Other Sport

SA will bid for 2020 Olympics

2010-07-13 16:07
Email | Print
SACOC (logo)

Johannesburg - South Africa’s governing Olympic body, SASCOC, today announced that it would formally oversee a bid for the 2020 Games and encouraged potential host cities to state their intention of being involved in the process.

The dramatic news was announced by the chief executive officer of SASCOC, Tubby Reddy, and comes in the wake of resounding international acclaim for the manner in which South Africa staged the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Africa’s first soccer World Cup drew to a close on Sunday, 11 July, and has been hailed far and wide as an overwhelming advertisement for the country and the continent.

No African city has staged the Olympic Games, but after President Jacob Zuma had publicly declared the World Cup a success he then expressed confidence that South Africa could do a similarly excellent job in 2020.

“For our eyes to be on 2020, we are not weary,” President Zuma said “because we have the facilities.”

Enthused by the president’s endorsement, the SASCOC board met today (Tuesday) to discuss the possibility of overseeing a 2020 bid process. “I can confirm that in light of President Zuma’s comments we met today,” said the SASCOC CEO, Tubby Reddy.

“We have decided that the way forward would be to engage government and key stakeholders on the way forward, but our intention is to provide a world-class city capable of hosting Africa’s first Olympic Games in 2020.”

Mr Reddy added that any city that wanted to be involved in the bidding process would need to contact him directly, as SASCOC CEO, and he would provide them with the procedure as to what’s required to bid for the Games.

South Africa lost out in the race for the 2004 Olympics, when Cape Town won the internal race ahead of Durban and Johannesburg, with the International Olympic Committee awarding the Games to Athens.

However, the president of the IOC, Jacques Rogge, in the country to attend the final of the World Cup, had said on Monday: “From the start, when South Africa were named as World Cup hosts, we all knew the country would be able to organise the tournament. Now it is up to you as a nation to decide if you want to host this (2020 Olympics) event.”

SASCOC, also thanks to President Zuma’s encouragement and endorsement, has now taken the first steps towards that 2020 commitment.

