Boks on Tour

Ireland drop O'Gara

2009-11-24 16:06
Dropped (File)

Dublin - Ireland coach Declan Kidney has made six changes to the team that ran out 41-6 winners against Fiji last weekend ahead of what should be a tougher encounter against South Africa on Saturday.

GALLERY: Boks hit the gym

Kidney has made three changes in the backline of the Six Nations champions with Tommy Bowe returning to the team on the right wing in place of Shane Horgan.

Paddy Wallace moves from the bench to start at inside centre with Gordon D'Arcy named in the replacements. Tomas O'Leary is selected in the starting team at scrumhalf.

Jonathan Sexton, who scored 16 points last weekend on his flawless debut, has retained his place at flyhalf in the team announced Tuesday at the expense of Ronan O'Gara.

The forwards have also seen three changes with Cian Healy starting at loosehead after recovering from his shoulder injury and Tony Buckley is retained in the replacements.

Donncha O'Callaghan also returns to the side in the second row with Leo Cullen moving to the replacements.

David Wallace, who was not involved in the match 22 against Fiji, is selected at openside.

World champions South Africa on Monday put off naming the team to play Ireland in Dublin because of an injury crisis which forced them to cancel training.

The Springboks - who grabbed their first win of the northern hemisphere tour on Saturday against Italy - had intended to name their team on Tuesday, but have delayed it till Thursday.

The Boks - who have lost to France, and English Premiership sides Leicester and Saracens - have eight players injured including six that played in the defeat to France.

Fullback Zane Kirchner (knee), centre Adi Jacobs (ankle), scrumhalf Fourie du Preez (hand), lock Bakkies Botha (back), hooker Bismarck du Plessis (ribs) and backrow forward Schalk Burger (ribs) are the six injured players to have started the 20-13 reverse against France in Toulouse on November 13.

Aside from them replacement hooker Adriaan Strauss has a back injury and prop CJ van der Linde is suffering from a groin injury.

Kick-off is at 16:30 SA time.


15-Rob Kearney, 14-Tommy Bowe, 13-Brian O'Driscoll (captain), 12-Paddy Wallace, 11-Keith Earls, 10-Jonathan Sexton, 9-Tomas O'Leary, 8-Jamie Heaslip, 7-David Wallace, 6-Stephen Ferris, 5-Paul O'Connell, 4-Donncha O'Callaghan, 3-John Hayes, 2-Jerry Flannery, 1-Cian Healy

Replacements: 16-Sean Cronin, 17-Tony Buckley, 18-Leo Cullen, 19-Denis Leamy, 20-Peter Stringer, 21-Ronan O'Gara, 22-Gordon D'Arcy



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

After winning 10 of their 12 Tests this year, how successful was the Springboks' season in your book?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.