Tour de France

Cavendish wins 18th stage

2012-07-20 16:46
Mark Cavendish (AP Photo)

Brive-de-Gaillarde - British sprint king Mark Cavendish produced a stunning finish to claim victory on the 18th stage of the Tour de France, a 226 km ride between Blagnac and Brive-La-Gaillarde on Friday.

Sky teammate and compatriot Bradley Wiggins came over the finish line seconds later with his 2min 05sec overall lead on British teammate Chris Froome intact.

Wiggins, who is set to become Britain's first winner of the world's biggest bike race on Sunday, played a starring role for his Sky teammate in what was a technical but thrilling finale into Brive.

A number of attacks were launched in the closing kilometres but with the gap coming down steadily the sprinters' teams started to pull at the front in anticipation of a possible bunch finish.

Wiggins pulled at the front for Cavendish in the closing 1.5 km before peeling off and letting Norwegian teammate Edvald Boasson Hagen take over the job of leading the chase.

In the closing 400 metres Irishman Nicolas Roche, seeing the peloton closing in, made a bid for victory with Spaniard Luis Leon Snachez sticking on his wheel.

But with the line in sight Cavendish emerged from nowhere and dug deep to deliver a trademark turn of speed that handed him his second stage win of the race and 22nd of his career.

Sanchez and Roche, who would eventually finish fourth and fifth, could only gesture in disbelief.

Australia's Matt Goss, of Orica-GreenEdge, was second just ahead of Slovakian Peter Sagan of Liquigas.


Stage 18

1. Mark Cavendish (Britain / Team Sky) 4:54:12"
2. Matthew Goss (Australia / Orica) ST
3. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / Liquigas)
4. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spain / Rabobank)
5. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / AG2R)
6. Tyler Farrar (U.S. / Garmin)
7. Borut Bozic (Slovenia / Astana)
8. Sebastien Hinault (France / AG2R)
9. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica)
10. Samuel Dumoulin (France / Cofidis)


1. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) 83:22:18"
2. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) +2:05"
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Liquigas) +2:41"
4. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Belgium / Lotto) +5:53"
5. Tejay Van Garderen (U.S. / BMC Racing) +8:30"
6. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +9:57"
7. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / RadioShack) +10:11"
8. Pierre Rolland (France / Europcar) +10:17"
9. Janez Brajkovic (Slovenia / Astana) +11:00"
10. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ) +11:46"

Read more on:    tdf  |  mark cavendish  |  bradley wiggins  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The pride of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland have combined once again to form the British & Irish Lions. Their mission? Victory over the world champion All Blacks in their own back yard. How will their three-test series pan out? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.