Other Sport

SA sport stars to be honoured

2011-07-14 11:05
Charl Schwartzel (AP)

Johannesburg - Masters golf champion Charl Schwartzel, Proteas top order batsman Hashim Amla and swimming world record holder Cameron van der Burgh are among the nominees for Sports Star of the Year.

The department of sport and recreation said the SA Sports Awards was being revived after a two-year absence, with the winners to be announced at Sun City on August 21.

Schwartzel was in fine form, at home and abroad, during the voting period, which ran from November 1, 2009 to April 30, 2011.

The 26-year-old bagged three Sunshine Tour titles before becoming the third South African to win the US Masters at Augusta in April.

Amla, the world's top-ranked ODI batsman, made 1 848 runs in limited overs internationals during the voting period, at an average of 63.72, and scored 1437 Test runs at an average of 65.31, including a career best unbeaten 253 against India in Nagpur in February 2010.

Van der Burgh, who holds the 50 metre and 100m breaststroke short course world records, and the 50m long course global mark, picked up medals in both his speciality events at the 2009 World Swimming Championships, the 2010 Commonwealth Games and the 2010 World Short Course Championships.

Also nominated for the most prized accolade at the awards are Springbok sevens flyhalf Cecil Afrika and Banyana Banyana striker Noko Matlou.

Afrika, 23, scored 40 tries - more than any other player - in the 2010/11 IRB Sevens World Series, and secured the most points in the competition, helping the Blitzboks to second place in the series and the bronze medal at the Commonwealth Games.

Matlou, a former African Women's Player of the Year, steered South Africa to the bronze medal at the African Women's Championships last year, and has since stretched her goal tally to 48 strikes in 61 matches for the national women's team.

Van der Burgh has also been nominated for the Sportsman of the Year award, along with South African 400m hurdles record holder LJ van Zyl and Bafana Bafana midfielder Thulani Serero.

Matlou's name has been put forward for the Sportswoman of the Year award alongside hockey player Pietie Coetzee and javelin thrower Sunette Viljoen.

Swimming sensation Chad le Clos, the 200m butterfly short course world champion, and promising long jumper Luvo Manyonga, the world junior champion, are in line for the Newcomer of the Year accolade.

Versatile track and field athlete Hilton Langenhoven, sprinter Samkelo Radebe and wheelchair tennis player Lucas Sithole are among the nominees for the Sportsman with a Disability award.

Paralympic legend Natalie du Toit, a 10-time gold medallist at the quadrennial Games, heads the list of nominees for the Sportswoman with a Disablity award.

Du Toit is joined by fellow swimmer Emily Gray and wheelchair tennis star Kgothatso Montjane.

Bafana Bafana head coach Pitso Mosimane and Blue Bulls mentor Frans Ludeke are among the nominees for Coach of the Year.

The Bulls, who won the 2009 Super Rugby and Currie Cup competitions, and defended their Super Rugby title in 2010, and South Africa's bowls team who won three gold medals at last year's Commonwealth Games are among the nominees for Team of the Year.

The SA Golf Association, the SA Hockey Association and Swimming SA have been nominated for the Federation of the Year award.



Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Is Muhammad Ali the 'greatest' sportsman - or woman - of all time?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.