Rugby

Boks: Clever and crackpot

2009-10-31 23:25
Email | Print
Bok coach Peter de Villiers (File)

Comment: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Cape Town – A lot of people are sure to get “emotional” - perhaps that’s putting it mildly? - over the 37-strong Springbok touring squad named in Pretoria on Saturday.

And of course they always do; it’s been a public and pundit phenomenon since kingdom come.

Although he has some aid in the selection process, the latest party -- for a three-Test, five-match mission to Europe -- certainly has a quirky, quintessentially “Peter de Villiers” stamp branded all over it.

But before we break down the inspiration and, in a few instances, borderline insult unveiled at Loftus by the Bok coach and confidantes, it is worth keeping one pertinent thing firmly in mind: the team for the key objective of winning the Tests against France, Italy and Ireland respectively looks as though it will be mercifully free of eccentricity.

For the overwhelming nucleus of the Vodacom Tri-Nations-winning match-day “22s” remain very much intact, save for the fact that old warhorse Juan Smith is injured and Jean de Villiers and Frans Steyn have rendered themselves unavailable for the time being by quitting the domestic scene.

And, happily, the likeliest and most sensible candidates to replace those players on this tour will be among the swollen group heading “north” for a few weeks.

Schalk Burger may well be a comforting shoe-in for the blindside role in Smith’s absence, while the versatile, seasoned Danie Rossouw is similarly at hand for No 7, say, should the northern-hemisphere going be heavy and an imposing, door-stopper foil is sought for open-side bolter Heinrich Brussow.

No more De Villiers at No 12? No major problem: there is a quality stand-in option in Wynand Olivier, plus whispers that Adi Jacobs could be summoned for fresh scrutiny at inside centre despite his more recent stationing in a No 13 jersey.

Also on tour will be Meyer Bosman, who I thought played a pretty strong game in that spot in the pulsating Absa Currie Cup final for the vanquished Cheetahs, and the vibrant young Western Province midfielder Juan de Jongh – although the last-named player is presumably earmarked much more for “dirt-track” (if there are such things in England) activity against Leicester and Saracens.

The main fill-in possibilities for Steyn at fullback are, similarly, passport-ready and not too hard to digest: De Villiers will play either of Zane Kirchner or his floating “Tiger Woods”, Ruan Pienaar.

That out of the way, the more peripheral Springbok squad members can now be scrutinised. And here, it is true, people are rather more entitled to go “what the heck?” (or even substitute the third word of the protest with something altogether fruitier).

Earl Rose … ah, Earl Rose! There is a jaundiced lobby in this country, I feel, who pig-headedly overlook some of the quite sublime things he can do in rugby matches, while rounding quite savagely on his equally prevalent bloopers.

It is nevertheless a source of annoyance that De Villiers slavishly persists with a player too prone to crazy walkabout in provincial and Super 14 rugby to suggest he’d be able to cut it routinely in the unforgiving Test cauldron.

Griquas’ Riaan Viljoen as an additional fullback was also a bit of a forehead-crumpler, although maybe there’s greater method to this apparent madness, as he has a boot almost as booming as Frans Steyn’s and his suitability to higher stages can at least be studied.

In the pack, Sharks lock Alistair Hargreaves getting a ticket is, well, weird, especially coming at the expense of team-mates Steven Sykes and Johann Muller, who had seemed ahead in both the Durban and national pecking order and arguably have better physical attributes for Europe.

But beanpole Hargreaves ought at least to be fresh (something that will not be said about several senior Bok tourists) after playing minimal rugby this year because of long-term injury, and perhaps someone in high places has a gut feel about him … fair enough?

The back-up hooker situation to Bismarck du Plessis is a tad worrisome: Chiliboy Ralepelle failed in his quest to be fit for the Currie Cup final; will he magically be 100 percent to lead the midweek side, as intended, for the tour?

Only other No 2 in the party – unless captain John Smit makes an emergency switch to his old post if necessary -- is Ralepelle’s Bulls colleague Bandise Maku.

The latter is a fine prospect and reportedly an under-rated scrummager, which is a comfort for scrum-conscious Europe, although there remains something mildly bizarre about the Boks rooting for two Bulls hookers who can’t even crack the Loftus first team.

