Other Sport

SA hockey men leave for Japan

2012-04-18 14:13
Austin Smith (Gallo)
Johannesburg - The bulk of the South African men’s hockey team leave for Japan on Thursday with one mission in mind, to clinch the last remaining spot available at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The final Olympic Qualifier Tournament takes place at Kakamigahara in Japan from April 26 to May 6, where head coach Gregg Clark’s side have to win the gold medal for South Africa to qualify for the July 29 to August 14 Olympic Games.

While the contingent leaving from Johannesburg will arrive at their tournament base in Kakamigahara on Friday, the overseas-based players will only arrive later as they have European club commitments to fulfil this weekend.

SA captain Austin Smith and Rhett Halkett are at Den Bosch in Holland, Justin Reid-Ross and Lloyd Madsen play for Pinoke in Amsterdam; Belgium clubs enjoy the services of Clinton Panther, Taine Paton (both Gantoise) and Jonty Robinson (Braxgata), while Ian Haley plays for Exeter in England.

Although the SA team last played in late February, when they beat Austria - one of their opponents in Japan - the home-based and overseas players have been working hard to ensure they will be in peak condition.

"We won the bronze medal at the Champions Challenge in Randburg in early December, beating higher-ranked Argentina in that play-off match," Clarke said.

"We have drawn a series against world number four Great Britain in Cape Town and Stellenbosch, beaten Austria, and beat India in India for the first time ever in the series in New Delhi earlier this year.

"The majority of our matches have been against higher-ranked opponents and this ambitious team, which I have described as the golden generation, is ready for the challenge in Japan."

Top-ranked South Africa (world number 12), hosts Japan (15th), China (17th), Austria (21st), Czech Republic (23rd) and Brazil (42nd) will be competing for the last remaining ticket to London.

SA Team: Austin Smith (capt), Andrew Cronje, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Ian Haley (all Western Province); Wade Paton, Lloyd Madsen, Tim Drummond, Marvin Harper, Taine Paton (all KZN Coastal Raiders); Rassie Pieterse, Michael Smith, Lance Louw, Thornton McDade, Clint Panther (all Southern Gauteng); Jonty Robinson, Rhett Halkett, Justin Reid-Ross (all Northern Blues); Julian Hykes (Amatole-Border).

Read more on:    austin smith  |  hockey

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.