Your Comments

sbk8/30/2010 2:55 PM
lets show the world,that africa is the place to be in 2020
Cynic7/29/2010 7:57 PM
Hosting the Oympics is a poor idea. It makes no financial sense. Every city that has hosted it has been burdened by the long term finance costs of the debt used to fund the infrastrcture development. This is either naiivety of the highest order, or more likely a cynical attempt by the Government to divert attention away from its responsibility of improving service delivery, and another opportunity to divert taxpayer funds from education, job creation and housing development to corrupt govt officials tendering for the development projects. We need to focus our energies on addressing societal problems instead of adopting Roman-style "bread & circus" political strategies to placate a disillusioned populace.
MM7/24/2010 7:29 AM
Durban is a stones throw away from S.A's most vital natural resource(VERY FEW sOUTH aFRICANS KNOW THIS!)-The mighty Drankensberg mountain range (200km mountain range),has the magnificent valley of 1000 hills (as scenic as any place in S.A),Midlands Meander,Golden Mile,9th largest port on earth and S.A.s 2nd largest economy,ETC,ETC.Add the finest Indian cuisine,weather,warm sea water and it stands bhind no city.If the proposed Arabian mooted investment on the North Coast pans out,the future will be on the East Coast of S.A. It takes a back street to no city.Where else in S.A can you have snow peaks on a mountain,yet easily be able to swim in over 20 degrees surf in mid winter? An Olympic Games will be the perfect way to pass the baton from the old S.A cities to the rejuvenated "kid on the block city-Durban!" Oh yes and you dont get horrid koeksister killing winds either!(NOT GOOD FOR ATHLETIC RECORDS!) PITY
mlinks7/21/2010 10:32 AM
for the love of the game. IT IS COMING SO GET READY
P2bsa7/15/2010 12:11 AM
I love these commentary sections on newsites... often got uninformed ppl babbling on... Both Durban and Cape Town will be strong credible candidates in 10 years time... Ppl don't underestimate Durban - if so do it your own peril... It was one of the most positively reported on cities for the World Cup (Washington Post, BBC, Wall Street Journal, New York Times)... read before you speak... do you think it's by chance Durban is hosting the IOC Congress in 2011? Anyway the King Shaka mess up was by ACSA... And I hope they are dealt with!
Shaun7/14/2010 6:23 PM
The African horse sickness issue is a problem - but that is by no means a reason as to why we cannot bid for and win the 2020 Games. There is no way that the FEI will allow the equestrian events to happen in SA - even the free zone in Cape Town - it is just far too risky. In 1956 Stockholm was the venue for equestrian events when the main Games were held in Melbourne because of equine quarantine procedures back then. In 2008, the equestrian events were held in Hong Kong and not Beijing (both cities have separate NOC's) because of concerns over establishing a sufficiently disease-free zone around Beijing. I think it would be a huge pity and show a huge lack of foresight if we were not to win based purely on our inability to host the equestrian events. Hopefully, this issue will lend more support to AHS research in South Africa in terms of funding!
Vic7/14/2010 6:23 PM
It seems nobody thinks about the costs involved. SA will be indebted for decades and only a small number of 'fat cats' will really benefit financially. We need real job creation, not a few temporary jobs.
B ELS7/14/2010 1:13 PM
I say SOUTH AFRICA! Look what a success the world cup was! WE CAN DO IT! They must just at least do something in Pretoria...mmm.
nic7/14/2010 12:57 PM
It has to be Cape Town! Durban is nice too but no mountain and anyway they can't handle the tourist numbers. They had a world cup semi and they screwed up the organisiation with 700 people missing out. Also it needs to be in a DA controlled area as its clear that Cape Town is the only decently run city in South Africa. Even though there were winter rains every tourist much preferred Cape Town to any other city in South Africa.
Bugsy7/14/2010 10:11 AM
It will be Cape Town, you wanna know why? You guessed it, coss' we've got the Mountain Haaaaaa Haaaaa.
Bonjourno7/14/2010 9:51 AM
Good Idea. It took the SWC to get RSA to stop talking about the 1995 Rugby World Cup. Hopefully hosting the 2020 Olympics will end then drone about the 2010 SWC. The only difference about other host cities is that - they host it, enjoy it and then let it be. We have patted ourselves on the back- now let it go..
Eish7/14/2010 9:37 AM
Didn't grab enough dough first time round so now already planning a second grab at it. On the other hand, a new generation of ANC buddies will move into office next year, so they must also get a turn to grab some cash. VIVA!!! Just remember to also build another new airport next to King Shaka. The current "new" one couldn't even cope with a single semi-final soccer match, so won't be able to cope with the Olympics at all. Another couple of billion can probably then be added to the BEE fund - Black Economic Enrichment fund.
@dean7/14/2010 9:19 AM
