Boks on Tour

Muir: Worst Bok pack ever

2009-11-07 08:22
Email | Print
Worst ever (File)

London - English club champions Leicester Tigers stunned World Cup holders South Africa 22-17 at Welford Road on Friday.

Leicester, playing without six England internationals and nine first-choice players, rallied from an early 8-0 deficit to lead 16-11 by half-time. Scrumhalf Ben Youngs added two more penalties in a 17-point haul to make it 22-11, then limited the Springboks to just two penalties in the last 15 minutes of their European tour opener.

The hosts repulsed a sustained Springboks rally inside their 22 in the last minutes, finally forcing a knock-on by wing Odwa Ndungane to seal one of rugby's great upsets.

"I don't think I've ever seen (a South Africa pack) as bad as that, especially from a coaching perspective. We were given a bit of a lesson at the scrums," assistant coach Dick Muir said.

"Hats off to the Tigers. They were incredibly strong in that department so we've got to go back to the drawing board."

Muir, in charge of the Boks for their two mid-week games, admitted that his team will require a big step up in the weeks to come.

"You can't play this game without any possession," said Muir. "We were poor at the breakdown and poor at set pieces so we couldn't get the game going.

"We just move on. We came over here with an experiment and perhaps it didn't come off as planned.

Muir believes this defeat should spur the Tri-Nations and World Cup champs on to improved showings in the potentially imposing arenas of Toulouse, Udine and Croke Park.

The Test team will obviously look a very different selection, as none of the Test starting XV featured at Welford Road on Friday.

Muir admitted that "nobody likes losing".

"When you take a squad like this and have a short turnaround maybe you're not as well prepared as you might be.

"It will probably cause the guys to be a little bit more determined. When you're on the top of the pile there's a lot of sides who want to knock you off, so that's the territory we've created for ourselves."

Ndungane was one of eight players who were part of the champion Tri-Nations team, but they ran into a defense inspired by a record home crowd, a sellout 24 000 with the opening of a new stand.

Ruan Pienaar's first of four penalties was added to soon after when Earl Rose's kick into the left corner was pounced on by wing Jongi Nokwe for 8-0.

After a Youngs penalty in reply, wing Johne Murphy began a Leicester counter-attack in his half, and midfield prospect Manu Tuilagi fed wing Lucas Amorosino to finish off between the posts. Youngs's conversion put Leicester up 10-8, and in front for good.

With the home pack in charge against a Springboks Test front five, Youngs booted over two more shots at the posts, while Pienaar finished the entertaining half with a penalty.

Two more penalties earned by the Leicester scrum were converted by Youngs for 22-11.

Pienaar didn't have another penalty attempt until there were 15 minutes left, making it, then hitting the post with another shot soon after. The Boks flyhalf kicked another penalty to close the gap to five, but that was all Leicester was prepared to concede as the defense stepped up.

"Our scrum was immense and Geoff Parling was superb in the front row," Leicester coach Richard Cockerill said.

"Rugby can get quite scientific in its analysis these days. Sometimes you just need 15 blokes to come here and roll their sleeves up. The scientists can't quantify that. And that's what we did tonight."

After the Springboks play France next week, they return to England to meet Premiership leader Saracens, then face Italy and Ireland.

