Ward wins Burger cycle tour

2012-12-02 17:12
Cycling (File)

Cape Town - Shaun Ward from Team NuWater clinched victory at Die Burger Cycle Tour, a 92km road race, in Stellenbosch on Sunday, crossing the line in two hours, 10 minutes, 33 seconds (2:10:33).

“I am thrilled to have achieved my goals and the perfect conditions made riding a pleasure today," Ward said after the race.

"I have just returned from a disappointing tour of Rwanda so I wanted to do my best."

Ward held off Paul-Dean Rorich of the Focus team, who claimed second place in a sprint finish, and Chris Jooste Jnr of Team RSAWeb who took third.

British cycling champion Sharon Laws, of Momentum Toyota, won the fiercely contested women's race in 2:18:58.

Laws' team-mate, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, and Jennie Stenerhag, from Focus, finished second and third respectively in another sprint for the line.

“It was a really good day out today," said Laws, who also won the Momentum 94.7 Cycle Challenge last month.

"Although we were in a big bunch for much of the race, I find that riding with the men makes for a more aggressive race."

Charles Solomon, who finished third in last year’s race and was later diagnosed with testicular cancer following a post-race medical test, completed the 92km route in 2:10:50.

“I had a fantastic ride today. With it being my first race after my cancer treatment, I wasn’t as fit as last year, but it felt great to be back in the saddle again," Solomon said.

"I am still so thankful for the medical test which alerted me to the cancer. I am still going for blood tests but can now happily say that I am cancer-free.”

More than 6 000 cyclists started the event, which also included a 44km race.

“Much to everyone’s relief, the weather played along nicely and cyclists enjoyed a tail wind for the last few kilometres and riders achieved great times,” said David Bellairs, marketing and sponsorship director of the Cape Town Cycle Tour Trust.

Results of Die Burger Cycle Tour, a 92km road race, in Stellenbosch on Sunday:

Men: 1 Shaun Ward (Team NuWater) 2:10:33, 2 Paul-Dean Rrich (Focus) 2:10:33, 3 Chris Jooste Jnr (Team RSAWeb) 2:10:33

Women: 1 Sharon Laws (Momentum Toyota) 2:18:58, 2 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Momentum Toyota) 2:18:58, 3 Jennie Stenerhag (Focus) 2:18:58

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.