Boks on Tour

Boks the 'nastiest' in the world

2009-11-09 22:41
Email | Print
Imanol Harinordoquy (AFP)

Marcoussis - Imanol Harinordoquy is relishing the chance to test his strength against a South African side he regards as having the "nastiest" players in the world when France face the Springboks on Friday.

"South Africa are world champions, they are the best team in the world but they also are the nastiest and most physical team in the world. A team that is always trying to hurt," the number eight who will switch to flanker to bring more power to the French pack, told journalists on Monday.

"Of course, they play inside the rules, they don't stamp on you or knee you because now if you do that it's a yellow card or even a red card," he added.

"Our sport is changing but the fundamentals are the same. A rugby game, and particularly a game against the Springboks, is above all a fight between two packs of forwards."

Asked if he agreed with Lucien Mias, captain of the first France team to win a Test in South Africa in 1958 who said that "in a sport of sacrifice, the Springboks have decided once and for all to be the butcher rather than the lamb", he answered:

"Yes, you could say they are butchers but I can assure you we are not going to be the lambs on Friday."

The laugh which followed that sentence was clearly a sign the 29-year-old with 56 caps was approaching the game with a great respect for the Springboks.

"They don't play a very sophisticated game but they always try to break their opponents defence, they are very strong on the tackle, and in the rucks, their line-out is superb and they are hefty in the physical duels," he said.

"We beat them last time we met but it was in 2006 (36-26 in Cape Town) and they were rebuilding their team. Friday's Test will be another story, winning the World Cup has given them a lot of confidence and they can hammer any team in the world," he added.

"To match them, we'll have to be very strong on the fundamentals of the game, do simple things but do them well even if sometimes it's the most difficult. I'm sure we can do it but we'll have to be at our best and play with a lot of solidarity."

Your Comments

Romzéé11/23/2009 9:39 AM
I'm a proudly black South African who love sport (Rugby,Soccer, Tennis, Cricket, etc.) and I'm so ashamed that there are still peeps out there who wants to promote race issues using sport (Rugby/Soccer). Wel this is what I have to say to you ALL peeps.. (White/Black/Colored/Indian/Green/Yelolow, whatever colour you are) "Race issues are bigger than You and I, but it is You and I who can put an end to this Sh**t. Cant we ALL learn to live together like Bros and Sisters without looking at our skins??
Justin11/13/2009 3:42 PM
Bennie Mcarthy has a pair of "Schalk Burger" pajamas.......
StuartW11/12/2009 7:22 AM
@ Soccerfan, well said....Andre Watson moet bietjie kom verduidelik hoe die skeidsregters reels wat in swart op wit is grys kan blaas.....gaan terug na die ou reels, speel vir die bal....dan sal al hierdie stront op die veld ook ophou....
Chuck11/11/2009 4:23 PM
Rugby is NOT a game for sissies... If you cant handle the heat, ..get out of the kitchen... ...ask Bakkies...
Soccerfan11/11/2009 1:17 PM
Ha, I see my comments have started some serious debates. For the record: I played rugby at university 1st Reserves, for 8 years. I played mostly hooker although in my first year I got given the wrong night for trials and scrummed against the "groot" menere. I decided a switch to backline was prudent. Played wing for a season and the next year back to hooker. I really enjoy the contact and the battle in the front more than running and scoring tries. I also played soccer for the university as I really enjoyed the speed and skill. And to top it off, I'm also a dutchman. Ja seun, daar is boere onder die volk wat graag voetbal kyk en waardeur. Nie baie van ons nie, maar wel 'n paar. (Dalk is meer mense nog in die "closet", hahaha) It's just that rugby today is not that disimilar to rugby league. The scrum is a joke. Hardly a scrum goes through completely. Do they think that in the old days the guys didn't scrum skew, wheel etc. speak to guys like Hannes Marais to see what those guys experienced. And the rules have made it a game for sissies. Remember what happened to you if lay on the wrong side of the ruck? Fk me, I have the scars to prove it. Unfortunately at crunch times it was necessary to kill, er, I mean slow the ball down to give our defense chance to regroup. Take Friday nights game against Leceister, anyone notice Stu DICKinson didn't blow up guys rucking the opposition. Apart from the crap we played it was almost like a game of old, hard gritty Rugby. Running rugby on occasion is good, but not at the expense of the battle in front. League and 7's is there for the running stuff. The point I was trying to make re the rules is that you can explain ALL of soccers rules to a 6 year old in 30 minutes but even the most competent Rugger ref calls blatant errors due to misunderstanding the rules, what chance does the average fan have of understanding them. Rugby must go back to basics. Adaptation is supposed to make things less complicated, not more. Oh and for the guys dissing some of the pro soccer players, remember, those guys grew up in the mean streets whre there are no rules. A guy like Paul Gascgoine or Vinnie Jones will hand Bakkies' arse to him on a plate
Thomas11/11/2009 7:29 AM
Okay, now that we have finished comparing Soccer with Rugby, and Soccer won marginally, lets now compare Soccer with Snooker........... Catch a wake up guys
Wayne11/11/2009 7:05 AM
It seems that whenever soccer fans get involved in anything they drag it down to their base levels-even a debate on the internet. There is nothing wrong with soccer as a sport. It is the unemployed blue collar workers who play, run and watch the game that are the problem. Anyway, one should look for the good in everything, and while the soccer fans are sitting next to someone who can read responding to these discussions they are not fighting in the streets or smashing beer bottles over the heads of old ladies.
Rossman11/10/2009 9:01 PM
What a bunch of crap!!! Comparing soccer with Rugby? Associating rugby with criminals and bringing the Boer War into it as well? What a bunch of crap!!! Comparing rugby to soccer is like saying Roger Federer will make a good boxer. The sports are totaly different. The only pansy sport out there is the annual Drag-Queen contest held throughout the world. So what if we're labled as the nastiest. I sure as hell do not want to be labled as the friendliest while the game is on. Stop dissing other sports. A couple of years ago the sport science institute compared the fitness of rugby players to ballet dancers. The ballet dancers beat the rugby player in all aspects except brute force and physicality. Wonder why that is?(sarcasm)
Di hangeni11/10/2009 8:53 PM
@ EVERYONE. i cant blieve u r all usng genuinly talented sportsmen, who wuldnt care less wat u say, 2 determine which race is superior..its a shame we cant respect each other even. I love both rugby & soccer & even cricket almost all da same.& im black..hope da boks win & i hope we all grow up coz even kids see each other as equals black o wite