There is a formidable list – very formidable indeed – of players desperately unlucky to miss the cut after standout Currie Cup seasons.

A few that come quickly to mind include Lionel Mapoe, WP Nel, Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Sykes (Sharks), Sarel Pretorius (Griquas) and many more from the resurgent Western Province team which came within a whisker of derailing the runaway Bulls freight train at the Currie Cup semi-final stage.

Still, a few coaches and conditioning people around Newlands may, selfishly, be secretly pleased about men like Wicus Blaauw, Anton van Zyl, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen, Peter Grant and Joe Pietersen being able to squarely focus, ahead of most, on Super 14 2010 matters.

In summary, yes, there are some Bok picks that seem daft, and may well be proved to be thus.

But do as I have recommended: consider the Test candidates, first and foremost, and then allow some leeway for “experimentation” in the two other, infinitely lesser-gravitas tour fixtures.

Under those circumstances, suddenly the brew doesn’t appear quite as wacky, does it?

Your Comments

ZION@DEON11/8/2009 2:41 PM
Volgens jou voorspelling het die bokke op hulle moer gekry. Die bokke wat onder bedenklike toestande wereld kampioene is, is nie onveilbaar nie.
Chris in Oz11/4/2009 11:40 PM
@ chameleon, Ek stem saam. Hy is nie die beste haker nie, maar kyk hoe hol die bokke soos afkop hoenders rond as hy nie op die veld is nie. Op die oomblik regverdig sy kapteinskap sy insluiting. En moenie vir my se Victor is 'n beter kaptein nie. Daar is niemand in die bok span wat effektiewe kapteinskap by John Smit kan oorvat nie. Al wat ek se is moet hom dan nie op so 'n kritieke posisie as stut kies waar hy die res van sy span onder druk plaas nie.
Dude11/2/2009 1:43 PM
Earl Rose Coke in My Nose gaan saam as die supplier van "White Line Fever" - elke ou het sy plek in die span maar die Fo**er ek weet nie so lekker nie hoor. ( Ons Leeus sapn kan nie ontslae raak van hom nie)
Saywhat?11/2/2009 12:29 PM
Die mense wat so moan, maak seker julle kry John Smit se nuwe boek. Daarin staan hy n hele hoofstuk af aan Peter de Villiers en afrigtingsmetodes en vertel hy hoe tevrede die spelers is met die afrigter. Hy se ook dat dit duidelik is "rassisme" is agter meeste van die kritiek teen Peter. Vandag is dit meer as duidelik dat sommige mense nie kan aanvaar dat n bruin afrigter suksesvol is nie. As daar een speler is wat deur Peter gedrop moet word, is dit die kaptein. Sy spel regverdig nie sy insluiting nie. Persoonlik dink ek Victor is n beter kaptein. Die ander kwessie wat julle so gerieflik aanhaal is die feit dat spelers van kleur ontwikkel moet word. Jaarliks loop die spanne in die ouderdomsgroepe oor van gekleurde spelers, net vir die wit afrigters van die provinsiale spanne om hulle heeltemal te ignoreer. Hulle is ontwikkel, maar hulle kry nie geleenthede nie. Peter het dus geen keuse om die spelers te kies wat nie die eerste keuse in hul posisie is nie, maar in wie hy glo.Jake het ook jare aan John Smit geklou ten spyte daarvan dat hy geweet het Smit is nie die beste in sy posisie nie
chameleon11/2/2009 11:57 AM
chris in oz is jy blerrie mal in jou kop? get rid of bismarck at hooker so smit can go in? the problem with smit is all he has to offer is leadership and the blood on his nose he refuses to wipe off before post match interviews. as a player he cannot compete anymore in any position with the great quality s.a. is currently producing. we need to cultivate a new leader and give smit a hero's farewell.
StuartW11/2/2009 11:50 AM
Guys, at least we have one thing that we will all agree on....Ricky is not there...
Morne11/2/2009 10:07 AM
It is clear from the selections that: a) PDIV wants to win and kept the team that needs to insure that win basically the same, to prevent another media mauling!!!!!! And b) Politics are still interfering with rugby to such an extent that I want to do a Luke Watson on my desk. People are saying we are undoubtedly the best in the world, I say how good are we if we are ranked number one and not even playing or selecting our best side consistently????
Anon11/2/2009 8:33 AM