Not true dude, thats just your uneducated opinion, read the posts below you by FACTS- HvG
john7/14/2010 9:17 AM
I vote for De Aar as well ! My grand parents stay close by, so I'll ask them if they can help make sarmies for the tourists...!
Bob7/14/2010 9:00 AM
Just like a parent with a demanding child, sometimes you just have to say it. No! Of course we *can* do it - we have proved that with the world cup. But *should* we do it ? Also, just reading through the comments you can already pick up the divisiveness this will cause ; Jhb vs CPT vs DBN. We should rather focus / build on the unifying effect of the SWC.
Dean7/14/2010 8:54 AM
To all you Cape Town supporters. The Olympics is held in the northern hemisphere's summer. We all saw the fans dressed in frigging survival suites to watch the WC games there, so it really is a no-go. Also it's an Olympic games, not a tourist trip...it takes more than a mountain to make a city worthy of hosting the Olympics. Also this talk of Durban playing "second fiddle" to Jhb and CT!!! Durban is the second biggest city in SA in terms of both polulation and economy..so get your facts straight. JHB has no chance because of the altitude. GO DURBAN for 2020!!!!
JP7/14/2010 8:37 AM
I say lets give it to De Aar!!!
FACTS ONLY7/14/2010 8:31 AM
As long as the taxpayer does not end up paying for the costs. Read the latest cooments from economists regarding how long it will take to get a financial return on SWC. Taxpayers money should now be used for improving service delivery. Just a thought
Facts7/14/2010 8:17 AM
Google them, The olympics have been held at various times of the year from June to December, depending were they were held, Beiing was in august,Sydney in September, Melbourne Nov- December, Beijing Does run at a profit, they built such a fantastic Olympic Green (Complex) and have up to 100 000 visitors a day visiting the Complex at about R10 a person even almost 2 years after the event, The Horse events have been held in different countries IE Sweeden, because of Quarintine, and have even been held up to 6 months before. I dont care witch SA city hosts it, However CT is very far ahead of the game as in 1995 they started infrastructure already, Century city, Canal systems, and grand west Casino, are all part of the future Belt which links The Airport to the Waterfront, The 2 airfields in between, are for Olympic Villages etc, And the Rietvlei dam, and woodbridge Island are for water events, Best time for CT would be October, as it is still green from the winter rain, and the Windy season has not started yet, Durban would also be good in Spring, but they do have a lot of rain. Joburg does not offer a lot for tourists. The average olympics brings about 400 000 fans Most coastal citys have more than this on any December so Accomadation would not be a issue
@Menno7/14/2010 8:03 AM
Unlike the football world cup which is held in May, June and July; the summer olympics are held in SUMMER regardless of where in the world they are. This means that in Durban they can be held in January/February. Not bad months if one considers that Golf will be an olympic sport (warm up event prior to Masters)
Lisaman7/14/2010 8:00 AM
Fantastic. You're right, It has to be Durban. I just hope Mr Reddy is not wanting a backhand from the wannabe hosting cities - I am cynical about the way things work in Africa!!
@Greedy SA7/14/2010 7:52 AM
I find your comments odd. South Africa is the only country in Africa that can bring this event to Africa and make Africans proud. By us hosting these events, we are not preventing any African country from hosting. If they have the requisite facilities, surely they would also bid. The WC was supported by a lot of our neighbours who expected spin-offs for the event.
@Diana7/14/2010 7:48 AM
I suppose we should have waited to sort those out before we bid for the world cup too. I really think crime is a lousy excuse not to host the Olympics in 8 years. We seem to do well with inflexible targets. If Durban wins the right to host the event, then certainly a high speed train between these two cities is an absolute must
Calvin Wood7/13/2010 10:56 PM
Why no interest in the Commonwealth Games first? We'd have to be the only major Commonwealth country to never have hosted the Games.
Diana7/13/2010 9:53 PM
Think we need to get our house in order first, sort out crime, the terrible corruption, racism that is still so evident, only no reversed to what it was previously, secondly no equestrian sports could be held in RSA, these being a huge part of the olympic program. lets wait for the dust to settle first, see how much the country is out of pocket for a job really well done, but lets bide our time
Eddy7/13/2010 7:34 PM
Bread and Circuses. Add to the cost R530bn for the high speed train between Durban amd Joburg.
Karen7/13/2010 7:21 PM
SA can't have the olympics because we cannot host the equestrian events - it really is that simple. The olympics committee will not agree to drop one of the olympic sports to suit SA. Horses brought into the country have to undergo quarantine before they can leave and international competitors would never agree to that.
Justin@durban for sure!7/13/2010 7:10 PM
