Van den Broeck wins in France

2011-06-06 18:42
Jurgen Van den Broeck (File)
Saint-Pierre-de-Chatreuse - Belgian Juergen van den Broeck timed his effort to perfection to win the first stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Monday.

The Omega Pharma-Lotto rider, who finished last year's Tour de France in fifth place overall, attacked with less than five kms to go to beat Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez of the Katusha team after 144km from Albertville.

Australian Cadel Evans finished third for the BMC team.

Kazah Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) claimed the overall lead while several Tour de France hopefuls, who use the Dauphine as a preparation for next month's race, were unable to follow the pace in the final 10km ascent to St Pierre de Chartreuse.

Van den Broeck broke away to catch Thomas Voeckler midway through the climb and did not even look back when he went past the French champion.

"It's my first big win, it's good for my morale," Van den Broeck told French TV channel France 3.

"I'm just back from five weeks training in altitude and my legs were not very good."

It was enough, though, to resist Rodriguez's comeback as the Spaniard finished six seconds behind, with former world champion Evans seven seconds off the pace.

Briton Bradley Wiggins took fourth place 11 seconds adrift of Van den Broeck.

Italian Ivan Basso, the 2010 Giro champion, finished three minutes nine seconds off the pace as he realised his build-up to the Tour would be all but a stroll in the park.

Tuesday's stage is a 179km ride from Voiron to Lyon, ending with a 1.4km climb at an average gradient of 4.8 percent.

The Criterium du Dauphine ends on Sunday, three weeks before the start of the Tour de France on July 2.

Results and provisional standings:

1.Jurgen Van den Broeck (Belgium/Omega Pharma-Lotto) 3h 36m 42s

2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha) +6"

3. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +7"

4. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan / Astana)

5. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / AG2R)

6. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky)

7. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ) +13"

8. Rob Ruygh (Netherlands / Vacansoleil)

9. Thomas Voeckler (France / Europcar) +15"

10. Janez Brajkovic (Slovenia / RadioShack)

Overall standings

1. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan / Astana) 3hrs 43mins 09s

2. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Lotto) +5"

3. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +7"

4. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) +11"

5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky) +13"



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.