Could de Villiers please, please inform us in english, (so that we can understand what he is saying) why he chose that pathetic rugby player Earl Rose, AND WHY Joe Pietersen was left out. Just so that I can understand. Too many good players left out of the squad. I am tired of the constant choices of off-form players like Ralepele, Earl Rose, Ndungane (or whatever his surname is). De Villiers, you are spoilt for choice - if you still have to abide by the quota system. Many good black players out there, WHAT an absolute loser you are De V. Same old, same old choices!
Norman du Plooy11/2/2009 8:18 AM
It seems that only 2-3 South Africans agree with Earl Rose as Springbok, PDV and Earl Rose himself, a possible 3rd will be Julius Malema but only if they dare to do gender tests on Earl Rose...
Jo11/2/2009 8:17 AM
I am so not a Bulls fan but in saying that, I am really pleased to see that young Dewald Potgieter has been included the Bok squad. What promise that young man has, not only as a player but also as a future Bok captain. He oozes confidence both on the field and off, whether playing the game or being interviewed. Very good choice PDV & congrats to Dewald!
Snakebite11/2/2009 8:15 AM
Relax Guys PLEASE!! It is obvious that Earl Rose will be gone soon! He will follow the same route as Januarie - just give him enough rope - he will drop himself with his own actions (or the lack of action).BLOU BULLE AND BOKKE BO!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Springbok11/2/2009 6:53 AM
Die bokke kan nou enige oomblik 'n helse pak slae kry en dan sal dit jare vat om weer bo uit te kom, indien ooit. Die rede: Politieke inmengery en 'n "pretty average " afrigter.
Deon11/2/2009 5:46 AM
@Geejay "The young Cheetah front row has destroyed every provincial teams front row, so the fact that Div has over looked those three is ridiculous. They are by far the best and deserve their place." Spot on there. Agree 100%
Chris in Oz11/1/2009 11:56 PM
The northern hemisphere teams will destroy the Boks scrum, just like the Cheetahs destroyed the Sharks (Boks) front row. Get Smit back at hooker and get WP Nel in at prop. The following players don't deserve a place: Earl Rose, Chilliboy Ralepele, Bandise Maku, Meyer Bosman, JP Pietersen and Danie Rossouw. We have better players than these clowns.
Bobbel11/1/2009 10:09 PM
Rose?????? ppppppfffffff!!!!!!! Joe pietersen 200 times better!!!
Kuppy11/1/2009 10:01 PM
This Pdv makes me so mad why on earth can be be aloud to pick Earl Rose for the tour he is totally useless it is criminal. If there must be quoter players why not pick black players of merit and not coloured. I watched special assignment tonight and i think blacks need to be given a chance more than Pvd's and Hoskins's buddies its a disgrace.
phil11/1/2009 9:08 PM
Is it possible to create a South African Barbarians team and get someone like Os and a few other legends to coach them? Then we use this team, selected by readers and rugby supporters, to play against the Springboks. All of the player may not have more than 10 Springbok caps, say. They will need to play against a few provincial teams to gel and then face the big boys. I think there is enough talent to give any team, including the Boks a go. Here is my starting team: 15 - Joe Pietersen (Western Province) 14 - Lionel Mapoe (Free State Cheetahs) 13 - Fikkie Welsh (Western Province) 12 - Riaan Swanepoel (Blue Bulls) 11 - Gio Aplon (Western Province) 10 - Jacques-Louis Potgieter (Free State Cheetahs) 9 - Sarel Pretorius (Griquas) 8 - Willem Alberts (Lions) 7 - Jean Deysel (Sharks) 6 - Francois Louw (Western Province) 5 - Anton van Zyl (Western Province) 4 - Steven Sykes (Sharks) 3 - WP Nel (Free State Cheetahs) 2 - Tiaan Liebenberg (Western Province) 1 - Wian du Preez (Free State Cheetahs)
Ams11/1/2009 8:57 PM