Steve11/10/2009 8:44 PM
is everyone really comparing football to rugby here...... Soccer and Rugby have totally diffrent set of skills, one is not more skilled than the other, otherwise drogba could put on a few kg's and set the rugby world alight..... i think not, because why.....he has developed a diffrent skill set that is in no way similar to rugby. So in summary you people who are comparing the skills of rugby and soccer are retarded and should give up watching sports all together because you obviously don't understand what you are watching.
chabal@ghwappie11/10/2009 8:27 PM
lmfao!
@GTR11/10/2009 5:18 PM
Nobody is doubting that drop kicks take skill and that their are many skillfull players in the rugby world. Yor reference to Wilkinson and friends makes this clear. The argument laid out here is not one of kind, but rather of degree. You make a valid point in suggesting that technique does come into play with rugby, but perhaps it best if you stay clear from backing up your opinion by suggesting kicking as the most technically complex aspect of rugby. Kicking is possibly the simplest aspect of soccer. Any Tom Dick or Harry can swing their boot through a ball and execute a 'kick'. The skills of soccer are more nuanced than this. What does '22 players only being able to score 1 goal' have to do with technique? I dont think this comment is valid. As for yor reference to a ROUND ball. Im sure we all agree playing with a round ball is easier than playing with an oval one. If one accepts this, surely you would concede that controlling a ball with ones feet is more difficult than catching it? And what do you mean, 'they cannot even pass the ball properly'? Of course they can pass properly, they get 100 000 pounds per week to pass a ball around. Your comment is nonsensical To all the other readers calling for a 'mature' discussion, let it be made perefctly clear that soccer is only stating its case on this post because it has, inevitably, been undermined by those rugby supporting fans posting derogatory comments here. Please feel free to not reply or comment on those posts supporting soccer.
Gtr11/10/2009 3:39 PM
Shame, you soccer fans... Shame. I differ from your opinion. So, drop- goals takes little skill. Or kicking a penalty goal from the half-way mark. Or take the scrum, for instance: technique does come into play. Or a maul. There are some straight forward 'techniques' in a rugby game, as in a soccer game. But to me, it's quite funny that between 22 players on a soccer pitch, sometimes they can only score 1 goal, with a ROUND ball, where the bounce doesn't catch players by surprize that much. It's a ROUND ball, and they can't even pass the ball properly. David Beckham can bend kicks, I aggree. But heck, if Morne Steyn kicks a drop goal from the halfway line, is that not some achievement by itself? It's easy to use Guthro to state your case. But take Dan Carter, Matt Gitaeu, or Jonny Wilkinson. Sorry, you have to have more 'ballskills' to play rugby. Vuvuzela man, Bakkies will laugh at you, rub your hair and walk away. Hy mors nie sy tyd met kabouters nie. To you sorry bunch dissing rugby: If you don't like, switch over to the cartoon network, or the fashion channel. Or you can watch soccer on one of the other SS channels. No-one forces you to watch it. Mind you, when there's only soccer on TV, I enjoy playing with my Lego.
Vuvuzela man11/10/2009 3:24 PM
@koosie-"Drogba if he runs into Bakkies Botha in a dark alley" Well Bakkies is Gay so you know what he'll do to Drogba.Rest of your comment very good.With regards to Drogba did you see why he landed on the ground? Evans landed on Drogba's chest like one of the Chinese martial artists.Having said that Drogba ca exaggerate things,i'm no Chelsea fan for that matter.I've said it before and i'll repeat,inorder to play rugby there are too requirements,BE STUPID AND FAT!
Johann11/10/2009 2:51 PM
@vuvusela "man": I hope you get the chance. No doubt where Bakkies will put your vuvusela for you. Hint: You'll be watching the SWC over your shoulder. Thank you Thomas. Can we please stick to a mature RUGBY discussion, dear soccer fans and not have a pissing contest about whick oke is the toughest?
Thomas11/10/2009 2:30 PM
I haven't seen so many childish people on the internet like today. This forum is about people commenting on South African Rugby players being the 'nastiest'. Unless soccer, hockey or tennis morphed into a new sport RUGBY, then comment on the comment of the Boks the 'nastiest' in the world. I'm a NZ supporter, and no, i'm white. My opinion is that I don't think the Boks are the nastiest, but none of the international players are saints..... Imanol Harinordoquy is just saying that to roughen the feathers of the Boks
Vuvuzela man11/10/2009 2:29 PM
@Soccer fan-100% correct.Thank you for saying it like it is,it's about time someone called a spade a spade and put these big-mouthed rugby hooligans where they belong.Who cares about rubgy anyway? It's gay. I wish i can meet Bakkies and say this in this face.
