Blue Bulls thump Lions

2012-07-14 15:20
Ryno Eksteen (Gallo)
Port Elizabeth - The Blue Bulls hammered the Golden Lions 47-0 in the unofficial final at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on the final day of the Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week in Port Elizabeth.

In the main match, the Lions were no match for a rampant Blue Bulls outfit, who led 10-0 at the break thanks to a try from centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg and converted by flyhalf Ryno Eksteen, who also kicked a first-half penalty.

The boys from Pretoria quickly doubled their advantage when flanker Thabo Mabuza went over within seconds of the second half kicking off, and centre Jurie Linde scooted through in the 45th minute, although Eksteen missed an opportunity to put his team out of sight when he missed both conversions.

The Blue Bulls needn't have worried, Janse van Rensburg getting his second in the 53rd minute and fullback Jaco Hayward going over a minute later for a 32-0 lead, after which the floodgates well and truly opened.

Saturday's Results – Day 5 (final day):

SWD (13) 20 – Tries: Martinus Vermeulen, Jurgens Schoeman, Jean-Pierre Coetzee. Conversion: Warrick Gelant. Penalty: Gelant.
Boland (7) 10 – Try: Willbur Boonzaaier. Conversion: Colin Willemse. Penalty: Schalk Hugo.

Griffons 34 – no scorers available
Griquas CD 5 – no scorers available

Griquas 57 – no scorers available
Border CD 0 – no scorers available

Namibia (7) 28 – Tries: Wian Conradie, Leon Feris, Divan Visser (2). Conversions: Chris Arries (3), Visser.
Zimbabwe (0) 7 – Try: Nicholas Burnett. Conversion: Rukudzo Gona.

WP (17) 29 – Tries: Pieter Schoonraad, Jason Worrall (2), Dennis Cox (2). Conversions: Jean-Luc du Plessis (2).
Pumas (7) 14 – Tries: Wilmar Arnoldi, Jeremia Gouws. Conversions: Brandon Thomson (2).

Border (0) 7 – Try: Somila Jho. Conversion: Akhona Sihunu.
Limpopo (10) 20 – Tries: Viljoen Dreyer, Matjikinyane Molapo, Manuel Pinto. Conversion: Marcel Scholtz. Penalty: Scholtz.

EP (6) 27 – Tries: Thembalethu Williams, Sergeal Petersen, Gabriel le Roux. Conversions: Ernst Stapelberg (3). Penalties: Stapelberg (2).
KZN (12) 24 – Tries: Joshua Moon (2). Conversion: Robert Anderson. Penalties: Anderson (4).

(5) 5 – Try: Anton Viljoen.
Free State (13) 30 – Tries: Stephan Janse van Rensburg, Pieter Jordaan, Marius Louw, Cornelius Kramer. Conversions: Olwethu Ndakisa, Jordaan. Penalties: Dylan Harlen, Jordaan.

Blue Bulls (10) 47 – Tries: Rohan Janse van Rensburg (2), Thabo Mabuza, Jurie Linde, Jaco Hayward, Marquit September, Steven Meiring. Conversions: Ryno Eksteen (3). Penalties: Eksteen (2).
Golden Lions 0

•    The match between EP Country Districts and the Leopards was cancelled due to waterlogged fields.

Read more on:    craven week  |  rugby

Boks turn back the clock

2016-10-26 22:07

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.