Overall I am disappointed with the group. Some of these selections reek of quotas - Rose (who is an idiot), Ralepele, Maku (???), Adams (is he better than Cockett and Sarel Pretorious?). Why wasn't Adriaan Strauss or Tiaan Liebenberg picked? They had much better seasons than the 'replacement' hookers. I'm all for picking guys you have a hunch about, but quite frankly we've heard a lot of Chilliboy, but he has not delivered yet and don't even know who Maku is. Why wasn't Lionel Mapoe picked? He is a much better player than Nokwe who is just quick. Earl Rose is a shocker - he has a crappy attitude and does not deserve to be there; in fact he is not even good enough for S14 rugby. We all know that Adams was picked for overweight-Januarie's indiscretion. Heinke v/d Merwe was also a shock. Why? Wian du Preez had a great season and so did WP Nel. A little flabbergasted. I'm glad about Juan de Jongh though; excellent prospect and with Jacque Fourie coming to CT next year they could form the next Bok centre combination. Don't know much about Raubenheimer, but maybe Div saw something in him. Dewald Potgieter is an excellent player and quite frankly I would make him captain for the midweek games. Riaan Viljoen - not bad, will see how he does. All in all, a little disappointed. PDiv had a great opportunity to pick some players that could actually last more than one tour. But alas, this is SA and he is PDiv. And we are winning
sharkie11/1/2009 5:02 PM
hey guys, dont bang on old early so hard, he prob just pull another move like against the highlanders..... and cost the boks the match... Sorry for deysel and mapoe... they should be there though. Heinie adams??? Colour? or was he just better than pretorius,cause then i was watching football all currie cup, cause i thought he was great... and maku????? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Politician11/1/2009 3:26 PM
Get “emotional”....EMOTIONAL???? - that’s putting it wrong man!!!. This guy lacks logic...pure and simple logic!. May he be haunted in his dreams for the rest of the year for the omission of MUCH better players, with Earl "Plonker" Rose the lead actor in each and every single nightmare!!.
charles11/1/2009 2:41 PM
Rose in the squad, only a family conection to justify that
anon11/1/2009 2:34 PM
How are we as a country supposed to get over apartheid when selections like this highlight race and unjust treatment, I am all for transformation, but seriously unfair treatment of white players that deserve their place ahead of "quota" selections is only going to develop new racist attitudes for young white people and enhance the deeply entrenched ones of the older generations. Please can't we just treat everyone equally in this country for a change - I am really getting sick of this! Develop black players from a young age instead of putting sub standard ones into a team in which they don't belong.
tom11/1/2009 2:30 PM
SPRINGBOKS >>>> the Best team in the world Number one ranked side and 2 world cups wins ....GO BOKKE... SOUTH AFRICA IS NO 1
Max11/1/2009 1:46 PM
WTF!!! Earl Rose, Maku? Heini Adams I can understand now with Ricky probably in jail during the Europian tour. I suppose you need somebody to carry the luggage. Why pay someone if Earl can do it? He has experience in it. Remember last year's outbound tour? Three guesses who you think will be the flyhalf for the midweek games and even the fullback for the test team. To those who deserved it more but did not make the selection, get your agents to start networking with our northern hemisphere cousins. Maybe you will be recognised there no matter what your skin colour.
Earl's mamma11/1/2009 1:16 PM
Mnr Div, ekke gaat my twee middle valse tanne uit haal so dat ekke jou jou kan behoorlik dankie se dat my kindtjie kan gaan saam toer...het jy n button up of zip?
Frikkie mosssel11/1/2009 1:12 PM
oops, forgot the centres!!!! 13.Murray 12.Swanepoel
frikkie mossel11/1/2009 1:04 PM
15.Pieterson 14.Mapoe 13. 12. 11.Bjorn Basson 10.Potgieter 9.Pretorius 8.Alberts 7.Vermeulen 6.Stegman 5.Van Zyl 4.Sykes 3.Nel 2.Strauss 1.Du Preez This team would crush the so-called Springbok XV!!!!!!!! How can you choose clowns with 5-6 Currie cup games( read Johnson/Devon) ahead off guys with 3-5 years of Currie Cup experience( read Vermeulen / Stegman/ Strauss etc)???????? luckily there is enough SA talent at the tigers, so I wont feel to bad supporting them !!!!!
nice one11/1/2009 12:55 PM
Earl Rose - Malema - Selebi - Barbie ...... they are all the same. just there to make news......
Beano11/1/2009 12:40 PM
Where the hell is Januarie ??
Confused11/1/2009 11:18 AM
I'm definately not a Bulls supporter but I do feel desperately sorry for Derik Kuun. What an insult! Sarel Pretorius is another player who should feel robbed as he would have been a great midweek option. I dont know how we can treat the players that go overseas the way that we do when these things happen. Clyde Rathbone and Kevin Peterson are good examples.