About Ct only building a stadium for soccer, if you read te building specs its an all purpose stadium too! it was just fitted with grass for the world cup. It has the size and facilies to lay a proper athletic track! And in 10 years we will have other real thoughts to come over! CT just offers a better tourist prospect. Yes durban is a great sport city and is better with other stadia, the real vote will be accomodation, stadium position to table mountain. The waterfront and many other attractions only 1- 2 hours away. Wine tours, whale watching, shark cage diving, roben island, table mountain. The main reason BBC chose CT for there home studio! CT already has a proposal doc only losing to Athens the home of olympics! So i think as a Country CT should be it. I think areas like hermanus could host certain events to take some pressure from the city. often events are held further out to spread demand on city transport and accomodations.. Bellville already has a great cyling track! and training track.
Eddy7/13/2010 7:02 PM
Bread and Circuses. Durban and the country can't afford this. If Durban were to get the 2020 Olympics not only will there be a bill for the sports venues but no doubt the proposed R580bn 300km/h high speed train between Joburg and Durban will go ahead.
johan w7/13/2010 6:56 PM
i believe that the spin offs from the world cup are still unknown and not yet evaluated ... watch this space ... the stimulus will be huge ... as a nation we combined forces and pulled it off ... showed what we are capable of ... even to ourselves as a nation ... we MUST go for the olympic bid with all our might .. due to limited infrastructural space perhaps another city than cape town though ... proud to be a "whitey" in south africa ...
geejay7/13/2010 6:45 PM
Olympics, why? Lets rather concentrate on something that doesn't demand silly money. I would rather we host individual games like soccer and to be honest we need to host more African games first, I'm all for these type of events but to host an Olympic games when we really need more than ever to be concentrating on domestic issues would just be ridiculous.
CT7/13/2010 6:24 PM
The games is normally staged at the end of summer in the north and this would be the start of our spring - Sept 2020. Hardly the middle of winter..... which makes Cape Town ideal. This is where the world wants to be.....
Ponkie7/13/2010 6:01 PM
All the other places had a turn with the SWC, the Olympics should be held in Alexandra, Vosloorus, Daveyton, Kwa-Thema....
Elle7/13/2010 6:01 PM
What about the Equestrian side of the Olympics? It's always one of the most popular aspects of the Olympics, but we have African Horse Sickness in SA and incredibly restrictive quarantine. Unless they built specialised equestrian facilities in the vector-free area of Kenilworth. This would be a monumental expense given there is insufficient local market to keep it sustainable thereafter, compared to an area like Kyalami in Gauteng. Logistically, it's complicated. For those who feel that it's a minor or elitist sport, you'd be suprised at how representative it has become. Equestrian sports, including horse-racing, make a contribution to the economy which would rival other sports, too.
Carlos7/13/2010 6:00 PM
It would be unusual if they give it to 2 southern hemisphere countries in a row.
Comeau7/13/2010 5:36 PM
Durban has a LONG way to go if it's going to be ready for 2020. We want to be putting out best city forward, not a city playing second fiddle to Joburg and Cape Town. Cape Town 2020! It's a no-brainer. Durban has nothing unique of note to present to the rest of the world apart from the fact that it is in Africa, but so is Cape Town. There's a reason why Cape Town is the destination of choice for international tourists visiting our country. I, for one, hope that we use sense and put our best foot forward, as picking the city that "needs it most" could result in us not winning the bid, or eventual embarrassment. I'm very excited at the prospect of the Olympics, however.
Ian Bell7/13/2010 5:34 PM
We can do it. We are unified so much more after each of the major events that we have hosted. I can't wait for the next step up in unity because it makes us stronger as a nation. Durban has no competition.
Sampie7/13/2010 5:33 PM
??Welcome to Cape Town Come joint the party??
Etienne7/13/2010 5:27 PM
@Rich - shut your face fool!! Have you ever been to Durban? It might not enjoy worldwide iconic status as Cape Town does, but it has a far superior overall infrastructure. As lovely as your mountain is, it is also you biggest obstacle when it comes to road layout and planning (ever been in a traffic jam in the mother city eh?). Durban has the weather, infrastructure, more hotel beds and the most magnificent stadium and an almost complete sports precinct all in a 2 km radius right be the Indian Ocean. Durban all the way!! As for iconic, I would hardly call Seoul, Atlanta, St Louis, Melbourne, Helsinki, etc iconic!!
DC7/13/2010 5:25 PM
This is how it work.You bid for 2020 as a preperation bid for 2024 or 2028.We will not get 2020,but an Olympics within the next 8 years
WA7/13/2010 5:25 PM
Durban can't even arrange parking for 20 planes, how about 200? Capetown it is!
