Boks on Tour

Giteau to captain BaaBaas

2010-11-30 14:05
Matt Giteau (AFP)
London - Australia's Matt Giteau has a chance to make up for losing his Wallabies place by leading the Barbarians in their MasterCard Trophy match against South Africa at Twickenham on Saturday, reports The Telegraph.

Giteau will be joined at halfback with fellow Wallaby Will Genia in a team packed full of international stars including Australian superstar James O'Connor.

Wallaby duo Drew Mitchell and Adam Ashley-Cooper and All Black Joe Rococoko, who all had disappointing outings at Twickenham this autumn, have a chance to make amends in the backs, while up front Stephen Moore and Neemia Tialata add some Australasian beef to the team.

Salvatore Perugini of Italy and Martyn Williams of Wales represent the Six Nations and two uncapped players, New Zealand No. 8 Colin Bourke from the Chiefs and Western Province captain and second row Anton van Zyl are also involved from the start.

Keven Mealamu, banned for two weeks for an alleged headbutt on Lewis Moody at Twickenham, returns to the scene of his misdemeanour on the bench with fellow Kiwis Daniel Braid, Andy Ellis and Stephen Donald.

Of his selection as captain, Giteau said: "This is a great honour and I am deeply grateful to the Barbarians committee for the confidence they have shown in me."

It is Giteau's third appearance in four years for the Barbarians, after he tasted victory against South Africa and New Zealand, but his first as captain.

Giteau lost his place in the Wallabies team to Berrick Barnes after the 35-18 loss to England at Twickenham and missed out on selection for Tests against Italy and France.


Barbarians: James O'Connor (Aus), Joe Rococoko (NZ), Drew Mitchell (Aus), Adam Ashley-Cooper (Aus), Ma'a Nonu (NZ), Matt Giteau (Aus, capt), Will Genia (Aus), Salvatore Perugini (It), Stephen Moore (Aus), Neemia Tialata (NZ), Anton van Zyl (Stormers), Chris Jack (NZ), Rodney So'oialo (NZ), Martyn Williams (Wales), Colin Bourke (Chiefs).

Replacements: Keven Mealamu (NZ), John Yapp (Wales), Quintin Geldenhuys (It), Daniel Braid (NZ), Andy Ellis (NZ), Stephen Donald (NZ), Seru Rabeni (Fij).

South Africa

Read more on:    boks on tour  |  matt giteau  |  boks


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Boks could get posh England base
Wallaby stars to join Boks at BaaBaas
LIVE: Springboks v USA
VIDEO: Then and now - Ireland's 1999 RWC captain compares World Cups
/World Cup
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

After winning 10 of their 12 Tests this year, how successful was the Springboks' season in your book?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.