Eugene11/1/2009 10:39 AM
Good team selection....Boks will win all their games....Earl Rose....do not worry....''Daddy"" will look after you. When you come back....please go live in Wellington....the Boland team needs you
earl11/1/2009 9:39 AM
thanks, buddy Peter, you invited toe my place for another braai.
Engele11/1/2009 9:21 AM
I had no idea bra julius made it as a Bok selector.
Brad11/1/2009 9:13 AM
PDV seems to be back to his old self again!! Just when things start to look good he goes and picks players like Earl the criminal Rose!! Talk about players who are not picked on merit.
Here we go again11/1/2009 8:56 AM
O MY GOD. Earl Rose again?
Molefe11/1/2009 8:53 AM
There is a segment of sport journalists who pig-headedly persist in blowing smoke up Earl Rose's backside. The guy makes mistake after stupid mistake, costing the team he is playing for point and field position. The he does one thing right... Nothting spectacular, nothing brilliant. He just manages for once to do what he is supposed to do. And then all of a sudden he is sublime? Wake up Houwing. Your coffee is getting cold! Earl Rose does not belong in a Provincial side, much less the National side!
drol11/1/2009 8:39 AM
i wish that de villiers would just come out and admit that he has a soft spot for earl rose as it is beyond any suitable comprehsion what he is doing there, there are players from EVERY other province they over shadow him in every aspect but they dont get the nod. come on pieter put our minds at ease whats the deal with the Rose
WP man11/1/2009 8:39 AM
Rose? De Villiers once again has shown the world that he still put race above ability. Please Earl, stand up, and admit to the world that you do not deserve to be in the squad. Admit to the world that the only reason for your selection is based on the colour of your skin. And if I must award a price for the most unfortunate player to miss the tour, it will be a difficult decision. The two main contenders are Tiaan Liebenberg and Willem Alberts. I award the price to the iron man Alberts
colin rosenkowitz11/1/2009 8:35 AM
I still cant believe that a player like Earl Rose can still be selected. It boggles my mind. There are at least 6 players whom I consider should have been selected for the Wednesday games that have been left out on merit in place of a few who have made the side.My mind is all boggled up, but at least we have the best for the Saturday games.
Bouts11/1/2009 8:25 AM
Earl Rose? Guess you it's fair to take a JOKER on tour aswell!!!!!!
Elvira11/1/2009 8:13 AM
Earl Rose? Bandise seems a lively and able scrummer though. I watched him closely after he came on during the final. Definite potential there. But Earl Rose?
Drol11/1/2009 7:58 AM
Now I understand why Luke wanted to puke !
ouklip11/1/2009 7:47 AM
Earls Rose's selection ahead of Joe Pieterson is an insult to all rugby supporters. Your article tries to justify the unjustifable. Rob stop trying to BS us. Eaqrl Rose is the big Q. He had a shocker of a S14. We can not pick a player on games against Boland or the Leopards, they are sub standard. Remember when we toured Europe wit all the CC players. We got creamed. We do not need 37 players in a team. We need tours by a SA "A" team every year to develop the new guys. Playing in the the Bok team is not about lerning on the job. When the current team retires we need replacements and it does not help when the Bulls no 2 & 3 hookers are Sprigboks but their #1 is not. It smells of racism.
Geejay11/1/2009 7:32 AM
I like the inclusion of De Jong, Hargreaves, Kirchner, Viljoen. Cannot believe that he is pesisting with Earl Rose and Chilli Boy. I admit that both have potential but based on this seasons performance they clearly need a full season of excellence shown at S14 level to prove their worth. Perhaps Adi Jacobs is not a good choice going forward. But De Jong is included to be groomed as the next top centre player, great tackler, player and huge potential. The young Cheetah front row has destroyed every provincial teams front row, so the fact that Div has over looked those three is ridiculous. They are by far the best and deserve their place. If the Springboks want a really good test, forget about the Northern Hemisphere, I think I could put a local side together that could beat them by 20.