Proudly SA BUT...7/13/2010 5:21 PM
Totally proud of the World Cup and our achievements and our ability BUT the Olympic Games has left every city since 1984 in massive financial difficulty and we will not be able to maintain find use for the venues needed. Besides we are a nation who love major sports not fencing, bowls etc. Why not look at F1 for profile and focus on the development of SA football for future global success????
kwk7/13/2010 5:21 PM
Excellent idea!! It's stupid to pull the other way just because the government happens to support it. Being in the spotlight is exactly what our country needs. This rather spend on this or that noble cause sounds nice, but they all concern cutting the cake finder and finer. Events like these and attracting long term investment and tourism is about making the cake bigger.
durban for sure!7/13/2010 5:19 PM
durbans almost certain to get the bid. Durban already has a stadium with an athletics field, something that Johannesburg and Cape Town does not have. Its like poker. The 3 big cities were given money to build massive stadiums. Jhb and CPT build soccer stadiums. Durban city council was smart and built an all-purpose stadium. We dont have to spend 3 Billlion Rand on a stadium coz we already have one. Jhb and Cpt has 3 Billion Rand stadiums already, that are awesome for soccer and rugby and maybe hocky or boxing matches and concerts...........but not a athelthic stadium. Durban was just smarter. But it will be interesting to see whether a stadium is good enough to get durban across the finish line first
JHB7/13/2010 5:18 PM
As Desmond Tutu said, SA cannot live on bread alone...Lets join together in instilling a culture of wanting more, dreaming big and exceddding expectation...SA's success in hosting the world cup is just a seed for the potential its now unleashed, we need to own it, SA is not an average nation with average capabilities and potential, we need to take our place as one of the greatest, and that applies to our country, people and spirit.
William Shakespeare7/13/2010 5:16 PM
What about the Soweto Olympics? Wouldn't that be extraordinary?
RC7/13/2010 5:14 PM
South Africa has lots of potential no doubt about it. The FIFA world cup has given SA a platform from which to build and the measuring stick would be the hosting of the olympic games in 2020 to see how it has built from such a platform. We are not greedy to bid for 2020, its 10 years away and it gives us an opportunity/motivation to address some critical issues we have. Look at China for the 2008 games, they have their issues too but the way they pulled together as a nation is fantastic and we can most certainly take a leaf out of it.
@Pepe 7/13/2010 4:57 PM7/13/2010 5:13 PM
Just tell them unless they want the Olympics hosted in summer, that is when CT is at its best
Perfume in favour of the Olympics7/13/2010 5:11 PM
Durban has only one season "SUMMER AND SUMMER" bring the games to Durban, it is time that our city is showcased to the World, hence why we are called "SOUTH AFRICA'S PLAYGROUND" I like what someone commented "KE NAKO PART 2" the World wants to involve us in everything we need to take advantage of the positive reports received from this World Cup. DURBAN ARE WE READY TO HOST THE 2020
R7/13/2010 5:09 PM
Yay! DURBAN Olympics 2020 here we come! And don't worry, CT will still get the tourists visiting while they are in South Africa.
50 CALIBER7/13/2010 5:08 PM
I agree. Lets have a go at the 2020 Olympics. One thing I am happy about is that the ANC will no longer be a threat as the DA will be in power. The people have had enough of the ANC. LETS GO FORWARD TOGETHER WITHOUT THE RUBBISH ANC.
Charl7/13/2010 5:06 PM
BENONI ALL THE WAY!!!
William7/13/2010 5:02 PM
We are all acting as if we are invincible right now. Lets wait for this fairy dust to settle before taking this mammoth event on. In the mean time, lets grow a squad that can win a few golds in 2 years time? Is ANY city ready to take on the amount of expenses for this event? (World Cup expenses was distributed to 8 cities)?? Honestly?
Phillip7/13/2010 5:01 PM
Bring it so we can feel it! I mean really, what have we got to lose?
Perfume in favour of the Olympics7/13/2010 4:59 PM
DURBAN 2020 FOR THE OLYMPICS...FEEL IT THE OLYMPICS WILL BRING PHILLIP BACK
Taxpayer7/13/2010 4:59 PM
NO Please No the Olympics have been a financial disaster for every city except perhaps Los Angeles. Sydney closed venues after the games because they couldn’t even pay the operating costs we will be no different. London is talking about 14 Billons pounds that’s R160 billion + it would financial Suicide. NO NO NO
rich7/13/2010 4:58 PM
Olympics has to be in Cape Town... Durban is lovely but hardly iconic.
VA7/13/2010 4:57 PM
I agree with JH. It will be useless building new venues in host city, when the money can rather be spend on infrastructure, housing or educaton. I think only Atlanta in 1996 manage to show a profit. All other host cities still expect their taxpayers to carry the burden for these "white elephant" venues.
Pepe7/13/2010 4:57 PM
It has to be Durban. Was there last week for a few days absolutely amazing. They have the stadium, the infrastructure and the beautiful weather.
