/2009 12:06 PM
The Boks were sabotaged the moment your dimwit coach was appointed last year.
Knopkop11/16/2009 12:05 PM
Die Hane was die beter span op die veld en die Bokke moet maar hulle wonde lek - die vraag is nou.... is die Bokke werklik so goed soos wat hulle op papier lyk... (moenie vir my vertel hulle het hierdie en daardie titel gewen nie - ek weet dit - was hulle nie maar net lucky nie ??? Ek persoonlik dink hulle mis vir Steyntjie agter en vir Jean in die middel - Wat daai lang haar kroes kop betref - as hy weer my land se lied so gaan verkrag gaan ek hom persoonlik donner !! Naas get a life !!
alan11/16/2009 12:05 PM
on the other hand worshond the idiot could be Wendy.
Hennie11/16/2009 12:05 PM
I agree with Naas that the atmosphere must be right.My question is how prepared were the Boks for this one.I question the game plan,commitment and physchological preparation for this game.Who do I blame:the Coach,his management team and the Captain. Gudlamantu Msimango you clearly know as little about rugby as this character who sang the anthem knows about singing.If I was you I would keep my views to myself as Naas was one of the greatest players ever to represent South Africa.He is also our most knowledgeable commentator on the game of rugby.
Dee11/16/2009 12:03 PM
They are highly paid proffesionals and should stand up and be counted as such. They produced a bad product. If I produced a bad product and tried to blame someones signing I would be laughed out the machine shop.
Jack11/16/2009 12:03 PM
Gudlabantu ( Or something like that).Keep your Bull...S...t talk for some other forum...whether you agree or disagree with Naas .....The "Fool" who sang the Anthem, had nothing to do with our defeat..Our pathetic Rugby administration should shoulder the blame..The Boks were just physically and mentally too tired to give of their best......Simple.....
AntMan11/16/2009 12:03 PM
at least his singing gave us an early warning to the poor quality broadcast which was to follow.....
Marius Muller11/16/2009 12:03 PM
Here is the recipe to beat the Boks: Accuse boks being thugs,cause a feeble dispute surrounding specific players such as bakkies ,the beast etc.,try to demoralise them with pathetic national anthem singing,make highly absurd musical noises while the game is in progress,boo like never before,employ the worst referee you can find.Then and only then do you stand the slightest chance of beating the springbok team-the french are immoral they will do anything to beat the boks which they cannot do in a fair ,honest and open game of rugby this is the strengh of the french rugby teams ,its not flair but foul play.Is it sour grapes?most probably, they come from france.
Antionette11/16/2009 12:02 PM
AG , NAAS HAAS - JY PRAAT NOU SOMMER STRON*
christ booysen11/16/2009 12:02 PM
Die ref was meer te blame hier, hy het nie geweet wat by die afbreek aangaan nie. As ons beter balle uit die los spel kon kry sou die spel heeltemal anders gewees het. Pieter moes ook nie vir CJ opgestuur het nie.
Mark11/16/2009 12:01 PM
Naas we have to listen to you on Supersport on more than one occasion....you're just as bad - you're a comedy on TV as far as your manner of talking goes. Shocking!!! Hope Supersport soon realise that you're not qualified to co-present. So please stop talking even more drivel to the media now!!
Conrad11/16/2009 11:58 AM
The bok forward pack will eventually have to start playing test rugby at the breakdowns and not in the backline. Thats how you win rugby matches!
erna11/16/2009 11:57 AM
Iwish his name was RAK, because then i would have said JY SING SOMMER K*K
Robbie11/16/2009 11:56 AM
Fair point Naas but one also has to say it's equally a disgrace to allow you to talk on television. Have you ever watched yourself on the sports programs you co-present on? You're a mumbling waffling fool and I think if you look at yourself objectively you'll agree that you don't have the required skills to be a presenter. I'm sorry to say, but with all due respect you're becoming a bit of a comedy when you open your mouth on TV....I really cannot understand how they can allow you to speak you speak on TV. You've got to say it's on par with the regae singers performance!!