Paul11/1/2009 7:16 AM
Peter de Villiers, now here's and interesting character....he inherits a match winning team created by another coach and sits back and reaps the benefits. This guy is not fit to coach an under 13 team for any of the big schools yet he's entrusted to coach the national team. I wonder what will happen when the Springboks start to fall apart? Seeing that this is an ANC appointment, one has to wonder if the racist card would be played in such an eventuallity. It's time that the South African rugby supporters stop supporting this type of nonsense in South African rugby. Why is Jake White still not the coach? Did he not deliver the ultimate prize in rugby? We should be boycotting all the matches until de Villiers is sacked and Jake White reinstated. What's the point of paying this monkey such a high salary to sit on his a&rse and do nothing besides politically based selections of colour? Chuene is someone that springs to mind when one thinks of Peter de villiers.
Hennie11/1/2009 6:22 AM
We are not short of brilliant talented players in any position that 'Earl Rose" plays. What is Earl Rose doing in the "Bok " team ? Select the team on merit or it wil end up like Bafana Bafana.Send Earl to Japan please !!!! he dresses up like some Japanese fighter with arms taped up !!! all he needs is a sword, not a rugby ball.
Mike11/1/2009 5:45 AM
Good comments. Yes, allow the coach (and his fellow selectors) the luxury of picking experimental/quota players for the non-Springbok club games in England. At least that way the dumb politicians will be more satisfied with the 15 "players of colour". But what does it all say to the really deserving players overlooked ?? Head north young man, head north.
Paul Van Der Merwe11/1/2009 3:14 AM
Earl Rose the saga continues just when i start to think this coach is on the right track he does this again what a muppet jacobs in place of fourie hahah right it comedy hour.....guess we will have a new coach 6 months before the next world cup.
semperfimamba11/1/2009 12:04 AM
Thats nonsense Rob, c'mon partner...how do you justify PDV and his clowns not picking Deysel, Vermullen, Mapoe, Tian...etc if you go by what he said CC form then all these dudes should be rocking the midweek games, instead that ugly symtom of quota players (that RSA) is renouned for here in the US raises its ugly head. Maku? Who? exactly....where's this guy come from i mean to be better than the Strauses or Tian? Bulltish partner.... Dewald better than Deysel?....yeah aight wake up PDV smell the coffee Rose def can make magic but on the whole dude has so many F'ups teams just have to pressure him and they know he'll lay an egg! Thank the lord the main team is set.... I'll say it again.... BULLTISH selections
Pieter10/31/2009 11:48 PM
Dis n goeie oorsig, maar jy het vergeet om te vermeld dat daar ten minste 7 losvoorspelers is wat beter is as Davon Raubenheimer. Dink maar aan Stegman, Grobbelaar, Alberts, Botes, Deysel, Vermeulen en Louw. Dan is Heinke van der Merwe se keuse ook nie geregverdig nie. Hy het vir maande nie gespeel nie, is nie fiks nie en kort wedstrydoefening. Wiaan du Preez kan homself baie ongelukkig ag. Selfs WP Nel. . .
Div is Rosebud's biatch10/31/2009 11:47 PM
No it is not that wacky, you are right...but Earl Rose...come now...he was sublime last when he played at school level, then he became an arrogant twerp that thinks the sun shines out of his 0...now he is useless... I was at the Lions WP game 3 weeks ago....my all time favorite moment...Earl Rose at full pace running at a stationary Joe Pietersen and Joe snagged him...Rosepetal is a waste of breath and it is a shocker that Joe is not in before him...was Rosepetal nominated for player of the year in any category? NO...Joe was nominated in 2, so why is he not there?
Jan10/31/2009 11:46 PM
The team is OK, but Rose must go. His not good enough to play for the team. He can not even make the Lion team. Please let go of him. What Pieter see in him I don't know.????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????/
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If current Springbok coach Peter de Villiers were to be fired, who would you like to see take over?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide