Other Sport

Van der Burgh bags top award

2011-11-12 21:34
Cameron van der Burgh (File)

Johannesburg - Swimming sensation Cameron van der Burgh was crowned Swimmer of the Year at the Telkom Swimming SA Annual Aquatic Awards in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Van der Burgh pipped paralympian Natalie du Toit and rising star Chad le Clos at the post thanks to his performances at this year’s FINA World Championships in Shanghai in July.

He won two bronze medals in the 50 and 100m breaststroke at the world showpiece and also clinched two gold medals and one bronze medal at the Mare Nostrum Series.

Van der Burgh also went on to win gold medals in the 50 and 100 metres breaststroke events at the All Africa Games in Maputo, Mozambique in September.

Le Clos and Du Toit, however, were also honoured on the evening, winning the Most Promising Athlete of the Year and Disabled Swimmer of the Year award respectively.

Du Toit clinched gold medals in the 100m backstroke, 200m individual medley and 100m freestyle at the All Africa Games in September.

The 27-year-old also won the 5 and 10km titles at the SA National Open Water Championships earlier this year.

Le Clos lived up to expectations of him developing into a world class swimmer as he improved as the year progressed.

The 19-year-old made his breakthrough on the world stage in 2010, when he was crowned world short course champion in the 200m butterfly.

He was the standout swimmer at the All Africa Games where he won the 200m individual medley, 200m butterfly and the 400m individual medley and taking silver in the 100m butterfly.

While he was honoured at the awards evening in South Africa on Saturday, Le Clos was in action in the seventh and final leg of the Swimming World Cup in Japan.

His blistering form in the series ensured that he finished as overall winner, emulating compatriots Ryk Neethling and Van der Burgh.

The trio was also nominated in the Aquatic Personality of the Year award but lost out to youngster Vanessa Mohr.

Sixteen-year-old Mohr made a splash at this year’s SA Nationals where she won the 50m and 100m butterfly events swimming A qualifying times for the FINA World Aquatic Championships.

Open water star Chad Ho received two awards on the evening, winning the Performance of the Year category and taking the Open Water Swimmer of the Year honour.

Ho became the first South African to win the overall title of the 2010 FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup at the end of last year and also successfully defended his Midmar Mile title earlier this year.

National swimming coach Graham Hill was named Coach of the Year with Le Clos his most notable swimmer.

Swimming South Africa also honoured the best athletes from the other aquatic sports with Sarah Harris named waterpolo Player of the Year while Laura Strugnell was crowned the top synchronized swimmer and Addy Van der Sluys named Diver of the Year.

Swimming SA Annual Aquatic Awards:

Swimmer of the year: Cameron van der Burgh

Most promising athlete of the year: Chad le Clos

Disabled swimmer of the year: Natalie du Toit

Open water swimmer of the year: Chad Ho

Best performance of the year: Chad Ho

Aquatic personality of the year: Vanessa Mohr

Synchronised swimmer of the year: Laura Strugnell

Diver of the year: Addy Van der Sluys

Water polo player of the year: Sarah Harris

Coach of the year: Graham Hill

Coach of the year (junior athletes): Peter Williams

Volunteer of the year: Musa Kunene

Administrator of the year: JD van der Walt

LTS instructor of the year: Doctor Mkhabela

Development club of the year: Piranhas Swimming Club (Border)

Read more on:    cameron van der burgh

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

How excited are you about the upcoming Olympic Games in Rio?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.