vic harris11/16/2009 11:56 AM
the embasy person responsible should be fired (it was either family or a friend, giving this so called singer a ride on the gravy train)
Dave Hiscock11/16/2009 11:55 AM
Ag Bull man, Naas. The Boks were crap and thats it! You sound like a whining loser. But then again, what else can one expect from a guy who makes expert statements like... "yah, I fink de team wiff de most points will won tis match"?
AK11/16/2009 11:54 AM
First he thought he sang "beautifull" and now he is trying to blame the events organisers... Pitty that when the FRENCH anthem was sung it sounded "in tune" and "amazing" But ja that is what you get from a dope smoking crackpot... He learned from the best at shifting the blame !!!
mark11/16/2009 11:53 AM
I' m sure he said he sang beautifully when ask afterwards????????
Frenchman11/16/2009 11:53 AM
The south african rugby supporters are pathetic. imganie that they blame a loss on the rugby field because a song went bad. Oe la la. You people are very entertaining. Your poor little team with fancy hair styles got battered by a strong team of men!! Your coffee is cold. Guess what, the irish will hammer your team also. Better start thinking of an excuse now already. Oe la la oe la la. I love it!
@singer11/16/2009 11:52 AM
Whatever!! How did you sell several Albums. the French obviously dont know anything about music. It was horrific. Imagine Simon Cowell rating that performance.
Gudlabantu Msimango11/16/2009 11:51 AM
WHAT?? France were better than us and credit must just be given to them. What utter crap from you Naas. YOU WERE OVERRATED AS A RUGBY PLAYER ANYWAY,PLAYED RUBGY WHEN IT WAS DOWN THERE IN TERMS OF QUALITY.NOTHING YOU SAY SHOULD BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY.
wendy11/16/2009 11:50 AM
It was absolutely SHOCKING and was an absolute joke. Our poor guys!!!! I back Naas on this one too.
Bloues11/16/2009 11:48 AM
One Ras. One bullet!
Say what...11/16/2009 11:47 AM
So no one thought to confiscate Dumisanis stash of home grown Durban Poison...
morris pieterse11/16/2009 11:45 AM
It was disgusting BUT NO EXCUSE - we were beaten by a better and much more determined side. In fact, this loss was needed to show the team and coach that they are not invincible and actually got a bit lucky with their many wins earlier this year!
henzel11/16/2009 11:45 AM
Ek stem nie saam nie! Die Bokke moes 'n taak gaan verrig en kan nie dat sulke simpel goedjies hulle 'n game laat kos nie? Stront man!! Hulle was net nie goed genoeg nie......
Singer11/16/2009 11:45 AM
Oh Rubbish Naas, if the "poor" singing broke their concentration then they deserved to lose. France was the better team on the day, so let's stop looking for excuses.
Bakkerman..11/16/2009 11:45 AM
Lets not blame Ras Dumisani. He walked into blindly.... If you have a look at his music on youtube, he's not half bad..... But not in a stadium with a nowhere sound system and a french military band surrounding him.....
RJ11/16/2009 11:44 AM
France was hungry for a win and played hard for it. The Boks looked promising at one stage but seemed to lack the determination somehow. Blaming the loss on the national anthem is pathetic! Maybe the sky was too blue as well, the wind was a factor though, but both teams had to endure that. All in all, both teams played hard, France just played better on the day. We cannot always win.
Jack11/16/2009 11:44 AM
Oh come on now, the signing was dreadful but on the field we were outplayed - its simple, no excuses, we just were not good enough on the night. Done, move on, no need for excuses.
Worshond11/16/2009 11:44 AM
IDIOT!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Anton van Zyl's message to WP fans

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Greatest Goal Celebrations... 9/3/2010 12:31:41 PM

1963 Wallabies against South Africa 9/3/2010 12:13:53 PM

MOVING FORWARD - PART 2 9/3/2010 12:02:42 PM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.