koosie11/10/2009 2:24 PM
Well said soccerfan. Although I believe the argument laid out by the rugby boys centres more around the 'pansy' nature of soccer players. This, I believe cannot be denied and is indeed a blight on the face of the worlds most popular sport. Anybody who watched Man U vs Chelsea the weekend will recall how the idiotic Didier Drogba lay 'convulsing' on the ground after his clash with Jonny Evans. This type of play acting annoys even the most ardent soccer fan. Additionally, I dont think anybody would put money on Drogba if he runs into Bakkies Botha in a dark alley. That being said, I sincerely believe soocer players are the more athletic sportsman, playing a more difficult sport. The average midfielder covers 12 - 15 km's during a game. Couple this with the requirements of tackling, dribbling, passing and the more fluid nature of soccer (vs rugby), soccer does, without doubt, require more skill.Compare these considerations with the expecations of, say, a player like Guthro Steenkamp. His job entails running as hard as he can into other (fatter) forwards. Some may call this 'manly most would call it idiotic. The technicalities of rugby vs soccer cannot be compared. Soccer requires, by far, a greater deal of skill. The rugby fans out there can claim rugy as the more 'manly' sport, no argument here. But they would do well to acknowledge that soccer is the most loved sport in the world for good reason.
Sport Lover11/10/2009 2:19 PM
There is no difference between rugby and soccer regarding growth. Both games are growing (which I can prove to you with stats Soccer Fan). There is no use in comparing which sport is best as the point is in the eye of the beholder and therefore moot. However, soccer has been around much longer than rugby which could quite easily attest to it's popularity levels being much higher. Also it was professional long before rugby which plays a role as well. Basically, most sports lovers, like myself, appreciate both games for the sheer enjoyment of watching. Both sports offer excitement and both can have boring games but as spectators we watch them in any case. So, to Mnelisi, Soccer Lover and all the other detractors of sports that are not your favourite - none of those sports are going to die! enjoy them or stay away, it's your choice. Trying to make one sport superior to another is like trying to tell a person that the religion that they believe in is wrong... not to them it isn't...
Karl11/10/2009 2:15 PM
Ahhh Soccer Fan... Congratulations on making a valid point... about absolutely nothing. No one's disputing the popularity of soccer, and what does people calling it a "pansy" sport have anything what so ever to do with how many people watch/support it or how much the people involved get paid? A grow man rolling on the ground, writhing in "pain" because someone came *near* him, just to pull wool over the ref's eyes and get a free kick, sorry boet, but that right there is why they're called pansys. I think it's a great game, but I don't think it's a (physically) tough game. In response to your history lesson and statistics, might I ask what you are trying to get at? Your use of hyperbole and sarcasm are grossly misplaced. Please, let's stick to the topic at hand and not try degenerate a discussion on *rugby* into second-rate mud-slinging match because you simply can't grasp the, apparent, intricacies of the English language. Might I ask though what you're doing on a rugby forum, and commenting no less, if you don't like the sport? The soccer pages too boring maybe?
Johann11/10/2009 2:01 PM
@Soccer Fan: Um.. this is a RUGBY discussion, not an opportunity to tell us what we should like and why YOU who obviously can't even tell that you are on the WRONG forum think we are morons. Need one even mention Bafana Bafana or are you intelligent enough to understand that despite the difference salaries, we are actually proud of our Boks because they WIN? If you have nothing good or remotely interesting to say, then don't. As the old saying goes: Soccer is a game for gentlemen played by hooligans. Rugby is a game for hooligans played by gentlemen.
FOTA11/10/2009 1:50 PM
@crookes - easy China. Lets not refer to everyone here, I take it personally. Not one of my comments have been racial, but your are pretty close. As for saying that the rugby guys pick a few weaker players just to prove blacks cannot play rugby, that is insulting to the highest order. Guys like Habana, Beast, AD, JP, Conrad, are all respected without reservation. We reserve comment on people like Earl Rose because a lot of us cannot figure out how he gets picked ahead of Zane Kirchner. You insult them. As far back as Errol Tobias black South Africans have held their own internationally, before that they held their own here, just not in the way that a LOT of us liked, being segregated. Please direct your comments properly if you are going to leap in here. Start questioning the credentials of our rugby players and you will end up with a situation like when Charl Langeveldt withdrew becaus ehe objected to being a quote player, despite being one of our best limited overs bowlers ever.