Menno7/13/2010 4:56 PM
We don't want the Olympics in Cape Town - we've already been suckered into a R 4.4 Bn stadium which we didn't really want, and for which ratepayers are going to have to pay for. The financial burden of the Olympics on a city is horrendous. If Durban wants it, they're welcome to it. In fact, their winter weather is perfect for sport, whilst there's always the chance of foul weather in Cape Town. Good luck to the the SASCOC executive and their egos.
Seafire7/13/2010 4:56 PM
Oh please ! SASCOC feeling a little left out of the limelight and figure it's time they had their rings polished?? A soccer world cup is one thing, the stadiums are multifunctional afterwards and can host rugby, football, concerts etc. What do you do with dedicated Olympic venues afterwards? Dedicated fencing halls? Dedicated gymnastic venues? Ask Greece and China about crumbling Olympic infrastructure after the games because their upkeep is not financially possible. What an absolute load of rubbish ! We've done our bit, exceptional soccer WC, but now it's time to focus on reality and that that guy standing holding a piece of cardboard at the robots telling everyone he needs a job, food and a place to stay !
Johnny Rotten7/13/2010 4:53 PM
I think South Africa should stop for a minute and focus on crime, poverty and aids. The olympics will never recover the money spent for a city like Durban.
GNPLK7/13/2010 4:53 PM
Which ever city gets it, it would be a great event to host and an event, I'm sure, all South Africans will support.
Rafa7/13/2010 4:53 PM
Host the Games where the world/tourists wants the Games. Cape Town. This is an international race against Rome, Tokyo, Istanbul, Madrid, Doha.
World Cup != Olympics7/13/2010 4:53 PM
We need to get an independent assessment on the success of the recently concluded 2010 World Cup before we start bidding for yet another mega event. How much debt are we going to service as a result of this? According to experts the Olympics have never been profitably run by any host city.
Pepe7/13/2010 4:53 PM
It has to be Durban. Was there last week for a few days absolutely amazing. They have the stadium, the infrastructure and the beautiful weather.
simon7/13/2010 4:53 PM
Of course they want to bid. They have seen how much money can be ripped off the gullible taxpaying public, and they want in on this trough, or gravy boat!!
JR7/13/2010 4:49 PM
If we can successfully host the Fifa Soccer World Cup, with all their stringent rules and regulations, SA can do anything!! In my opinion Durban would be the best City to host the Olympics as we already have (most of) the infrastructure in place, and the weather is better in our winter months, but hey! Bring it on!!! AYOBA
Cecilia7/13/2010 4:49 PM
Yes, bring it on. We can import ski Alps so long for 2020! GREAT IDEA!!!
Johnny Rotten7/13/2010 4:49 PM
I think South Africa should stop for a minute and focus on crime, poverty and aids. The olympics will never recover the money spent for a city like Durban.
Greedy SA7/13/2010 4:39 PM
Now we becoming greedy. That is why the continent hate us. We want to be a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. We want to be the first African country to host the Olympics... Nah, let us get our ducks in a row. Let's wait for the IOC to open the bidding process. Maybe we would have secured a permanent seat on the Security Council by then...
ACS7/13/2010 4:38 PM
Durban 2020 - Make it happen!
Andre7/13/2010 4:38 PM
Feel it, it will be here again!
Proudly SA7/13/2010 4:30 PM
I know the doomsdayers will start with all the negativity about crime, poverty etc in SA and yes they are right to a certain extent but hosting major international events is all about marketing yourself,just like all the good stuff you put on your CV so that you can get a better job with the ultimate aim of a better life for yourself.This is what SA is trying to do for the country.So once again let's support the BID and wow the world again
@ Wayne7/13/2010 4:30 PM
...lucky for SA ,we will have enough time to sort out this tiny problem of xenophobia before 2020....otherwise ...bring it on...KE NAKO - part 2
clint7/13/2010 4:29 PM
Bring it on, Durban can do it. Just keep ASA away please.
vincent7/13/2010 4:28 PM
South Africa is hungry to shine! Bring it here and let us show the world once again, what stars we are!
here we go again7/13/2010 4:22 PM
No we will see the nation Divided and calling each other names about were to host it, without getting all the proper facts, and wether tables, time of the year, watch the emotions fly, I live in Joburg but like the Idea of CT because it has so much more to offer tourists.
JH7/13/2010 4:22 PM
Noooooo. I'd rather they spend that money on infrastructure, housing and higher eduation.
Wayne7/13/2010 4:20 PM
Let it come we ready Viva SA Viva
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Screw Letterdash 9/3/2010 11:13:55 AM

The Bryan Issue 9/3/2010 10:23:47 AM

Jakob Lensiesop 9/3/2010 10:05:06 AM

Vote

Do SA Paralympian stars Oscar Pistorius and Natalie du Toit get sufficient recognition?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.