Wiggins extends Criterium lead

2012-06-09 15:36
Bradley Wiggins (File)

Morzine, France - Britain's Bradley Wiggins tightened his grip on the Criterium du Dauphine after Colombia's Nairo Quintana won the sixth and penultimate stage here on Saturday.

Wiggins went into this mountainous 167.5km run leading the General Classification by 38sec from Germany's Tony Martin.

But after crossing the line in fourth behind Quintana, Cadel Evans and Daniel Moreno, the Team Sky star extended his lead going into Sunday's final stage with a 1min 20sec cushion over his teammate, Australian Michael Rogers.

Evans, the defending Tour de France champion, is placed third, at 1min36sec, after coming in second on Saturday, 16sec behind Quintana.

The 22-year-old Colombian made his decisive move five kilometres from the summit finish, reeling in leader Brice Feillu two kilometres from the line.

Sunday's closing seventh stage is a 124.5km ride between here and Chatel.

One rider who won't be taking part is Luxembourg's Andy Schleck, who pulled out of the race at Saturday's 64km mark.

Schleck had been struggling ever since being knocked to the ground by a strong gust of wind on Thursday's fourth stage time trial in Bourg-en-Bresse.

"He couldn't pedal anymore," RadioShack sporting director Alain Gallopin told the race's official website.

"Since he crashed during the time trial, the whole right side of his body was hurting.

"He was climbing all right but he was suffering to hold his bike. Yesterday, he managed to finish but today, racing had become too difficult."

Results and standings after the sixth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine, a 167.5km ride from Saint-Alban-Leysse to Morzine on Saturday:


1. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 4hr 46min 12sec, 2. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) at 16sec, 3. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 24, 4. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/SKY) 24, 5. Pieter Weening (NED/GEC) 24, 6. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 24, 7. Vasil Kiryienka (BLR/MOV) 24, 8. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LTB) 24, 9. Michael Rogers (AUS/SKY) 24, 10. Haimar Zubeldia (ESP/RSH) 24


29. Tony Martin (GER/OPQ) 4:01

General classification

1. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/SKY) 23hr 40min 59sec, 2. Michael Rogers (AUS/SKY) at 1min 20sec, 3. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 1:36, 4. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 1:48, 5. Jrgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LTB) 2:22, 6. Vasil Kiryienka (BLR/MOV) 2:58, 7. Janez Brajkovic (SLO/AST) 3:07, 8. Wilco Kelderman (NED/RAB) 3:26, 9. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 3:44, 10. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 3:51


14. Tony Martin (GER/OPQ) 4:15, 32. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/LIQ) 12:29, 41. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 15:27, 47. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/OPQ) 16:37, 48. Denis Menchov (RUS/KAT) 17:02, 93. Simon Gerrans (AUS/GEC) 33:46, 113. Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ/AST) 40:22


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership nearing its conclusion, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Bidvest Wits hold them off? A bridge too far for new boys Cape Town City FC? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.