Skiren@lungsa11/10/2009 1:35 PM
Amen brother!
StuartW11/10/2009 1:33 PM
@ Mnelisi, so why did you stop playing rugby? Did you get hurt by De la Rey? Maybe you should go back to school and redo history....If you had grandparents that came through the Anglo Boer war you would not make such statements....and please don't start making racial comments regardin De la Rey, because if you know ur history you will know that the Boer war was against the lilly white Brittish.
Soccer fan11/10/2009 1:33 PM
I love the way rugby fans call soccer a "pansy" sport. Soccer is the biggest sport in the world. All the other sports together don't have the same following. Christiano Ronaldo e.g. earns more money a year than all the rugby players in SA combined. Jeezuz Keeryst, Real paid 90 million Euros, For one player. All the other guys in that team are equally well paid. Add all the other major soccer sides. If rugby is such a popular game why the hell does no one care about it (compared to soccer, golf even motor racing) Soccer is even growing in America where Rugby is played by like 28 people. And the americans hold the last Olympic gold medal awarded to rugby, hahahaha I enjoy rugby but the "modern" game has too many rules and is too disruptive with constant stops and starts. watch the old games from the 60's, 70's and 80's to see how more flowing the game was. Rugby is dying. Aussie rugby is down the toilet as everyone there is losing interest, League and Aussie rules far outstrip rugby. NZ players are looking to Europe so their Rugby is going down too. 6 Nations are a joke and the sport is shrinking not growing. SA rugby fans are laughing and relishing the fact that Aussie rugby is dying (read the posts on Rugby365) The joke is you morons are laughing at your own eventual demise. Nero playing his fiddle while Rome burns. Soccer was, is and always will be the only sport in the world that will survive no matter what. It's rules have basically stayed the same for years. Testament to the fact that it is a winning recipe.
@ Mnelisi11/10/2009 1:12 PM
Why the references to the Boer war, etc.? Very unnecesary - be provocative like your man Malema somewhere else. I'll refer you to another historical event: blood river.
Boet11/10/2009 1:12 PM
@lungisa - That is good to hear! Love it! @Mnelisi - Go take a long walk on a short pier.
Ghwappie @ Chabal11/10/2009 1:02 PM
Chabal? Nah... that shaven guy in the middle looks more like Julius Malema.
FOTA11/10/2009 12:34 PM
@Paul. Only a few times did I think I might die playing rugby, those were against Richards Bay in the Zululand 1st league. They check you for weapons before the game. If you don't have one, they make you go and fetch one :-))). Hockey, running out at a short corner, facing a 200kph drag flick from 1/2 the length of a cricket pitch, you think you might die. But then I did not face Bakkies. Agree though, Mnelisi has it wrong. Rugby is a hard game, played between consenting adults, within the laws. If he is referring to eye gouging, it happens across the world, he just hates that the Boks are successful. Go figure, South Africa must be the only country in the world where part of the population hates the success of one of their teams. He assumes that white people hate Bafana Bafana, but nothing could be more wrong. I hate them losing, just as I hate the Boks losing, but I hate the manner in which they lose more. It just seems like administrative incompetence, from Raymond Hack down. Bring back the okes that love Suoth African football, Jomo, Gavin H, the Dog, Roo, Gordon I, they have proved themselves. Not some overpaid "professional" who could give a sh#t after the SWC. Anyway, enough of this, not going to convince Mnelisi, so why try.
Johann11/10/2009 12:30 PM
@mnelisi. Why is it when someone has a different opinion - and in the context of rugby definitely more informed - you revert to tired old racist, political and cultural stereotypes that YOU consider bad. Some people like all those things, like shouting from the stand and washing beer down with biltong - I do for one. It's part of the culture. The most important point all of them are trying to tell you (and even the Springboks' opponents) is that is that Rugby is the toughest game mentally and physically on the planet. If you have no appreciation for that or the culture, which most of us like, go support and comment on synchronised swimming or some appropriate sport. You are not the measure of the whole of society's norms just because you think you are black, empowered and therefore at the cutting edge of modern opinion and the arbiter of acceptable standards. So basically in good Afrikaans, from a traditional rugby supporter, who likes his rugby, the Boks and the supporters just the way they are: Gaan k@k man!