Your Comments

David-true supporter11/18/2009 10:09 AM
@ SA RUGBY - It was the "sharks" front 3 who caused all the problems for the whole team.They should have been rested,we all saw what the Freestate front 3 did to them in the Currie cup semi's.If they - the Cheetahs 3 played it would have been a different game.Ryan Konkofsky(Sorry for the spelling of that) had a shocker of a game - another sharky.I'm not a bulls supporter (LIONS),so stop blaming Du Preez and Steyn for the loss.The team as a whole is over-played and tired and the french,altough they played brilliantly,hasn't played half the rugby our boys played this year(and not half as tough).Maybe we should play the french in the middle of the Tri Nations and see what happens.
Sean11/18/2009 9:21 AM
Having fun boys, enjoy your end of season holiday.
Ross11/9/2009 11:49 AM
@sc1pio i agree with your team selection there, there is only one changet hat i would make and that is take nokwe out of wing and bring back young matthew turner from the UK. otherwise great team selection. Come on BOKKE!!!
keith11/9/2009 9:57 AM
The only person tackeling in the backline was Olivier. The other num nuts, including Rose, chased down kicks but never or hardly ever challenged for the ball. The back 3 defensively were useless!
junsau11/9/2009 9:54 AM
Joking right. We played our C-team. Up you bokke
SA RUGBY11/9/2009 8:46 AM
True Blue 11/7/2009 8:33 AM YOU ARE REAL IDIOT, YOU BLUE FANS WERE THE FIRST TO SAY AFTER THE B&L 3RD TEST THAT IF A PACK IS GOING BACKWARDS THE FLYHALF WOULD SUFFER, BECAUSE THATS WHAT HAPPENED TO MORNE STEYN. NO W BECAUSE ITS RUAN PIENAAR, WHO IS A SCRUMHALF, YOU SAY HE IS SHIT. MAYBE IF THEY DIDNOT PLAY ALL THOSE USELESS BLUE BULL PLAYERS IN OUR FORWARDS WE WOULD OF PLAYED BETTER. A$&H*L@
Bull Down Under11/9/2009 4:12 AM
Vix, I really feel that our country south afrika is not truelly reprasended. We need all eleven official languages reprasended! wE NEED CHANGE NOW!!!!!!!! I em of course talking about the sokah also!
Bull Down Under11/9/2009 12:54 AM
What do you expect if you choose 3rd rate players to represent your country because "it is politically correct" A BEE team will always be on the losing side and an embarrasment to the players who should be chosen on merit!
Vix11/8/2009 9:27 PM
I really feel that our country south afrika is not truelly reprasended. We need all eleven official languages reprasended! wE NEED CHANGE NOW!!!!!!!!
Changed Channels 11/7/2009 10:14 PM
I honestly think The St Mary's hockey side would have conceded less! Guys lets face it: Guthro, Johnson, Pienaar and that fat unfit lazy %&$#@ at hooker are jokes...how can Johnson take the sport seriously with hair like that? Simple!! Danie..Danie... Danie wow you made your name kuk boet. Rose..hold your head up high, you were ok, espescially with what shite was in front of you. Dick it was priceless seeing you on telly...your face was as red as a trig beacon...Div you were pale... where on Gods green earth did you find this XV?! I know your ploy boys...this is a joke...into fooling the rest that we are really shite...yes? please tell me this was your aim. I have never seen BOK forwards with hearts the size of peas...
pombok11/7/2009 6:57 PM
we need proper coaches. not political appointments who are at the moment being carried by top players. The good times won't last for ever...and Snor should realize it.
cutman11/7/2009 5:44 PM
Come on guys, we can't blame the ref, we all know that you do get the short end of the stick on away tours, the team selection was poor, and the time to prepare was way too short, not the players fault , but SA Rugby's.
Dippy-Dopey11/7/2009 4:57 PM
This page of comments should be cut out and pasted on the first facing page of 'The Complete Idiot's Guide to: Coaching and Selecting Springbok Rugby Teams' be compulsory reading every night, before prayers, by the SARB, the selectors, touring party management, the coaches and the players representing everyone who loves and supports the Boks. And then also by politicians, who it would better serve than polishing their halo's. In spite of who they think, they're never going to walk on water anyway.
frikkie11/7/2009 4:35 PM
@Victor. I am surprised that you could find time in your busy schedule as rocket scientists to point out to me me that we were beten by a better team. You're missing, amongst other things I am sure,the point chop
Nic11/7/2009 4:10 PM
Ja, 'n bok is 'n bliksem! The Majeur - what an ostentatious title and arrogant comment to boot... Silly man. Are you perhaps related in any way to Luke?
John Paul Jones11/7/2009 2:53 PM
DICK, what is this "perhaps it didn't come off as planned" nonsense? Can you not read a scoreline and say matter-of-factly, without trying to soften the situation, that it was a total failure? If you cannot man up to the woeful effect of your disgraceful selections and "coaching", what are you doing in a man's game? Clearly you and your team are mouses.
John Paul Jones11/7/2009 2:44 PM
Not just the worst Bok pack, DICK, but the worst team selection in Bok history by you, the worst "coach" in SA history. Maybe it's you who needs coaching, did you ever think of that? Everyone knows you were a 110% committed player but neither the best nor brightest, too many knocks to the head and broken noses. Look in the mirror DICKhead and don't blame the Bok pack and team you yourself selected and "coached" to inglorious bastardisation! You should be fired, give Heyneke Meyer the job.
sc1pio11/7/2009 2:21 PM
The B-team we should'v picked!!! 1-Wian du Preez 2-Adriaan Straus 3-Wp Nel 4-ANdries Bekker 5- Anton van Zyl 6-Deon STegman 7-Francois Louw 8- Duane Vermeulen 9-Francois Hougaard 10- Peter Grant 11- Gerhard van den heever 12-Wynand Olivier 13-Juan de Jong 14- Jongi Nokwe 15-Joe Pieterson Can any1 see this team losing to the team from last night?? Besides he Leicester team didn't play al that well. The Boks were amateur
Dont blame the ref!11/7/2009 2:16 PM
I personally thought Dickenson had a fair game even though some of the comments here would suggest otherwise. The vastly superior side won by a narrow margin and we think the ref was against the us? Come on. He was consistent in his application of the laws to both sides. I noticed a couple of mistakes such as missed knock-ons and forward passes but this was more in SA's favor than to our detriment. The Tigers had the bulk of the possession and good "go forward ball" yet the penalty count at the breakdowns was not skewed significantly in their favor. Also think of Danie Rossouws' off-the-ball head charge - all he got was a stern warning by the ref and TJ when many other refs' interpretation of the law could easily have resulted in a straight red for that offense. It pains me to defend an aussie, but blaming the ref for this one is just plain childish and ignorant. I reckon people's views on the ref are very easily swayed by what the supersport commentators say about him. Skinstat is especially quick to point out only the other teams technical flaws. Our biggest problem was not the ref or the youngsters/newcommers, but rather the failure of the seasoned bok 'fringe' players to stick their hand up and show their experience and worth. The likes of Steenkamp, Rossouw and Pienaar let themselves down.
Bok11/7/2009 1:45 PM
we needed to lose that game otherwise some of those players would think they good enough to play for green and gold.Raubenheimer should be banned from rugby, Ruan Pienaar should join Maku in the 3rd division, Chilliseeds should maybe get fit before he starts a game (as captain), Guthro Steenkamp should never be allowed to show his face in public again because he got destroyed by some 50 year old italian or spanish player, Our loose trio really did play to there name loose as neither of them attempted to help the tight 5 but instead were busy checking out the new Caterpillar stand the whole time. I especially enjoyed Ruan Pienaar's aimless punts over the dead ball line and into the centre of the field. And im not sure whether to blame the 1 dimensional style of play on the couching staff or pienaar. Pienaar continuously played it short to Johnson or Deysel and the ball was stolen ...... everytime!!!! you might think that the plan is not working. But no we kept on doing it and we kept on loosing the ball. I think Raubenheimer thought if he could do nothing all season and make the Bok side then he might as well carry on with what he is doing, which was.......NOTHING. Dannie Roussouw thought his personal battle with Fidal Castro's twin brother was more important then playing for his nation and saw absolutely nothing wrong with randomly "clearling out" a man who wasn't even part of the maul and from then on constantly decided that he was going to run at Fidal Castro's twin brother at every opportunity he had even if there was a 14 man over-lap. Now thats playing for your country dont you think?? But there wasnt all bad that came from this. We found out that Jongi Nokwe can catch a high ball! That Earl Rose has a bigger heart and more passion then Jannie du Plessis who is double his size. That it is never a good idea to have 3 captains in one game, that Johnson could be considered at centre in the place of the absent Jean de villiers, that pulling of hair is condoned by the ref, only if it is of a Bok player. That chasing up on a penalty kick is not deemed as "cool". That it doesn't matter how bad you play in the cc or the Super 14 its all about how good you were at under 21 level. We also learnt that you dont have to be able to scrum or throw the ball in the lineout to become a SA hooker. This is all very encouraging and im glad we discovered this all last night instead of a few months before 2011.
James11/7/2009 1:42 PM
@Luke- If you did not have your snout up certain peoples rear ends, maybe you would notice that there is no good news anyway. This applies to black and white because it looks like your buddies are going to get their way in this country and its going to end in tears for all of us. While you might feel a big progressive boy telling people to shut up it is their opinion and they can voice it.
Jan11/7/2009 1:36 PM
Why did not the SA ref's, the selectors, the coaches, the rugby supporters with short memories who complaint and worried about everything from Earl Rose to .... but not the scrums.... ,pick up this weakness? Why didn't they pick up that Steenkamp used illegal and flawed technique to survive? That Steenkamp like Smit suffers in the scrums? That certain SA teams can only perform at breakdown situations if the rules are interpreted favorably. While it worked no-one complained. But guess what? Honest rugby / scrum- technique pays off when they are on to you. If you claim you're the best or dominate, the other teams will try to counter. And if your techniques are known and it is flawed......... John Smit will be tested. And if he plays Beast will not be allowed to fall and push up to get underneath his player. They know!!!! Naas is now also solving the loose forwards role in our demise. Yes-Ja, that also contributed but keep perspective. Naas thought that Guthro did well in the Curie cup final, me I know he got away with it. So congratulations on that victory. (Just enough is not always it)
LAG11/7/2009 1:33 PM
Luke = you are the fool!! There should not be any partiality or empowerment decisions on this level of sport. You are just as racist as the other, just on the opposite side!!! Fool!!!
boogs11/7/2009 1:07 PM
@andy thats like saying "What would you guys say if Julius Malema said something that was intelligent" he wont and they didn't. And even if they did manage to get the try in the final minute, and convert, they still played a shocker against a b-side molest-a-tiger
Jay Jay11/7/2009 1:02 PM
What a disgrace and humiliation to all South Africans! I guess this is what you should expect if you don't pick players on merit. Despite all the criticism Earl Rose was the only player who belonged on the field. The rest were totally out of their depth and some of them are so bad they proved again why they are not the first choice players for their franchises. The Springbok selectors and the coaching staff should remember who picked these players, and particularly in Dick Muir's own words the worst South African pack ever. The backs were not much better with Ruan Pienaar again showing he is one of the most over-rated players in the country and Heini Adams confirming that he should go back to playing Vodacom Cup rugby.
Alan Ingram 11/7/2009 1:01 PM
Last week i forecast a beating, next week will be the second hiding (against France) Too many Affirmative Action players and an idiot like PVD in the driving seat !!!!
Luke11/7/2009 12:49 PM
Calm down children. Stop whining about BEE, I honestly feel sick to my stomach reading all these pessimistic quotes. You all need to start reading the positive media at sagoodnews.co.za .Bickering isn't going to help, get behind our country and try your best to make it work .To say 'blacks' are trying to destroy rugby is so ridiculous I feel sullied commenting on it. You absolute idiot. keep your small-minded hatred to yourself and don't post this on the internet where you give all of us a bad name. Quota will inspire black and coloured children to want to be 'that guy', Apartheid robbed them of the opportunity so now we playing catch-up, at least they not doing it in the 1st team, where would you have them do it? Fools.
vulu11/7/2009 12:45 PM
Now is the time for the sports ministry to step in and take control. This whole racist management including the coloured uncle toms need to be thrown out and replaced by a progressive black leadership team who can transform this mess for once and for all.
GeePMB11/7/2009 12:43 PM
Sadly, Pienaar has been moved from his preferred position (Scrum-half) where, at the tme, he was probably 2nd only to Fourie DuPreez, but our selectors wanted FatBoySlim Januarie in the side at any cost. That cost is the loss of form of Pienaar. He has been moved from pillar to post, much like Brent Russell was in his day. How would you like it if your boss kept moving you around at work just to accomodate others and then crap on you for underperforming. If I was Pienaar I would say "Boss, it's No.9 or I'll stick to my provincial team" but, Pienaar being the gentleman and soft spoken person he is, will not do this he will play where his employer tell him to at the expense of his personal game.
chameleon11/7/2009 12:41 PM
komaan kerels, it's not that bad. this was no test. well, yes, it was a test, a test for some players, combinations etc. our ouks are moeg after a hard year's rugby. we need to try new players. ek se gee hulle n kans. FOREVER BOKKE!
Shingi11/7/2009 12:40 PM
A couple of things: Firstly, while we were humiliated, this was an experiment and the whole point was to give some new things a shot. They didn't work out, so now we know and can move on to try something else next time. Second, lay off the 'quota players' (which is just a euphemism for black players). Some of our best men on the field were black. Steenkamp, Pienaar, Olivier, van der Merwe, Roussouw...those guys were awful. Ashley Johnson was awesome (though definitely needs to improve his strategy and scrumming), Heini Adams was impressive, Earl Rose played well (that kick to Jongi Nokwe was brilliant). We had some good white and black players, and some bad white and black players. I liked Francois Hougaard, and Dewaltd, and a couple of others. As for the bad...Chiliboy needs to take a break - it's not helping to have him on for just a few minutes at a time. We need a good hooker, and neither him nor Maku is the man. Raubenheimer was also not great - send him back to the FS to practise a bit more, maybe in future. Pienaar has proved that he is just not in form right now. For the Saracens game: Put a couple of 1st string guys in the team for stability. It doesn't work to have a Test team and a young team that are completely separate. The new guys need to learn from the established players! I would also put one or two of the new guys into the test team, or at least on the bench, for the same reason. Give them a taste of the top level. Maybe Ashley Johnson should have a run, as well as Hougaard and some others again France or Italy. Finally, well played to the Tigers! They deserved the win.
Respect11/7/2009 12:38 PM
Thanks to Leicester for teaching world rugby that this is the best game in the world and you supporters are an embarrassing example to the rest of us who love the game. Your silence at the kicks was inspiring, What a pleasure to witness. You are by far the best crowd I have ever seen and I laud you all. Leicester Tigers whipped our asses and beat us at our own game. Well done. This team will return and triumph but playing at the Tigers grounds will be a memorable one for the crowd's respect for the players and the game of Rugby. Bravo Zulu Tigers.supporters. Well done.
BORREL11/7/2009 12:19 PM
They sure looked like the WORLD KAK HOLDERS.and Dickinson is die haan op sy eie KAKHOOP. Match him with any S.A. team,and watch th KAK hit the FANS.Dickinson allowed 3 minutes of rugby in the last 10 seconds.
Advice11/7/2009 12:12 PM
Think the entire group of 'girls' should go for gender tests!
lee11/7/2009 12:10 PM
@darrel.....thanks for making that comment on rose. i am not a rose fan and who is, but guys give the guy his due. he was amazing last night. yes its not a test match but it was a top club in England. Rose more performances like that and you will have this whole coumtry quiet. with one performance you already shut most of them up and they wont admit you were fantastic. Well done buck.
alan 11/7/2009 12:10 PM
BEN - Tiger does not win every tournament he plays in but gives it 200% when he is on the golf course - much like Federer in tennis - they are fighters and that is why they are number 1 in there respective sports - LEEUTJIE makes a good point "Sometimes you just need 15 blokes to come here and roll their sleeves up" and that is what we needed last night
Duracell!11/7/2009 12:09 PM
I agree with Muir...this was probably the worst performance by a Bok pack ever. How on earth did Jerome Paarwater become the forwards coach for the midweek team? He was after all the WP/Stormers forwards coach during the time that their tight five was known as the "light five". As a whole the team played as individuals and not as a unit. Players who impressed were Bekker, Johnson and Potgieter among the forwards and Rose and De Jongh among the backs. Rose really surprised me and deserves credit for proving the vast majority of Bok supporters wrong! Give credit where it's due guys. We shouldn't lose sight of the fact that this was NOT the strongest Leicester team as six of their 1st choice players are in the England squad. But once again, I believe it all starts up front and that is where we got pummelled last night.
Andy11/7/2009 12:07 PM
And I will repeat my question again form another post on here, what would you guys have said if they won?!
Loosehead11/7/2009 12:05 PM
If i was Pienaar i would play overseas, they are busy destroying him, first he is scrumhalf, then flyhalf then fullback then flyhalf they are going to do the same to him as that other gifted player Brent Russel.We also have the biggest centres in the world, they are all built as locks, can anybody tell me why our backs keep running into the opposition, have they never heard about the sidestep, if somebody runs into you it is the easiest thing to tackle him. Each position has a job to do and that should be explained to them. Remember that the Northern hemisphere teams treat forward play as an art form.Just watch the Guiness league. Dont blame the players they did not pick themselves.
Leon11/7/2009 12:04 PM
First off the ref was blind, enough said on that topic. But secondly and most importantly why is guthrow steenkamp and heinke van der merwe in that team. What did they do during the year to deserve call up. Players such as WP Nel and Wickus Blauw was immense this year and yet they are sitting here doing nothing. And please old Chilliboy is only there for the money when last did the man play 80 minutes of rugby. To then select 3rd choice Bulls hooker Mako as his backup is ridiculous. Lastly except for Ashley Johnson none of the loose forwards were interrested in playing. Who was the supposed fetcher. Give the real players like Pieter Louw and Pieter Myburgh a chance and remember that the loosies are just as important in the scrum they can't just stand there and look pretty. Pienaar has hopefully now finally proven that he is no number 10. You know why WP and Cheetahs did well against a lot of the bigger name players in the CC, because they played with passion something that is not shown by this team. And finally this is what happens when referees in this country does not apply the laws correctly, looking at you Lawrence. Semi Bulls v WP and the exact same thing happened to Steenkamp one critical scrum he stood up because he couldn't handle the pressure and guess WP was penalised for scrumming up. Hopefully the rugby powers will now see that bad refereeing does affect the selection for end of year tours and this is what happens. The best players stays at home and the favourites gets punished on tour because they are not as good as all the penalties for them in local games make them out to be.
Andy11/7/2009 12:03 PM
@Brett - that was most certainly NOT a "settled Tigers" side, they even had to draft a player in from Nottingham and a bunch from the Tigers Academy! You couldn't even say they were a B-side. And please don't say that only the Boks had a week together, some of the Tigers players had only played together for the first time on the park yesterday!
GP11/7/2009 12:03 PM
The sad thing is that this was the Tigers B team !!! Shows you how bad the SA 15 was. Is Raubenheimer a better player than Duane Vermeulen?
FACT11/7/2009 12:02 PM
This is the first game PDV can actually take credit for. The rest still belongs to Jake White. If these are his future options we are in the kuk.
Ek Se11/7/2009 12:02 PM
Replace the Bok management and selectors with Mickey Arthur, Graham Smith, Joel Santana and Julius Malema - they have the minimum requirement and skills to pick a Bok team !
Imboriako11/7/2009 12:01 PM
Pathetic political pandering by the useless selectors...they have to unfortunately because thats who put them there in the first place to become puppets and pay salaries far beyond their competence. Remember the Blacks consider Rugby to be a white sport so they are doing everything in their power to destroy it, it s called jealousy because their beloved soccer is so incompetent and uselss they ned to bring everything down to that level. education, skillis in the workplace, roads etc...in africa run by africans useless and incompetent are standard requirements to live here. get used to it...since 1994 the drop is so noticeable its getting to the same level as zimbabwe sports...Zambia sports...africans want only one sport ...soccer...the sponsors now need to pull the plug because they are wasting their money and it will give the next president bonehead malema something to complain about again. when one enters a comp you put the best team forward...we have the best rugby players in the world but most are excluded because they are white by the racist ANC.
Delano11/7/2009 12:00 PM
How can you call it one of rugby's great upsets and say that Leicester beat the world cup holders. That was not a Springbok team. Any provincial can beat them. It is the first game they have played together. The world champs are playing against France, Italy and Ireland. To call them Springboks is an insult to the real boks. Please compare apples with apples,
Boerseun11/7/2009 12:00 PM
Yawn...
Fred11/7/2009 11:54 AM
What did you expect? With the choices of 2nd & 3rd rate players in the touring side that are forced on us as Springboks. Gurthro Steenkamp got killed in the Curry Cup final, but is still a bok. Got killed again last night. Not of the Cheatah props made the touring side. I don't think much of the selection process!!!!!!
battling scrum11/7/2009 11:52 AM
watching the game yesterday solidified a couple of thoughts. The whole scrumming battle starts with the loosehead and tighthead props upper body and positioning techniques. if their techniques are not right or good, they nullify the push of the locks. if a lock pushes hard and the prop is battling, all that will happen is the scrum lifting, collapsing and so on. whoever the Bok's scrum coach has been these past couple of years, needs to improve his coaching of the props. furthermore the way the forwards were pushed over the ball in rucks and mauls was worrying, once again the forwards coach. captaincy wise Mahlatse Ralepelle shouldn't have been captain and neither should've Wynand Olivier. The boks lost 6 easy points due to captain's inexperienced decisions to go for the try, when Wynand was captain (i don't blame him though, inexperience) Only when Dewald Potgieter took did the boks creep back into contention through penalties.
George11/7/2009 11:52 AM
Why not just say it.... What we are all thinking... Politics shouldn't be involved in sport.... The quoto system isn't working... And people that say it doesn't play a part anymore... Look at that team.... I mean please... Is that our best second string that we can put out there. I can go back to South Africa... and pick a team of players that got left behind and mop the floor with these idiots. You feel sorry for guys like Danie Rossouw, Andries Bekker, Ashley Johnson.... who were made to be a laughing stock in this whole mess... But the tests are coming.... and at least we can count on our starting 15 to pull us through.... and then give a the "benchwarmers" a chance to lose it in the last 10 minutes... Some changes could be made to that starting 15 still..... We know the game and we know we have what it takes... we can win the Tri-Nations every single year and the World Cup as well, when it comes around.... but we have to be logical about this... Pick the right players.... I'm asking you as a Proud South African.....
Neil K11/7/2009 11:47 AM
Well surely the selectors did not expect any other performance? They picked our fourth side for god sakes...De Villiers must realise that he cannot exclude talent like Jean de Villiers and Frans Steyn. As for Ralapele...I hope this was the last for him. International sport is not the place to come and get match fit... Bret, 6 months of intense training will not turn this team into worthy second stringers for the Boks. Where’s WP Nel? Where is Deon Stegman or Pieter Louw? Jonathan Mokuena? Where is Sarel Pretorius? Where is Adriaan Strauss, Derrick Kuun, or Tiaan Liebenberg? Where is Anton van Zyl? Wicus Blaauw? Sarel Pretorius? Out of the forwards, only Ashley Johnson and Bekker where up to standard last night. Steekkamp was a shockers, Jannie du Plessis as well and the two miroicle hookers…they don’t scrum, cant find their jumpers , so what are they doing in the team? You cannot dominate world rugby with players who are unfit or simply picked because of politics. That’s when you loose against club second sides.
Sharky11/7/2009 11:46 AM
Lost - Against REF , we cannot just stand still with that shocking referee , a formal complaint should be lodged.Boks would have won even with the crap side that was on the field. Tigers got away with MURDER - two players holding one of or boks Hair , punching ... BAD REF
Clive11/7/2009 11:46 AM
Pathetic srumming, zero ball retention at the breakdown, passion sadly lacking, no pride in the (sort of) Springbok jersey, no game plan, otherwise the guys were fine! Seriously though, apart from the likes of Adams, Johnson and only one or two others who tried their best, it proves that McGeechan was correct when he said that we lack depth. Some of the new guys - and some of the not-so-new ones - were totally invisible. Even allowing for the short time the guys had together, we ought to be really worried is this is our best second string. For a start the Cheetahs' front row must be flown over immediately if we are to dominate the scrums in the good old Springbok fashion. I trust that all those journalists who said a second string Leicester team would be no match for a second string Bok team are enjoying their humble pie.
reg11/7/2009 11:44 AM
@The Majeur & Brad -- Your posts are just about the only sensible ones here.This is,in my opinion,the best possible outcome to ensure we win the rest of the tour.Suddenly, we realise that overwheening ,unwarranted arrogance always comes before a fall.If we think about the British/Irish Lions tour , we would only have DRAWN the series if it were not for the last-minute penalty in the 2nd test. Taken overall,over the total of the 3 tests,they scored more points & more tries.We were lucky to win the series.I really do hope that last nights loss was just the medicine we needed!
Bokdrol11/7/2009 11:41 AM
Wha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha. Stop Please stop. Having read the views before the game and now I can only conclude that climate change or swine flu or perhaps early dementia is indeed very prevalent in the developing world. This team and the comment and predictions of our supporters are an embarrassment to the very nature of Springbok rugby supporters. No wonder the world thinks we are arrogant Japie’s with not much between the ears. Disgraceful! “Leicester, playing without six England internationals and nine first-choice players….” humiliate the World Champs. Good to see that political incompetence in our country has finally been emulated on the rugby field. If the 10 test caps and the new bunch is our next in line it's time to worry, really worry. With team selection like this we are indeed in big trouble as their inclusion in any starting line-up will hand the match to the opponents. Surely there are better performing players elsewhere in SA rugby. As for the scrum being nailed, again, reflects on two major problems: 1. Who was the worst scrummaging team in S14 and who was their forwards coach? Who did NOT coaching WP (who by all accounts now, with OVS, have a proper scrum) in the CC. Who is the Boks forward coach? We need Balie and/or Os to help here - the Gold value is plummeting. 2. Bekker – the worst centre in the world. How can they expect him to play out of position and that nogal at lock. Dreadful expectation! 3. Chilly – Boys 2 Men is taking longer in his case. Cannot compete when he is on the field. Surely the are many other hookers, male or female, that can provide a better package for much less a match fee. Viva Amabokdrolle. Bring back Rudolf Straeuli
Shawn11/7/2009 11:40 AM
I dont know what everyone was expecting, these guys have never played together, and they do lack experience, I never for one minute expected the boks to win. However we have to say that the out of form players remained out of form, Ruan Pienaar, Chillie boy, Heinke, I think those guys deserve a run in the provincial sides before they get put up against world class clubs. Earl Rose impressed, ( my costume)
vincent11/7/2009 11:39 AM
Well played Tigers. Boks!!! No passion,no commitment. When you play with these precious feelings half of your short commings are over come. The other half requires ability.(Ask bafana, that is why they play the way they do, a bunch of players going through the motions) Coaching? Dick Muir had the unenviable task of coaching the team.
vincent11/7/2009 11:31 AM
Well played Tigers. Boks!!! No passion,no commitment. When you play with these precious feelings half of your short commings are over come. The other half requires ability.(Ask bafana, that is why they play the way they do, a bunch of players going through the motions) Coaching? Dick Muir had the unenviable task of coaching the team.
Selma11/7/2009 11:27 AM
Ruaan Pienaar se opsies was werklik skokkend vir n gesoute Springbok en Sharks speler. Dit was tog duidelik dat hul voorryspel ons oorheers het maar Pienaar besluit om voor die pale nie pale toe te skop nie. Sy lyn skoppe en strakkoppe was hopeloos. Wat het van hierdie eens veelsdige speler se selfvertroue geword? Hy is n skadu van wat hy was. Die Steyns en Du Preez het sy doppie geklink. Gysie se seun is nooit toegelaat om sy werklike hoogtes te bereik nie. En as ons nie opppas nie gebeur dieselfde met Francois Steyn wat van stuurboord van bakboord geskuif word. Dis geen wonder hy het oorboord gespring nie.
Cire11/7/2009 11:26 AM
Absolutely pathetic! 'Nuff said!
Ben11/7/2009 11:22 AM
Here we go again, the boks have lost. What is the big deal? We had the oppertunity to blood new players. Yes some of them may not be good enough to play at the top level. It is time we give credit to other teams who beat us. Tiger Woods does not win every tournament he enters neither will the boks win every match. The big question will be what have they learnt from this defeat. Just a quick reminder 2006 Brisbane Australia gave us a 49 - 0 smashing. 11 of the same player in 2007 won the world cup. KEEP PERSPECTIVE PLEASE!
Leeutjie11/7/2009 11:19 AM
Ag shame, they really got hurt last night against a pssionate Leicester side. I think Chilliboy is now officially a quota player/captain. Maku, Pienaar, Steenkamp can join Chilli on the quota seats cause they were all pathetic.Rose tried hard, unfortunately he only does that for 1 game / season.Where is this Raubenheimer playng his rugby?? Mind you Deysel did not do much better. Cockrell summed it up perfectly. (Sometimes you just need 15 blokes to come here and roll their sleeves up.) All is not lost, these guys must get their minds in order.
Luke11/7/2009 11:19 AM
our government and our stupid transformation policies are going to cost us dearly... put players on the park that deserve to be there!!! why cant our dim sighted government see this!! oh... i know why...
Airwolf11/7/2009 11:17 AM
@JAC You are not a Bok supporter, you are a Bok fan. Fans only watch when they are winning, supporters watch when they also lose.
alan 11/7/2009 11:14 AM
Surely this team cannot be termed Springboks" - the best front row in the country is sitting in the Free State chuckling - a loose trio who cannot support the tight five - this wasn't even an emerging Bok side - was this side selected by the ANCYL or Bobby Godsell or Jacob Maroga
Marius11/7/2009 11:13 AM
@ scud. Just a small correction.Not 4 centres,but 2 new ones, Johnson and Deysel, while the 2 real centres were reduced to fighting for the ball in the rucks against opposition loose forwards. Ruan did not pass the ball a single time to his inside centre in the whole game
Allan11/7/2009 11:12 AM
Where have all the flowers garn/? long time ago?we now have a country of weeds ,ready to kill the joy of beauty and victory only to try and shout out we are weeds.take it or leave it.
JLR11/7/2009 11:11 AM
At the beginning of his coaching career PdV said that he would be choosing players on merrit, but they somehow managed to leave the best front row combinations in South Africa at home, the FS boys, Nel, Strauss and du Preez. They absolutely demolished Smit and his boys and gave the the Bulls a hiding in the scrums as well. My question is; if you are the best in your position is SA, why are you not playing for the Boks?
Rugby10111/7/2009 11:09 AM
No gameplan . . . (except," have ball must kick"), 1st line defence lethargic, ball carriers motionless, kickers aimless, team directionless and I think for this game the coaches were clueless. I do not expect the Bokke to win everything, but C'MON guys, what was that???
Allan11/7/2009 11:06 AM
Where have all the flowers garn/? long time ago?we now have a country of weeds ,ready to kill the joy of beauty and victory only to try and shout out we are weeds.take it or leave it.
Andre11/7/2009 11:05 AM
stuart DICKinson- did he not see the obstructive running, diving over the top and hands in the rucks from players in any position except on their feet. The boks didnt have a chance with THAT experimental team and shit reffing...
Bret11/7/2009 10:56 AM
I think everyone is quick to jump to conclusions, yes we were bad but keep in mind this team has only had 1 week together compared to a settled Tigers outfit. And yes, there are players back home who should be there. I think Pienaar had a shocker and the forwards weren't committed to the breakdown and forget to push in the scrums. However don't write off these guys after 1 performance.... they are talented coming together from different rugby styles and game plans at their respective provinces
albie steyn11/7/2009 10:42 AM
Thank you Lord I did not buy tickets for the game. I watched the game on TV, however switched to Jamie Oliver's tour in America. Shame on you coaches!
JAC11/7/2009 10:42 AM
I'M A BOK SUPPORTER AND WILL ALWAYS BE, BUT AFTER I SAW THE TEAM, I CHOSE A NICE MOVIE TO WATCH INSTEAD. DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO WATCH THE SCORE IN BETWEEN. POLITICS IS KILLING OUR GAME. DOESN'T ANYONE CARE? THE POOR COACHING STAFF THAT HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS ABSURD GOVERNMENT INVOLVEMENT IN TEAM SQUAD SELECTION AND THEN THEY GET PRESSURIZED IN PRODUCING A WINNING RECORD...??!!! MAKES ME SICK.
JOHN11/7/2009 10:42 AM
0 out of 10 for the guy that picked Davon Raubenheimer!!!!!
darkwing11/7/2009 10:41 AM
I see we have a majeur genius amongst us. How's your thinking, apart from arrogant? I thought sport was about winning. Yes, they will probably learn from this, but their confidence would have been boosted by a win. THINK!!!!
Diesel11/7/2009 10:35 AM
Ruan Pienaar is a rubbish player. He single-handedly undid the Sharks in the semi-final against the Cheetahs and last night he played like the retarded idiot he is. When will the selectors see this? What a chop.
Deon11/7/2009 10:33 AM
This "D" team is a disgrace to SA rugby.
Chef11/7/2009 10:30 AM
well has anyone thought that old Snor... did what he was told to do, and selected a team out of 20% merit and 80% hunches? and maybe he had to sacrifice a victory to show the government that selecting Quota players and guys that "MIGHT" do well one day, rather than selecting players that prooved them selfs and really deserved it, like div said a while ago... springbok slection on merit??? who is behing SA RUGBY????
@shut it (WP man)11/7/2009 10:25 AM
Jy is 'n idioot. Ons is SPRINGBOK, let wel SPRINGBOK ondersteuners, nie die ondersteuners van 'n span, hoofsaaklik saamgestel uit (a) paloekas wat die regte velkleur het en (b) paloekas wat die verkeerde velkleur het, maar vir die regte provinsie speel. Met die Vrystaat se voorry en met die WP lostrio (Schalk Burger uitgesluit, maar Luke Watson ingesluit) sou dit nag gewees het vir Leicester se skrum en sou 'n fondament gelê kon gewees het vir die agterspelers. EN let wel, dit was basies Leicester se tweede span!
Gideon11/7/2009 10:22 AM
We need to realise that we did not choose the props that dominated this year, FS and WP, I don't even want to see what is going to happen to John and Beast, FS already put their heads in their asses. Players that are hungry must play. Ashley was very good, Rose has got alot of talent, but ....Ruan is broken and first need to build his confidence. We play too many people out of position because they are so good, like Hougaard for the Bulls. Play the best man in the position for that position!! Not to blame the ref, but he was pathetic and biased towards them, in SA they would have ended with maybe 10 guys on the pitch.
Dave11/7/2009 10:20 AM
This game is typical of our rugby. If we cant bully the oponents and then get bullied ourselves then its overs. How are we to expect whimps like "Gutslessro" and Hankie the panky vd M and Mako the sardine to stand their ground let alone compete when the locks AND in particular the loosies dont push. All the emcumbent Boks can rest easy as there is not one Z team player who is going to take there place. Jannie du Plessis is useless. I am not looking forward to the French Italian and Irish onslaught with our current front row.
Obvious11/7/2009 10:19 AM
And remember, if your forwards are failing & don't produce quality ball, you backs will look average at best.
Diehard11/7/2009 10:17 AM
Interesting that the panel in the studio could identify the shortcomings with the forwards at half time but the coaching staff "need to go back to the drawing board". Everyone with half a rugby brain could see that the loose forwards were never scrumming - but did they change? If I was one of the tight 5 I would be sorting out my loosies for leaving me high and dry and then I'd sort the coach out for not pointing that out when it was sooo obvious!!
Obvious11/7/2009 10:17 AM
Take into account it's the first game these guys played together, against a well oiled Leicester side. Not to mention Ruan's first game at 10 in quite a while again. It was always gonna be tough
zander11/7/2009 10:15 AM
They should stop this emerging springbok/springbok "A" side. The only way forward is playing a springbok "A" side.Which means playing the best players currently in the country.I dont agree in developing young players this way.Theyneed to come through the ranks,not jump skip their way into a springbok jersey.the best of the best needs to play in these set ups so they ready when they get called up for the springbok side
Dominic11/7/2009 10:13 AM
Whoa people......pull in the reins....yes a poor performance agreed but even the best slip at times. Lets agree that the Tigers played bloody well and porbably above themselves despite 6 of their top players sitting out for an international appearance. Take it on the chin and regroup. What I really enjoyed was the crowd respect for both teams kickers, absolute silence......I'm sure that was quite eerie for us Boks.....
Gert11/7/2009 10:13 AM
Just when I thought Snorre saw the light he came back and screwed up Who the hell is dictating the tune to you snorre.Now that this mickey mouse team got a hiding you let Muir do the talking.You left players of colour behind like Mapoe from the cheetahs who is lightyears ahead of Rose who should play club rugby if he can find a club that will take him. The cheetah front row who scrumed the sharks( springbok front row) and the bulls into the ground you left behind VERY STUPID don you think? So you think you will defend the worldcup successfully THINK AGAIN.
Rookie11/7/2009 10:12 AM
Ban those players from ever wearing the jersey again. Especially Div's nephew
CJ11/7/2009 10:12 AM
2nd Stringers. Nah. More like 4th division clubside. I Think it was degrading for some players to be part of this team. Rose was pathetic, Ndongwane is always pathetic, Olivier always goes for a gap which everone knows by now, De Jongh does have potential, Nokwe - Cheetahs bench, Pienaar 2nd best scrumhalf in SA, (He's forgotten about that thanks to PDV), Johnson forgets he has to put his head in the scrum, Potgieter always brilliant with a lost cause, Raubenhaimer should be in a 2nd string club team (Where is Grobbelaar, 2 Louws, Botes, Stegman, Viljoen, Etc. Etc. Etc. Maku is a Bulls 4th stringer after Kuhn, Botha, + Sillyboy. How could we possibly degrade SA playing with team like this. TIGERS outstanding and well drilled. Congratulations.
Neil11/7/2009 10:10 AM
What a poor allround performance. Starting with Bobby our commentator, not sure what game he was watching as he only had good words to say about briliant (rubbish) play. Then the ref, Well done Stuart, another one of your brilliant perforamances (Ha Ha). Our captian dear captain, why on earth is he playing, (20 minutes) when last did he play a game of rugby. The only person to come out of the game with some pride was Bekker. As for the rest, half of them should not even have been on tour. If this is the selectors picks heaven help us when the real "A" team players retire which is not far off. The performance was so poor it even made Earl look good.
Gert11/7/2009 10:08 AM
Just when I thought Snorre saw the light he came back and screwed up Who the hell is dictating the tune to you snorre.Now that this mickey mouse team got a hiding you let Muir do the talking.You left players of colour behind like Mapoe from the cheetahs who is lightyears ahead of Rose who should play club rugby if he can find a club that will take him. The cheetah front row who scrumed the sharks( springbok front row) and the bulls into the ground you left behind VERY STUPID don you think? So you think you will defend the worldcup successfully THINK AGAIN.
michael11/7/2009 10:06 AM
chiliboy wasn't injured he is unfit!
@lesson111/7/2009 10:05 AM
A lesson is only a lesson if you learn from it. Unfortunately our foolish coach and selectors NEVER learn. Eg he continues to play players out of position, ala John Smit and Ruaan Pienaar, he also selects players who are not fully recovered from injury, ala Heinke vd Merwe and Chiliboy Ralapella and he continually selects players who have not even proved themselves at S14 level ala Raubenheimer and Maku. The mind boggles!!
Billy11/7/2009 10:05 AM
Wrong choices. Better players stayed at home , because Helium and Ian Mac iare the selectors. 60% of the players should not even been there. Chilliboy do the right thing and retire from rugby. He id not even 3 devision std. Boks wake up, The French are going to eat you for breakfast or is it dinner.
Ash11/7/2009 10:03 AM
Do the soccer guys get paid more than the rugby guys? Just wondering because our rugby boys want to just kick and kick and kick. Maybe they trying to get into the Bafana team???
Burgiesburnin11/7/2009 10:03 AM
If the Boks switched with Bafana and Bafana with the Boks then perhaps both sides could do better. No worse thats for sure.
PHILLY11/7/2009 10:02 AM
THE FACT THAT THE GUYS WITH SPRINGBOK EMBLEMS ON THEIR CHESTS WERE LIKE LAMBS TO THE SLAUGHTER , SHOULD SHOW TWO THINGS VERY CLEARLY . THE FIRST THAT OUR FULL STRENGTH SIDE HAS BEEN TOGETHER AS AN OUTFIT FOR A FEW YEARS AND THUS PLAY FOR EACH OTHER, WHERE AS A SIDE PUT TOGETHER WITH WANNABEES AND PLAYERS WHO HAVE LESS GAME TIME THEN A NEWBORN BABY THIS SEASON , WILL PLAY AS INDIVIDUALS IN ORDER TO CAPTURE THE EYE OF THE COACH. SECONDLY , TO DEVELOP A PLAYER IS ESSENTIAL , HOWEVER A COACH WOULD BE REQUIRED TO CHOOSE A WELL BALANCED SIDE, ONE WITH THE FLAIR OF A EXCITING NEW TALENT , AND THE TENACITY AND AGRESSIVE PLAY THAT OS DU RANDT BROUGHT TO THE GAME. NURTURE THE PLAYER , DON'T SET THEM UP FOR FAILURE. VERY DISSAPOINTED IN THE LACK OF FLUIDITY DISPLAYED BY A BUNCH OF AMATEURS, WEARING THE GREEN AND GOLD
Ash11/7/2009 10:01 AM
I agree with Frikkie. I am a die hard Sharks supporter, but Ruan Pienaar should not be in the Bok set up. He is over rated and does not perform consistently to play for the Bokke. In fact, I would not even put him in the Sharks team. Just for you guys on Div- Dick Muir was the coach of this side , therefore he had to do the post match comments.
Shut It11/7/2009 9:57 AM
So what we lost - the way some of you carry on you would swear we just lost the World Cup. Firstly the guys have only had about 3 days to prepare. Leicester played very well, the same happens here when provincial teams play touring sides. Be a BOK supporter and actually support the side not just when they win. No comments about Johnson who played well and tackled hard and a few other players who had a decent game. Yes we had a poor game - get over it all you so called BOK supporters.
Darrel11/7/2009 9:53 AM
Gee, guys, why so quiet on Earl Rose? You normally love abusing him so much it's as though he represents everything that's wrong in your lives. Oh, right - that's because he was just about the only guy who played well, showed courage under the high ball, showed creativity, made our only try. never mind - I'm sure you're all just waiting for when he makes a mistake in the future, and then you'll be out and all over him again. Just to remind you -being a Springbok supporter means supporting the team and hoping it does well, even when you don't agree with the selections.
wjsk11/7/2009 9:53 AM
Slim vang sy baas...
Willem11/7/2009 9:52 AM
Hate to say it guys but it was our Eskom-team playing yesterday: Lights out, clueless and no management.
Sharky11/7/2009 9:52 AM
Have the Dirt Trackers ever done well on a Northern hemishpere tour ?
Andy11/7/2009 9:52 AM
B team or not,they are all supposed to be top line players.I just wonder what snors excuse will be.We can't even beat a club side.Shocking
Freek Burger11/7/2009 9:50 AM
Os du Randt proved this season why the Cheethas forwards were regarded as the best pack in the Currie Cup.Why not pick horses for courses and the best scrum coach in the country.Three captains in one game with no game plan.Not to blame the referee but players at that level should know their laws.
klakkers11/7/2009 9:49 AM
Guys come on - did you see how stressed poor Pvd was in the box? His false teeth almost popped out. Shame, the poor ANC cadre.
Peter11/7/2009 9:48 AM
Chose a fully laden AA team and the steal of all the balls will be a reality.
Tht Broose11/7/2009 9:47 AM
julius malaema should be the coach of the under performing BEE team , now we see what happens when jakes winning team get phased out
NGS11/7/2009 9:47 AM
I dont know what the selectors were thinking. I am an avid rugby fan and have not ever heard of some of these guys who got selected. Who are they? Where do they play rugby? What have they done to deserve wearing a Springbok jersey ( besides maybe looking good against other fourth level teams )? If we send a team onto the field labelled as "World and Trinations champions" then we should damn well make sure we can beat a second string Guiness Premiership team.
Franschhoek11/7/2009 9:44 AM
It doe not matter if they are black, white, pink or green. I players do not even have Super 14 experience how can you put a Bok jersey over their heads! Carry on Div your time is running out with these poor team selections. Nobody in SA likes to see a Bok team getting a lesson from a second string of poms!!!!!!!
louwrens11/7/2009 9:44 AM
pick the best players, a lot of them is in s.a. strauss, kuhn, stegman, peterson(joe), the cheetha props, and so the lst goes on. history will say leister beat the springboks, not leister beat the 'a' springbok side. pick the best even if they are pink.
The Majeur11/7/2009 9:43 AM
You'regoing to be blue because of that perfomance? I admirer your passion but I reject your inability to think. Sometimes Saffers just fail to use even a tiny part of their brains. What purpose would winning this game have served? Further fuel your arrogance? Team building (especial one so young and ineperienced) always has to come at cost, and more often than not, the price is the results. Think of now what's going to happen to these boys, their eyes are open to new things, they get better advice and coaching from the technical team, they come back next time knowing how to better handle certain situations. Now they know how hard it can get on tour, now they know you don'tjust pitch up and take the victory. Winning their first game would have hampered their development, it would have given them a false sense of superiority. THINK!!!!
prop11/7/2009 9:41 AM
We keep getting caught out by selections. I've been saying all along that Div should have played Jacob Zuma as hooker.....and why wasn't Thabo Mbeki included in the starting line up? Come on, explain that Mr. Pvd!!!
Ray 11/7/2009 9:41 AM
Worst Bok Pack Ever-What an understatement !!!! Chiliboy is totally useless and weak.If the coaches can't see this,then they must be shortsighted or ignorant.Ruaan Pienaar? I must be honest,I think that he has come to end of the International Road.If anyone watched the u/21 final between Sharks and Free State, I hope that you took note of the Free State Fly-Half.He has all the credentials that one would expect from a no 10.Gets his line moving,kicks well,and is a good distributor.I think his name is Sias Ebersohn.Nice neat and nippy player.
Cullart11/7/2009 9:40 AM
The world is woeful. That little hair below Gurthro bottom lip must be sticking out his backside this morning. He was pathetic. Of the loosies Johnson and Potgieter tried but everyone played as individuals. Ruan must now be consigned to the scrap heap. he has had enough opportunities. But of the backline one player stood out and that was Earl 'the Joburg' Rose. But Mr Dickinson was the worst of all. That guy needs to go and workshop the laws of the game.!
kelvin munster11/7/2009 9:39 AM
having watched Springbok rugby for many years...disgusting. Dick Muir says it all...but he is one of the coaches!!! Just pick the best team for the job...drop the saartjie baartman fat arse players pick an all white team if you have to . just win
cecnol11/7/2009 9:36 AM
Niemand maar niemand het gisteraand gepitch vir die game nie. Een van die dae is daar nie een Bok ondersteuner oor nie - skaam vir julle. Jislaaik ou Helium jyt amper begin huil gisteraand - ek skaam my vrek vir jou. Vat die punch pappa jyt mos gedink die twee swakste spelers in my oe Ruan en Rosie maak mos n somer in die winter. Vat vir Daniller eerder of Gertjie van Brandvlei eerder hulle sal beter vaar.
50/5011/7/2009 9:36 AM
Bok ' B' Team - B/S. Its not a B team - some players deserve to be there and while we are looking at developing some youngsters - you have to have a balance. Then - Chilliboy - who was Cpt - bit unfair coming back from injury, and straight into the squad - just the same as the Lions prop - what utter b/s. Pick players who are fit and have played. Then - due to Chilliboy missing out - how can he be Cpt and refer to the new guys as 'youngsters'? Im not against him being Capt, just not yet. Anyhow, even though a 'B team' - its still a Springbok team - and losing is losing, but to lose in such a manner. Eina. Baie K#K
Zeus11/7/2009 9:34 AM
There must be a reason they don't get full colours. Merit was not a factor when the team was selected. Well done Tigers, I hope Snorre got he message!
Ash11/7/2009 9:33 AM
SA were simply totally outplayed up front in the loose play and set pieces. The only SA forward to hold his headup after that game and worthy of a place in the A side is Bekker, as for the other B side forwards the selectors need to go back to the drawing board or face similar dismal performances and results. Unfortuneatly the backline were not given an oppertunity to show any type of attack with make shift flyhalf Pienaar simply giving away the tiny scraps of possession they had. Pick of the backline would be de Jongh with solid defence and showing good future potential. The only possible worst performance on the field last evening was the ref, so at least the boks are not alone.
quiet11/7/2009 9:33 AM
Anyone heard anything from Div?.....he normally like to shoot his trap off but I haven't heard anything from him. Does Dick Muir suddenly speak on his behalf?
Victor Stanfield11/7/2009 9:32 AM
Frikkie, you are right. The AA players were Ruan Pienaar, Danie Rossouw and a few other whites. Stop with your backward thinking. We were beaten by a much better team, accept it!
Brad11/7/2009 9:32 AM
Whats all the fuss about, i know we are passionate suporters but take some perspective. Take the incumbent winners of the Air New Zealand Cup, the Blue Bulls or Liecester and put them up against any international "B" team and you will get the same result as last night, a rugby lesson from a team thats at the top of their game after a full lenght top notch domestic season. We would expect no less had England's "B" team played the Bulls last night.
Boertjie11/7/2009 9:31 AM
Interesting spectacle last night. Switch allegiance to the guys in gold long time ago, because of political interference in SA rugby. Not that my team is doing any better at the moment … :-(
Dirk11/7/2009 9:26 AM
The same awaits the test side. The front rows are from Sharks who were overpowered by Griquas and Cheethas in the last 2 games & Bulls who where out played by WP and Cheethas in the last 2 games. At least 4 of last nights pack has to bench for test againt France I did not see suitable candidates on the field. What can you expect with a forward coach like Jerome Paarwater?
p...off Div11/7/2009 9:25 AM
I see Div let Dick Muir do all the post match talking to the media after HIS quota team got a carrot!! Typical, run and hide when you screw up.....
colin rosenkowitz11/7/2009 9:23 AM
I have said it from the start, and still say it again, there are a lot of players sitting back home that were not selected, because you know why????? I knew that we had a poor side selected, but never realised how poor they were.I really feel sorry for the players who were selected on merit, and they were made to look bad as hard as they tried.Some of the guys were playing like a school side...eina...eina ?????
deon11/7/2009 9:21 AM
I expected this to happen, new team, different game, somewhere you must start building and training new heroes and unfortunatley this is the only way to go, looking forward to the rest of the tour!
WakeUP11/7/2009 9:20 AM
This is what happens when you put SA`s best political side against a passionate one. At the despair of my wife I haven’t missed a second of our national team’s awesome year, but last night was painful from the offset. You can’t force color on an international level and hope your name will demand respect and victory, there were so many sketchy players in the team Ruan Pienaar being no exception. Chili just showed what he is actually capable of (20min). PdV PLEASE DONT BUCKLE UNDER POLITICAL PREASURE, SA IS BEHIND YOU BUT ONLY FOR SO LONG AS YOU CHOOSE PLAYERS THAT DESERVE BEING SPRINGBOKS, MAKU WOULDN’T EVEN MAKE THE PUMA STARTING TEAM?????
Lou11/7/2009 9:19 AM
It was a gamble that did not pay off; and it seldom will. Even those players ran onto the field knowing they were not the first choice. The difference between the top players and the rest is that top players always play their A game. Those non-A list players from last night are not A list exactly because of that. I'm saying they could easily have won had they given their best but you need a certain type of player on the field to get the rest going.
WP man11/7/2009 9:17 AM
Yes, it is a fact that the Springbok “first team” is still world class, but once they are gone, what is left? This bunch of idiots that we saw last night? If they are the next generation of test players, we are in for many years of disgrace on the rugby field. As for Dick’s remark on the pack: Dick it was not a Springbok team; it was a team selected to satisfy idiots with a political agenda. Furthermore, it was not only a bad-bad pack. It was a bad-bad team. You were prepared to be the coach of this team, you were prepared to be part of a diabolic plan to put colour above ability and you were prepared to be part this grave dishonoring of the sacred Springbok jersey. In the past I regarded you as a man with integrity, but it seems that you swapped your honor for the money earned as an assistant coach of a bunch of affirmative action players that could not even beat a severely weakened club team.
Markb11/7/2009 9:15 AM
I agree 100%.They're not blooding young players, they're embarrassing springbok rugby
darwinia11/7/2009 9:14 AM
Muir says this is the worst performance by forwards ever. He is correct. He, and PDV picked these guys. They should apologise to us and to the cheetah front row. Ruan Pienaar is the worst flyhalf in the world. I agree he should swim back to S A.
Harald Spiwak11/7/2009 9:14 AM
World Cup holders? Yes, but not the team that played yesterday! Some second-rate & inexperienced individuals playing together - the scrum was pathetic, because the tight 5 did all the work! What was the # 8 thinking? Andries had an excellent game! Tigers played brilliant rugby; very effective at the breakdown in ball retention & turn-overs! A lesson to be learnt from the Lions' tour regarding English rugby. Looking forward to the REAL Springboks playing next week in France! Go Bokke!
Peet11/7/2009 9:13 AM
If PdV expected any other result with his bunch of political inspired selections, he is even more stupid than I thought. Everybody with more than half a brain, knew that this kind of humiliation will happen sooner or later. And this will not be the last time. Fasten your seatbelts!
BOK11/7/2009 9:12 AM
I could have chosen a much better second team and I am sure most of us would have. But I suppose div has got to be politically correct and satisfy the government by selecting a losing side.
Jonny11/7/2009 9:12 AM
The Cheetahs front row demolished the Sharks (Boks) in the semi-final. Where are WP Nel, Adriaan Strauss & Vian Du Preez.... you guessed it, at home. Div decided on Heike (very good player but not match fit due to injury, Chiliboy (injured) & Guthro (who was demolished last night). What did he expect?
brad11/7/2009 9:12 AM
How can we expext to win when we put out third choice players from our currie cup sides? PDV has shown oncw again that he is out of depth!! Move over for a real coach!!!!
trev211/7/2009 9:11 AM
If Earl Rose was one of the better Bok players on the night, it shows how awful the rest were! The only forwards worth mentioning that weren't totally pathetic were Johnson, Bekker and to a lesser extent Maku. Pienaar had a nightmare!
BOK11/7/2009 9:10 AM
I could have chosen a much better second team and I am sure most of us would have. But I suppose div has got to be politically correct and satisfy the government by selecting a losing side.
Ron11/7/2009 9:09 AM
The Tigers showed the SA 15 how to play a ref and also what a well oiled squad can do. I just hope this isn't an indication of the couching / game plan we will see when the senior players depart Bok rugby.
Francois Van11/7/2009 9:09 AM
Hoekom vra ons wat het aangegaan,dit is wat gebeur met regstellende sport,dit is ook die probleem met Bannana Bannana die beste spelers word nie gekies nie en daar moet mos kwotas wees so eet die pap wat julle keurders en die Kompela's in ons sport gebrou het hou so aan en ons maar ook in die volgende wereld beker rugby nie eers die einde van die eerste ronde nie,gaan aan met die toring aan die spanne om die politisi te plesier. "NAG OU GROTE"
Ant11/7/2009 9:03 AM
Thsi game was of no significance,the playets are tired...
frikkie11/7/2009 9:01 AM
Just goes to show that AA cannot be forced upon rugby. It takes time. Ruan Pienaar has hag the worst performance of his entire life, including his rendition of the little mermaid in kidergarten. I thisn he should swim back to SA. Nonbody should have paid for his ticket in the first place
Ivan11/7/2009 9:01 AM
Maybe our forwards must start contesting the loose scrum and get the ball instead of hanging around in the back line and preventing them from doing their job. Or just maybe consider a plan B. One good thing came out of last nights game. They didn’t wear green jerseys
Colin11/7/2009 9:01 AM
As expected, leicester won. Helium will regret not selecting the Free State forwards and relying on club level players in international arena! Why is Jerome Paarwater there now!! SA rugby will soon descend to the level of bafana bafana! No plan,no direction and no heart. The fans will determine the fate of this lot. Good night and good luck!
mr b11/7/2009 9:00 AM
My analysis... a totally disorganised, uncoached SA 2nd string team was beaten by Englands Guiness Premiership(provincial) 08/09 champs. Fact is that the Tigers are a well drilled team. They played excellent rugby showing total commitment on defence or attack. I really can't say anything positive for the Bok 2nd team, commitment and intensity were totally lacking. Leadership via the captain(s) was non existant! PvD got the mix wrong, needed more senior players to show the younger guys the way, he did take the game seriously. I hope this loss is a good wakeup call to the coaching staff and players alike!
Ivan11/7/2009 8:59 AM
Maybe our forwards must start contesting the loose scrum and get the ball instead of hanging around in the back line and preventing them from doing their job. Or just maybe consider a plan B. One good thing came out of last nights game. They didn’t wear green jerseys
Andre11/7/2009 8:58 AM
It was a damn disgrace.
KingPaul11/7/2009 8:58 AM
Kwotas! Swak skrumwerkers! 'n Skrumskakel op losskakel! Dis hoekom die "Bokke" verloor het
UW11/7/2009 8:55 AM
.. I think the biggest problem will be that the History Books will state: THE SPRINGBOKS WORLD CHAMPIONS WERE BEATEN BY THE LEICESTER TIGERS CLUB!. ..nothing about it being our B team!...or..uhmmm..F team...
Player 2311/7/2009 8:53 AM
That was thwe WORST GAME I have seen in years, it was UGLY scrappy play... and well, lets not even mention Stuart Dickinson, because it seems that referees do what they want these days!!!
Vissie11/7/2009 8:52 AM
Its not the team's fault, its the selectors' fault.
Draadsitter11/7/2009 8:50 AM
Let's not go all "Kiwi" and trash the whole team and management because of one little speed-wobble here. Our guys had a bad day. Get over it people.
Ivor11/7/2009 8:47 AM
It is said never blame the ref, bit he was far from consistant with his decisions and let the "tigers' get away with being off side, coming into the scrum illegally. Send over the front row from the Cheetahs.
Jabulani11/7/2009 8:47 AM
The proof is in the pudding ! Tough times ahead for the substitute / BEE team and Peter de Villiers !
Lesson 111/7/2009 8:47 AM
No need to get upset. This was a valuable lesson. Our B-Boks needs a lot more exposure and experience before 2011 WC. This lose might be a blessing in disguise... to shake off some of that excessive arrogance we have picked up lately. Putting on the Green & Gold doesn't automatically make you a super rugby player... that only comes with hard work and experience. Well played to the Tigers.
scud11/7/2009 8:44 AM
What did he expect? 6 top front rowers,2 top locks and 4 top loosies were left behind. Chilliboy is not fit,Raubenheimer is not up to it,Hargreaves was selected because of his under 20 days,Jannie du Plessis and Steenkamp are past it. To make matters worse,on the odd occasion that we did actually get the ball,we had four centres-Olivier,de Jongh,Johnson and Deysel, How dumb can we be?
colin rosenkowitz11/7/2009 8:42 AM
I have said it from the start, and still say it again, there are a lot of players sitting back home that were not selected, because you know why?????
Burgiesburnin11/7/2009 8:38 AM
Oh No!!! now all you lot are going to be asking for Divs blood and blaming the ref. Its a good job Leicester had 6 players away on National call up. The writting was on the wall when Nancy Botha was looking for excusses at half time. He could see the way that it was going.
Jimb11/7/2009 8:33 AM
It was awful to watch - SA 15 (not the Sprinboks) played like a bunch of amateurs. Pienaar was dreadful, and we might as well have had my sons 5th grade forwards on the pitch - they would have played better. Nobody had a clue what the game plan was - kick and hope. Obviously no tactics were in place. We need a proper coach - not one that relies on the great players we have, who see him through time after time.
True Blue11/7/2009 8:33 AM
BOLAND COULD HAVE WON THIS GAME !!! Ruan Pienaar excelled in showing why he will not make the A side again. Cill(y)boy - WTF?? I must say it has been a while where I have seen a game that had 3 captains in 80 minutes. No wonder the Boks junior c side did not know what to do, they did not even know who their captain is. Tigers - WELL PLAYED.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide