Tour de France

Hushovd stuns in TDF thriller

2011-07-15 18:20
Thor Hushovd (AP Photo)

Lourdes - World champion Thor Hushovd claimed the 13th stage of the Tour de France after defeating two Frenchmen in a nail-biting finale on Friday.

The Norwegian rider from the Garmin-Cervelo team powered away with 2.5 kilometres left to beat France's David Moncoutie by 10 seconds, according to provisional results.

Another Frenchman, Jeremy Roy, was on the attack all day but had to settle for third some 26 seconds off the pace, snatching the polka dot jersey for the best climber in the process.

Thomas Voeckler of France retained the overall leader's yellow jersey as the big guns enjoyed a quiet day in the 152.5-km stage from Pau.

Roy, who had already spent almost 200 km in a breakaway in Thursday's gruelling mountain trek, attacked in the descent from the Col de Cuqueron around 105 km from the finish.

He was joined by eight riders, including former race leader Hushovd, but he was on his own before the top of the out-of-category Col de l'Aubisque.

Cheered on by his team manager Marc Madiot, a two-times Paris-Roubaix champion, Roy launched a solo time trial with his face a mask of pain and his mouth wide open as he gasped for air.

Hushovd and Moncoutie joined forces in the descent before the Frenchman refused to take turns with eight km left.

Hushovd then attacked three km from the line and caught Roy 500 metres further on with the FDJ rider was unable to catch the Norwegian's wheel, cracking in the finale.

"It is a huge disappointment. It's hard to swallow," Roy told reporters.

German veteran Andreas Kloeden, twice a Tour de France runner-up, pulled out after less than 40 kilometres after failing to recover from a crash on Thursday.

Saturday's 14th stage is a 168.5-km trek ending with an intimidating climb to the Plateau de Beille

Stage 13 results:

1. Thor Hushovd, Norway, Garmin-Cervelo, 3 hours, 47 minutes, 36 seconds.
2. David Moncoutie, France, Cofidis, 10 seconds behind.
3. Jeremy Roy, France, Francaise des Jeux, :26.
4. Lars Bak, Denmark, HTC-Highroad, 5:00.
5. Jerome Pineau, France, Quick Step, 5:02.
6. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Norway, Sky Procycling, 5:03.
7. Vladimir Gusev, Russia, Katusha, 5:08.
8. Alessandro Petacchi, Italy, Lampre-ISD, 5:16.
9. Maarten Tjallingii, Netherlands, Rabobank, same time.
10. Philippe Gilbert, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Lotto, 6:48.
11. Bauke Mollema, Netherlands, Rabobank, 6:51.
12. Jose Joaquin Rojas, Spain, Movistar, 7:37.
13. Tony Gallopin, France, Cofidis, same time.
14. Grega Bole, Slovenia, Lampre-ISD, same time.
15. Jelle Vanendert, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Lotto, same time.
16. Maxime Monfort, Belgium, Leopard-Trek, same time.
17. Thomas Voeckler, France, Europcar, same time.
18. Gianni Meersman, Belgium, Francaise des Jeux, same time.
19. Andy Schleck, Luxembourg, Leopard-Trek, same time.
20. Pierre Rolland, France, Europcar, same time.
25. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC, same time.
26. Damiano Cunego, Italy, Lampre-ISD, same time.
38. Alberto Contador, Spain, Saxo Bank Sungard, same time.
42. Frank Schleck, Luxembourg, Leopard-Trek, same time.
49. Ivan Basso, Italy, Liquigas-Cannondale, same time.

Overall Standings:

1. Thomas Voeckler, France, Europcar, 55 hours, 49 minutes, 57 seconds.
2. Frank Schleck, Luxembourg, Leopard-Trek, 1:49.
3. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC, 2:06.
4. Andy Schleck, Luxembourg, Leopard-Trek, 2:17

5. Ivan Basso, Italy, Liquigas-Cannondale, 3:16.
6. Damiano Cunego, Italy, Lampre-ISD, 3:22.
7. Alberto Contador, Spain, Saxo Bank Sungard, 4:00.
8. Samuel Sanchez, Spain, Euskaltel-Euskadi, 4:11.
9. Philippe Gilbert, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Lotto, 4:35.
10. Tom Danielson, United States, Garmin-Cervelo, same time.
11. Nicolas Roche, Ireland, AG2R La Mondiale, 4:57.
12. Kevin De Weert, Belgium, Quick Step, 5:07.
13. Arnold Jeannesson, France, Francaise des Jeux, 5:50.
14. Peter Velits, Slovakia, HTC-Highroad, 6:03.
15. Haimar Zubeldia, Spain, RadioShack, 7:17.
16. Rein Taaramae, Estonia, Cofidis, 7:27.
17. Levi Leipheimer, United States, RadioShack, 7:51.
18. Rigoberto Uran, Colombia, Sky Procycling, 7:55.
19. Jean-Christophe Peraud, France, AG2R La Mondiale, 8:20.
20. Vladimir Gusev, Russia, Katusha, 8:44.

Read more on:    tdf  |  thor hushovd  |  lourdes

Wiggins to tackle De Panne

2015-03-30 20:44


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.