@Mnelisi11/10/2009 12:22 PM
With your name u should have played after varsity.. U probably would have been in the Dirt tracker team that played the Tigers last Friday!! How many teams in the world fear BAFANA BAFANA... maybe they should have washing Biltong down with beer supporters that they can get there act together!! Cheers... Go Bakkies breek daai Franse!!!
jimboyia11/10/2009 12:21 PM
It's gonna be a scrap of note - I think the French will take this one but not before a little blood is spilled. Toulouse has an awesome atmosphere, if you're French, and I'm beginning to think the Bokke are looking a little tired. It's been a long year or two...
Mnelisi11/10/2009 11:49 AM
@AJ,Paul-The most popular statement on this forum when someone says something you disagree with is "you know nothing about rugby" or "have you played rugby before?" I played rugby till varsity.I bet some of you are asking these questions when they've been sitting on the stands since very early in their childhood,shouting at refs,washing biltong down with beer and booing at players for making mistakes when they know nada about the sport.You two do not qualify to comment on this forum,maybe go to the Afri-forum website or AWB or some Ventersdorp website that has your hero De La Rey on the front page and talk about the boer war that never happened which is only in the minds of Afrikaners..
Merc11/10/2009 11:44 AM
" The Springbok side is made up of criminals. " And you would know wouldn't you!!!!!
@mnelisi11/10/2009 11:42 AM
If you do not like the hurtin, stop watching rugby. Or is your soccer to boring because SA cant play. We are the world champions, this is how we role my friend. Go build something on our own and leave us crackers alone to rule and develope the world.
lungisa11/10/2009 11:42 AM
Guys please give Bafana a chance:-) Maybe Bakkies can be a central defender during the 2010Wc just to keep away the strikers.....Springboks are the best people, its not about race and that will see it in all the township tarvens a Blue Bulls vs Sharks game packs tarvens to capacity more than a Chiefs vs pirates game you will be amazed.........I watched people waking up early in the morning putting their springboks jerseys before this year final match in Newsland against all blacks and yes u get those few all backs supporters .....who where shouting at the last stages of the game but lost in the end...interesting enough a fight broke up........there are lots of Black people who worships springboks white players especially the Blue Bulls crew, Spies, Mattifield, Morne Stein, Dupreez etc.....those guys are legend and in everyone's lips especially the Francois Stein from the sharks, for all his long range kicks one he displayed against England in the WC final and also hammered the All Blacks with couple of them.....................SA has changed, sport is very powerful in doing so.......so please lets drop the race card we all south africans and lets try and take politics out of sport.
Paul@FOTA11/10/2009 11:38 AM
FOTA...you right boet ..I played 1 game and that's why I elevated hockey above soccer ..my rugby coach use to say hockey was for what was left over ... after my 1 game with all those sticks swing at my shins I changed it ....scary stuff but still not rugby....GO BOKKE GO !!!
Nick Armstrong11/10/2009 11:09 AM
@Mnelisi - what Bakkies was talking about - is playing a HARD game. This is streets apart from what Matt Giteau did - which is DIRTY play. In any event - regardless - if either type of play goes over the top - a yellow/red card is warranted and possible censureship after the game. All we have "cried" about is the INCONSISTENCY in applying the citing rules and subsequent suspensions. ie why player 'x' gets cited and not player 'y'...?? Is this too difficult for you to understand...?? If you want criminals mate - look no further than your ANC mates in government.......you'll find plenty there! In fact - it's a pre-requisite for parliament! Lol!
@Mnelisi11/10/2009 11:06 AM
Dude the soccer world cup is almost here. Just a short while and you will be able to watch a pansy sport where the medics run onto the field with hairdryers if someone accidently bump you. Dont watch rugby, you clearly not man enough for it.
darkwing11/10/2009 10:44 AM
I luuv my criminals. Every time they run unto the field I want them to hurt the other side. The only other sides with more thugs and criminals are Bafana Bafana and the SA government.
FOTA11/10/2009 10:36 AM
@Paul - just a point of order there chap. Have you played hockey?. Have you ever faced a short corner with the ball coming at your head at 200kph. Hockey will scare the living cr#p out of most rugby players. Otherwise, we can agree that rugby is a game where a little discomfort is the name of the game and does not involve any foreplay. Perhaps Mnelisi is confusing this with mancala?
Gtr11/10/2009 10:22 AM
Mnelisi... Okay, I'm sure you'll be able to find 'Care Bears' or 'My Little Pony' somewhere. You can watch that, if you ask your mommy to help you. Just don't watch the rugby, you might have terrible nightmares... Oh, wait, it should be on while you are tucked into bed. Rather let the grown ups watch it. We don't want someone too impressionable to watch it. Maybe there should be some kind of PG rating with every match. The Boks, along with the Bulls' matches will have a 2-21 rating for the sheer violence. Remember, Bakkies is there. Just by the way... Do you understand the game of rugby? From your remarks, I gather that you don't.
AJ @ Mnelisi11/10/2009 10:20 AM
By your comparison of Giteau's challenge and Bakkie's statement and somehow trying to draw a parallel between the two, you have shown yourself to be a little out of your depth. Perhaps read more and comment less for a while.
Paul@Mnelisi11/10/2009 10:14 AM
Mnelisi,have you ever played the game or even paid for a ticket to watch a game, I bet not, Rugby is for the men,Hockey for the boys and soccer is for what's left over, maybe Bafana should take a page out of the BOKS play book, then maybe we can all have a team to shout for in the WC2010. For players White and Black Rugby is WAR and in WAR there is no half measure, we play hard and after the dust has settled we shake hands and share a beer together, THAT'S RUGBY A MENS GAME ! GO BOKKE GO !!
Bok11/10/2009 10:04 AM
Dancing is a contact sport, RUGBY IS A COLLISION SPORT!!! Welcome to 80 minutes of pain!!
Karl11/10/2009 9:58 AM
Mnelisi, you are a peasant! Are you suggesting we enter a debate and try convince the opposing player to the ground or maybe give them a warm embrace and hug them till they stop running... or flat our tackle him *into* the ground? Maybe you have a little more French blood in you then you're willing to admit(?). What Bakkies said is right on the money. You go in hard and you make the never want to run at you again. That's rugby. How you can even compare Giteau's "tackle" on Fourie astounds me. Do you even know the rules? It's quite apparent that you're sorely lacking in that department. And as far as Schalk goes, good grief, it's done, no one said it was ok, we all know better, and he served his time, get over it! And as far as your "we SAfricans" bit goes, I'm willing to bet there's either an AB or French jersey in your cupboard, don't rank yourself along with the rest of us. I love my country and I'll back our boys forever!Bring it home Bokke!
leon11/10/2009 9:49 AM
No Mnelisi.I do not know what we will do without your support.Sa rugby is doomed without it.Phone Julius and go to the papers.
FOTA11/10/2009 9:48 AM
It is rugby, a collision sport, not ballroom dancing which is a contact sport. There are laws to govern the game and about 100 cameras on the match. A bit tough to get away with being a criminal hey Mnelisi. Please do yourself a favour and do some research on the French and English players banned this year for stamping, biting, gouging and all the rest. It might raise you a step above ignorant.
@Mnelisi11/10/2009 9:41 AM
This is Rugby, a contact sport. Not soccer nor netbal. Go be a panzy somewhere else -- Poofter
DYL0111/10/2009 9:37 AM
Bakkies its time to turn up the volume and show these wimp frogs what a tough game really is. These frenchies are just kakking in their Brooke.
Mnelisi11/10/2009 9:13 AM
"A team that is always trying to hurt" I agree with this statement. I'm reminded of one quote from Bakkies during the Tri Nations when he said "I enjoy seeing pain in the eyes of the opponents"(something like that) but he likes making people feel pain.NOW THAT IS THUGGERY AND ARROGANCE RIGHT THERE.In fact no wonder Bakkies gets yellow carded so often,he plays rough intentionally with the SOLE AIM OF HURTING ANOTHER PERSON/MAKE THEM FEEL PAIN.Is that good sportsmanship? And when Bakkies gets suspended,we SAfricans moan and groan when the guy clearly says i go out to make them feel pain,WTF? Many SAfricans cried forever when Giteau tackled Du Preez but when Bakkies "makes people feel pain" we clap hands,for what? The less i say about Eye-gouger the better. The Springbok side is made up of criminals.
Chabal11/10/2009 9:07 AM
The french prostitute is entertaining her client. She has a tatoo of Michalak on her left thigh, and one of Phillipe Sela on her right thigh. Her client exclaims: My three very favorite rugby players from le blue!! Michalak, Sela, and Chabal!
Graeme11/10/2009 9:02 AM
The french will always cry - so let bakkies make them cry - as for dirty players - did you watch the Lions this year. Or perhaps the Ausies. If it is within the rules, its not dirty (nasty).
Jan11/10/2009 8:53 AM
I do not understand how some people like Alan Ingram are so quick to lambaste PDV, everything is his fault, geez how stupid can one be for such a point of view?? They are usually the one to discredit PDV by making daft comments like he inherited a winning Jake White team, or ja hy ploeg met iemand anders se kalwers...the last time I checked the team & kalwers were not JW but South Africas...
Sheldon11/10/2009 8:48 AM
@Springbokkie. " Harinordoquy grow a pair ". Wow, what little respect you have. Your ignorance and our Springbok arrogance is out of control. He is a cattle farmers son, one of the great forewards in the game and an extremely tough player. I am personaly very worried about this encounter. How much we are going to miss Jean De Villers against this french side, only time will tell.
Frans@Tshwanepoel11/10/2009 8:39 AM
Die man is duidelik 'n drol.
GBES11/10/2009 8:37 AM
So the Frenchies ImaHOL is trying to influence the referee again ? Every tackle Schalk & Bakkies make will be regarded as a possible penalty.The media must also be used by our boys to psych the ref as these guys are doing.I trust PdV ,and the Bok forwards will give our backs room to play.Toulose =too loose=to lose again frenchies !
AJ @ Bok Supporters11/10/2009 8:27 AM
Stop being so sensitive, his English is better than most of your French I would guess. Some of the intended meaning is being lost in transaltion. We are a hard team and have prided ourselves on it - what difference does it make when someone else points it out? Go Boks.
Mike11/10/2009 8:08 AM
These cry baby frenchmen are already making excuses as to why they are gonna get one proper thumping this friday!
Ann11/10/2009 8:08 AM
What?? Our Boks nasty?? Never! And at least they don't stink of garlic..... ;)
Francois11/10/2009 8:06 AM
Yip ons ysters soos Bakkies en Heinrich hoef nie lang hare en baarde te groei om wil te lyk soos Chabal nie.......
John11/10/2009 8:02 AM
SHAME!!!!!
jjd11/10/2009 8:02 AM
watch the bokke front row suffer. start with the subs. go BOKKE!!!!!!!
Met Uysh!11/10/2009 8:00 AM
Yeah, so ya better watch out, ya pisspot!!
Bok supporter11/10/2009 7:58 AM
Yes 'le Bleu' this is a game for men not sissies, butchers is a bit harsh but hey you frogs always were a bit of soft bunch and making us out to be the bad guys is ok with us
William Shakespeare11/10/2009 7:57 AM
In sequent toil all forwards do contend... (my 60th sonnet, with its subtle reference to rugby)
Alan Ingram SA11/10/2009 7:25 AM
I always thought the All Blacks had that reputation ! If PVD does not mess the side up (again) then i hope we give the French a hiding !
ZION PAY11/10/2009 7:23 AM
Most rugby commentators mentioned the fact that our Bokke is the most over zealous and over robust team in the world. we get the impression. too, that they seem to be the least tactical players. Mertens commented on this fact in his book a few years ago. The point is: Do we venerate a team on the level of violence we see on the field or the level of ingenuity
G11/10/2009 7:19 AM
Cry baby...
Tacet11/10/2009 7:06 AM
What can we say? Good luck, you're going to need it. As for beating the Boks, you might need a bit more than luck. ;-)
dumkofp11/10/2009 6:33 AM
Sy broek is all klaar vol
slg11/10/2009 6:12 AM
Awesome!
owie11/10/2009 6:01 AM
MMMMM, nor sure what to comment. Is this a direct translation af what he said, translated wrong? Not sophisticated? Nastiest? Go Boks, show your class, Kick some Arse!
pete11/10/2009 5:55 AM
Simple philosophy, Imanol! It's mind over matter in this case. The Boks don't mind and you really don't matter. Rugby is a very physical game after all and requires a lot of tactic. Going back in history, there has never been a lot of love lost between the two sides, promising a good round of action from both teams. You are playing a pschological move here; the lambs are coming to the butcher for the slaughtering. Show them, Bokke!
ImpartialCanuck11/10/2009 4:05 AM
Any SA born players in the French squad? Is going to be a great game - the French flair and the Bok power - do hope for a strong running display! Mr. Muir, no more "experiments" please!!
ImpartialCanuck11/10/2009 4:04 AM
Any SA born players in the French squad? Is going to be a great game - the French flair and the Bok power - do hope for a strong running display! Mr. Muir, no more "experiments" please!!
Scaramouche11/9/2009 11:48 PM
What a metaphor and one some level a huge compliment to the Springboks! However, if the French think that the Springboks only have a bag of nasty tricks and nothing else, they will have to find new metaphors in order to explain the skills the Springboks have acquired over the past 3 years!!
Ed11/9/2009 11:26 PM
That's it, give the Boks ammunition. Nothing more motivating for a team to do well than the other team trash talking them before a test. The old "Boks are dirty" line is getting a bit boring, but other nations love to cling to that - because they've got no other excuses.
Springbokkie11/9/2009 11:17 PM
Harinordoquy grow a pair will you? lol what a softy I'm sorry our Boks don't break jaws - what would you prefer?
WM11/9/2009 11:01 PM
Typical French crap!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

SA rugby provincial teams I dislike ... 9/3/2010 11:23:35 AM

No Future Without the Youth 9/3/2010 11:18:42 AM

Screw Letterdash 9/3/2010 11:13:55 AM

Vote

The main reason for the Boks' woeful end of year tour was:

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.